We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely stay here again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nang Thong Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khao Lak
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Nang Thong Bay Resort
Save Saved
You added Nang Thong Bay Resort to your Saves list
Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would definitely stay here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

After having a not so great night at NTBR2, we moved to NTBR1 to a base floor room as this was all that was available. Despite this being on the bottom floor, we could still see some of the water as we were positioned between the bungalows. The room was very clean and the staff were very helpful to make us feel welcome. The location of this resort is perfect... it's close to the shops/restaurants but still very peaceful. The free wifi was also appreciated!

We needed a late check out as our flight wasn't until 9pm and the staff were very helpful. They had another group booked into our room straight after us so they gave us a different room in the block across the road to stay in for the afternoon. Since we were checking out so late, we were required to pay half the room rate which we were fine with but even offered us a cheaper room for the afternoon so it wasn't too costly for us (not that we minded as the rooms are so affordable anyway). They also came to our room with the golf cart to help us move our luggage to the new room which was lovely of them. We only had hand luggage bags and were more than willing to do this ourselves but they insisted to help us.

Prior to staying here we really had our heart set on a bungalow but after staying in the rooms, we were very pleased. Some of bungalows were not very private as they had footpaths very close to their balconies but this would depend exactly which bungalow you are in. All options are very good value for money.

The restaurant at NTBR1 was ok - great setting being practically on the beach but it was a little over priced (as most resorts are). It was a great option for when we were too hot to walk up the main street though. If you didn't want to venture too far I'd recommend walking along the beach to NTBR2 for lunch/dinner. Their food is a little cheaper and really tasty - especially the beef penang curry.

My only criticism is the towels on sunbeds. My fiance and I were never able to get a lounge close the beach in the 5 days we were there and we were up by 8am! As mentioned in a previous review, those 'reserving' sunbeds seemed to all help each other out and watch their belongings didn't get moved. There were some people that didn't end up using their sunbed until 2pm after being out all morning. We couldn't believe how inconsiderate these people were. By the pool was similar but not as bad. I don't know how much can be done about this but it really drove us nuts by the end of our stay. We just ended up laying on the sand and giving up on the lounges! This was really the only negative about our stay and given the number of positives, we would still stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    108
    57
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
54
90
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

This was our first stay at NTBR in January, and it won't be our last! We travelled as a family - 2 adults and 2 kids, aged 3 and 5. The resort is right on a lovely beach, nice pool and a few different options for accommodation. We booked July for a Jan stay, and there were no beach front cottages available, so stayed in a 3rd floor sea view room. To be honest, and I know most people say defiantly go the cottages, I preferred the location of the sea-view room. I like a little privacy, and with two noisy kids, felt we were better suited to the sea-view rooms. The rooms where big and there was plenty of room to unpack for our two week stay. The kids shared a single bed, though could have easily fitted in another single bed if needed. The sea-view, is pretty obscured by palm trees, but still nice and caught the breezes. Housekeeping were excellent and other staff were always very helpful. My only grip would be the lack of in room internet. I know the cottages have wifi, but the hotel rooms don't and I found it very annoying to have to sit in the hot reception, every time I needed to get online. Also the TVs are pretty old and hard to watch.

The resort is in an excellent location, which everything you need in walking distance. We did a day trip to Tachai islands, which was great, and easy with kids. We also hired a car and had a day driving around the area, checking out waterfalls, turtle conservation and the National park.

We ate a few times at the resort restaurant, which is a lovely location, a little pricey and ok. We ate most mornings at The Green Resort, which is just to the right, if you leave the resort facing the beach.

The beach is lovely, clear water and wam. My husband and daughter tried out abit of snorkelling just off the beach, opposite The Green Resort and saw heaps of little colourful fish.

The towel issue was defiantly noticeable! Even the mornings I was up for a walk on the beach at 7.30am, most beds had new towels on them - no people, just towels! The pool area is not so bad, and there is a little grass area you can put your towel down. With kids we didn't really need or want to use the beds by the beach, as we just sat on the sand, but we did just move towels on beds by the pool if no-one had used them for awhile, no one ever came to claim them back!

Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is an OK hotel where if you make the effort the staff are friendly. It is in a great location over looking the beach. Rooms are reasonably clean and water is always hot. So why only terrible because nothing is done about people reserving sun beds especially the ones overlooking the sea. It was just about OK last year but diabolical this year.For the second year running we had to move rooms due to hotel overbooking this is despite the fact that I made my booking 10 months ago. The hotel has guests that stay for between 4 and 12 weeks and these guests reserve their sun beds for their entire stay, nothing is done by the hotel to stop this by removing belongings. They do with the ones by the pool but then people reserve them for hours on end and not use them. There are also a lot of people who are not staying in the hotel reserving the sunbeds. I did write to the hotel last year telling them how I felt but they obviously dont care otherwise they would do something about it. The people who are reserving the beds seem to operate a neighbourhood watch so that they look after each other if anyone dares to remove there belongings.So if you want to relax on a sun bed avoid this hotel. Obviously on check out they don't ask if everything was OK with stay because they are frightened of what you may say.

Room Tip: Go for a beach front room that's the only chance you have of sitting looking out over the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We come to this resort every year as our yearly retreat to rest and recharge. NTB is just perfect for that. We will always book the place a year in advance so that we can secure the beach front cottage which provides direct access to the beach. We love sitting at the front porch enjoying the sea view, listening to the sound of waves and the light breeze.

Restaurant is perched right at the beach and is a good place for watching sunset. Food is pricier but is good. The warm service of the staff will make any stay pleasant. Housekeeping is thorough, towels are changed daily and room is swept clean of sand. Internet access is good and strong. Aircondition broke down on second day but the staff got it fixed fast. The buggy will take you to the main road where you will find the supermarkets, eateries and small local shops for shopping.

For this price, location services, the resort is a good find and worth coming back to every year.

Tips:
1) For beach front cottage, book way in advance.
2) Room 101-106 have good views. Room 107 is blocked by a massage tent set right outside.
3) Room 102 has best view. No trees blocking the view.
4) Bring lots of mosquito repellent or buy it there.
5) There is a supermarket at the main road catered for tourist. Stock up on food/ snacks/ drinks in the fridge and enjoy them to the sound of waves.
6) Local night market is held on every Wed and Sat. Worth going for cheap finds and local street food. Ask staff for directions.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Our second stay at NTB but our first in a beach front cottage with 2 young children. The cottage is basic but nice with it's strong point being it's easy access to the beach. Each cottage will feel slightly different due to the view from the porch. We had the view of the massage tables which was a bit worrying at first due to a lack of privacy however we got over it pretty quickly. Some cottages have nicer looking gardens while some others are still a work in progress. The only downside to the cottage we were in in and may be common with the others is that the garden with the outdoor shower is not looked after. Ours had a dead-ish tree, dirt and and stones. We had to keep the kids from stepping onto the dirt while we were having a shower. I would encourage the resort to get rid of the shower gardens and replace it with concrete, making room for hanging line space to hang and dry clothes. The staff at NTB are generally very nice and it is a great service driving guests to up the hill to the main street. Free wifi was good as well. We took a look at the beachfront of NTB 2 and personally I prefer NTB 1, but there does not seem to be a huge difference. At the end of the day, the most important thing is that the price of NB represents great value for money and I hope to be able to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Another wonderful stay at Nang Thong Bay Resort. We were there 3 years ago (same time mid November) and I fell in love with it. At that time we couldn't get a beachfront bungalow, but this time we got one, and it was fantastic. It was really good especially for the kids (3.5 and 1.5 years old) as they enjoyed playing in the little garden in front of it. Good points:
• The staff is very friendly and very helpful.
• Booking very easily done straight with the hotel.
• Great value for money for a beach front resort.
• Their pick up and drop off service from/to airport is very efficient and worry free. Because of our 2 little kids we had lots of luggage. They picked us up with those people movers, a huge car only for us.
• The buggy ride up to the supermarket was really convenient and very helpful.
• Best beachfront bungalows are 103,104,105 and 106.
• Hotel location is very convenient, so close to the heart of town, restaurants, shops, supermarket, etc.

Points that NTBR1 could improve:
• Cots. We were given a cot that it was very unsafe. All the guards/sides were rusted. Very dangerous when a toddler's mouth is the same height as the guard. The mattress was not big enough to cover the gaps on the bottom, so when my son stood up holding the sides of the cot he fell in those gaps. Luckily I had taken with me a portable tent for the other child, but had to put the baby there, and the kid slept in our bed. One way NTBR1 could improve is investing in portable cots, they are better than the metal ones they have there.
• Massage tables in front of our bungalow was a turn off. That bungalow has the potential to be the best one in the resort, as it's the last one in the complex and it has more shade, but because the massage tables are opposite to it you lose a bit your privacy. If NTBR1 could move them to the restaurant side, this bungalow would definitely be the best one.
• These bungalows have a sort of outside shower, which is quite cool. However they are supposed to have a little inside garden next to it. But ours had just dead plants, it looked a bit barren. They could have maintained it a bit better.
• TV reception is bad. But they have a DVD player, in which I may have forgotten a child's dvd in it.
Overall, this is a fantastic place to spend a family holiday and if I could I'd go back every year.

Room Tip: Best beachfront bungalows 103,104,105 and 106
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We have just spent 9 nights in Nang Thong Bay Resort and really loved it. We booked a family room for two people as we decided to go for an apartment and not a cottage for this length of time. The adjoining rooms and bathroom were spacious and the beds were comfortable with plenty of pillows and clean sheets every day. The bathroom was beautifully fitted, and we had plenty of towels (both bath and beach) changed daily. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay but the beach facing cottages looked absolutely gorgeous and were much better situated than our room. We faced the road that runs through the resort and it is quite noisy, even early in the morning.
TV reception was not good and there is very little to watch in English anyway. We could not use the closets as they smelled very musty. We were looking forward to unpacking after two weeks of travelling but had to continue living out of suitcases.
Another problem was the internet which was often non-existent in the room. The signal was weak and slow and intermittent. (We got a much stronger signal from the next door hotel). I mentioned this to reception and were told that that's the best there is and that the internet in the lobby is better.
We had a big cockroach in the room on the first night but it disappeared. This must be due to the high humidity rate and there's probably not much which can be done. Mosquitoes were not too bad but repellent is a must!
The air-conditioning in the room is excellent as are the ceiling fans. There are no phones in the room which was a bit inconvenient as we were quite far from the reception area.
The pool is lovely. Used it only twice as we usually used the beach. We didn't have much of a problem finding sunbeds but it is annoying that guests save sunbeds with towels and don't use them all day!
The restaurant has the most amazing view. It is right on the beach and the food is good, if a bit more expensive than other places in the area. We ate breakfast at the resort a few times but stocked up with fresh bread, jam, fruit and yogurt from the supermarket up the road. The room had a kettle but no tea or coffee. We would have been happy to pay a bit more and have an inclusive breakfast.
The staff were always pleasant and very friendly and the resort is very "laid back" and relaxing and conveniently located (a short walk to Bang la On town).
All in all, we loved it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nang Thong Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nang Thong Bay Resort

Address: Nang Thong Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#22 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#25 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Also Known As:
Nang Thong Bay Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Nang Thong Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nang Thong Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.