We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, hard to fault what is there” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manathai Khao Lak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Manathai Khao Lak to your Saves list
Manathai Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2/4 Moo 8, Bangsak Beach | Bang Muang subdistrict, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Royal Bangsak Beach Resort)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Special THB 2,500
Ranked #1 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great spot, hard to fault what is there”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Manathai is a hike out of Bang La On & Bang Niang areas but that is a good thing. The beach around the property is ridiculously quiet, we walked each morning and past about 6 people total in our total 10 night stay.

The beach/pool area is fantastic. Great pool, so big, and in the 10 nights we were there it was nowhere near full so you could lounge on any chair you wanted. Staff at the bar are friendly as well as the pool/recreation team. They could do a lap each 30mins taking drink/food orders from the pool/beach side to improve it a little. Beach is swept clean each morning and in the actual water itself there is nothing but sand and water - no seaweed, rocks etc and very calm.

Breakfast is fine, really good food. Staff are attentive & always there to help. More variety seems to pop up a fair bit in reviews but I'm not sure what else is needed. All the western foods are there (eggs cooked to your liking, bacon, potatoes, tomatoes, sausages etc), cereal, toast, fruits, cakes, sweets, noodles (made to your liking and flavours), salads - lots of salads, soups, yogurts & 3 different varieties of juices each day plus water, tea (a number of varieties), coffee etc.

Colours restaurant seemed to always be completely empty. Its the same restaurant as the breakfast but for lunch & dinner the most we saw in there were about 3 out of 25 tables full. It doesn't leave for the best atmosphere but the food is amazing. Snapper with plum sauce gets a special mention! Pad Thai, which is the other restaurant around the pool area, we didn't try as the menu seemed very limited to only certain Thai dishes. Chang/Singha beers around the pool area during the day were 150 THB or 4 for a bucket for 450 THB (you can get them in mini marts for 35 THB each all around the Khao Lak area so a bit of a rip off).

Hire a scooter if you stay there. We hired one from Sunny, the tour manager at the resort as it was easier. He was such a nice man and charged us 250 THB per day. It can be cheaper in Bang Niang but not worth the hassle for us to get in there and find one. If you don't hire a scooter you'll be at the mercy of a shuttle that runs very rarely at the resort, or taxies. The roads seem busy at first but once you figure it out (and it doesn't take long) the traffic really moves in an orderly way. Having a scooter really opens up so many areas around the Khao Lak region. Happy Beach to the north with Con and his pigs is 5 min ride away, or Takuapa's Little Amazon is only 25mins north, Pak Weep's restaurants are 5mins south, or you can zip into Bang Niang/Bang La On in 15mins whenever you want. Waterfalls basically at every turn to explore in the mountains.

The staff at the hotel were A+. Always smiling and never resting to help their guests. One of the best things about the place.

As for the things that could be improved on over time, and opportunities that were missed when designing the place. The pool - it had a number of times where it spat out dirty brown mud/water (we hope thats all it was) and meant that around those vents the mud stayed for the following days not to be cleaned. The prices of drinks are ridiculously high, and with a short walk over to Pak Weep beach (or ride into town) you can stock up the mini bar at about a 5th of the price. The restaurants need to do more to entice people to eat there, as the food is great but the atmosphere lacks (apparently there was lunch specials?? but we never saw mention of them). The whole corridor in the middle of the resort from Colours right down to the beach seems like a waste and would have been ideal for a pool. You sit on your balcony and can only look across at others sitting on theres. There are only about 4 searoom bungalows that can see the ocean from there rooms out of about 200 rooms, it seems like a waste.

All in all though, it was a great spot. We wouldn't stay there again due to personal preference (we'd stay in Pak Weep beach area) but in saying that walk away from the place very happy.

Room Tip: Pay top dollar for the 4-5 rooms with plunge pools.. they are the only rooms in the resort with a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    8
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
30
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Khon Kaen Province, Thailand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The hotel is located in a quiet area far from Khao Lak town. The beach is nice and private. If you're looking for a place to relax, this is good for you. The breakfast is quite boring though. The choices are very limited, and on the top of that they never change the food.
Tips
1. Rent a car or a motorbike (You can rent a car from Phuket airport as the transfer is extremely expensive)
2. Try eat outside of the hotel (The food in the hotel is pricy)
3. Do not come alone! (Only if you really want to be alone)

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sierre, Switzerland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

Nice hotel with good service. Beautiful pool and good food at the pool restaurant. Yummy cocktails. The hotel is though a bit far from khao lak center. About 15 min with local taxi. And of course you have to pay everytime a taxi about 300 bth one way. Maybe renting a motorcycle can be practical and cheaper. Also I don't recommend to book trips a the hotel. 2 times as expensive then if you book in town.
Extras for us : Upgrade in a bungalow with little tub on balcony etc. As A/C was defect in our original room.
We enjoyed our stay and the friendly staff.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManathaiKhaolak_GM, Front Office Manager at Manathai Khao Lak, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Mullmela,

As personalized and charming service is our highest mission, we are very pleased to see our effort rewarded with your kind words. I will certainly share with the team for further encouragements. I am also sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the trips cost. I do hope that we will have the opportunity and privilege of welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future.

Best regards,
Parichart Bunmee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South East Asia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We stayed 1 week as a family with our two children.
A nice receptionist welcomed us in a very professional and friendly manner and upgraded us to a garden villa.
The villa is separated from the hotel's main building and it is in fact a large room with a beautiful bathroom (two sinks, one shower, one bathtub and a dressing area). It is tastefully designed, clean, modern and was spacious enough for the four of us. It has a nice large balcony and a outdoor Jacuzzi.
Our first night was disturbed because of a very noisy AC, but the engineering staff quickly fixed it the next day. We appreciated the efficiency.
The staff in the resort were all very competent, smiling and always friendly.

Buffet Breakfast was nice but the choice of food was limited if you compare it to a larger resort's breakfast buffet such as Marriott"s or Pullman's.
One of the reasons may be because at that time the hotel was half empty. It has been only recently opened so I guess the crowds are not invading this place yet, which makes it even more enjoyable. We loved the peaceful and quiet atmosphere.

The Thai restaurant of the hotel by the swimming pool serves a nice variety of delicious foods. We had lunch there everyday.
There is a stretch of little restaurants on the beach at about 15 min walking distance from the hotel. As there are only two restaurants in the resort, these local eateries give you an opportunity to eat at cheaper price and to change your dining venue without having to commute to town.

The beach is stunning, long and clean. The pool is beautiful.

The only disagreement I faced during our stay was my encounter with a stray dog which was often wandering around the hotel’s grounds. I usually don’t mind animals, but this one was aggressive. One evening, I wanted to go to the gym and it followed me, barking and growling at me. I was totally alone; no guards were around and I got quite scared… So please Hotel management's team, if you read this review, do not let stray dogs enter the hotel grounds as you would not want any customer or staff member to get bitten and risk catching rabies!

Manathai Kao lak is a great place and I am definitely recommending it to everyone who wants to spend some quiet time away from the crowd and the hectic activities.

Room Tip: Villas are great. I haven't seen the other rooms so I can't tell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManathaiKhaolak_GM, Front Office Manager at Manathai Khao Lak, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Acryl,

We are very pleased to learn that you had a nice experience in our hotel and especially mentioned the warmth of the service you encountered. I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We have well noticed your comments regarding the animals and will work on the right measures. Thank you very much and hope to see you soon again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Parichart Bunmee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

So quiet and peaceful, right on the beach, couldn't ask for much more from a hotel. Staff were great too, very helpful and willing to go the extra mile to make our stay as relaxed as possible. Room was very clean, modern and above our expectations

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManathaiKhaolak_GM, Front Office Manager at Manathai Khao Lak, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Shane R,

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your positive experience in our Hotel. We are happy to hear that our services and location made your stay so memorable. We are looking forward to welcome you soon again. Thank you and warm regards.


Parichart Bunmee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

My partner and I, had a wonderful stay at The Manathai hotel. The hotel is in a stunning setting, with a beautiful beach. The room was very nice and spacious. A great breakfst and the staff were attentive and friendly. Wonderful pool overlooking the beach. We felt totally relaxed, blissful.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManathaiKhaolak_GM, Front Office Manager at Manathai Khao Lak, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear StephenCTGray,

We glad to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us so much. As we emphasis on personal service and individual guest approach, we are happy to see you highlighting our team as well. I will certainly share with them. Thank you and hope to be able to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,
Parichart Bunmee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Only had the chance to spend one night there but really enjoyed the experience at this newly-opened resort. Very tranquil setting with a nice beach that has a great sunset view. Rooms are very spacious and the bed was terrific!! Would have like to see a little bit more variety at the breakfast buffet spraed (hash browns and french toast, etc. would have been very nice). One tip - when you first enter your room, check to see if the bedside digital clock has any alarms set on it. Turn off any unwanted alarms. My clock's alarm went off at 12 midnight sharp, which took me by surprise as I was asleep by then already. But other than that small detail which each guest can easily fix for themselves ahead of time, it's a great spot.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManathaiKhaolak_GM, Front Office Manager at Manathai Khao Lak, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Penguinprint,

Thank you for your comments. We very much appreciate that you stayed with us, and I will look into each issue that you have noted, in an attempt to correct and improve our hotel services. Once again, thank you, and we look forward to another chance to serve you!

Best regards,
Parichart Bunmee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Manathai Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manathai Khao Lak

Address: 2/4 Moo 8, Bangsak Beach | Bang Muang subdistrict, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand (Formerly Royal Bangsak Beach Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#5 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Manathai Khao Lak 4.5*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a path less travelled. A stretch of unspoiled soft sandy beach under warm tropical skies. Where cool, crisp manicured gardens tuck away the rooms and suites at MANATHAI Khao Lak. Contemporary, bright interiors elegantly decorated with wonderful Thai handicrafts. Elements of the property's natural surrounding extending indoors. Whether looking for a romantic retreat or family holiday, there's something for every guest and occasion here. Havens of space, luxury beachfront living, boutique dining and the very best of Thailand's rich culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Manathai Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Bangsak Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manathai Khao Lak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.