We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Bangsak Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Royal Bangsak Beach Resort to your Saves list
Royal Bangsak Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2/4 Moo 8, Bangsak Beach | Bang Muang subdistrict, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Phuket
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

recommended for those who want to stay away from the crowd. Was there with family last month and had a great weekend. Room-average. Pool-very good. Just next to the beach! Having your own car would be better.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    13
    12
    4
    3
See reviews for
12
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zhuhai, China
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

The resort is quite big. We being there la dec 2012 and before the 24 night was almost empty (just another couple). The food is OK, we just eat on the beach during the day, in the evening we use to go out. To go out you have to call taxi and will pick you up in 5.10 minutes. The cost is reasonable.
The staff was very, very kind and helpful.
The structure of the hotel is a little antiquated and should be at least a little updating. Overall it is acceptable and very good value for money.

Room Tip: the rooms are spacious. The downside is that there is often a musty smell, but quite common in these...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

This my ever first in such hotel which is so expensive but the rooms value is not even more than 20 Dollars.
Welcome was so terrible when I arrived to hotel minimum I had wait 24 minutes for check in.Because there was no one at the Reception.
2nd).Rooms was so terrible full with smell and very old.
3rd).Behave of staff wasn't good at all.
4th).i have called at the reception once for the bottles of water they replied we will bring into your room but I wait minimum one hour and no body brings bottles of water into my room and after that I called at reception thrice but no one picked my call.
5th).Toilet was dirty and on the bath tub there was a soap which was used already at once.
When I tried to make tea for me the tea maker the cup and the spoon every thing was dirty.
I just would like to say I have never ever seen such terrible in my life.
My request to the Foriegners please don't waste your money to book this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Pros: Good pool, quiet location, lots of space, nice beach.
Cons: Humid, smelly rooms, almost empty in Feb, long distance from beach/pool to room, poor food. Far away from other food options. Strange atmosphere of 80ies charter tours. High price compared to alternative.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Welcome was amazing, having lost our cases we were offered a drink and a hot towel.

Transfer from the airport is quite far (1h30) so we were very tired and even though it was a bit later than they normally do it, we were given room service food which was very nice.

There was a bit of a mix up with the transfers which we thought would be charged to our account (the driver ended up thinking the tip in £ was his payment!) We got it sorted though.


Hotel and grounds - Free wifi in reception, pools lovely and clean and very quiet in November. The hotel is on the beach which is beautifully kept and also beside a jungle area where the wildlife can get quite noisy! All in all though it is a quiet location about a 15-20 minute drive from Khao Lak main resort area. We rented a moped for £5 a day in the end (they cost about £1 a day to fill up). This is great but make sure you ask for a helmet as they didn't give us two at first. Also be aware, you will not be insured so you are driving at your own risk. Khao Lak is so chilled though, it was fine for us, I would not have done it in Phuket town!

Rooms - very spacious, we had booked a deluxe room which had a fridge, TV (old fashioned and Thai TV), there is a bath and separate shower which I really liked. The bed was very comfy. There are safes for free in the room.

Weather - in November 2012 we got a lot of thunderstorms at night, some rain in the day, it was very humid. We travelled week 1 and 2. Week 2 was definitely clearer.

Trips - you can do many! We did a day elephant trekking, looking at waterfalls, bamboo rafting and to a turtle farm for about 1300 Thai Baht (£30ish) There was also a boat ride and island hopping to the gypsy village which I think we paid about 1850 for then to the Phuket Fantasea which was a lot dearer (tickets alone are £50 and it's a 1.5hr ride away).

Food and drink - wine is expensive so we stuck to local spirits, you can get a three course meal (Thai food) with soft drinks for about £20 for two at the hotel. The food and service at the hotel is to a very high standard. Cost depends on what you have though :) When we went into town there were a number of really great places to eat, I loved Bussaba it was brilliant. Stay away from the steak place though, they were so rude and the food was rubbish. Mojo was also really good.

Staff - Very welcoming and friendly. It did surprise me though that there wasn't any evening entertainment at the hotel which is the main reason it does not get 5/5 along with the location. It is on it's own and too far out really to not have entertainment programme. The level of spoken English is also a bit poor, if you are welcoming guests from overseas I think that you need to have Chinese, German, Spanish and English speaking as the main languages.

Khao Lak itself is a fab resort - very relaxed but having done it I would say spend 5 days there before seeing the rest of the island.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor rather than ground - there are no lifts in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

met first time in Thailand hotel such as poor and less hospitality and service, I strongly recommend even if they offer affrodable price, you feel disappointment after staying there !

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is nice but in need of some refurbishements, the staff is trying really hard to satisfy guests. The staff is very nice.There are some improvement works in the hotel now, but not disturbing at all. Do not expect a kind of luxury inside the hotel, but you will forget any imperfections as soon as you see the beach. It's absolutely wonderful and so calm!
I do reccommend massage on the beach, good price and quality.

Room Tip: all the rooms are very similar, some of them smell bad but when you ask for change they will give yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Bangsak Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Bangsak Beach Resort

Address: 2/4 Moo 8, Bangsak Beach | Bang Muang subdistrict, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Bangsak Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 158
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
beach front, Phad Thai restaurant ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Royal Bangsak Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Bangsak Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Bangsak Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.