We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vacation of a lifetime/best beach in khao lak/outstanding service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Sarojin to your Saves list
The Sarojin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct Now & Save
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“vacation of a lifetime/best beach in khao lak/outstanding service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Sarojin for the first half of our Khao Lak trip in March. In one word: phenomenal! Impeccable grounds, amazing food, comfortable rooms, indoor/outdoor feel bathroom, enormous hotel pool, and the best service I've experienced anywhere. And the BEACH!!!! I was surprised that they don't show how gorgeous the beach is in many pictures. We were honestly shocked when we saw it. If you're looking for a luxurious hotel that stays true to the Thai aesthetic where you will be treated like royalty- you cannot go wrong with the Sarojin.

the rooms: if you can afford it definitely get a pool residence. We had the one closest to the beach and were in love! The staff takes great care of cleaning your room (I swear that the restaurant communicates with them when you arrive at breakfast because every time we returned to the room right afterwards it was always clean!) and of cleaning the pool. We spent many nights sitting on the lanai drinking wine and taking a dip. And it's enormous! [The 2nd hotel we stayed at we also booked a pool room and we were underwhelmed: cold, shallow, and no privacy.] The wine that is offered for purchase in the room is the same price as in the restaurant- but it is pricey. Side note- if you buy a bottle in the restaurant and don't finish it you are allowed to take it with you (so don't leave any to waste!) You might want to stop at the liquor store in Khao Lak town (about 10 minutes away) on the way in and pick up a few of your own. This saved us quite a bit of money. The bed is very comfortable, there's plenty of storage, and the bathroom is to die for! A huge limestone soaking tub with two separate showers (one rain shower) in an enormous room. It was awesome! [If you are someone who likes a lot of tv I'd suggest you bring an ipad or something with movies on it. I'm a reader so I was content with my books, but I do recall the channel selection being limited. Might have been an issue if it rained and we were trapped indoors, but that never happened!]

the food: Their staff is probably the best of anywhere I've ever traveled. They greet you with a smile every day, remember where you like to sit, and within 1 minute of being seated you are greeted with a tray of every fresh fruit juice you can think of (pineapple! guava! papapya!) and sparkling wine. A minute later someone else arrives with fresh croissants and pastries. A minute later someone arrives to take your order. Every meal we had at the Sarojin has flawless service. Not to mention- the breakfast is included in the price (we took full advantage of this because the food/drinks can be pricey)! And they cater to every nationality: there were grits, hardboiled eggs, pastries, multiple fresh fruit options, yogurt, breakfast meats, baked beans, even thai breakfasts. And all of it is made to order. We had dinner at the Ficus and the Beach Bar. Loved both!

The beach: paradise. The Sarojin has a long private beach with private chairs. There weren't more than 15 people on it the entire time we were there. They give you fresh towels, set up your chairs and umbrella wherever you like. Then they come around with aromatherapy cold face towels and watermelon. And you can order drinks from the beach bar/restaurant to be delivered. The water is calm and tropical (nice and lukewarm even in March). If you hit the beach later in the day like we did- make sure to stick around for the sunset. It was our favorite part of the day.

Wifi: free in the room and at the restaurants, and the lobby, and the pool. So we went social media crazy uploading pics and checking in with friends and family. Internet worked great too!

The spa: go. Just go. We had a couples Thai massage and were both very pleased. And it's also indoor/outdoor: nothing beats getting a massage while listening to the real sounds of the jungle!

Excursions: we booked all our excursions in advance through Khao Lak Vista (not the hotel, although it seems they do offer similar tours at higher prices). Khao Lak Vista is FANTASTIC! We did three excursions with them 1) Elephant Trek and Bathing (right around the corner from the hotel), 2) Similan Islands (do NOT miss the day long snorkeling trip- I've never seen such blue water in my life!) and 3) Ko PhiPhi/James Bond Island/long boat/canoeing. They were on time for pick up, the guide spoke English and was hilarious! And they're really flexible. They even threw in a few quick stops to show us a rubber farm to see how the sap is harvested to make rubber (a huge export item from Thailand) and at a local school where we got to help some young children practice speaking English. We cannot speak highly enough of this tour company!

If you are thinking about Thailand and you want the perfect balance of beach, jungle, tranquility, relaxation, spa, delicious food, and outstanding customer service, you really can't go wrong with the Sarojin. My boyfriend and I agreed- we will most definitely be back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,018
    135
    36
    28
    15
See reviews for
65
994
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siem Reap, Cambodia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Cannot fault this place for service ; facilities ; luxury ; brilliant breakfast( best in 40 years that I can recall )
Staff are brilliant and very caring and attentive
Being in hospitality 27 years I watched with amazement
Restaurant with wide choice of Thai food is brilliant

Room Tip: Take a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

As first part of our Thailand-Cambodja trip , we stayed for five nights in the Sarojin.
Only superlative positive comments for this jewel of a hotel. We stayed in the Whitekaps suite room, ideal for families with a superb bathroom , enormous bedrooms and really good beds to enjoy after a 15 hour flight ....
Breakfast is à la carte and served with a smile. Dinner in the Edge was excellent as well, some really good Thai dishes at quite high prices but with a FIVE star service and a beautiful view onto the Andaman sea.
Beach is small however long beach walks along the most marvellous coast are easy and possible...
The best part of this hotel is the personal service, many thanks to the team for this, from the warm welcome at reception to the caring details in the restaurants and the friendly smiles at watersports and beach area....
Again, we enjoyed 5 marvellous days in your hotel , special thanks to Mon, Wat, Nuang and Jane and the other members of Kade's staff we forgot !

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

The best about this small resort is the location. It's on a very natural unspoiled quiet white sandy beach, where You can make long walks The hotel grounds are very green with a
big pool. Breakfast is as said before Amazing! But maybe the most important is the staff, so friendly and fun loving, they smile and laugh for real and do what they can to help, I know this from a personal experience. Thanks! We were there in low season so there was no other options for eating because everything was closed. Let me not forget to mention the spa witch is stunning! Hope to come back!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 7 nights in the Sarojin Suite. Room was amazing, very spacious. Over sized bathroom with rain shower, super large bed, great couches to laze and read a book all day long. The pool was fantastic and the gardens and hotel grounds are unbelievable. Highly recommended. We did stay in the monsoon season, and this did come true. It did rain every day, with max temp 34 degrees and minimum temp 25 degrees. Rain was not an issue we still swam in the pool. Obviously if we had a choice we would travel out of monsoon season, but we were happy to take advantage of the discount prices due to monsoon season. Beach looks nothing like the internet as water is quite brownish due to large swell and water running into the ocean from local rivers and streams.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed at the Sarojin for 10 days in May for our honeymoon. It is such a special place, we had a wonderful time. As nearly all the previous posters have commented, the all day breakfast is amazing. There is such a wide variety of food and it is lovely not to have to rush down there before 10am! The pool is absolutely beautiful and we never had a problem getting a sun bed, the same goes for the beach. We took the bikes out a couple of times which was good fun. Other highlights included the lavender facial at the spa - just amazing, a beautiful private dinner in the beach hut, an elephant trekking trip, sunset cocktails, fantastic Thai food at the Edge, a lovely tasting menu at the Ficus, towels and cold water by the pool and beach and our beautiful pool room. I'd also recommend going into Khao Lak and to the market on Saturday. It did rain on several afternoons whilst we were there but it didn't detract from the holiday at all. My only criticism is that the laundry service is too expensive! We were prepared to spend a bit more for the ease of having it done through the hotel but the prices are too high to justify - instead we cycled to a launderette down the road who did a great job at a fifth of the price.

Room Tip: If you can, get a pool room - it is so nice to have the option to spend time by your own pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level Contributor
58 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here with family in June 2014 for 4 nights. Had a fantastic stay . Firstly we had a suite which was very large. Bathroom was large too. The breakfast was amazing . Excellent choices from the menu. We spend most of the day in the resort and experienced some of their sightseeing and it was great . The hotel is about 10 minutes drove from khao lak town with a good amount of restaurants and shops. We also used the spa. Very nice setting surrounded by trees. Looks like you getting treatments in the jungle. Both restaurants were great. They don't have kids menu but our kids are older and there was plenty to choose from . Beach was probably the highlight . Wonderful calm ocean and sandy beach. We would come back !

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
4.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 61 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
2.4 mi away
Manathai Khao Lak
Manathai Khao Lak
#3 of 61 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 125 reviews
2.4 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#5 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 914 reviews
4.5 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#7 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#17 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#3 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splendia, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarojin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.