We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarojin

Save Saved
You added The Sarojin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sarojin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 day packages
Ranked #1 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Superb Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a sublime week at The Sarojin. I can only add further praise to the recent reviews and at the same time wonder about the negative reviews and how some people are clearly never going to be happy with their lot.

We stayed in room 601- a pool residence. We used the pool and relaxed in our garden which was private, secluded and tranquil. We then spent our other days at the main pool. It is large with a Jacuzzi attached and there were always plenty of sun loungers available. The poolside service is unobtrusive but when you want to order a drink or lunch, they are efficient and quick.

The whole Hotel is set in magnificent grounds with wonderful bird songs to be heard all day. A short stroll from the pool is the beach with the whitest sand and turquois sea I have seen in a long time. It is truly a beautiful beach made even more special by the fact that water sports are banned along the coastline meaning all you can hear is the unbroken sound of the waves washing on the shore. Negative reviews have commented on the proximity of the neighbouring resorts and how this detracted from a 5 star beach experience. This is rubbish and pure snobbery. The beach never felt crowded and you can take a leisurely stroll for miles along the beach without seeing more than a handful of people at any one time.

The food at the various restaurants at the resort is very good. The Thai food at The Edge is excellent. I didn't feel the wine list at The Edge was extensive or anything special and like everywhere else in Thailand the wine was expensive. The breakfast is a la carte which is definitely a treat and much better than the usual buffet/table service experience at other resorts and it is great to be able to wake up whenever you want and know you can still have a beautiful breakfast waiting for you. We ate at Ficus the night of our arrival but once we had eaten at The Edge there was no comparison and went there for the majority of our stay. I have one minor criticism to make about the food. On several occasions at breakfast, and when I ate at Ficus, my food was luke warm. I think, in part, this was due to it being served on cold plates. However, my overall experience was of tasty, fresh food.

Last, but not least, the service at The Sarojin is exceptional. The staff throughout the resort are friendly, courteous and always helpful. Service is unobtrusive and there is absolutely no up selling. Several of the negative reviews have mentioned pushy staff and up selling. I can honestly say that the staff at the The Sarojin make this place what it is: a resort with exceptional service, attention to detail and a peaceful place to stay; all that you want from a vacation. I would especially like to thank the housekeeping staff who did a magnificent job at always ensuring the room was well stocked with fresh towels, water etc and the staff at The Edge who were friendly and showed care and attention regarding my nut allergy.

Thanks very much for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

970 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    799
    109
    27
    23
    12
See reviews for
46
785
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

If you are looking for something truly special, appreciate tranquility, peacefulness and superbly personalised service where nothing is too much trouble, then the Sarojin is the perfect choice. Combining excellent food in a beautiful secluded and natural environment, away from the main tourist strips but with beach front access, a wonderful spa and private boat to access local islands, the Sarojin offers understated quality and surpasses the accolades it receives. The whole staff team are exceptional and we would happily make a return visit!

J & K, UK

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks Kent
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Have sadly just left from a wonderful weeks stay at this really lovely hotel, which exceeded our expectations. It's a very peaceful and serene place with stunning rooms and gardens. What makes it stand out is the amazing service and attention to detail that I have probably only experienced before whilst staying at very upmarket safari lodges. The staff are so friendly and yet unobtrusive . Little details like constantly replenished iced water whilst on your loungers on the beach or at the pool, unlimited bottled mineral water make such a difference. Also the 2 excursions we did , to the Similan Islands for snorkelling and to visit the "James Bond island" although seemingly expensive were well worth it for the quality of the care taken on these trips with excellent catering and guides . We had one of the garden rooms which was lovely even though it did not have its own jacuzzi , as we enjoyed the stunning pool and lovely beach so much we didn't use the room much in the daytime. All the rooms are very well appointed and very spacious and elegant The beach itself is lovely , and even though other hotels use it it's never crowded and you can walk along it for ages. Tide permitting its fun to walk into the next bay where there are beach bars and restaurants and we always felt safe walking at night. You need a torch to avoid stepping on al the hermit crabs walking on the beach at night! The hotel has some bikes you can borrow whenever you like to go to some local shops or other beaches and we cycled to a nearby waterfall . The food is excellent and beautifully presented. Sometimes there are lobster and seafood barbecues on the beach . breakfast has an amazing choice of hot and cold dishes and can be taken anytime up until 6 pm !!.

Room Tip: Depends if you want a jacuzzi / plunge pool , but we liked our garden residence as they are called .
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I'm not sure that I can add much more than has already been said, but I will try.
I was expecting good things from The Sarojin and my wife and I were not disappointed. The Sarojin is fantastic.
We had a pool room which was perfect, I don't think we left it for the first 5 days of our stay - just moved from the private garden to the pool to the pagoda and then back to the garden. Absolutely brilliant. The actual room itself was beautiful, the detail was fantastic and there are touches of quality everywhere. You can even choose from about 5 different pillows.

Everyone mentions the breakfast and I have to say it is worth mentioning, it is fantastic probably one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever had. The other restaurants were also great particularly the edge on the beach. Great Thai food, again some of the best. People have mentioned the cost but it really is about what you are comparing it to, sure you can eat for £6 a couple on the beach, but it is not comparable to the experience or quality of The Sarojin. I thought the food was great value in both restaurants, although we only ate in Ficus once but it was excellent. I have to also mention the wine list, which is very accomplished. You would be happy to see a wine list of this quality in any restaurant in the world - although it was very pricey so I couldn't indulge as much as I would have liked. Although a good selection by the glass.

Khao Lak as a town isn't really all that, it is a strip along a 4 lane highway but if you like Japanese food, get a cab to ENZO an incredible restaurant. Doesn't look much from outside but the sushi is out of this world.

We went on one of the trips and it was brilliant, to James Bond Island. Really worth every penny.Also my wife used the Spa a couple of times and wanted to pass on to Apple and Jo that out was a great experience.

I could go on and on but I will finish up by saying if you want a quality experience in a wonderful location then The Sarojin is for you. We will be going back next week for 14 nights rather than 10, 10 wasn't enough.

Room Tip: If you want to be totally removed, go for a pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

What can I say about this place...paradise!! i came here for my honeymoon and the welcome we received was amazing, got treated like royalty.

We had the pool residence, everything was so private, you have your own area with pool and jacuzzi and all in all was a beautiful setting.

We made the most of the relaxing massage treatments and the outdoor pool. Every day is an experience at The Sarojin, where staff sorted us out with Thai cooking classes, great fun!

Had a few really nice restaurants to choose from, the Ficus Restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine, while The Edge serves fresh seafood by the beach, we enjoyed chilled wine at The Cellar. The best part was undoubtedly the romantic candlelight dinner by the waterfalls.

There was a few places to go see and eat around the area to explore other things so overall was a great trip! thanks to the guys at the Sarojin for making it unforgettable!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yarm, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

My husband and i have just returned from spending a week at the Sarojin. We were met on arrival by the manager and staff who all gave a warm welcome., as well as refreshing drink, cold towel and a beautiful jasmine corsage.We were then escorted to our garden residence and given detailed instructions on all amenities,.the room was luxurious, spacious, light and most of all spotlessly clean.
Although the rooms do not have a seafront aspect the beautiful well kept gardens make up for this shortfall.During our stay there was never a problem with sunloungers around the pool or on the small stretch of beach allocated for the Sarojin and were attended by polite and courteous staff.The all day breakfast feature was a really unusual but fantastic concept. The range and quality of food served a la carte style by attentive but not intrusive staff was lovely.
Every aspect of the hotel is maintained to a very high standard from the rooms ,pool area to the beautiful peaceful gardens.
The only slight negative would probably be the cost of food and drink within the hotel which is high in price compared to nearby bars and restaurants.
Overall if you want quality, politeness, attention and cleanliness set in peaceful surroundings the Sarojin is for you.
If asked if i would return to this hotel the answer would be .... YES and FOREVER !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

5 nights in paradise! This small hotel nestles just back from the beach (although with easy access to beach and beachside restaurant). A complete oasis of tranquillity where the staff really can't do more to help. Breakfast is included, and is both a la carte and all day up to 6pm. Somehow I have got now to get used to not being able to dine next to the pool with a glass of sparkling wine each morning. The hotel trips look expensive (to be fair they probably are!), but there was a world of difference in our party of 13 on the hotel boat going snorkelling from other boats of similar size holding 50+ tourists each. I would take that trip again every time. Food is lovely, and if you want to try local restaurants you can either take a cab to Khao Lak for 300 Baht, or even walk down the beach from the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities – cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall …the limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarojin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.