We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarojin

Save Saved
You added The Sarojin to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sarojin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 day packages
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Midlands UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Exquisite boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent six nights in the Sarojin and loved every minute. The staff are so attentive and nothing is too much trouble.
From the moment we were met at the airport and given an iPad to choose our music for the hour and a half drive from Phuket airport we knew we had chosen the right hotel.
Check in was relaxed as we were told about the resort and our amazing room. We were also informed that we could have our a la carte breakfast at any time of the day, no restricted breakfast time at the Sarojin.
The layout of the hotel makes it feel very spacious. Whilst we were there it was nearly full but it certainly did not feel like it.
With only 58 rooms its not large and this combined with the nearly 200 staff reinforces its exclusive feel.
We did two trips whist we were there and although the rough seas on the day we chose to go snorkelling on the Similan islands did its best test our resolve the staff did everything possible sort the issues we had. The second excursion was on an elephant trek, our hotel guide escorted every step of the way which was great as he shared his knowledge our the elephants, the area and the rubber plantation we trekked through.
This is a first class property and you would struggle to find better and certainly not in this area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    807
    111
    27
    23
    12
See reviews for
46
795
13
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This hotel offers you everything . We are very impressed by the service . They attention with little thing like ice in ice bucket never gone or entertain guest . They provided everything we needed . Next year we will go back again .

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a long overdue review. My wife and I went to the Sarojin for our honeymoon and had the most amazing experience at this hotel. All the staff is amazingly friendly and accomodating, the rooms were probably the nicest I've ever stayed in. Ours even had its own plunge pool and a couple friendly frogs. Highly recommend utilizing their wonderful day trips that they'll put together for you, James Bond island, the monkey temple are great. We took the cooking class, which was one of the highlights of our trip and we also had the opportunity to visit an orphanage that the hotel sponsors. These are kids whose families were lost in the tsunami in 2005 and it was an amazing experience to see all the good work that happens in places like this.

Also, the restaurant on the beach next to the hotel is fantastic, ask for Mr. Neung, he'll take great care of you!

Really amazing place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We visited the Sarokin 25-31 March and had a pool residence. We flew in from Hong Kong (v.tired) and we picked up and whisked smoothly into our car to the hotel. Fab air con (as it was 37 degrees) and got offered cold towels, a drink and an ipad to choose your mood of music – a look at photos and all the info you need before arriving – the drive is just over an hour – good idea – impressive start. Great check-in and when you walk into the Sarojin – it’s peaceful, beautiful and you just feel you’re in the right place to chill. Pool residence was lovely – the pool is so nice to dip into – first thing in the morning or late afternoon. Room was superb – quiet & peaceful (perfect if you’re a light sleeper & v. quiet air con) – great bathroom – with two showers! Breakfasts are superb – you can have course after course if you wanted! Fabulous selection – you can kick off the day with a bucks fizz! The whole place has a chilled feel to it – the gardens are stunning – with lilies everywhere. The beach is fun to go to – there is shade and of course the sun. The sea was so warm and the beach was clean. You get regular water delivered to your sunbed and water melon comes around in the afternoon – you can order food and drink here to – all very easy. Lovely helpful staff – esp when the mosquito bites were increasing. Ask for their small bottles of repellent – their stuff really does keep the mozzies away far more effectively. We had a meal in the garden restaurant – which was superb. We booked the Sarojin boat for a private romantic sunset cruise which was amazing – it’s the best as the sunset was laid on for us! We also ate out in local Khao Lak – can thoroughly recommend Smile restaurant – great Swiss host serving Thai & European dishes – rustic, good food and fun. My favourite was Blue Mist (sort of between the hotel and Khao Lak) right on the beach – just get a cab there – it’s rustic, genuine and amazing food. Prawn satay, fried banana, green thai curry , fresh fish….. wonderful menu – and you get treated like a king – really friendly staff - but you need to book via the hotel and you get a nice table on the upper floor. Khao Lak is fun to roam around. Overall a superb stay – if you want chill and be spolit – the Sarojin is a good choice.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, Maharashtra, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

a bit too professional...for a place like khao lak, which needs to have more of a laid back feel...beautiful property but kind of cold...i moved out after 2 days..otherwise, good for business ans stuff..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pambula, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Brilliantly designed boutique resort with great add-on activities that add to the overall experience.
Activities are all great value and can be designed to your specification.
Staff just love giving you a good time.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We have recently returned from an absolutely amazing two weeks at the Sarojin. On arrival it was obvious that we had made an excellent choice to begin my husband's 50th birthday celebrations. We were met at reception with cold towels and a refreshing drink and shown to our wonderful suite 707, the Whitecaps suite, just perfect positioning between the two restaurants and the swimming pool. Everything was spotlessly clean and a large plate of fruit was waiting for us in our suite. The plate of fruit was refilled every day much to our delight!
The restaurants are both fabulous, all our meals during the two weeks were first rate, and nothing is too much trouble for any of the staff. After mentioning that pineapple ice cream would be nice, low and behold, there was some made for us on our last night, how can you top that??
The swimming pool was absolutely fabulous, as was the service we received by the pool and also on the beach. You don't have to get up from your sun lounger to get a drink, iced water is provided constantly, and also a fruit drink in the morning and watermelon in the afternoon. We cannot praise this wonderful hotel highly enough for both comfort and service. We have stayed in many excellent hotels in the world, but the Sarojin is by far the best!! Can't wait to go back, and we have never been anywhere twice, so it really is a special place for the following reasons:
1. Outstanding Service by Dawid and all his staff, including Maria, Wuth, Kob
2. Immaculate rooms and grounds maintained to perfection.
3. The wonderful menus is both restaurants, but don't miss the Siam Night and the Beach BBQ
4. The boat trip on The Lady Sarojin to snorkell on the Simillan Islands
5. The trip to Phang Nga Bay and surrounding area including the Monkey Temple
6. An elephant trek including the elephant bathing, a personal favourite!!!
7. The spa is a must, I had a most wonderful massage and my husband had a pedicure, bliss!

I would recommend that trips out are booked with reception. We had a 4x4 air conditioned vehicle driven by one of the Sarojin Staff, who provided cold drinks and cold towels throughout the trip. We were also escorted by our driver on the trips to make us feel very special and very safe!

There was a slight issue with our air conditioning. It was reported just before dinner one evening, by the time we had returned to our room later, the problem had been resolved. Also we needed an extra pillow, again this was sorted immediately.

There is no need to pay for half board unless you really want to pay up front, as the menus are the same as the B&B option with an allowance given each day against the meal of your choice.

An absolutely wonderful hotel in it's own little bit of paradise. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: We had The Whitecaps Suite, Room 707 in between the two restaurants and opposite the swimming pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities – cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall …the limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Tingo and Agoda so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarojin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.