We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best beach resort hotel you can imagine...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Sarojin to your Saves list
The Sarojin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
3 day packages
Ranked #1 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best beach resort hotel you can imagine...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I have fallen in love with the Sarojin; the accommodation, facilities, beach, and restaurants are all I could have hoped for and more. But above the outstanding environment is the staff, all of which made this a very special experience. I found all the staff at the Sarojin charming and enjoyed doing their very best to make my holiday very special.

The hotel is set on the edge of a gloriously unspoilt beach that forms a long bay with stunning Robinson Crusoe views and blissful walks along a back drop of palm trees and woodland.

I enjoyed the sumptuously finished suite featuring warmly toned hardwoods, natural stone and pebbles, softened with lots of naturally coloured linen fabrics. I found the room areas well designed and very comfortable with indoor and outside areas for private relaxing and all the technical requirements working as they should.

The beautifully maintained grounds are delightful with interesting vistas in every direction and a superb central pool where I enjoyed relaxing in the discretely positioned open pavilions.

The two restaurants are beautifully located, one with views of the landscaped grounds and waterways, the other with mesmerising views and sounds of the lapping clear blue sea. The menu gave a good choice of delicious dishes and the special evening with live entertainment was a superb.

On one day I took an excursion to the Similian Islands on the Sarajin’s own luxury boat where one again the well trained staff looked after every detail perfectly and delivered n exclusive trip that far out shone the other tour boats who appeared green with envy as they saw the lucky few of us aboard the Lady Sarojin.

In summary, the Sarojin offered me the quality of facilities normally expected in a large luxury resort but with the exclusiveness, attention to detail, personal service and passion for detail that you could only find in a very special small luxury hotel. If you go, like me you’ll want to return…

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    112
    27
    23
    12
See reviews for
46
809
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights at the end of October and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. There was a mix up with our suite upon arrival, however the staff more than adequately compensated us for the mix up and even reminded us to take the free dinner that had been offered. The suite was great, very spacious and immaculate, I think it is definitely worth upgrading to. We found the food to be fantastic, we ate at the resort every night - yes it might be more expensive than surrounding restaurants, but you get what you pay for, the food in our opinion was the best we have had in Thailand. One night I paid compliments to a particular dish I had, and the waiter arranged for the receipe to be given to me the following morning at breakfast. We attended all the theme nights and thoroughly enjoyed them. We had several treatments each at the spa, again we cannot fault the staff or the service. We went on the elephant safari and used the free bikes on two occasions, the waterfall trip was definitely worth the ride! Lastly, the staff were very kind and courteous and a special mention goes to Dawid, who is a great host and to Sak who brought us our breakfast each morning with a smile. For those that gave a negative review, we never had any of what you seem to have experienced. We would definitely return to The Sarojin.

Room Tip: Suites are spacious with plenty of room to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed here for 14 days in early December. The place is quite nice but you are dependent only on the hotel services. There is more staff then guests. We lacked privacy because we were asked all the time if we are going to attend beach clambakes or dinners organised by the hotel. Every staff member does this marketing all the time and after a week it starts to be literally annoying. On the other hand we drunk a lot of wine and we were offered a discount only 2 days before departure.
Regarding service the food and wine was great except of the breakfast which is a la carte based on eggs and lasts ages. Spa is comfortable but sometimes you have to ask 3 times, because the staff speaks poor English. Sometimes they really don´t know what you are asking for which I supose not to happen in a 5star international hotel. Gym is small and we missed the bar. The wifi is weak.
Due to the fact that the staff is so incompetent I wouldn´t expect such a high prices paid for everything/including the shuttle to Khao Lak.
I can only recommend it for short stay because otherwise you realize that you spent your holiday at the money making factory.

Room Tip: On the opposite site of the restaurant where the breakfast is served, because the restaurant is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed at the Sarojin in Nov and are happily returning in April. The hotel had the wrong flight details, even though it was confirmed in an email weeks before so there was no airport pick up when we arrived. To their credit, they did help to arrange an alternate taxi transfer immediately. The quality and concept of the all day breakfast was excellent, the garden room spacious and very comfortable and the toiletries are lovely. The mosquitos are active so the hotel provides citronella oil but I was still getting bitten so I'll bringing something a little stronger next time.

There are cheaper local bar and food options along beach to the left and right of the hotel. The food was fine but the quality was nowhere near as good as the Sarojin so 'you get what you paid for'. The spa massages were excellent - there are cheaper massage options but without not as the same level of luxury or pampering. The other guests at the hotel were considerate and thoughtful which added the ambiance of the place, especially good 'sun lounge etiquette' ie vacate when leaving for lunch, not leaving towels and belongings so other people can't use them etc. The beach was pretty deserted so felt like a private beach when we were there so we didn't have the same experience of many tourists crowding the place. This was one of the best parts of our stay was the beach experience.

We're looking forward to our return visit in April.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I'm staying here right now, been 24 hours, and can't really find anything to compliment. Excursions are seriously overpriced and destinations quite overrated, hotel environs are too obviously manicured to suggest tropical reality, the Aircon hasn't been working in the main room of the suite since we checked in (in fact, the GM has been in the room to sign us up on an excursion and actually commented about how hot it was....at almost 10:00 p.m). Staff, like almost everywhere in the region, are always ready with a winning smile and good intentions, but language skills and technical knowledge are seriously lacking. All very tourist brochure cut and paste! Still waiting for the magic!

Room Tip: If you want beach view, there aren't any
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AJHK, Owner at The Sarojin, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
The reviewer was met on check in by the resort manager and also at dinner the same evening. At 9,30pm later that evening, at the request of the reviewer, the resort manager again met with the guests in their room to assist in planning some excursions. The guests were only staying for 3 days and due to a physical condition, only certain excursions were possible. The couple subsequently (and subsequent to this review) booked to explore the Similan Islands as well as taking a glimpse local life and mangroves via a longtail boat.

No report or request was ever made in connection with the room air-conditioning.

The reviewer departed as scheduled two days after posting this review having had a most enjoyable stay.

Needless to say a number of staff were disappointed that the guest felt the need to post a public review whilst in house and that subsequent to the team effort in attending to the guests’ wishes such a review remains posted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 days and really enjoyed The Sarojin. A good antidote after 3 weeks of hoping around South East Asia. That said it sure isn't perfect and here are some of our pros and cons and suggestions for the management -- hopefully constructive.

PROS:
+ Great environment.
+ Beautiful compound with stunning landscaping and beautifully designed buildings.
+ Stunning pool.
+ Charming staff that were always helpful.
+ Wonderful place to relax.
+ NIce rooms (we stayed in a Suite).

CONS:
- Food is pretty good but was also rather inconsistent at times.
- In general the food & drinks were a bit too expensive, especially given there is a beach club next door that was a quarter of the price.
- Other services were too expensive to attract us. Laundry costs were more than Four Seasons in New York even though there was a laundry service nearby that would do $5 per kg! The spa was again over 6X more than the surrounding area. Daily expedition costs were again silly price.
- The staff, whilst lovely, were somewhat inexperienced and could do with some training/sharpening.
- Our room was tired and really needed an update. Looks like it hasn't had one for 10 years. A little bit run down not beyond repair. Small things like CD players without iPod connectors in the rooms is a big giveaway.
- The real problem (and one that is unsolveable) is the beach area. The Sarojin has a small slice of a public beach between a large family resort and a beach club. A constant stream of "package" holidaymakers (mostly swedish and german) making there way from the resort to the club wanting to take up Sorijin loungers detracts hugely from the sanctuary feeling of The Sarojin. In fact it took it down a notch in our mind and gave us a reason the question the pricings above.

So... we thought it was a lovely place that feels like it has peaked. Their challenge is that it needs a bit more thought and attention to detail to live up to its billing and to stay relevant. It currently isn't. My guess is that it will continue to slide for a while. As for the beach - if they can solve that problem it could be a great place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My husband and I spent almost two weeks at the Sarojin in October 2012. We had each experienced quite a trying year due to business pressures and the Sarojin was just what we needed.
The general ambience makes one relax from check-in to check out. The gardens, pool area and beach are most tranquil – the absence of children is wonderful for those who wish to truly unwind.
We fully agree with previous reviewers with regards to the all-day breakfast being superb so will not go into this.
We stayed in a “basic” garden room for the duration of our stay – it was wonderful. Prior to arrival, we had considered upgrading to a pool room once we arrived. We did not feel this to be necessary as the pool was within very close proximity and was always very quiet, despite the hotel being at full capacity. The spacious bathroom, large comfortable bed and endless supply of luxurious toiletries were amazing. We also took advantage of the garden sala each afternoon when it rained. The provision of mosquito coils kept our biting friends at bay!
My husband celebrated his birthday during our stay and a complimentary home-made chocolate birthday cake was delivered to our room. We treated ourselves to a “Royal Thai” massage in the spa – what an experience! Again, you can have a massage from some local girls along the beach but you cannot compare the two. We would recommend that you try the spa at least once during your stay.
We went on a half-day local trip with Nam as our guide. Her knowledge combined with her ability to communicate made it a wonderful morning. Being able to touch the elephants was a unique and memorable experience.
We also went on a trip to Krabi which we booked with a local tour company. Although we thoroughly enjoyed the day and found the tour guide to be delightful, his English was not nearly as fluent as Nam’s so we did not receive a comprehensive commentary during the trip. We also missed the Sarojin’s “in-jeep” hospitality and cooling towels!
The amembers of staff at the Sarojin are second-to-none. From the gardening staff to the pool/beach attendants, nothing is too much trouble. At times, we were almost embarrassed by their wish to go that extra step to ensure our stay was superb. It is very apparent that they enjoy working at the Sarojin.
We had a very slight issue with our air conditioning one day. Not only was it resolved exceptionally quickly but we received a letter of apology along with some delicious home-made chocolates from the head engineer.
I was quite unwell one evening and not only did Alex, the reception supervisor, seek advice from a local doctor, he also collected the prescription for me.
We had the pleasure of meeting Mr and Mrs Kemp one day. What a lovely, humble couple. They mentioned that they are building a Sarojin in Cambodia – we will certainly endeavour to visit there in the future.
We ate in the hotel several times and ordered room service on four occasions. Some previous reviewers commented on how costly the Sarojin restaurants are. Yes, we found this to be the case but as the old saying goes, “you get what you pay for.” There are indeed alternative restaurants a short distance along the beach, but you simply cannot compare them to the quality and service offered at the Sarojin. The food is superb and the style in which it is served beats any dining experience we have ever enjoyed, both in the UK and throughout our extensive travels.
My only criticism (which in no way reflects on the Sarojin) is the town of Khao Lak. Some parts of the main street are quite run-down and a lot of the gift shops quite tacky. We did not spend much time in the town – always keen to get back to the hotel!! We were of the opinion that perhaps it has not yet fully recovered from the horrors of the Boxing Day Tsunami. If this is the case, we wish the town all the very best for the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#4 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities – cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall …the limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarojin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.