We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Honeymoon destination!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarojin

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sarojin to your Saves list
The Sarojin
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Direct Now & Save
Ranked #2 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
London
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Best Honeymoon destination!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Been wanting to write a review for Sarojin since we visited in 2011, September. Finally I have got around to do it !

Selecting Sarojin as the destination for our Honeymoon is one of the best decisions I have made… It truly is an awesome place and is an ideal romantic getaway.

The pampering started with the Airport pickup.. Cool box with ice cold drinks, cold face towels and a remote to select the music greeted us as we got into the cab for the one hour journey to the resort from the airport.

We had booked the pool residence, but on arrival we were told that they would upgrade us for free to the Suite which was a very pleasant surprise. One word to describe the suite, AMAZING ! it was very large and had all modern amnesties.. It had a lovely stone bath out in the balcony which was lovely…

The all day breakfast was very good.. They had a very good selection on the menu and you can have it pretty much any time of the day ! We did try the restaurants and they were good as well.

The shuttle to the city was very useful and we made use of that a few times. The food at the restaurants in the town were naturally much cheaper ! You can also walk along the beach and try the restaurants from other hotels around!

We also visited the orphanage run by the management of Sarojin..it was nice to meet the children and donate some food items for them !

There are many activities that can be arranged for you by the resort. They are a bit pricy in my opinion, but you do get a very good service. We tried the Fishing and Elephant trek..both were very well organized !

The best features of this place are the staff. I have never come across such lovely staff who genuinely seem to want to make your stay a memorable one. !

I will definitely recommend this to anyone and will definitely be back one day !

Room Tip: Book the Suite ! You will not regret it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    128
    32
    28
    15
See reviews for
62
940
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

This was our second experience at the Sarojin having stayed there three years ago when we celebrated our 40th Wedding anniversary. If anything it was better the second time around. We were lucky enough to stay in a pool residence this time after staying in a suite on the last visit. Although the pool residence was smaller than the suite it was more than adequate with the shower/bath room was brilliant. Being able to laze around our own private pool was a luxury we had not experienced before but we will definitely do again. The cocktail party was a nice touch, giving us the opportunity to meet other guests and staff in a relaxed setting.

The gardens and facilities were stunning. Breakfast was great, the seafood BBQ and dinner at the Ficus restaurant were outstanding. I highly recommend the Lobster Lasagne!

I could not recommend this hotel highly enough. The rooms and facilities are wonderful but what sets the Sarojin apart from any hotel we have stayed at is its people. You are made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive to the time you leave. Everyone, from the reception staff to the guest services people and even the gardeners greet you with a smile and a cheery sawat dee ka/krahp.

Just the way we were waved off when we were leaving left a lasting memory. We were sad to leave and have already sworn that we will return, next time it will be for longer.

I have nothing but praise for the Sarojin, we had no negative experience. It is truly Heaven on Earth.

Room Tip: The suites are enormous but the pool residence are very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

It's our last day and we don't want to leave the Sarojin! Our tour guide from our Phang Nga bay adventure (who is a hotel employee) just left our room after going out of his way to buy us both some special Thai coffee. This was after a conversation we had with him about Thai coffee that we got at a market 12 months ago, and after he asked the restaurant to try and make it for us.
So using his own money, on his own time, he went and bought us this coffee!
I think this explains the Sarojin, the staff are just incredible.
The hotel has 56 rooms and apparently they don't book in any more than 100 guests at a time. There are 7 blocks of rooms all located around the main lagoon and pool. Each block has 2 suites (both upstairs), 2 pool residences (one at each end of the block) and 6 garden residences (between the pool rooms). All the suites are upstairs and all the other rooms are ground level. 
We had a pool residence and it was amazing to have our own private pool literally 3 steps from our room. The suites don't have pools, just a big bath on the verandah.
There are so many things to mention about this resort:
- Breakfast is a la carte, but there's really no limit on how much you can have. We ate late each day and didnt event bother with lunch some days.
- The presentation of the food at 'The Edge' is amazing, and easily the best quality Thai food we had on this trip.
- Our room had a massive rainfall shower head and what seemed like a never ending supply of hot water.
- There's a bus that can take you into Khoa Lak and back which we did a number of times and it costs 100 baht per person each way.
- They have mountain bikes you can use to go for a ride around the area... Most of the roads are flat but the ride to the waterfall had a few hills.Upon return again you are offered a cold towel to cool down
- Every where you turn there is another bottle of water or a cold towel to refresh yourself.
The other reviews were right that the food here is expensive, but only expensive by Thai standards not by home standards. However about 150 meters north up the beach is little village of massage places and restaurants which we ate at a few times. The food is cheap and basic at these places but a nice alternative.
I would recommend booking your excursions through the Sarojin. Yes you can probably get it cheaper but it just doesn't compare and the Sarojin staff actually host the tours themselves. We did a day trip to James Bond Island, Sea Canoe Caves and the gypsy village on the water and it was something special. They only take 2 guests at a time, you get your own long tail boat, you get a VIP tour of the caves, you get a personal guide around James Bond island to take photos and tell you about everything and you get an amazing lunch away from the crowds. King (our guide for the day) was excellent! Spoke good English, was really attentive and let us decide on the pace of the day. Plus he offered cold drinks all day and was willing to answer every question. Seeing the other tourists on crowded boats and being pushed along made us realise what we were really paying for.
We spent a day at the spa at the hotel and had a package with facials and massages and scrubs and wraps and lunch. It was excellent and relaxing and the treatment rooms are built right in the natural forest.
All in all it was an amazing experience and has set the bar for us in terms of luxury accommodation. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Pool residence is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We had the most wonderful time at the Sarojin, the website set the scene for us, and we weren’t let down upon our arrival.

We had lovely welcome from the reception staff upon arrival and the evening we arrived we attended the beach cocktail and lobster party on the beach, we could not have had a better welcome to the Sarojin!


Our room (pool Residence)was very pleasant and the pool area was lovely, however I had hoped the residence to be more private as we had a path outside our door that the cleaners and gardeners used us and the hedges weren’t dense enough so we were able to see them clearly every time and them us.

Dining: The food and service was faultless, we had poolside dining, edge beach dining and Ficus.

Included in our package was the Degustation meal at the Ficus, I could see the effort and preparation put into the meal and wine selections however personally the experience didn’t really do it for me, I think I would have liked a more traditional Thai meal cooked perhaps in front of us with a bit of interaction with the chef and picking up a few tips from our chef, this would have made it interesting, different and fun.

At the degustation meal, One little thing I wasn’t crazy on was that weeach recieved a glass of wine with the main course (we both preferred this than the rest of the tastings) and asked could we substitute another glass of that to enjoy with our dessert rather than dessert wine and although it wasn’t a problem we were charged extra for that, which I felt was unnecessary.

I really don’t mind paying for good wines , however I felt the bar drinks and cocktails were expensive, I think I would have been inclined to purchase more frequently if they had been a little less, especially when we were getting true Thai prices in the local bars, this went for many of the guests whom we met in the local towns. I feel the Sarojin could benefit from lowering the drink prices so that more guests stay on sight and avail of them!

Spa: Congratulations on the Spa’s recent accolade, we availed of 3 treatments all of which were wonderful, relaxing and satisfying.

All the staff were extremely courteous, helpful and charming as well as professional and friendly.

We really enjoyed our time there and were very happy with our choice of honeymoon resort, it’s a beautiful and special resort and deserves credit for all the continuing effort that all the staff put into it.
I recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed pool residence about 1 week here.
We offered extraordinary experiences. (Breakfast with champagne, excellent in design room, find service to be satisfactory)
We were filled with a feeling of relaxation.

I don't want to hear "No Rooms Available" So I also feel that I don't really want to tell people about this=) I only with.. We'd like to go back again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We stayed at the Sarojin for 3 nights as a part of our honeymoon in Thailand. We are so happy we chose the Sarojin and wished we could have a spent some more time there.

The first thing we noticed was the warm welcome we received by the friendly staff. The second thing was the privacy and relaxed setting that the Sarojin offered. It was always quiet and peaceful. We were upgraded upon check in due to being honeymoon guests. We were a little bit disappointed that we wouldn't have our own private pool, however, our suite was huge, with a terrace, plunge pool, lounge area, and a second toilet. We received a complementary bottle of sparkling wine, which was enjoying in the plunge pool in the sun. Such a great start to our honeymoon.

We got to know the resort and found that the pool was very quiet each day, so did not miss having our own private pool, as the main pool was basically empty each day. We walked down the beach, which is almost like a private beach. All of the staff were so lovely , welcoming us and always checking if we needed anything. We spent a bit of time speaking with King in the activities hut and had a great time!

During our time at the Sarojin we used the bikes and explored the area (and found the best, cheapest local food at roadside sala just near the Sarojin), enjoyed a candlelit waterfall dinner (highly recommended!!! So romantic, such a relaxing experience and gorgeous food) and a BBQ on the beach. We initially booked our candlelit waterfall dinner on our second night, but this was cancelled due to rain. We were then able to join the Beach BBQ dinner that was being held by the resort and are very happy we got to experience this. The food was amazing! We also had pre drinks held by Dawid, and all of the guests got to speak with staff and get to know them a bit better.

The breakfast at the Sarojin was definitely one of the best parts of our experience. You are able to have breakfast all day either at the Ficus restaurant or in your suite. We ordered in the suite once and loved it! The menu choices are expansive and you are able to order as much as you would like. I'm still dreaming about the breakfast now!

During our honeymoon, we also had a bath run for us which created a highly romantic setting - the bath was surrounded by candles and full of rose petals. My husband and I decided that the bathroom at the Sarojin was our dream bathroom - 2 shower heads, full wet room, large bath, double basins!

We also went on an elephant trek, which was organised by the Sarojin. We were driven by one of the staff members and the experience was incredible!

We had an issue with our bar fridge and the maintenance men came straight away and took it out and replaced it with a new one. The cleaner was fantastic and the room was always immaculate.

Thank-you very much to all of the staff at the Sarojin which made our honeymoon so relaxing and enjoyable. We would love to come back and hope to see you all again soon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We got married in Nov 2011, however I started searching for our honeymoon destination and resort long before. Trip advisor was my bible. As first initial choice was Maldives but being both active and enjoying sight seeing and shopping Tropical Skys recommended Thailand Khao Lak. Sarojin was recommended by the agent and let me tell you it was the BEST choice ever!

We booked a suite which was breath taking! The resort itself is absolutely stunning. Freshly cooked food, breakfast was ace, loved the fresh juices and banana bread. The service from all the staff was amazing, hellos and hi's, manager was polite and always helpful. Rooms throughly cleaned, fresh towels every day, bottled water FOC, decorative bed, I can not stretch how much the service was good.

Ladies if you are anything like me, indecisive and not sure where to go for a luxuary stay then be sure after a long daily search on google we did book the best resort and location and believe me a honeymoon to remember.

Khao Lak centre is 10min drive away from the resort for 200 bahts by taxi, 150 bahts by the resort coach with lots of places to eat, shops to buy all your imitation and souverniers and not to mention a 1hr massages for less than £5!! We had a 3 course meal for 2 for £10, I did shopping for everyone I knew for £100. We also visited phi phi island/monkey island and paid 2000 bahts each worth the trip!! including full buffet lunch!

Room Tip: Pick the suite - will not be disappointed, one closer to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarojin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarojin

Address: 60 Moo 2 Kukkak | Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#2 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sarojin 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Multi award winning luxurious boutique beach resort, just 55 minutes from Phuket on a stunning, secluded white sand beach in Khao Lak. Exceptional personal services, top class facilities. Ideal for couples, romantic breaks, honeymoons, weddings and adult family groups. Designed in a contemporary Asian style with just 56 luxurious guest residences. Wide range of activities and facilities - cruise on a luxury boat, jungle adventures complete with champagne, glimpse authentic Thai local life in association with responsible and sustainable tourism commitment, rejuvenating spa massages lulled by the sounds of the Andaman sea, Thai cooking classes, lazy gourmet lunches, romantic diners on a secluded beach or by a candlelit jungle waterfall ...The limits are only your imagination. No children under 10 years permitted to stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Splendia, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sarojin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak
Sarojin Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarojin, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.