We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Actually reviewing its Sunshine Bar and Grill Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   26/14 Moo 7, Phetkasem Road | Tambol Khuk Khak, Amphur Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Actually reviewing its Sunshine Bar and Grill Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

The whole resort set on a steep hillside (good for Tsunami escape) looks good but its beachfront restaurant the Sunshine Bar & Grill was really worth finding. Nice setting, good, reasonably priced food and OUTSTANDING (friendly AND helpful) staff. Also in the resort itself. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

We were looking for a quick bolt-hole on short notice and chose Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort on impulse. It was a great choice. We went at the beginning of low season, during a slump in visitor numbers to Thailand (political problems) so there were very few other guests. Nevertheless there were enough people around for the place not to seem empty. Our room was very comfortable and tasteful. We were in spitting distance of the pool, but refrained from spitting. The grounds were brimming with tropical gardens and we enjoyed meandering around. We had interactions with three staff members and two of them were lovely and accommodating. The other was a bit prickly. Never mind. We had a great time regardless!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredrikstad Municipality, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014 via mobile

Our bungalow was really nice, we upgraded to jaquzzi-room, and got a bungalow next to the beach and poolarea! The staff was wonderful and we have no complaints regarding the service. The pool is smaller than it seems in the pictures, and the fitnessroom is next to nothing!
The location is perfect!!! Walk to Khao Lak is 15 min, along the beach or road, or 5 min by tuk-tuk/taxi. Quiet located on the very end of Khao Lak, but still in reach of everything!
Highly recommended!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

If you do not want crowds, a small resort with a wonderful clean and sandy beach, and still have accessibility to restaurants and shops, this is perfect. For us it was a relief that there were no families with small children. In general, although it was fully booked it was relaxingly quite.
You come here for the location. Perfect if you like swimming in the ocean. The bungalows have no ocean views although they are close to the beach. They are spacious and have a nice terrace. Beds are hard but adjusted with extra padding on request. The breakfast buffet is great. The beach restaurant is fine but has extremely slow service. There are other beach restaurants nearby as alternatives. The two pools are small but fine for a quick dip. The massage place is blissful. We tried a couple of other places on the beach but this was the best!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Called in to our old friend.
Though we didn't stay. Stayed next door at Bayfront.
We recommend to anyone who is staying at any of the Resorts at Khao Lak Beach, to take a stroll along the beach to The Palm and have a cold cocktail at the Sunshine Bar and grill.
Happy hours 2 for 1, from 2.30 to 4.30. Great staff, and food, and a really nice view .
worth the walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a tough one to review. Perhaps that is why there are no current reviews.
First the hotel. We stayed in two different rooms. We much preferred the second to the first. The first room had an odd bathroom configuration with a sunken tub. It had an inner room (door) and outer room (no door) which were not separately controlled with light switches. This made it inconvenient when someone got up in the night to use the toilet. Other than that both rooms were in good condition.
The grounds were well kept and the staff was friendly. Location was not the best as we were about 15-20 minutes walking distance south of town. Wifi was only available in the lobby. The desk top computers available for use were slow. Breakfast was fine, served in a nice open restaurant.
We went to a beach barbeque buffet at the hotel. It started at 7pm. We got there at 6:45 and ordered our drinks. It took 30-45min to receive them. We thought that we would avoid the initial rush at 7pm and line up a bit later. Trouble is they never replenished the trays, of which many were empty when we got there, and we were stuck with only stir fry and BBQ. There was only one large grilled fish, and this was gone before we went to fill our plates.
Now the tough part. This hotel seems to cater to mostly German customers and although most were friendly we had a couple of encounters that were less than that, and made us feel more like outsiders. Perhaps it was just these particular people, but we would hesitate to book here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This resort makes up for small size with bonus relaxation.Thai style bungalows set in tropical gardens ,flowing streams,absolute beach front,golden sand and clean ocean if you dont want to swim in either of the 2 pools.We had to extend our stay due to the flood in Bangkok and the staff were very helpful,also helped when we had to cancel some flights and arrange new ones.We have stayed before and will again.GREAT VALUE.

Room Tip: Deluxe garden view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort

Address: 26/14 Moo 7, Phetkasem Road | Tambol Khuk Khak, Amphur Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Palm Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.