We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serene and beautiful beach location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   26/14 Moo 7, Phetkasem Road | Tambol Khuk Khak, Amphur Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
sweden
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Serene and beautiful beach location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

If you do not want crowds, a small resort with a wonderful clean and sandy beach, and still have accessibility to restaurants and shops, this is perfect. For us it was a relief that there were no families with small children. In general, although it was fully booked it was relaxingly quite.
You come here for the location. Perfect if you like swimming in the ocean. The bungalows have no ocean views although they are close to the beach. They are spacious and have a nice terrace. Beds are hard but adjusted with extra padding on request. The breakfast buffet is great. The beach restaurant is fine but has extremely slow service. There are other beach restaurants nearby as alternatives. The two pools are small but fine for a quick dip. The massage place is blissful. We tried a couple of other places on the beach but this was the best!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    33
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
36
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Called in to our old friend.
Though we didn't stay. Stayed next door at Bayfront.
We recommend to anyone who is staying at any of the Resorts at Khao Lak Beach, to take a stroll along the beach to The Palm and have a cold cocktail at the Sunshine Bar and grill.
Happy hours 2 for 1, from 2.30 to 4.30. Great staff, and food, and a really nice view .
worth the walk.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is a tough one to review. Perhaps that is why there are no current reviews.
First the hotel. We stayed in two different rooms. We much preferred the second to the first. The first room had an odd bathroom configuration with a sunken tub. It had an inner room (door) and outer room (no door) which were not separately controlled with light switches. This made it inconvenient when someone got up in the night to use the toilet. Other than that both rooms were in good condition.
The grounds were well kept and the staff was friendly. Location was not the best as we were about 15-20 minutes walking distance south of town. Wifi was only available in the lobby. The desk top computers available for use were slow. Breakfast was fine, served in a nice open restaurant.
We went to a beach barbeque buffet at the hotel. It started at 7pm. We got there at 6:45 and ordered our drinks. It took 30-45min to receive them. We thought that we would avoid the initial rush at 7pm and line up a bit later. Trouble is they never replenished the trays, of which many were empty when we got there, and we were stuck with only stir fry and BBQ. There was only one large grilled fish, and this was gone before we went to fill our plates.
Now the tough part. This hotel seems to cater to mostly German customers and although most were friendly we had a couple of encounters that were less than that, and made us feel more like outsiders. Perhaps it was just these particular people, but we would hesitate to book here again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This resort makes up for small size with bonus relaxation.Thai style bungalows set in tropical gardens ,flowing streams,absolute beach front,golden sand and clean ocean if you dont want to swim in either of the 2 pools.We had to extend our stay due to the flood in Bangkok and the staff were very helpful,also helped when we had to cancel some flights and arrange new ones.We have stayed before and will again.GREAT VALUE.

Room Tip: Deluxe garden view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdynia, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great rooms - we had a bungalow with the pond view and we all loved it. Wonderful massage center just by the pool and beach, very nice beach, very good breakfast. There are two pools - so you don't have to fight with those strange people, who wake up at the crack of dawn just to reserve a place by the pool :) and the service was just excellent - they were very helpful and understanding and willing to give discounts (ups. I said it! :D) I do recommend the place

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed for our 3rd time at Khao Lak Palm in September.This is such a pleasant place to wind down so we usually come before moving on to Phuket and Bangkok.The Resort has lovely duplex style chalets decorated in traditional Thai style,scattered through landscaped gardens and streams so well placed that we can sit on our verandah and not be seen by other guests as they walk past to or from their rooms to the pools(2) or beach.Chalets are BIG with large bathrooms attached.You do need to get insect spray though because the windows have no sceening and the lush gardens are a haven for mosquito.There are 2 nice eateries that offer a good selection,one right on the beach,or you can wander down the beach into any of the other resorts and try what they offer. Everyone is very friendly.Beautifull golden sand beach and water that you can swim in,just watch the tide changes as current can be strong.The resort has a Spa and I have had some great Thai Massages.Its a litle way out of town but they have a great little shop on site that sells really cheap drinks etc.We love our stays here and already have reservatons for our return .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The grounds and beach of this hotel are very beautiful. My main complaint with this hotel is that it could have been great, 5-star even, with a few small improvements/modernizations. That said, it's a good value if you want to stay on the beach in KL.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort

Address: 26/14 Moo 7, Phetkasem Road | Tambol Khuk Khak, Amphur Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Palm Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.