We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   26/14 Moo 7, Phetkasem Road | Tambol Khuk Khak, Amphur Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Still paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

This resort makes up for small size with bonus relaxation.Thai style bungalows set in tropical gardens ,flowing streams,absolute beach front,golden sand and clean ocean if you dont want to swim in either of the 2 pools.We had to extend our stay due to the flood in Bangkok and the staff were very helpful,also helped when we had to cancel some flights and arrange new ones.We have stayed before and will again.GREAT VALUE.

Room Tip: Deluxe garden view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    9
    3
    0
See reviews for
10
30
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Gdynia, Poland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Great rooms - we had a bungalow with the pond view and we all loved it. Wonderful massage center just by the pool and beach, very nice beach, very good breakfast. There are two pools - so you don't have to fight with those strange people, who wake up at the crack of dawn just to reserve a place by the pool :) and the service was just excellent - they were very helpful and understanding and willing to give discounts (ups. I said it! :D) I do recommend the place

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We stayed for our 3rd time at Khao Lak Palm in September.This is such a pleasant place to wind down so we usually come before moving on to Phuket and Bangkok.The Resort has lovely duplex style chalets decorated in traditional Thai style,scattered through landscaped gardens and streams so well placed that we can sit on our verandah and not be seen by other guests as they walk past to or from their rooms to the pools(2) or beach.Chalets are BIG with large bathrooms attached.You do need to get insect spray though because the windows have no sceening and the lush gardens are a haven for mosquito.There are 2 nice eateries that offer a good selection,one right on the beach,or you can wander down the beach into any of the other resorts and try what they offer. Everyone is very friendly.Beautifull golden sand beach and water that you can swim in,just watch the tide changes as current can be strong.The resort has a Spa and I have had some great Thai Massages.Its a litle way out of town but they have a great little shop on site that sells really cheap drinks etc.We love our stays here and already have reservatons for our return .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2011

The grounds and beach of this hotel are very beautiful. My main complaint with this hotel is that it could have been great, 5-star even, with a few small improvements/modernizations. That said, it's a good value if you want to stay on the beach in KL.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

My husband and I stayed with our 2-year old daughter for two weeks in April 2011. The hotel is nice with a great location south of Khao lak town. It is on a nice stretch of sandy beach without rocks. The hotel is situated near the forest which gives it a wonderful green feeling.
We stayed in a nice bungalow with a big comfortable bed and the hotel provided a baby crib free of charge. The room was spacious with a nice terrace. The bathroom was okay even though the cleaning could have been a bit better. After one evening of heavy raining dirt had come through the roof but was never cleaned away.
The pool was nice and the sunbeds were comfortable. When we were there most of the other guests were retired couples or young couples without kids. I think about 60 % were from Germany or Austria.
There is a breakfast buffet every morning with a chef making your choice of egg. There was a great variety of food including fresh fruit and salads. There was bit much sugar and white bread for my taste and I would have liked some muesli and yoghurt without sugar.
The hotel restaurant by the pool was okay but pricey. If you go 100 meter to the right along the beach there is a small humble restaurant with bamboo chairs which served great food for less money. We recommend the banana pancakes and watermelon shakes. All the other restaurants along the beach belonged to other resorts and the prices were accordingly. You can walk into Khao Lak (20 minutes) or take a taxi (50 bath pr person). In Khao lak there is a variety of restaurants and shop. There is also a well stocked supermarked.
There were many mosquitos and especially our daughter was a favorite among them. We asked the hotel for a mosquito net, but they couldn’t help us, so we found one at the marked in town for 139 bath.
Overall we had a great stay. The beach was great, the pool was nice and the room was nice.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2011

We stayed in a garden villa for 10 days and found this hotel to be fantastic. The rooms were really big and clean, quite hard beds but this was fine for us, lots of TV channels. In roomsafe which is free to use. Maids made up the room every day and give you a couple of water bottles and new beach towels every day which is really handy.

The buffet breakfast was really great - it has everything you'd want and the service is great - always asking if you want a top up of tea and coffee plus really friendly bunch of people.

Loaction is about 10-15 mins walk into the main centre. this was perfect for us - this hotel is on the nicest bit of beach (in our opinion), in the centre the beach is more crowded and not so nice. I'm not sure about the north end of Khao Lak - the big international resorts like Marriot at up that end so I'd imagine the beach was nice too but they have a longer walk into town. Taxi hut just outside the hotel which costs 100 baht (2 quid) into town if you dont fancy walking. Also they did a brilliant job of our huge load of washing - 50 baht (1 pound) per kg of washing but it came back all ironed and folded neatly. Much more expensive to do it through the hotel.

Great restaurants in town - the restaurant on the beach in the hotel is fine but not amazing. Plus it's pricey - of course you will pay more though for the convenience of eating on site but we found it to be much better in town. The little shot at the front of the hotel is so cheap - big water here was about 20 baht and on the beach front hotel restaurant was 70 baht so a much bigger mark up. Both places are part of the hotel, not sure why the little shop at the front is so much cheaper!

One last thing, this is a German resort. In our experience this is only a good thing - the quality of the hotels tend to be a bit better. But just to note that a lot of the books in the reading/internet room are all in German etc. Didn't cause any issues for us but of course they get the towels out early!!

We would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at the Khao Lak Resort as well a few doors down the road. Although the resorts are very similar, the Palm Beach felt a little smaller and has a much smaller beach front. The bungalows are lovely. We were upgraded to a bungalow with a jacuzzi when we arrived. The room had a four poster bed and a fabulous size bathroom. The only negative was that the jacuzzi flooded when you tried to fill it; in the end we gave up and could not use it - a pity.
We spent much of the time by the pool at the beach front. Because the beach front is quite small there was a little bit of a rush each morning for people to get their towels out on the beach front loungers. We found that this was not a problem by the pool which we preferred anyway.
We were a little disappointed when we visited the spa to find that the treatments were not available as advertised. The staff did however offer to take you to their sister hotel by a free taxi. (Note there are massages available in the resort by the beach front anyway.) We wanted manicures and pedicures which we found were cheaper in Khao Lak itself which is only a short walk down the road from the resort.
One evening we came back late from eating at the O Rendez Vous restaurant (very good). It was after midnight and there were not taxis available. As we walked toward the hotel entrance there were some wild dogs around which worried us. Try to get back earlier or get a taxi if you can.
In summary, it is a lovely resort. Although not quite as friendly as the Khao Lak resort down the road, it is still a lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort

Address: 26/14 Moo 7, Phetkasem Road | Tambol Khuk Khak, Amphur Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#23 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Otel, HotelsClick, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Palm Beach Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Lak Palm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.