We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Krating Khao Lak

Best prices from these 4 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Baan Krating Khao Lak to your Saves list
Baan Krating Khao Lak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Buckinghamshire, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I agree with other reviewers that if you are not reasonably fit, Baan Krating is not for you! However, being on a hill, you feel remote from the other resorts on the beach and the views are stunning. Sitting on our balcony, high up, looking out over the sea, was such a pleasure.
The staff are friendly, the rooms are comfortable, the beach is fabulous - what more could you want?

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms. The first was right next to the restaurant which initially I wasn't happ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    44
    24
    8
    3
See reviews for
11
60
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuopio, Finland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

This hotel is certainly not for people who don't like stairs, but if they are not a problem this is really worth a stay.

We stayed in a bungalow well down the hill - at first it felt like the room was half way back to Khao Lak centre! The view from the balcony was worth every step an more. Our room was very clean all the time. Only downfall with the location was that you need a taxi to move around

Friendly service, good breakfast and the possibility to wake up listening the sound of the vawes... truly a holiday!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely, helpful staff .. and manager who kindly allowed a late check out at no charge. Nothing between you and the ocean except foliage so fantastic view. Bungalow well constructed, excellent air con, high quality furnishings, comfy bed with quality linens, great towels, variety of tv channels. Quiet, quiet and more quiet.

150 stairs to sandy beach so be prepared! Staff helped with luggage! Long walk to village or 150b ($4.50us) EACH WAY. No grocery only 7-11 in village and most restaurants were closed. Overall, food was our only problem. There's a cheaper restaurant with a very limited menu next door; the hotel restaurant was ultra expensive and one of our party got sick after eating there. She had rice with her meal and the others had noodles. Wish there had been deck chairs on the balcony.

Some nights we were the only guests. Amazingly low rate in off season. We had beautiful weather in July but were told that August is very wet. Overall, a lot of bang for the buck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Gorgeous little bungalow with a great view over the ocean. Very comfortable bed, tv, coffee/tea service and minibar, safe and small but nice bathroom with amenities. Housekeeping ladies absolutely wonderful and very kind. The hotel was very quiet, it being low season. Many many steps but that is great for the daily work-out. The hotel is set in a beautiful rain forrest type of setting and sitting against a cliff sort of.
During the quiet times it does seem to lack some TLC and staff seem to lack motivation or direction which is a shame imho. Don't know if there is a manager during the low season...
Pool is rather small and quite deep, making it not really suitable for small children. There is a nice sun-bathing area at the bottom of property from where you can walk to the beach.
Taxi cost to go to the village is 100baht by foot appr. 25 minutes.
Rarely used the restaurant so can't really comment on that other than that it did seem expensive compared to others and they add 10% service charge to your bill.
Wifi is only available in the "lobby" but was not working very well.

Room Tip: I stayed in A-9, great unobstructed view, some seem to have a lot of trees blocking the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful view from thai style bungalows in tropical forest. Quiet location, helpful staff. Breakfast - enough, but in long term - boring. Some time - about 7 minutes to the beach, nore than some steps. Good for health! If you need get to the town - it takes about 25 minutes by foot. Town small and quiet - almost nothing to. But if you are heading for tranquility - this place for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Baan Krating in Khao Lak has a lovely location in lush green tropical forrest and beneath the beach. You have to walk quite some steps to get down and the concrete steps are not all well maintained. Same goes for the beach area where the chairs are a bit rickety..
Bungalows are clean and decorated Thai style. Pool is nice, food in restaurant is very overpriced. The place misses a bit of a soul..we only stayed one night and that was enough. We expected a little more for 3500 bath a night inc a very sad breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As mentioned by many, there are a lot of steps but we just figured it was a good way to stay in shape! Our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet, which came with our reservation, was one of the best we had in Thailand. Some folks mentioned it wasn't the greatest, but it was so much better, and offered more dishes, than anywhere we stayed. The staff doesn't speak much English, but wanted to please. It was a short walk to the beach and about a 20 minute walk along the beach to town. The pool has a gorgeous view! We loved our 8 days there.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have better views than others. We were in either 15 or 16 and it had a nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Krating Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Krating Khao Lak

Address: 28 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Krating Khao Lak 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Krating Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Krating Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Krating Khao Lak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.