We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low Season Treasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Krating Khao Lak

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Krating Khao Lak to your Saves list
Baan Krating Khao Lak
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   28 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Low Season Treasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Lovely, helpful staff .. and manager who kindly allowed a late check out at no charge. Nothing between you and the ocean except foliage so fantastic view. Bungalow well constructed, excellent air con, high quality furnishings, comfy bed with quality linens, great towels, variety of tv channels. Quiet, quiet and more quiet.

150 stairs to sandy beach so be prepared! Staff helped with luggage! Long walk to village or 150b ($4.50us) EACH WAY. No grocery only 7-11 in village and most restaurants were closed. Overall, food was our only problem. There's a cheaper restaurant with a very limited menu next door; the hotel restaurant was ultra expensive and one of our party got sick after eating there. She had rice with her meal and the others had noodles. Wish there had been deck chairs on the balcony.

Some nights we were the only guests. Amazingly low rate in off season. We had beautiful weather in July but were told that August is very wet. Overall, a lot of bang for the buck.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank janiebaldwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Gorgeous little bungalow with a great view over the ocean. Very comfortable bed, tv, coffee/tea service and minibar, safe and small but nice bathroom with amenities. Housekeeping ladies absolutely wonderful and very kind. The hotel was very quiet, it being low season. Many many steps but that is great for the daily work-out. The hotel is set in a beautiful rain forrest type of setting and sitting against a cliff sort of.
During the quiet times it does seem to lack some TLC and staff seem to lack motivation or direction which is a shame imho. Don't know if there is a manager during the low season...
Pool is rather small and quite deep, making it not really suitable for small children. There is a nice sun-bathing area at the bottom of property from where you can walk to the beach.
Taxi cost to go to the village is 100baht by foot appr. 25 minutes.
Rarely used the restaurant so can't really comment on that other than that it did seem expensive compared to others and they add 10% service charge to your bill.
Wifi is only available in the "lobby" but was not working very well.

Room Tip: I stayed in A-9, great unobstructed view, some seem to have a lot of trees blocking the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FlyingBird13_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Wonderful view from thai style bungalows in tropical forest. Quiet location, helpful staff. Breakfast - enough, but in long term - boring. Some time - about 7 minutes to the beach, nore than some steps. Good for health! If you need get to the town - it takes about 25 minutes by foot. Town small and quiet - almost nothing to. But if you are heading for tranquility - this place for you!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ArmandasB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Baan Krating in Khao Lak has a lovely location in lush green tropical forrest and beneath the beach. You have to walk quite some steps to get down and the concrete steps are not all well maintained. Same goes for the beach area where the chairs are a bit rickety..
Bungalows are clean and decorated Thai style. Pool is nice, food in restaurant is very overpriced. The place misses a bit of a soul..we only stayed one night and that was enough. We expected a little more for 3500 bath a night inc a very sad breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jippster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

As mentioned by many, there are a lot of steps but we just figured it was a good way to stay in shape! Our room was very comfortable and clean. The breakfast buffet, which came with our reservation, was one of the best we had in Thailand. Some folks mentioned it wasn't the greatest, but it was so much better, and offered more dishes, than anywhere we stayed. The staff doesn't speak much English, but wanted to please. It was a short walk to the beach and about a 20 minute walk along the beach to town. The pool has a gorgeous view! We loved our 8 days there.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have better views than others. We were in either 15 or 16 and it had a nice view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kacondor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Baan Krating is a great place to relax and get away from it all. The bunglows sit on a hillside offering the sights and sounds of the Andaman Sea. The service is first rate: the staff are most helpful, so if you have a problem with anything just let them know and they will fix it. We arrived by bus from Bangkok at 5:30 am and were in our room by 8am. The staff also helped us shift rooms and hand delivered my misplaced hat: great service.

As others have mentioned, there are many steps at the resort which may cause difficulty for some. I think however it helps promote the feeling of tranquility.

The breakfast buffet is good and the resteraunt at the resort is excellent: Northeast style food at it's best: papaya salad and sea bass are very good.

Be sure to visit the National Park next to the Baan Krating.

Room Tip: Book ahead as the deluxe rooms are very popular, but the pavillion rooms are a bit easier to reserve...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank himalayafan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
163 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Baan Krating is a good hotel in a great location. Rooms are in standalone (or two-room) buildings that are located on the side of a cliff, facing the sea below. It seems that all rooms have a balcony - so (provided yours does) you are guaranteed an amazing view.

The place is quiet, uncrowded and would make a great vacation spot/romantic getaway/your pick.

Rooms are designed in "traditional" style with lots of warm wood colors. Because of the location and room design, I found that even with AC working room is a bit damp (and with AC off you will definitely feel a bit of musty smell). That is probably inevitable in a place like that.

Be prepared to climb quite a few stairs to go to and from your room. Breakfast buffet is somewhat basic and food was not great. However, the view from breakfast area makes up for any culinary shortcomings.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bork3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
9.6 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#11 of 62 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
2.6 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 62 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
0.5 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Palm Galleria Resort
Palm Galleria Resort
#52 of 62 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
1.1 mi away
Suwan Palm Resort
Suwan Palm Resort
#45 of 62 in Khao Lak
3.5 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Krating Khao Lak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Krating Khao Lak

Address: 28 Moo 7, Khuk Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Krating Khao Lak 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Baan Krating Khao Lak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Krating Khao Lak Hotel Khao Lak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing