We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palm Galleria Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Palm Galleria Resort to your Saves list
Palm Galleria Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27/102 Moo 2 Tambon Kukkak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We are here at the moment. Forget the negative reviews. We may be a long way out of Khao Lak but what you save with this hotel you can use ten times over using taxis. We have hired a car which at less than £200 for a week is enabling us to see so much more than those stuck in the main area. The hotel may be older than some but it is clean, very friendly and well positioned for the beach. There is a mini mart 200 meters away with a few restaurants where the food is good and very cheap. Everyone here is so helpful. The rooms are well equipped and very clean with a large balcony. All in all, very good value

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    29
    14
    5
    5
See reviews for
15
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sheringham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Had two weeks here in January. Found the hotel perfectly comfortable, fussy people may not like watermarks in the shower but everywhere was clean and sheets and towels changed very regularly, room cleaned daily. Buffet breakfast had good choice for all nationalities. Found the restaurant somewhat lacking and only ate there on the first evening. After that we found the four lovely little restaurants just next door and tried them all out. The hotel was very quiet in the evenings as most people went down the road to the restaurants. The pool was clean and quiet and with enough sunbeds. We requested, and got, an upstairs room opposite the beach with lily ponds outside, with a nice private balcony. If you get a downstairs room the terraces are open to the pathways, so not private. We found the air conditioning to be very quiet and easily controllable.
The lovely beach was just across the road and the Memories beach bar just a short walk along (and a wade across a river!) for a sunbed and a lunch.
The town of Khao Lak was a 300 baht taxi ride away.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would go again.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room opposite the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks. Sadly the hotel seems to be lacking any obvious management. Our room was clean but tired decor. The shower room was badly watermarked and the water drained very slowly. We had frequent towel changes but had to strip the bed after a week to prompt a sheet change. The bad was very firm which was ideal for us but not everyone's cup of tea.The air con was efficient. Room had tea and coffee and a fridge but they didn't replenish once used until we asked. Two bottles of water were left every day in room. Sadly the staff in restaurant for breakfast were unusually disinterested and the selection of food on the buffet was basic. Boogie the senior receptionist did his best to help when needed but his English is almost as limited as my Thai.
Location for us was fine. We hired a motorbike and ventured about that way or walked the length of the beach as far as possible either way. Memories Bar and restaurant is a lovely stroll up the beach and well worth going to.
With just a little bit of a spruce up and closer management, Palm Galleria could lift itself from 'ordinary' to 'special'.

Room Tip: Go for deluxe on sea side. Maybe ours wasn't top; it didn't have a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We booked this hotel from our travel agency and they seemed booking it via hotels.com, cause that's where we got our confirmation about the hotel. I have to say that pictures are GREAT, and information says its 4 STAR hotel. However be warned!!

We arrived to Khao Lak after staying in Krabi for 2 weeks and we was checking in at the hotel. We were taken to our room and oh my god - what a dissapoitment! We was staying in Ao Nang 3 STAR hotel which were unbelievable compared to this. We kindly asked if we could see another room - on a 2nd floor, since maybe it was in better condition. After seeing another room we decided to leave the place. Rooms look VERY OLD, airconditioners work baddly, because air was smelly and tropic.. (we have been visiting Thailand 5 times now, so its not our 1st time), toilet was horrible and shower even worse. Don't get me wrong, because I stayed in 2-3 star hotels for 13€/night and those had same kind of rooms than this way more expensive "4 star" hotel, so I'm not being picky - I just warn next victims that they will NOT get what they want for the money u waste on this hotel.

Anyways, rooms = old, rusty, smelly, watermarks everywhere, toilet+shower horrible for that 65€/night. And location is quite far away from the "city".. But fine for couples with children..

Staff were very nice, they understood and agreed, also smiled till the end of our visit - didn't charge for 1 night even, despite of hotels.com policy about cancelling. They let us use their phone and kindly called for taxi. So for staff I easily give a 4+ STAR. But that's not the case here - thing is the hotel is old and looks horrible and all the pictures are from BEST room and misleading bad! Giving this hotel 3 stars only cause that the staff were so kind and helpful.

Room Tip: pictures are very misleading. Rooms are not even close to what you will be expecting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed here a few times, but that was in 2008 and 2009 and stayed here 2 weeks.
This is a very nice small resort.
The rooms are nice clean and big.They all got a nice view.
Some with garden view some with pool view.
All rooms have a nice balcony where you can sit and relax.
The pool is nice and big and perfect to cool off on a hot day.
You can walk out the resort to the left and walk to the beach like that, but if you walk behind the pool there is a short cut so you will be at the beach in a minute, because the resort itself is not directly at the beach.
The beach is really nice and you can walk for miles without seeing anybody,...(in low season)
One day the beach is nice and sandy the other day ful with coral or nice shells.
The people are very friendly and helpful.
You can rent bikes or motorbikes at the resort.
That is handy, as the closest shop is 4 km from the resort.
And with a motor/bike you can go everywhere more easy as there are plenty of things to do and see in the area.
Food and drinks are normal priced. so that is perfect too.
A wonderful small quiet resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor..the views are nicer there and you can see the ocean too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here with my father for 6 nights. It is very good value for money and the accommodation is clean. However we had a few qualms with the service over the course of the week:
1) the wifi is extra and expensive however you can only connect one device at a time and it is very unreliable. when we complained to staff they played around the device then smiled and gave it back without fixing, unfortunately we could not push this any further due to a lack of common language.
2) there is a once a day bus run into Khao Lak town centre THB 100) however the staff over booked it and we were disappointed to not be able to get on, the annoying thing was that we had left the pool, got changed and had we known there was no space we would have stayed by the pool for a few more hours
3) I used the beauty salon for a pedicure but it was just a toenail re-paint and it was done badly and smudged easily
4) the staff never understood our requests at dinner and frequently got our orders wrong (main course came before appetisers, wrong accompaniments). This was purely a lack of communication. we found that the restaurants down the road had better food, for better value and the staff spoke much better English

Overall the staff were super friendly but the service was not up to scratch, I blame this on the lack of training from management.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vienna
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

very warm welcome, fast check in, 90% nice staff. had a superior room upstairs, very big with tv, dvd player, safe, mini-fridge, good working AC, spacious bathroom, room is spacious but the bed a bit hard for me - but was ok. big balcony which is nice to relax. you can rent dvd`s for free at the reception.
staff at reception is really nice and helpfull, most of the staff at the restaurant also. some of them do not really understand english and sometimes it was hard or not possible to get what you want. otherwise we met also guests who ordered there breakfast in german.....
the pool is big with enough sunbeds & umbrellas. nice if the weather is not that fine for beach or if you only want to take a dip.
thai also offer massage services for accaptable rates, 1hr aloe vera for 500 baht which is ok for an resort. the massage itself was not bad but also not outstanding.
the resort is about 15min by motorbike from khao lak center and very quiet (april). they organised us a motorbike for a good rate and as we are used to we drove around and enjoyed the nearby beaches and areas.
as nearly every little restaurant etc offers free wifi (or for a small charge) i was surprised that they charge 200 baht for 1hr internet. got to a internet-cafe, should be approx 40 baht/hr. and he cappuccino was like hot milk with a little taste of coffee. that where the only backdraws from my point.
we normally don`t stay at big resorts but we got the room for a really good rate through an touroperator and as we travelled in april we choosed it because of the expected quietness and the pool (sea can allready get rough in april) and so it was perfect for us for this time.
khao lak changed a lot, it is very germinised and that is not what we are looking for. but if you stay outside the center and explore the surroundings on your own it is really amazing.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Palm Galleria Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Galleria Resort

Address: 27/102 Moo 2 Tambon Kukkak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Galleria Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 98
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Palm Galleria Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Galleria Hotel Khao Lak
Best Western Takua Pa
Takua Pa Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palm Galleria Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.