We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khao lak Laguna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Laguna Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Laguna Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Laguna Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Save 60%
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Khao lak Laguna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

This hotel is an hour drive from Phuket but well worth the drive as it was so quiet and unspoilt. The hotel is surrounded by a Laguna, hence the name and despite the amount of rooms they boast we felt it was very quiet and relaxing. The hotel services are spread over a variety of locations joined by walkways, either ramps or stairs and is beautifully landscaped. The hotel is on the edge of town which is 5-10 minutes walk from restaurants, banks, bars and shopping. They have a beautiful pool and plenty of sun beds around the edge and on the beach. The Siam chalets are beautifully decorated and well thought out. Every little detail has been thought through, from providing a pool bag and towels, flip flops, dressing gowns and an abundant supply of toiletries. There is a minibar and drinking water is provided daily. Each chalet has a patio overlooking the Laguna or a sea view and we sat for hours watching monitor lizards, birds, geckos and fireflies The pool bar provided meals and snacks and an outdoor buffet overlooking the beach in the evening to watch the beautiful sunsets. There are cheaper options outside the complex but it is up to personal choice as the resort has more than adequate facilities and food and drink choices for all the family. The only downside was that we made them aware it was a big wedding anniversary for us and despite informing the hotel before arrival they didn't acknowledge this so we chose to eat outside the hotel. The hotel has a gymnasium and provided activities for children, not that we ever saw or heard them as the staff made sure they were well occupied and located away from quiet areas. There was entertainment in the evenings and they also provided yoga, Thai cooking classes, massage and fruit carving classes during the day. There was a currency conversion facility available but we found a much better rate was offered in the town so take sterling or dollars as they gave a higher rate than buying currency at home.

Room Tip: Get out of the hotel and explore the surrounding area there are some excellent restaurants serving d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2014
Dear Nile_Goordies,

First of all I'd like to take this opportunity to say " Thank you very much " for your kind selected Khaolak Laguna Resort for your valued holiday in Khaolak - Thailand !

we are pleased to read that you have enjoined your holiday with us and giving us such a very kind compliments on our services and facilities.
Your kindness compliments has been passed to our team and we all look forwards to seeing you again here at “your personal paradise by the sea”

Best regards
Srivika B
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    105
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
76
186
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

It was ok but not like 'wow'. The beach is nice, the rooms are good. he ffod was ok but not so good and it was more expensive than the average Thai restaurant. The staff was a mixed bag, some were very helpful and others not. If I were to return to Khao Lak, I would stay elsewhere, but for one time it is ok. it is far to walk on the beach for a massage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Jlyons69,
Thank you very much for your kind selected Khaolak Laguna Resort for your recent Holiday
And we are appreciated your constructive comments sharing here,

Regarding to your comments about our service staff still unbalance we have submit service training course already in our training program of this season to ensure that all outlets will provide an outstanding services to our value customer.

We do hope to have chance to welcoming you back to Khaolak Laguna Resort again,

With kind regards
Srivika B
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cha Am
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

How this gets a 4 + Rating I do not Know ?? When I booked I pointed out my Husband had difficulty walking .On arrival 2 members of staff had to help my Husband up the steep steps to the Main Lobby.We were then informed the main swimming pool was closed for 2 weeks from the date we arrived June 12th for maintenance..The Hotel has NO Lift so that 2 members of staff had to kindly help my Husband down the steps again.The Villa was 800 metres from the Lobby and the Hotel has NO transport to Transport the Elderly and disabled to the Villa other than a Motorbike and side car.The Sidecar has NO floor to put your feet down.So my Husband had to walk the 800 Metre to the Villa from the Car Park.The Villa was clean and comfortable but the TV was Very Old and the Fridge did not work.The Air Conditioning was very noisy..
This Hotel is not for the elderly and disabled as the Grounds are so Big and and NO Lift access.
We paid for 4 nights and stayed just 1 night and left the following morning.
A Huge disappointment .My Husband has lived in Thailand 8 years and this really was a Poor standard.

Room Tip: The Breakfast was extra 450 Baht ++ each so we missed that and did not find the spa.Surely with 4...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear JohnSmith666,

Warms greeting from Khaolak Laguna Resort,
Thank you very much for spending your holidays with us recently and your comment sharing here.

We all regret to know that you were not satisfy while staying with us.
Regarding to high stair way at the Lobby area which we gave this information to all of our business partner to inform to the customer and we terribly sorry if you did not get this information.
The procedure of escort our customer from the Lobby to the room we always have the staff walk together with the customer and on the way to the room we will inform the direction to all outlets included the operate time.The motorbike with the side we provide it for delivery the customer's suitcase to the room but not for transfer service.

However we are terribly sorry to know that you did not enjoy your holiday with us and please ensure that your comments will guide us to improve on the matter that we should improvement.

Should you have any further assistant please do not hesitate to contact us any time.
With kinds regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

Stayed in this resort for 4 nights beginning of June. It was very quiet, not a lot of people and nothing going on, perhaps this is a good thing for some but after 2 days me and my boyfriend we were bored.
The food in the resort is not the best and is expensive compared with most restaurants in Thailand. Breakfast was not great. The room was very good, huge and had everything, very clean, rustic. Most amazing sunset in the infinity pool and beach. Very romantic and pretty. Recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Filipa A,
Thank you very much for your comments sharing here,
Khaolak area during green season from May until October is not too busy as high season and a bit more quiet than high season we do understand that if you expect something different can make you bore,

However for some of the client who expect some place which very calm and quiet here is the relaxing place which can make you full of rest and relax.
However we thank you very much for your visit and your constructive comments,

With kind regards
Srivika B
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

It was alright, reasonably price. I have been here once, and I wont go back, i guess. This hotel is not bad hotel but it is not good either. In others word, nothing is special. Food was good, just a plain buffet( bread, eggs, bacon and milk) . Room was clean. I actually had a good sleep quality here. Service is in standard. I suggest this hotel to provide something special which could be some events or package for guests to enjoy. Overall it was fine trip :)

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Khun Thanawat W,

Thank you very much for spending your holidays with us recently and we really appreciate your constructive comment sharing here.

Your comments is already in our consideration and we will try our best to accommodate in all of our guest need,

Best regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014 via mobile

Myself and my wife has just got back from a 13 night stay at khaolak laguna resort where we had the most amazing time on our honeymoon.

As soon as we step foot in the hotel we were made to feel very welcome by the very friendly staff.
The hotel itself is beautiful and decorated in traditional Thai decor. Yes there are lots of steps they really are not and issue.

We stayed in room 625 which was set slightly away from the pool and beach but we liked that as it was nice and quiet so we could relax when in the room. The room itself was a Siam chalet, and it was very large which excellent facilities (fridge, hair dryer, safe, TV etc) and was also stocked full of shower gels, shampoos and even razors!!
It was extremely clean and tidy, and was always cleaned everyday. The air con was also very good and was not to noisy at night.

The pool and beach are brilliant, great location, the staff around the pool are very helpful and friendly and will always bring drinks to you at the sun bed if you wish. Sitting by the pool staring out at the sea was paradise.

The location of the hotel is also very good. Directly opposite was our favourite restaurant....the gold elephant. Very cheap and very tasty and a great looking place. Also opposite the hotel was a brilliant cocktail bar. Cocktails were just 99 baht (under £2 each). It was a great place to relax and have a drink with very friendly staff.

There are plenty of other bars and restaurants a short 5 min walk from the hotel. The food in the hotel is great but it is more expensive than the others around.

Overall we couldn't fault the laguna, speaking with others who have been to the area before they all say the laguna is the best around.....!

We had the best time and thoroughly recommend this place..... We shall be back!!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Mark M,
Warms greeting from Khaolak Laguna Resort,
Thank you very much for your kind review sharing via trip advisor and we are so glad to know that you had a wonderful holidays with us,
All of us look forward to welcoming you back here again and again.

With kind regards
Srivika B
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Imagine stepping with your barefoot on a half-living rat in your hotel room! and then imagine no single word of apology from the hotel management. Fun, right? We had to insist on changing our room so we got one with broken, insufficient air conditioning. I feel disappointed with Laguna.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Laguna Resort

Address: 26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#19 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#24 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Laguna Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Laguna Resort is located on an area of 12 acres on the beachfront of Khaolak. Only 80 Kms from Phuket Airport. The Resort is in classical Oriental Style in the embrace of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Khaolak Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Laguna Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Laguna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.