We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little more effort on service would be welcome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Laguna Resort

Save Saved
You added Khaolak Laguna Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Khaolak Laguna Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Western Finland, Finland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A little more effort on service would be welcome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

A week spent in this hotel with my family, I am quite happy with it. We had a villa, which was just big enough to accomodate four persons, given that we spent most of the time outside our room. Reception fuctions a little better than rest of services, which I consider to bee of average quality. Cleanliness was good. Breakfast area is spread on several levels with many stairs to Climb every time you want to get something from the buffet. Staff serves coffee and tea, but not always without asking them. Breakfast buffet is the same every morning. For lunch and dinner the only option is poolside /seaside restaurant, with quitelimited menu and relatively high prices compared to restaurants outside the hotel.
The beach is very good, with fine sand and clean shallow water.
Pool area is beautiful and there were enough sunbeds, opposite to what has previously been written in Tripadvisor. It was hard to get any service to the pool area, waiters seemed to be hanging aroud the Bar instead of waiting guests at the pool.

Room Tip: The villas are better located than rooms. The villas with beachfront location seem to be the same as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    151
    86
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
64
155
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

We had the most brilliant time at this resort. The accommodation and grounds are extremely good. There are several waterways full of fish around the bungalows. Breakfast was extremely good with plenty of variety and staff always had a smile. The stretch of beach is very pretty. We were only B&B as we like to try out the amazingly good beach and street restaurants. I would have said this is a 5 star except we had lunch in the hotel's beach restaurant once and it definitely didn't seem freshly cooked and was rather cold. This area is the best we have been to in Thailand. Enough to do but not at all spoilt.







The location is good as the restaurants and shops are 50 yards away.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We spent almost three weeks in the Laguna in January and would definitely stay again. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and the buildings in a traditional Thai style which we liked.You can step straight on to an amazing long beach which is clean and unspoiled. The food in the hotel is good and not overpriced, breakfast is substantial. We stayed in the Siam Chalet the room was huge and well furnished. All the staff are very friendly, polite and helpful. There is a lovely comfortable cocktail lounge that seems underused which is a shame, we enjoyed having a drink there before heading into the town [10 mins walk to many excellent restaurants] The spa is good and offers a wide range of treatments We slept really well because the bed was extremely comfortable unlike other Thai hotels where the beds were just too hard! A great time can't wait to come back.

Room Tip: We were happy with the Siam Chalet more privacy if you are upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear 93 Annie,
Warms greeting from Khaolak Laguna Resort,

We are pleased to read that you have enjoined your holidays with us and you were have comfortable sleeping on our bed at Khaolak Laguna Resort and giving us such a very kind compliments on our services ,staff and facilities.
Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our team and we will continue to strive on providing a quality service and enhancing the overall experience of the resort.

We once again thank you very much that you have selected Khaolak Laguna Resort for your recent holidays and we all look forwards to seeing you again here at “your personal paradise by the sea”

Best regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

This was my first time to Khaolak. Been to Phuket several times, but Khaolak is much quiete and peaceful!
For us, We have not much people on the beach line in front of the resort. The rooms are well cleaned but be careful with mosquitos when you open the door.
This resort have a handy craft center to support the victims of Tsunami. I do not know about other hotels, but I think this is very nice idea to do something what the hotel can do for local people.
I will visit again soon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Dear Khun Waravut L,
Warms greeting from Khaolak Laguna Resort.
Thank you for taking time sharing your experience at Khaolak Laguna.

We are pleased to read that you have enjoined your first time holidays with us.
And there is nothing more encouraging than knowing that you had a wonderful time here.
We do hope to have a chance to welcome you back here once again in the near future.

Best regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked a very basic room for the 24th & 25th of Dec after returning from a live-aboard dive trip - I needed some luxury for a few days. When I arrived at Laguna, someone messed up my reservation and there were no standard rooms available in the resort. The staff made some arrangements and showed me the way to a beach front villa. Santa Clause definitely came early in 2013 as the villa was 26,000 Bht per night. The villa was clean with a great shower. The staff was very helpful and friendly

The breakfast was really good caters for most diets. The coffee was the best I had on my 3 week stay in Thailand!!
The resort restaurant was a bit overpriced in my opinion, but I guess that is the price for eating at a restaurant on the beach.

I will return to Laguna on my next Khao Lak visit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear juanduplessis,
Thank you very much for taking time sharing your great experience at Khaolak Laguna Resort.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoined your first time staying with us and giving us such a very kind compliments on our services and facilities.
We do hope to have chance for welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

With kinds regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place is a gem! From start to finish it was wonderful staying here. When we arrived we were surprised to a room upgrade and got a bungalow which was a 30 second walk to the private beach.
The beach is lovely and clean and even though we were there a few days ago (i.e high season) it didnt seem overly crowded.
The staff there are all wonderful. So friendly and always with a solution. One receptionist in particular ( i think her name is Lao) was great with us-we had a problem with our next hotel and needed an extra night at this one which unfortunately was fully booked, she suggested a friend's hotel which was just down the road and took us there herself for us to check it out ourselves to see if it was ok. She was wonderful and really helped us out.

Just a few points:
-the room is comfortable - not luxury, but comfortable, you may spot minor signs of wear and tear.
-the fridge is really noisy
-the tv will be a retro one-meaning huge and grey and not in keeping with the room but we didnt really mind that (this is pnly in some of the rooms, not all)
-the air-con was either very cold or not on at all and i think they may not have changed the filters in a while as during our stay here both my boyfriend and I caught colds and allergic reactions, even though it was 35 degrees outside!! Its noisy as well.
These sound like petty things, but its just what I spotted and they didnt really ruin my stay.

All in all it was a great stay and i would definitely come back here and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Spat87,
Warms greeting from Khaolak Laguna Resort,
First of all I'd like to take this opportunity to say " Thank you very much " for your kind selected Khaolak Laguna Resort for your valued holiday in Khaolak - Thailand !

We are very pleased to read that you were enjoined your stay with us and give us a valuable and constructive comments .
We do have implemented a few points of you suggestion and the rest is already in our schedule and will fix it as soon as possible,Please rest assure that we pay the most attention of your comments and follow up because our goal is we will accommodate all of our customer need if we can.

Should you have any further assistant please do not hesitate to contact us at you earliest convenience.

With warmest regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I booked 5 nights at this hotel arriving on Dec. 22nd after reading glowing reviews on several booking websites as well as Tripadvisor. Four of these booking sites listed the resort as pet friendly, which is how we came across it. I booked a room using Expedia in good faith, only to be informed 1 day later that the resort is no longer pet friendly. Furthermore, despite the fact that they will not allow us to stay there with our dogs (we are already travelling in Thailand with them), they will also not allow us to cancel nor refund any portion of the $750CAD (22,500 baht) in fees collected for the stay! Both Expedia and our travel agent contacted the hotel to ask them to be reasonable, but they declined both to allow us to stay with our small well-behaved dogs nor to refund even a portion of this large payment. They cited the high season as the reason for this policy, when everyone involved knows they will rerent our room anyhow in addition to keeping our full payment. We now must find another accommodation and pay twice for this week. Merry Christmas to us. In a country full of such lovely and fair people, it is a shame that this hotel's management will taint our holiday this way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear paperwonderlust,

Greetings from Khaolak Laguna Resort ,
First of all we regret to here that your were disappoint about your booking proceed and you have no chance to staying with us.

May we kindly take this opportunity to inform to all of our valuable customer that our hotel have never been announce as Pet Friendly hotel but PET is not allowed ,Our customer who prefer to make a reservation via online travel agent please kindly clearly read your booking confirmation include cancellation policy especially during peak period and all hotel information if your are travelling differently than the others to be sure that you will get what you expect for,

However we do apologize for the inconvenience on this matter but in the same time we also have to strict on our hotel policy .

Your kindly understand our situation is highly appreciated,

Best regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Laguna Resort

Address: 26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#23 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Laguna Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Laguna Resort is located on an area of 12 acres on the beachfront of Khaolak. Only 80 Kms from Phuket Airport. The Resort is in classical Oriental Style in the embrace of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Khaolak Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Laguna Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Laguna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.