We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Laguna Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Laguna Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Laguna Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Super Save 60%
Ranked #27 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I booked a very basic room for the 24th & 25th of Dec after returning from a live-aboard dive trip - I needed some luxury for a few days. When I arrived at Laguna, someone messed up my reservation and there were no standard rooms available in the resort. The staff made some arrangements and showed me the way to a beach front villa. Santa Clause definitely came early in 2013 as the villa was 26,000 Bht per night. The villa was clean with a great shower. The staff was very helpful and friendly

The breakfast was really good caters for most diets. The coffee was the best I had on my 3 week stay in Thailand!!
The resort restaurant was a bit overpriced in my opinion, but I guess that is the price for eating at a restaurant on the beach.

I will return to Laguna on my next Khao Lak visit

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear juanduplessis,
Thank you very much for taking time sharing your great experience at Khaolak Laguna Resort.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoined your first time staying with us and giving us such a very kind compliments on our services and facilities.
We do hope to have chance for welcoming you back to our resort again soon.

With kinds regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    105
    28
    13
    5
See reviews for
76
186
13
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This place is a gem! From start to finish it was wonderful staying here. When we arrived we were surprised to a room upgrade and got a bungalow which was a 30 second walk to the private beach.
The beach is lovely and clean and even though we were there a few days ago (i.e high season) it didnt seem overly crowded.
The staff there are all wonderful. So friendly and always with a solution. One receptionist in particular ( i think her name is Lao) was great with us-we had a problem with our next hotel and needed an extra night at this one which unfortunately was fully booked, she suggested a friend's hotel which was just down the road and took us there herself for us to check it out ourselves to see if it was ok. She was wonderful and really helped us out.

Just a few points:
-the room is comfortable - not luxury, but comfortable, you may spot minor signs of wear and tear.
-the fridge is really noisy
-the tv will be a retro one-meaning huge and grey and not in keeping with the room but we didnt really mind that (this is pnly in some of the rooms, not all)
-the air-con was either very cold or not on at all and i think they may not have changed the filters in a while as during our stay here both my boyfriend and I caught colds and allergic reactions, even though it was 35 degrees outside!! Its noisy as well.
These sound like petty things, but its just what I spotted and they didnt really ruin my stay.

All in all it was a great stay and i would definitely come back here and recommend to friends and family.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear Spat87,
Warms greeting from Khaolak Laguna Resort,
First of all I'd like to take this opportunity to say " Thank you very much " for your kind selected Khaolak Laguna Resort for your valued holiday in Khaolak - Thailand !

We are very pleased to read that you were enjoined your stay with us and give us a valuable and constructive comments .
We do have implemented a few points of you suggestion and the rest is already in our schedule and will fix it as soon as possible,Please rest assure that we pay the most attention of your comments and follow up because our goal is we will accommodate all of our customer need if we can.

Should you have any further assistant please do not hesitate to contact us at you earliest convenience.

With warmest regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

I booked 5 nights at this hotel arriving on Dec. 22nd after reading glowing reviews on several booking websites as well as Tripadvisor. Four of these booking sites listed the resort as pet friendly, which is how we came across it. I booked a room using Expedia in good faith, only to be informed 1 day later that the resort is no longer pet friendly. Furthermore, despite the fact that they will not allow us to stay there with our dogs (we are already travelling in Thailand with them), they will also not allow us to cancel nor refund any portion of the $750CAD (22,500 baht) in fees collected for the stay! Both Expedia and our travel agent contacted the hotel to ask them to be reasonable, but they declined both to allow us to stay with our small well-behaved dogs nor to refund even a portion of this large payment. They cited the high season as the reason for this policy, when everyone involved knows they will rerent our room anyhow in addition to keeping our full payment. We now must find another accommodation and pay twice for this week. Merry Christmas to us. In a country full of such lovely and fair people, it is a shame that this hotel's management will taint our holiday this way.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2014
Dear paperwonderlust,

Greetings from Khaolak Laguna Resort ,
First of all we regret to here that your were disappoint about your booking proceed and you have no chance to staying with us.

May we kindly take this opportunity to inform to all of our valuable customer that our hotel have never been announce as Pet Friendly hotel but PET is not allowed ,Our customer who prefer to make a reservation via online travel agent please kindly clearly read your booking confirmation include cancellation policy especially during peak period and all hotel information if your are travelling differently than the others to be sure that you will get what you expect for,

However we do apologize for the inconvenience on this matter but in the same time we also have to strict on our hotel policy .

Your kindly understand our situation is highly appreciated,

Best regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Perfect hotel, from the moment you walk in, it feels like paradise.

Laguna Resort is close by the center of Khao Lak, and has a private beach.

We also had a massage in the Chiva Spa, the Spa-center of Khao Lak, which was great. Warning: every massage in Thailand is a bit painfull.

We only stayed 2 nights in Khao Lak Laguna Resort but we easily could stay for 2 weeks.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Jolien 162,

First of all I'd like to take this opportunity to say " Thank you very much " for your kind selected Khaolak Laguna Resort for your valued holiday in Khaolak - Thailand ! and we even more than happy to here that Khaolak Laguna made you feel like paradise.

Your kind words have been share to all of our team and please ensure that we keep going to strive on providing a quality services.

We look forwards to welcoming you back to Khaolak Laguna Resort again soon.

Best regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have just returned from our third visit to the Laguna. It is unusual for us to return to the same resort, but we think Khao Lak is perfect. The beach is great, the resort has plenty of restaurants and shops, chilled out bars, and many day trips to suit all tastes and ages. And no noisy, arrogant Russians (well not yet). In fact there are very few Brits, and the Laguna is mainly Germans and Scandinavian.

We feel that Khao Lak is perfect for the first time visitor to Thailand. Last year we revisited the resorts in Phuket, having been there pre tsunami, and could not believe how Karon, and in particular Kata and Kata Noi, have turned from quiet resorts with almost deserted beaches to beaches full of people and noise. Khao Lak is much more chilled, not loud and brash.

With regards to the Laguna, there is not much to add to other people’s comments.
Great pool area, spacious and comfortable accommodation, perfect location, on the beach, close to all shops and restaurants, friendly staff - you cannot ask for anything else.

Breakfast has plenty of choice, and this time I had the freshly prepared soup most days, which was delicious and healthy, whereas Hannah stuck to a more European diet.

The management at Laguna promote the hotel as “your personal paradise by the sea” and we feel that this is what they deliver, so thank you to all the team at the Hotel.

A few words about the local restaurants, some of which are not on Trip Advisor.

Opposite the hotel, Golden Elephant scores well on TA, but disappointed us (please serve our dishes together, as sitting watching your partner eat whilst waiting at least five minutes for your food is not ideal). Sun Star Siam also opposite – nice food but the Green Curry was extremely spicy. Hannae is the first restaurant as you walk into town on the left hand side, and you can watch them cook your food. We visited three times and the food here is as good as any food we have ever had in Thailand. We had red, green and Penang curry, Phad Thai, fried rice and Tiger prawns (not all in one meal). It is not the Hannae that is on TA, as the pictures and descriptions are wrong, although the website linked to the TA review is the right restaurant.

If you want any info or advice about the hotel or the resort area, we will be more than pleased to help.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear davidanhannah,

Warmest Greetings from Khaolak Laguna Resort

Please allow me to express my sincere gratitude for such kind words on your experience at our Resort! We are so pleased to know that you had a wonderful time with us again here .

Thank you once again for recommending Khaolak Laguna to fellow travelers in trip advisor.
We are surely looking forward to welcoming you back here agian and again.
In the meantime, should you like to make any assistance, I would be more than happy to personally assist you.

Best regards
Srivika B.
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

My mum and I stayed there for 6 nights. It was my third time in Thailand but my first in khaolak.
The resort is simply beautiful and quite nicely located ( 5 min walk from the center) with a very clean private beach , pool areas are just next to the beach so you can spend time in both at the same time. The gardens are beautiful. Clean and spacious rooms , wifi worked perfectly .
we had such an amazing stay with a genuine and friendly staff at the reception.
A special thank you to KRYSTAL, CHISA, SOMKIT,TOKKAE, MARY, TONKAOW, EAK PONTER you all mad us really feel like home!
I highly recommed this KHAOLAK LAGUNA RESORT and we'll back next year!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Dear Ange l

Thank you for taking time sharing your great experience at Khaolak Laguna.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoined your holidays with us and giving us such a very kind compliments on our services and facilities.

Your kindness compliments has been passed to our staffs and they all look forwards to seeing you again here at “your personal paradise by the sea”

with my warmest regards,

Srivika B
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We were on honeymoon and deliberated long and hard about which Khao Lak hotel to stay at but we were extremely happy with our decision. The hotel is wonderful - lovely traditional thai architecture and beautifully thought-out gardens. The pool is gorgeous and the location right on the beach is hard to beat.

Breakfast was amazing will all sorts available, from Thai dishes to more European offerings.

Staff were helpful and friendly and we were given a bottle of cava as a gift for our honeymoon. Can't fault this place and would highly recommend. I think you would struggle to find anything this good for the price, it really is high quality.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna_13, Public Relations Manager at Khaolak Laguna Resort, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Rosalieb_11,
Thank you very much for your recent stay at Khaolak Laguna Resort “Your personal paradise by the sea”
and for taking the time to share your comments with us.

Please rest assured that your feedback has been shared with our team and we will continue to strive on providing better service and enhancing the overall experience of the resort.

We look forwards to welcoming you back to Khaolak Laguna Resort again,
Best regards
Srivika B,
Hotel Brand Ambassador
hba@khaolaklaguna.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Laguna Resort

Address: 26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#19 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#24 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Laguna Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Laguna Resort is located on an area of 12 acres on the beachfront of Khaolak. Only 80 Kms from Phuket Airport. The Resort is in classical Oriental Style in the embrace of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Khaolak Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Laguna Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Laguna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.