We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wounderful place,” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Laguna Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Laguna Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Laguna Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 nights Free Transfer
Ranked #24 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Hillerod, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wounderful place,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Our first journey with our 9 month old daughter went to this fabulous place. The staff treated our daughter like a little princess, always attentive and kind.
If you ever need to just relax with your family, this got to be one of those special places. Lovely restaurant placed at the beach, next to all you need: swimming pool, spa, massage. Just bring a good book, and you don’t have to leave the resort - except for golf at the local navy base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    134
    32
    13
    5
See reviews for
91
233
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed for 9 nights at the end of a 3-week trip to Thailand for my "luxury beach break". The Laguna is a big resort hotel which seems to cater mainly for package tourists. For the first night, I was booked into a room which was right by the busy main road, so I got a lot of traffic noise. On top, it smelled really really musty, so I asked to be moved. Reception were extremely helpful and found me another room set further into the grounds, which was much better and quieter. The room itself was very big with dark wood flooring, a big window front which opened onto a balcony (with chairs and table). There was also a seating area with sofa and lounge table and a desk. The room had plenty of storage, a fridge and TV (but a shockingly bad choice of channels). I had a kingsize bed, but also looked at a twin room - those beds also looked quite big. The bathroom had a separate shower and bath, very good water pressure and very hot water. The room was very clean, however, there was some wear and tear and the rooms will be starting to look a bit tired soon.

The grounds of the hotel were really nice, quite lush, my room overlooked a pond and I had palm trees right outside the window, however, that meant that there were a fair amount of mosquitos around in the evenings.

The pool area was very nice and it's set right by the beach. Usually I prefer to be on the beach rather than pool, however, the beach nearly disappears at high tide, which is probably one of the reasons there aren't any sunbeds on the beach anywhere. They always had spare sunbeds around the pool and I never had any problems finding one. There were also plenty of parasols around. The ones overlooking the beach were taken fairly early - obviously. I liked that they provided fitted sheets for the sunbeds. There were also fresh beach towels in the room every day.

I only had breakfast at the hotel, the buffet choice was really very good and didn't bore me after a week. There was a good selection of foods ranging from Asian breakfast to standard continental or full English. There was also a fresh egg section, where they cooked fresh eggs and omeletts. The queue was usually very short with a short wait. They also had a good choice of fresh fruit which was replenished throughout the morning. The eggs guy was very friendly and chatty, however, the rest of staff in the restaurants weren't really overly friendly.

As others have said, there are a lot of steps, so anyone with mobility issues may struggle a bit. Location is on the southern edge of Khao Lak, so while it's only a five-minute walk to Khao Lak, it's a good 10-minute to the centre of Khao Lak, where the majority of shops and the only supermarket are.

Overall, this is a very nice hotel and I would definitely recommend it to others, however, it is geared towards families and couples (as is probably the majority of Khao Lak hotels) and while I was made to feel welcome, as a solo traveller I did stick out. So while I enjoyed the Laguna, I might choose something a bit smaller and maybe more intimate next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Just one weeks holiday we had nice time at this hotel. Breakfast was good and service was nice during breakfast. At pool the sevice was little bit slow and poor and bit "not-so-thai". Pool area is nice and location is great. We had nice walks along the beach. Overall athmosphere was little bit poor if compared it with our other experiences in Thailand - employees just did they job except "the eggman" who was really nice character with really good service, that guy makes us smile and having good mood.

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Great hotel with Thai personality, lovely staff attending, relaxing massage services. Views to the quite beach are the best way to relax and the pool will give you a refreshing note. Jelly fishes may be your bad moment in the area, but the lasts at the spa and gym will take care of you. A massage at the facilities is so much relaxing and lovely. Taste the coconut soup at the restaurant. Breakfast is rather basic but good.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Thoroughly recommend this resort - last report sums it up. Lots of steps which could be a problem. We ate regularly at the first restaurant as you walk into Khao Lak called 'Hannae' (I think).

We did the trip to Tachai through the rep and we were disappointed with the number of tourists. There were 10 boats each with 30/40 passengers so the island was pretty busy and the idea of deserted island was lost. Snorkelling better in the morning as the boats had churned up the water.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyme Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed at this resort for New Year (4 nights). We had booked a large family room and the room was indeed large and spacioius. We had 4 double beds, two were on the floor for the kids who are and 13 and they loved that. On the plus side this hotel is really beautiful, the beach is perfect, the pool is right on the beach. Breakfast is huge and very comprehensive. We had no problem with mosquitos or indeed with any pests outside or in the rooms.There was a large selection of cocktails available at the beach bar and the spa offered a range of services right on the beach. THere were plenty of sunbeds and with clean covers offered for each use. Beach towels and a handy tote bag were provided which was very helpful. We did a day trip to Tachai Island for snorkeling and that was well worth the money, a fabulous day out. The hotel is easy walking distance to the town of Khaolak which has loads of restaurants, shops and tour operators. The hotel is on a large site so there is alot of walking and up and downstairs which is fine for most but if you have mobility problems you may want to be more choosy about your room location.

Now for the downside. We did really enjoy our stay but we did fee that that the resort had more of a German/Scandanavian feel rather than a Thai feel (in contrast to hotels in Bangkok and Chiang Mai where we always felt we were in Thailand). Food and drink here were more expensive than elsewhere in Thailand and there are some really lovely local restaurants in Khao Lak such as the Golden Elephant (right across the road) which have more authenic Thai food and are better value. There were quite a few small problems for example they didn't have the correct beds when we arrived and they got the final bill wrong three times but these were remedied quickly and staff were friendly and professional throughout it all.

We booked the New Year's eve party and the food was excellent and abundant but the entertainment was dire (but funny). At midnight the hotel gave out Chinese Lanterns as did all the resorts along the Andaman coast and the sky was filled with the light of thousands of lanterns which was very moving and beautiful.

Room Tip: Villas are closer to the beach and the pool. Guest rooms higher up have really nice views of the pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed in Laguna week before Christmas in 2012. Hotel was lovely and service really good - thing we noticed especially after changing to Kantary for second week. Hotel is nicely located within walking distance to center. Pool areas are just next to the beach so you can spend time in both at the same time - definitely a bonus. All the areas are nice and clean, including the public toilets. When they started to decorate the gardens for Christmas it was almost a pity we had to change the hotel :) I'd recommend this hotel to couples and families who are looking for a nice and relaxing hotel with good location. Older people might find the numerous stairs in the hotel a bit problematic.

Pros:
- very good service
- lovely gardens
- good and clean pool areas
- good breakfast buffet with plenty to choose from
- ok gym
- nice beach with some rocks nearby to discover (small crabs and fishes)
- free wlan working everywhere

Cons:
- spa treatments and thai massages quite expensive compared to other places nearby (just walk a bit further on the beach and you'll find reasonable ones)
- lots of stairs (wasn't a problem for us, but take this into consideration if you have leg problems)
- A/C was a bit tricky to control, either it was too cold or too warm

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Khaolak Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Laguna Resort

Address: 26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#24 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Laguna Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Laguna Resort is located on an area of 12 acres on the beachfront of Khaolak. Only 80 Kms from Phuket Airport. The Resort is in classical Oriental Style in the embrace of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Khaolak Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Laguna Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Laguna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.