We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Laguna Resort

Save Saved
You added Khaolak Laguna Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Khaolak Laguna Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We were on our honeymoon, and we loved this hotel and our individual villa near the beach. The hotel and grounds were beautiful and we thought the staff exceedingly helpful and cheerful.
The food was fantastic, though a little more expensive than in the town, so we ended up eating in the many restaurants near the hotel.
The hotel's location is perfect - right next to the beach, and just a few minutes walk from the town and all its restaurants and shops, but set far enough back that you feel as though you're in the middle of nowhere.
We would happily stay here again, not a single thing to complain about!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    86
    25
    9
    5
See reviews for
64
153
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Greve, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

Stayed for one week in January 2012 in a bungalow, and first impressions was positive - but you soon learn that there is many things that needs to be improved.
Cleaning (- daily) was just average, and when we arrived there was many grease stains in the bathroom, and the tub was full of dust.
The staff was very courteous - but they almost didn't speek/understood one word of english; they say "yes" to everything without understanding what are being asked' them - this unfortunately also goes with the staff in the reception when you're having some problems, such as lost luggage (- placed at the reception). At minimum the staff at the reception should be able to speak/make conversation in english! (- in a 4 star resort)

Furthermore everything is expensive at the resort. That would be ok, if the standards matched these prices - they do not!
The food at the restaurant was at least twice as expensive compared to the nearby restaurants - and just half as good.
Same goes with the massage; you can get it at half price outside the resort...and better...

There is at breakfast buffet, with an egg-station - nice and tasty. But all the other stuff was just "boring"; nothing that really got your mouth watering.....

There are some good things also; it is located perfectly, very quiet surrundings, nice pools ( which vere cleaned every night), wi-fi in the room (- working perfectly ), lots of sunbeds, and the hotel/resort really have all the potential to be a 4 star resort if they picked up at the above mentioned things....but as it is now, we would definately find another place to stay next time we'll visit khao Lak again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

this was a truly beautiful hotel,nice room,immaculate grounds, great location but the catering was very expensive and really dreadful.The staff,although really trying to be helpful,lack training and language skills with just a little effort this could be a wonderful holiday choice.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seeheim-Jugenheim, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The hotel is nicely located on a beautiful beach, with landscaped swimming pool, spacious and stylish individual villa and good restaurant facilities. The SPA is offering the whole range of high quality treatments; the plus: the SPA Manager is graduated to perform therapy massage following traditional Thai medicine . After 10 years of recurrent back problems, the result of the therapy massage was just fantastic for me. I can only recommend it !

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012 via mobile

We stayed over Christmas and New Year and had paid for the compulsory and pricey tickets in the total price. We are vegetarians, and on Christmas Eve there was very little for us to eat, while the rest of the hotel feasted. A better effort was made on New Year's Eve, although there was little choice, while the rest of the hotel feasted. We were incredibly disappointed.
Waiting staff speak very little English, which is a problem, especially when you need to know what's in your food. We also felt that they could be rude and indifferent, especially when compared gator the two other Thai hotels we have visited in other occasions.
Lack of attentive service and catering to our not unusual needs means that we won't be visiting again, although the beach was gorgeous and our room always clean and restful.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tripkin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in a villa-- beautifully appointed. Helpful friendly staff we loved our cooking lesson. It was a nice touch to serve us the meal we cooked at the beachfront resturant.
Khao Lak itself is a beautiful location. We hope to return!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

Fantastic hotel in a perfect location. We stayed here for a total of 10 nights and could not fault it. It is spotlessly clean and set in beautiful well maintained grounds. The rooms have everything you need for a perfect holiday. The staff are all lovely and very obliging..The beach was the best beach of the 3 hotels we stayed in on our trip. Very comfortable sunbeds with clean beach towels provided everyday. Free internet access in the lobby.
Would recommend The Gold Elephant across the road for dining also Sun and Sea next door. The cocktail bar also across the road is ideal for a nightcap at very reasonable prices.
Would have no hesitation in staying at The Laguna resort again.

Room Tip: For 7 nights we had a ground floor room near a large pond (room 512) we both had mosquito bites. For...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Khaolak Laguna Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Laguna Resort

Address: 26/8 Moo7 Petchkasem Rd. Khuk Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#23 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khaolak Laguna Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Khaolak Laguna Resort is located on an area of 12 acres on the beachfront of Khaolak. Only 80 Kms from Phuket Airport. The Resort is in classical Oriental Style in the embrace of nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travelocity, Tingo, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Khaolak Laguna Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Laguna Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Laguna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Laguna Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.