We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, average service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Khaolak Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Khaolak Resort to your Saves list
Baan Khaolak Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   26/16 Moo7, Phetchakasem Rd | T. Khuk Khak, A. Takaupa, Phang-Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Paris
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, average service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed 4 nights, in a standard room. The room was very charming, especially the bathroom, entirely in wood. The swimming pool is also very nice, and the resort is located on a cliff, the view is great.

Negatives :
- the staff is neither friendly or unfriendly, just indifferent, not usual in Thailand
- no ambiance at all, maybe it depends on the season, because I read other comments that describe the swimming pool as full of children. When we were there, it was always empty.

Anyway, if you go there for a romantic trip, it is a good place, we recommend Baan Krating.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lboutet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed for 6 nights at Baan Khao Lak after a weeks travel in Cambodia. The hotel itself is fantastic, with good clean comfortable rooms, set in lovely gardens, with good pool & beach.

My only reservation was the town itself, as it is just a row of shops and not outstanding restaurants along the road side. There is no central area to Khao Lak and no real atmosphere. I realise most of this is down to the place being wiped out in the Tsumani, but the re-build of the place has left it soul less.

If you are wanting to relax and not too bothered about venturing out in the evening, a perfect get away location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJacksLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Unfortunately we cannot rate the hotel as due to the shocking treatment we received at the front desk, we refused to stay a moment longer. We had booked a cottage over the phone and arranged an airport pickup from Phuket. Upon arrival they had booked us into a standard room for the price we had been quoted for the cottage (an upgraded room). The staff insisted this was our mistake (the staff member with whom we had make the booking was not available and manager refused to speak to us.) The staff were exceptionally rude and very arrogant. We decided not to stay and thankfully found a nicer hotel in a better location for half the price (Nang Thong Hotel).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dublin2009Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2009

This was our first visit to Khao Lak and we were pleased with our choice of hotel. It was in a good position within walking distance of all the bars and restaurants. The superior room was quite large and close to the beach.

The swimming pool and jacuzi were possibly the best we have had on our visits to Thailand and there was never a problem with getting a bed by the pool. There was, however, a problem getting a sun bed on the beach - as usual people putting down their towels and then not sitting on them!

The breakfast was adequate and we cannot comment on the food in general because we always ate elsewhere as it was far cheaper outside the hotel.

We went on a cooking course at O'Connors Irish Pub (they did one at the hotel but it was more expensive) just down the road from the hotel. This was a very enjoyable day out and we would highly recomnmend it - thanks Jane.

It is well worth a visit to Khao Lak National Park. Turn right outside the hotel and walk to the entrance. It cost 200 Bt to get in but was worth it just for the photo opportunity.

Also you must visit the police boat that was left stranded in a field following the Tsunami. It has been turned into a memoral to those who lost their lives - quite a moving experience visiting this area.

  • Liked — Proximity to the beach/bars/restaurants
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glordcfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2008

My husband and I are two Canadian teachers in our second year working at a school in Northern Thailand. We stayed at Baan Khaolak resort for 5 days in Dec. '07 and are returning, with a few visiting family members, for a week this Christmas. Why Baan Khaolak? Mid range, affordable. Right on lovely stretch of beach; clean, white sand, no boat traffic to and from beach (unlike Railey in Krabi, nice but so much boat traffic). Many other Khao Lak resorts are far from the small town or are built on fairly steep sites. Very helpful, friendly staff. Prompt replies to our email inquiries Re booking. Comments on Trip Advisor are all accurate: strange shower configurations, mostly Northern German and Danish guests and some children (fine with me) food (not inspiring but a host of wonderful eateries are within a short, pleasant walk, as is a wide range of town and resort shopping). We appreciated the easy access to fantastic diving and snorkeling around the Similan Islands (long, 4 hour, boat ride but worth it. We got lucky and were able to stay overnight on Ko 4, in a fan room, but best to book ahead. ) The rooms at Baan K are clean and attractive but I persuaded my husband to book a sea view bungalow and, when we returned from the Similans, a cottage. The privacy, view, proximity to beach and opening windows were worth it to me.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank moleskinMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.4 mi away
Moracea by Khao Lak Resort
8.7 mi away
MANATHAI Khao Lak
MANATHAI Khao Lak
#11 of 62 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 299 reviews
1.8 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 62 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
0.1 mi away
Khaolak Laguna Resort
Khaolak Laguna Resort
#13 of 62 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 508 reviews
5.7 mi away
Apsara Beachfront Resort and Villa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Khaolak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Khaolak Resort

Address: 26/16 Moo7, Phetchakasem Rd | T. Khuk Khak, A. Takaupa, Phang-Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#26 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Khaolak Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Khaolak Resort, your home away from home by the Andaman Sea, invites you to experience anew paradise where the skyline meets the endless sea. Unbeatable beauty which only nature can offer. The magical music from the crystal clear green wave and smooth touching a long powdery glittering soft sandy beach on a warm sunny day, friendships and smiles. Your secluded paradise will never fail to bring joy to you and your beloved family in every moment of your holiday. "Truly Unforgettable" Baan Khaolak Resort "Your Dream Place by the Andaman Sea" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Baan Khaolak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Khaolak Hotel Khao Lak
Khao Lak
Hotel Baan Khaolak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing