We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very peaceful hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Khaolak Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Baan Khaolak Resort to your Saves list
Baan Khaolak Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   26/16 Moo7, Phetchakasem Rd, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #39 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very peaceful hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very nice, charming and peaceful hotel with a nice pool in a relaxing environment with very nice surroundings close to the beach.The beach is fantastic. I was there with my wife in the middle of March 2013, and we had a great relaxing time in this quiet hotel, after hard work at home. The service was good and the breakfast very good. We only had one dinner at the beach and it was very good. One thing we were missing in the room was a proper water boiler (because the one in the room we had could not boil water very good)

Room Tip: I have used different rooms and all are quiet. Of course the villas are top class situated at the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    28
    6
    2
    4
See reviews for
21
36
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

i think there is no problem about the price for the thai cooking class usually its 1300B to the other hotels/resort so 1400 is ok its not bad at all and its all up to you if you want to join the class and you can ask them first before you pay, before you agree to something etc. etc., i think the certificates were given the next day or the night after the cooking seminar, usually if your not staying in that resort they will send the certificate in the hotel were you staying at. the problem is if the night duty receptionist in your hotel did not endorsed it to the morning shift receptionist then it will be chaos in your part. so the lesson here now is ask first ..

i've been to this resort all staff are great nice and quiet place me and my wife try their thai cooking class its ok yeah they just dont speak english well but its up to you to understand them and just remember that your in Thailand your not in the US or any English speaking country.try to book in and experience their service then comment again here..

anyways.... I'm looking forward to see those guys/gals again, see you in December...




cheers..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
são paulo
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

They do not move any muscle to do anythink. Soap and shampoo available only after many claims and 12h after arrived, a lost 1,5h waiting the massage who I had booked...and no show. Nobody no about the services available in the hotel (and do not care). The front desk are atenttious but they just know to call to someone who do nothing. The safetybox was broken and theyt do not care.It's nice place with 2 star service. They do not move any muscle to do anythink for you. Soup and shampoo available only after many claims and 12h after arrived, a lost 1,5h wait the massage who I had booked...and no show. Nobody no about the services available in the hotel (and do not care). The front desk are atenttious but they just call to someone who doesnt nothing. If you want just slept and jump in swimming pool, are fine. Paid a little more for best services. I canceled other 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
busaba17, Manager at Baan Khaolak Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thanks for your comment. We are very sorry that you were disappointed while staying with us, and not receiving prompt services from the staff. We have checked your booking and found out about your enquiry, but not the booking, so we did not secure the room for you and did not expect your arrival.

However, when you showed up, it was 10.00 pm. and some parts of the resort were close, ready for maintenance. We could have offered better room for you, had you informed us the next morning.

For the Thai massage, we found you booked for 13.00 hrs., but when it was already half an hour late, when you arrived. The massage staff could not wait, as she had another appointment on the day.

We apologize again for the inconvenience caused, and we will try our best to improve the services in all aspects, as we desire and strive for service excellence to please all guests.


Sincerely yours,
Busaba Patanawiroj (Ms.)
Resident Manager
Baan Khaolak Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

A perfect resort localized direct on the beach and 500 meters away from the little town of Khuk Khak with shops and restaurants.
The standard bungalow we stayed in for 2 weeks was great and clean and had a great balcony.
Great bed, and we could not do whithout the aircondition. The room and bathroom was very well equipped and the Wifi was free.
A nice and cosy restaurant at the swimmingpool and the beach.
The Resort have the best part of the hole beach and when the waves got to high it was great to stay at the swimmingpool, where there was no children (perfect).
The staff was wonderful, helpful and really serviceminded.
The only drawback was the tourists from the Towelcountries Germany and Switzerland, who laid out their towels on the sunbeds before 7 am and did not use them before 11 am. There was a sign by the swimmingpool which told that it was not allowed to occupy the beds with only towels for more than 1 hour. There the staff has to improve to collect the towels. As good Norwegians we removed the towels from the sunbeds we wanted and pretended not to understand german…. We only got strange looks from the germans….

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We stayed at Baan Khaolak over New Year, having spent a week in Tong Nai Pan on Koh Phagnan, two very different places. We stayed in one of the 3 beachfront villas, which was fabulous. It was a few feet from the beach, incredibly spacious with a jacuzzi bath as well as two showers (one indoor, one outdoor). Outside we had a great little terrace with a large double recliner bed, with unbeatable views out to the lovely wide beach.

On New Year's Eve, we were treated to a Thai banquet with excellent food (huge choice and top quality) as well as entertainment from (to name a few) local schools, a lady boy cabaret (brilliant!) and a local 'celebrity' BMX group who had been on Thailand's Got Talent. We also had fireworks. And, to our great surprise, it was all free (i.e included in our normal room rate - other than a good choice of wines) - no catch. I am not sure how many other resorts would be so generous given we had spent about 1,200 Baht (for food alone) each for a Chrismas Eve banquet at our previous hotel on the holiday.

The hotel is a good place to explore the national parks and there are numerous tour operators on the main strip. However, it is not really a place with cute little bars and restaurants on the beach (the beachfront locations seem to be owned by the hotels), unlike other resorts on the islands (Koh Phagnan, Samui, Tao etc). There is a McDonalds, which says it all.

We only had a couple of negatives regarding the resort, one being that housekeeping didn't always clear away our rubbish from our terrace and room which attracted ants. The other, that the other guests were not the friendliest people we had ever come across. We are a friendly couple in our early 30s from England, keen to meet/chat with other holiday makers. Everyone else was either German or Scandinavian, with young families or in their retirement. Very few were willing to partake in the New Year entertainment (despite the efforts of the lovely Jasmine)and we also heard some rudeness to the staff at the banquet which was rather unfair given we were being treated to a great, complimentary, event. I will also remark that the loungers on the beach were always reserved (with towels) at the crack of dawn(!). Anyway, this is not the fault of the hotel, but just an indication of the guests who stay at the resort.

All in all, it was a good 5 days. Thanks to the management (Chris) and staff (especially Jasmine) for a great New Year.

Room Tip: Room 2 - right on the beach with unbeatable views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldems
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This resort is a very nice little family resort. Everyone from the staff is friendly and helpful. They all take good care of the guests. We stayed in a superior cottage. The cottage was big and very clean. The ladys from the housekeeping did a real good job. The resort is direct at the beach located. We always found a sunbed at the beach or at the swimming pool. The sunbeds were in good shape. Also the swimming pool and the rest of the resort is in good shape. I never been in a Resort which had also specially for kids a toilet with a sink. Great not to lift up my son so he is able to wash his hands. They have so much for kids. A playground inside and outside. We have been on vacation with our 5 year old son. Almost the hole time of stay he was the only child. The staff was great with him. Specially Chris (manager) and "Big the rock star". They also have an internet room and we got wifi for free. Chris the manager of the resort takes care of everything. I told him that a lamp in the swimming pool is loose and he took right a way care of it. The next day it was fixed. Also it was my husband's birthday. Jeap (the owners wife) had already a birthday cake for him at breakfast ready and Chris did a great job about organising for sunset a table at the beach. He organised two lobsters even the resort did not offer at this time of year lobster. He got the lobster perfect cooked and at the end of the dinner he even had a ballon which my husband let in sky. The hole dinner was perfect organised from Chris. Thank you so much! But back to the resort. At breakfast you always find something to eat. After one week it repeats. Be honest at home you will also not have everything in the fridge. For a 3 star hotel it is totally okay. If you would like to have more then that, just book a 5 star hotel, but I doubt that you would feel there more welcome, safe and in good hands like in the Baan Khaolak. The guest structure is mostly german, swiss and austria. The reason why I write this assessment in english is because I want more people to understand which nice resort this is. Sorry for misspelling some words. If you like to book a little resort which treats you great, is clean, well taken care of and is always there for you, then book the Baan Khaolak. We loved it. Thanks again to all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had 2 weeks here in the low season and virtually had the hotel to ourselves. The rooms and balconies were large and comfortable and the service friendly and efficient (by Thailand standards). The hotel is right on the beach and we sat and ate breakfast overlooking the Adaman Sea every morning. The pool was good with water jets and massage area and the menu comprehensive and the food excellent. As we were there in low season there was some repair work going on and not all the facilities were available (spa, one restaurant closed). The exercise room is quite small - not that this was a problem for us. We can thoroughly recommend the hotel and the resort - the best Thai food we have had anywhere in Thailand. The hotel is under new management and there are plans in place to make it even better.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows are near the pool - noisy ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Khaolak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Khaolak Resort

Address: 26/16 Moo7, Phetchakasem Rd, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#30 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Khaolak Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Khaolak Resort, your home away from home by the Andaman Sea, invites you to experience anew paradise where the skyline meets the endless sea. Unbeatable beauty which only nature can offer. The magical music from the crystal clear green wave and smooth touching a long powdery glittering soft sandy beach on a warm sunny day, friendships and smiles. Your secluded paradise will never fail to bring joy to you and your beloved family in every moment of your holiday. "Truly Unforgettable" Baan Khaolak Resort "Your Dream Place by the Andaman Sea" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baan Khaolak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Khaolak Hotel Khao Lak
Khao Lak
Hotel Baan Khaolak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Khaolak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.