We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little family resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baan Khaolak Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Baan Khaolak Resort to your Saves list
Baan Khaolak Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   26/16 Moo7, Phetchakasem Rd, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Waldems
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great little family resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This resort is a very nice little family resort. Everyone from the staff is friendly and helpful. They all take good care of the guests. We stayed in a superior cottage. The cottage was big and very clean. The ladys from the housekeeping did a real good job. The resort is direct at the beach located. We always found a sunbed at the beach or at the swimming pool. The sunbeds were in good shape. Also the swimming pool and the rest of the resort is in good shape. I never been in a Resort which had also specially for kids a toilet with a sink. Great not to lift up my son so he is able to wash his hands. They have so much for kids. A playground inside and outside. We have been on vacation with our 5 year old son. Almost the hole time of stay he was the only child. The staff was great with him. Specially Chris (manager) and "Big the rock star". They also have an internet room and we got wifi for free. Chris the manager of the resort takes care of everything. I told him that a lamp in the swimming pool is loose and he took right a way care of it. The next day it was fixed. Also it was my husband's birthday. Jeap (the owners wife) had already a birthday cake for him at breakfast ready and Chris did a great job about organising for sunset a table at the beach. He organised two lobsters even the resort did not offer at this time of year lobster. He got the lobster perfect cooked and at the end of the dinner he even had a ballon which my husband let in sky. The hole dinner was perfect organised from Chris. Thank you so much! But back to the resort. At breakfast you always find something to eat. After one week it repeats. Be honest at home you will also not have everything in the fridge. For a 3 star hotel it is totally okay. If you would like to have more then that, just book a 5 star hotel, but I doubt that you would feel there more welcome, safe and in good hands like in the Baan Khaolak. The guest structure is mostly german, swiss and austria. The reason why I write this assessment in english is because I want more people to understand which nice resort this is. Sorry for misspelling some words. If you like to book a little resort which treats you great, is clean, well taken care of and is always there for you, then book the Baan Khaolak. We loved it. Thanks again to all!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    29
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
21
38
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Had 2 weeks here in the low season and virtually had the hotel to ourselves. The rooms and balconies were large and comfortable and the service friendly and efficient (by Thailand standards). The hotel is right on the beach and we sat and ate breakfast overlooking the Adaman Sea every morning. The pool was good with water jets and massage area and the menu comprehensive and the food excellent. As we were there in low season there was some repair work going on and not all the facilities were available (spa, one restaurant closed). The exercise room is quite small - not that this was a problem for us. We can thoroughly recommend the hotel and the resort - the best Thai food we have had anywhere in Thailand. The hotel is under new management and there are plans in place to make it even better.

Room Tip: Beach bungalows are near the pool - noisy ?
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2009

We stayed 4 nights, in a standard room. The room was very charming, especially the bathroom, entirely in wood. The swimming pool is also very nice, and the resort is located on a cliff, the view is great.

Negatives :
- the staff is neither friendly or unfriendly, just indifferent, not usual in Thailand
- no ambiance at all, maybe it depends on the season, because I read other comments that describe the swimming pool as full of children. When we were there, it was always empty.

Anyway, if you go there for a romantic trip, it is a good place, we recommend Baan Krating.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

We stayed for 6 nights at Baan Khao Lak after a weeks travel in Cambodia. The hotel itself is fantastic, with good clean comfortable rooms, set in lovely gardens, with good pool & beach.

My only reservation was the town itself, as it is just a row of shops and not outstanding restaurants along the road side. There is no central area to Khao Lak and no real atmosphere. I realise most of this is down to the place being wiped out in the Tsumani, but the re-build of the place has left it soul less.

If you are wanting to relax and not too bothered about venturing out in the evening, a perfect get away location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

Unfortunately we cannot rate the hotel as due to the shocking treatment we received at the front desk, we refused to stay a moment longer. We had booked a cottage over the phone and arranged an airport pickup from Phuket. Upon arrival they had booked us into a standard room for the price we had been quoted for the cottage (an upgraded room). The staff insisted this was our mistake (the staff member with whom we had make the booking was not available and manager refused to speak to us.) The staff were exceptionally rude and very arrogant. We decided not to stay and thankfully found a nicer hotel in a better location for half the price (Nang Thong Hotel).

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baan Khaolak Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Khaolak Resort

Address: 26/16 Moo7, Phetchakasem Rd, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#27 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Baan Khaolak Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 68
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baan Khaolak Resort, your home away from home by the Andaman Sea, invites you to experience anew paradise where the skyline meets the endless sea. Unbeatable beauty which only nature can offer. The magical music from the crystal clear green wave and smooth touching a long powdery glittering soft sandy beach on a warm sunny day, friendships and smiles. Your secluded paradise will never fail to bring joy to you and your beloved family in every moment of your holiday. "Truly Unforgettable" Baan Khaolak Resort "Your Dream Place by the Andaman Sea" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Khaolak Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Khaolak Hotel Khao Lak
Khao Lak
Hotel Baan Khaolak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baan Khaolak Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.