We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas at khaolak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Christmas at khaolak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed here for Christmas and new year 2013/14.
Very friendly staff,clean hotel excellent food what more can I say. The hotels free taxi to the nearest town was great lots of choice there and cheap to eat. Would highly recommend a stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    106
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
116
188
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Overall we had a pleasant stay at the hotel with problems though.

The first problem, and it was huge, was the transfer to the hotel from the airport an hour or so away. During the journey the children were scared and the adults terrified! The driving was so dangerous; far too fast on winding roads, tailgating and overtaking on blind bends. One adult and two children vomiting into plastic bags. After a long-haul flight from the UK, the last thing we needed was a driver from hell showing off! The hotel needs to hire reliable drivers.

At the hotel, the beach and pool area were great with the beach quiet and picturesque, and the pool enjoyable for the kids. The problem was there was nothing else for the kids to do apart from an old ping-pong table and pool table. There needs to be more entertainment for children in a family hotel.

The rooms were good and the maids were friendly and cleaned everyday.

The breakfast was good for a few days then got boring, the same stuff everyday with no variety. Come on, in Thailand there is so many different types of fruit a little change would have been nice.

The restaurant and bar was a bit of a joke to be perfectly honest. The prices were way too high compared to in town which was why most guests took the bus into town every night for dinner! The restaurant was lovely and peaceful for an occasional evening meal but was too quiet for children every night.

The staff were under trained: they ignored orders and brought the wrong dishes. The main problem was the refusal to change the wrong dishes which annoyed and frustrated us. If it was an isolated case, we would have let it go but it happened on the three different occasions we went to the restaurant. Last point about the restaurant, what's with the food being made on the other side of the hotel and then being carried uncovered, in the rain sometimes, to the restaurant? Delicious food but cold!

There needs to be a dedicated bar so people can relax and finish the night off with a drink. The bar was a working area for the staff in the restaurant. We felt in the way just sitting there and so sat at a restaurant table instead.

The whole bar and restaurant needs a re-think. The hotel needs to come up with a plan with reasonable prices to attract the guests in the evenings or everyone is off to town nearly every day and night for a meal which makes the hotel a ghost town in the evenings.

Overall relaxing with some good points but definitely not a four star hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3nights and i wish we stayed longer. The staff were great. The breakfast was also great. We were able to arrange scooter hire here and also our day trips which was really convinient and easy. The hotel offers a free shuttle to town which is great if you dnt wanna eat at the hotel. The beach was great and very private. Will come back here again

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here in January and had a wonderful time. We stayed in whatever the cheapest rooms were. They were pleasant, clean and functional. Bathroom was tidy and nice.

Two large pools. One was an adult only pool area which was very nice.

Large lawn out front with deck chairs. Across the road is a private beach with deck chairs. Good luck getting a chair there though. The Germans are out there at 7am every morning reserving chairs with towels. That said, we were happy lying under the trees on the woven mats provided.

There is a buffet for breakfast which is okay - not great. The restaurant is nice.

You can hire scooters from the resort to get into town. I'd recommend doing this for a bit of dining variety.

All and all loved out time here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here in the first week of May and left just a day before they closed the resort for renovation. We flew from Bangkok to Phuket and had to wait about half an hour for the taxi that hotel had arranged to pick us up. The ride from the Phuket airport was about an hour. Taxi cost BHT1500.

When we arrived to the hotel we received welcome drinks, check in was fast. The resort is tucked away from busy main street quite a distance from town. There are a few hotels along the same road. The hotel a has private beach which you have to cross the road to get to but not far at all. The beach is nice not fine white sand but clean and steep. I'm not sure if it's because we were there at the beginning of the rain season but the waves got quite big at times. It's good for boogie board. But if you are not a strong swimmer can be scary.

The room- The room we had was a superior room which was spacious and clean. Bathroom was also a good size with bath tub and separate shower. The room was cleaned everyday, the towels were changed daily. Toiletries were restocked daily as well so does the fridge.

Restaurant - There are 2 restaurants well 2 eating areas one right by the main swimming pool which was used for breakfast. Their breakfast buffet was ok. They had quite a bit of selections but nothing extravagance. There was an omelet station if you want your egg cooked fresh.
There is another restaurant close to the beach nice set up food was good. We only ate there once the rest of the time we just went to town and get something from the market.

Swimming pools - There were 2 swimming pool the main one was nice not very big. It could get crowded if the resort is full. There is a swim up bar at the main pool. There is also a kiddy pool and jacuzzi pool built right in the main pool. I spotted another pool right by one building not sure if anybody can used it or only guests from that building but nobody was there.

Getting around - The resort is quite far out from town but they have free shuttle twice daily one in the morning then one at night but you can also rent a scooter from the hotel BHT 300 per day. Then yo are free to go anywhere you'd like at anytime. There is a beach area called White Sand Beach. It's worth a visit beautiful long white sand beach. There are a few restaurants there just order a couple of drinks of food then just sit an enjoy the beach or just take a walk along this beautiful beach.

Staffs were wonderful. They would do anything to meet your requests. They were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed at Khao lak orchid beach begin april 2014. I requested a room on a higher floor, but upon arrival they told us that the room wasn’t ready. As a compensation we revieved an upgrade. We ended up staying at a suite on the ground floor. What a nice room with an outdoor jacuzzi.
The staff was wonderful and they did there very best to give you a good holiday.
Although the hotel was fully booked, it did not give us a crowded feeling. Sometimes there where only 5 children in the pool.
The Verve restaurant was very special. A tropical location nice background music and the food and staff were great. Prices are ok (we also had a 20% discount card because we booked directly at the site.)
If you want to eat cheap, walk about 10 minutes to the left. At that time we ate alone facing sunset and only payed 800 bath with a family of 4.

We booked 3 tours at the hotel. First we went to Similan islands with Love Andaman. There are many negative reviews but we had the best day ever. Nice beach, nice staff, good speed boats and the food was nice.
We can also recommend an elephant tour to Khao lak.
We travel a lot and we have stayed at resorts much more expansive as Khao Lak Orchid beach. Why does this hotel only have 3 stars. It should have been 5 (location, pool, superb staff…)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Really good value.....wonderful pools......very enjoyable beach within a few minutes walk......staff very friendly and helpful......cannot really fault the overall service and comfort at all.
The restaurant attached to the hotel offers a good variety of meals including live music with views of the beach in a tranquil setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Address: 61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#10 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3+ Star resort is located on the long Khuk Khak Beach in Khao Lak, run by the local family from Takuapa. We are 10 mins by shuttle bus to Khao Lak Center. The shuttle bus run every hour in the evening (2 times a day free of charge, other time costs 50 Baht/Person/Way) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Orchid Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Orchid Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.