We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed here in January and had a wonderful time. We stayed in whatever the cheapest rooms were. They were pleasant, clean and functional. Bathroom was tidy and nice.

Two large pools. One was an adult only pool area which was very nice.

Large lawn out front with deck chairs. Across the road is a private beach with deck chairs. Good luck getting a chair there though. The Germans are out there at 7am every morning reserving chairs with towels. That said, we were happy lying under the trees on the woven mats provided.

There is a buffet for breakfast which is okay - not great. The restaurant is nice.

You can hire scooters from the resort to get into town. I'd recommend doing this for a bit of dining variety.

All and all loved out time here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    81
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
96
158
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We stayed here in the first week of May and left just a day before they closed the resort for renovation. We flew from Bangkok to Phuket and had to wait about half an hour for the taxi that hotel had arranged to pick us up. The ride from the Phuket airport was about an hour. Taxi cost BHT1500.

When we arrived to the hotel we received welcome drinks, check in was fast. The resort is tucked away from busy main street quite a distance from town. There are a few hotels along the same road. The hotel a has private beach which you have to cross the road to get to but not far at all. The beach is nice not fine white sand but clean and steep. I'm not sure if it's because we were there at the beginning of the rain season but the waves got quite big at times. It's good for boogie board. But if you are not a strong swimmer can be scary.

The room- The room we had was a superior room which was spacious and clean. Bathroom was also a good size with bath tub and separate shower. The room was cleaned everyday, the towels were changed daily. Toiletries were restocked daily as well so does the fridge.

Restaurant - There are 2 restaurants well 2 eating areas one right by the main swimming pool which was used for breakfast. Their breakfast buffet was ok. They had quite a bit of selections but nothing extravagance. There was an omelet station if you want your egg cooked fresh.
There is another restaurant close to the beach nice set up food was good. We only ate there once the rest of the time we just went to town and get something from the market.

Swimming pools - There were 2 swimming pool the main one was nice not very big. It could get crowded if the resort is full. There is a swim up bar at the main pool. There is also a kiddy pool and jacuzzi pool built right in the main pool. I spotted another pool right by one building not sure if anybody can used it or only guests from that building but nobody was there.

Getting around - The resort is quite far out from town but they have free shuttle twice daily one in the morning then one at night but you can also rent a scooter from the hotel BHT 300 per day. Then yo are free to go anywhere you'd like at anytime. There is a beach area called White Sand Beach. It's worth a visit beautiful long white sand beach. There are a few restaurants there just order a couple of drinks of food then just sit an enjoy the beach or just take a walk along this beautiful beach.

Staffs were wonderful. They would do anything to meet your requests. They were polite and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

We stayed at Khao lak orchid beach begin april 2014. I requested a room on a higher floor, but upon arrival they told us that the room wasn’t ready. As a compensation we revieved an upgrade. We ended up staying at a suite on the ground floor. What a nice room with an outdoor jacuzzi.
The staff was wonderful and they did there very best to give you a good holiday.
Although the hotel was fully booked, it did not give us a crowded feeling. Sometimes there where only 5 children in the pool.
The Verve restaurant was very special. A tropical location nice background music and the food and staff were great. Prices are ok (we also had a 20% discount card because we booked directly at the site.)
If you want to eat cheap, walk about 10 minutes to the left. At that time we ate alone facing sunset and only payed 800 bath with a family of 4.

We booked 3 tours at the hotel. First we went to Similan islands with Love Andaman. There are many negative reviews but we had the best day ever. Nice beach, nice staff, good speed boats and the food was nice.
We can also recommend an elephant tour to Khao lak.
We travel a lot and we have stayed at resorts much more expansive as Khao Lak Orchid beach. Why does this hotel only have 3 stars. It should have been 5 (location, pool, superb staff…)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roodepoort, South Africa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Really good value.....wonderful pools......very enjoyable beach within a few minutes walk......staff very friendly and helpful......cannot really fault the overall service and comfort at all.
The restaurant attached to the hotel offers a good variety of meals including live music with views of the beach in a tranquil setting.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ct, usa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a lovely hotel with a very relaxing atmosphere. We had 2 rooms as a family of 5 in Block A and they were great, spacious and beautifully furnished. Contrary to other reviewers, we found the breakfast great! Lots of lovely fresh fruit and the omelettes were fab. The pools were never busy, the beach is wonderful, I would say it actually looks better than the pictures! I guess the only downside is that the hotel is located out of town and you do need to rely on the (very good) shuttle service if you want to try other restaurants or do shopping etc. I would certainly recommend the hotel and am desperate to go back! The one thing I think the hotel could do better is to let guests know more about what is on offer, for example there are bikes you can borrow which we only discovered by accident, and I did not know we could have asked Mr Nop to provide a taxi service! You will not be disappointed by this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The film called The Impossible and great reviews on Trip Advisor helped me discover this hotel. We booked the 8 days 7 nights package at 23,999 BAHT. Look up their website for reasonable deals.
THE ROOM: We certainly love our large, airy room in the A block. An amazing all around views of the gorgeous Andaman Sea and the beautifully tended tropical gardens. There is a panorama of mountain scenery in the background too. It has a living area with its own TV. A tiny library stocked with English and German novels. A minibar with a good selection of teas. Fresh drinking water provided daily. Adequate power points to charge your personal electronic gadgets. Beds were large and firm. The reception provides adapters if you forget yours. The private balcony was massive with two loungers and a sun brolley. Cool in the mornings, but gets the full afternoon sun. There’s an outdoor shower and a Jacuzzi with good water pressure.
RECEPTION: Fast check in, good communication skills. Recommended us a lovely trip to Mo Surin Islands with Barracuda Diving when we were undecided with various choices.
HOUSEKEEPING: These people has our utmost gratitude. Amazing staffs. Kept our room very clean daily. Fresh towels both for bath and pool. Always with warm greetings and big smiles. Laundry came back on the same day.
FACILITIES AND THE BEACH: We spent our days catching some rays at the beach, or relaxing by one of the resort's 2 outdoor swimming pools, one is strictly for adults only and the other has a swim up bar. The staffs are very accommodating and served really great drinks and cocktails.
The pristine beach is very private and it stretches for a few kilometers. The sand is honey brown and soft. Reef shoes not needed to frolic with the waves, safe to go barefoot. The waves were huge at certain times of the day but it provided an infinity of fun for us!. No street peddlers to sell trinkets.There are no jet skis, parasailing or banana boats services here. You are in the wrong place if you are into all that. There was never a problem getting a lounger at the pool or in the garden area. You can order drinks from Verve 29 beachfront restaurant and they will happily serve it at the beach.
SHUTTLES: It is about 7 kms to the main center for shopping and restaurants. Shuttles to the Khao Lak Center are free however its 50 baht per pax for certain peak hours. Sometimes they go by Song Tiaws (an open truck) and other times by an air conditioned vans.
BREAKFAST: It was included in our package. Serves from 7 to 10 Am. Plenty of seats. The food selections were quite limited. There’s an egg station, they will whip up any choice of eggs you desire and we were very happy with the fresh mangoes they kept bringing out! They were fast, attentive and carried out their duties very well.
MASSAGES AND SPA: My only complaint so far- On our last day, before checkout I needed to relax and tried the Traditional Thai Massage in the Vanda Spa. The staffs could be friendlier, after all I was their first customer at 10 AM. No greetings, rather dour faced. I did not enjoy the massage. However, there are other options, the outdoor massage, under the traditional huts is priced only at 250 Baht.
TIPS: At the beach, don' t forget a DEET spray, the sand flies are really pesky after a rain shower.
Mozzie repellants are vital at all the times even during breakfast at the restaurant, after all this hotel is surrounded by tropical gardens. They are extremely aggressive here.
No Lifts - all stairs, pack light or get the rooms at lower levels.

Overall, we truly had a delightful stay at this gorgeous family friendly paradise. Wonderful and precious memories were created here. Thank you to Mr Jirasak and his wonderful team.

Room Tip: BLOCK A, top floors if you want the mesmerising views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A beautiful hotel on a amazing beach. Could not fault it at all. We found the breakfasts great, great selection of tropical fruit and an omelette station that set us up nicely for the day. All the staff were so friendly contributing to a resort with a lovely laid back atmosphere. Food at the Verve was of a very good standard, I would recommend the green curry and fishcakes. There was always enough beach loungers and all spaced well apart, compared to other more high end resorts which squash them all in together. Great options to dine at the shacks on the beach or take a taxi ride with Mr Nop into town. Mr Nop will also taxi you to places like Whitesands Beach and Lam Ru so we felt a hire car wasn't needed. The hotel offers the best of both worlds, relative seclusion but easy access to the hotspots if needed. It's a no brainer......

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Address: 61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#10 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3+ Star resort is located on the long Khuk Khak Beach in Khao Lak, run by the local family from Takuapa. We are 10 mins by shuttle bus to Khao Lak Center. The shuttle bus run every hour in the evening (2 times a day free of charge, other time costs 50 Baht/Person/Way) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Orchid Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Orchid Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.