We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SAND, SEA, SERENITY and SECLUSION” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“SAND, SEA, SERENITY and SECLUSION”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

The film called The Impossible and great reviews on Trip Advisor helped me discover this hotel. We booked the 8 days 7 nights package at 23,999 BAHT. Look up their website for reasonable deals.
THE ROOM: We certainly love our large, airy room in the A block. An amazing all around views of the gorgeous Andaman Sea and the beautifully tended tropical gardens. There is a panorama of mountain scenery in the background too. It has a living area with its own TV. A tiny library stocked with English and German novels. A minibar with a good selection of teas. Fresh drinking water provided daily. Adequate power points to charge your personal electronic gadgets. Beds were large and firm. The reception provides adapters if you forget yours. The private balcony was massive with two loungers and a sun brolley. Cool in the mornings, but gets the full afternoon sun. There’s an outdoor shower and a Jacuzzi with good water pressure.
RECEPTION: Fast check in, good communication skills. Recommended us a lovely trip to Mo Surin Islands with Barracuda Diving when we were undecided with various choices.
HOUSEKEEPING: These people has our utmost gratitude. Amazing staffs. Kept our room very clean daily. Fresh towels both for bath and pool. Always with warm greetings and big smiles. Laundry came back on the same day.
FACILITIES AND THE BEACH: We spent our days catching some rays at the beach, or relaxing by one of the resort's 2 outdoor swimming pools, one is strictly for adults only and the other has a swim up bar. The staffs are very accommodating and served really great drinks and cocktails.
The pristine beach is very private and it stretches for a few kilometers. The sand is honey brown and soft. Reef shoes not needed to frolic with the waves, safe to go barefoot. The waves were huge at certain times of the day but it provided an infinity of fun for us!. No street peddlers to sell trinkets.There are no jet skis, parasailing or banana boats services here. You are in the wrong place if you are into all that. There was never a problem getting a lounger at the pool or in the garden area. You can order drinks from Verve 29 beachfront restaurant and they will happily serve it at the beach.
SHUTTLES: It is about 7 kms to the main center for shopping and restaurants. Shuttles to the Khao Lak Center are free however its 50 baht per pax for certain peak hours. Sometimes they go by Song Tiaws (an open truck) and other times by an air conditioned vans.
BREAKFAST: It was included in our package. Serves from 7 to 10 Am. Plenty of seats. The food selections were quite limited. There’s an egg station, they will whip up any choice of eggs you desire and we were very happy with the fresh mangoes they kept bringing out! They were fast, attentive and carried out their duties very well.
MASSAGES AND SPA: My only complaint so far- On our last day, before checkout I needed to relax and tried the Traditional Thai Massage in the Vanda Spa. The staffs could be friendlier, after all I was their first customer at 10 AM. No greetings, rather dour faced. I did not enjoy the massage. However, there are other options, the outdoor massage, under the traditional huts is priced only at 250 Baht.
TIPS: At the beach, don' t forget a DEET spray, the sand flies are really pesky after a rain shower.
Mozzie repellants are vital at all the times even during breakfast at the restaurant, after all this hotel is surrounded by tropical gardens. They are extremely aggressive here.
No Lifts - all stairs, pack light or get the rooms at lower levels.

Overall, we truly had a delightful stay at this gorgeous family friendly paradise. Wonderful and precious memories were created here. Thank you to Mr Jirasak and his wonderful team.

Room Tip: BLOCK A, top floors if you want the mesmerising views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    106
    28
    11
    4
See reviews for
116
188
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level Contributor
119 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A beautiful hotel on a amazing beach. Could not fault it at all. We found the breakfasts great, great selection of tropical fruit and an omelette station that set us up nicely for the day. All the staff were so friendly contributing to a resort with a lovely laid back atmosphere. Food at the Verve was of a very good standard, I would recommend the green curry and fishcakes. There was always enough beach loungers and all spaced well apart, compared to other more high end resorts which squash them all in together. Great options to dine at the shacks on the beach or take a taxi ride with Mr Nop into town. Mr Nop will also taxi you to places like Whitesands Beach and Lam Ru so we felt a hire car wasn't needed. The hotel offers the best of both worlds, relative seclusion but easy access to the hotspots if needed. It's a no brainer......

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

I stayed in one of the deluxe suites in a Block A with my husband and two children (aged 8 & 5). The rooms were just perfect - large, spacious, spotlessly clean. The pool is great (and there is a separate adults only pool too) and the beach is just beautiful and virtually empty most of the time. An abundance of sunbeds in all areas. Food at Verve 29 was delicious every time we ate there. Staff in all areas of the hotel are attentive and friendly. The hotel operates regular transfers into Khao Lak - some free and others at a small charge. We were fortunate enough to be staying for Songkran and the hotel really went to a big effort to enable guests to fully participate in what is essentially a huge water fight for the whole town - unforgettable. A truly lovely placed to stay. The only thing that needs improvement is the breakfast selection which was the only thing which tended towards average.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Excellent service, friendly staff, rooms on the 2 & 3rd floor mostly have good ocean views, beach area stellar. Oh, the breakfast buffet is also very good!
One can walk for hours on the tree/forest lined beaches of Khao Lak from this resort. the beach is excellent, swimming wonderful (as almost all of Khao Lak beaches are).
Cannot find any 'cons' for this resort. The only reason we left after 3 nights is it was Thai New year and they were booked up.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, England
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We have recently returned from this hotel. Our first stay at the Orchid, though not our first visit to Khao Lak. Lovely hotel, set in lovely grounds, with the beach reach on your door step.

Spent most of our time at the Adult Pool which was never very busy.

Like previous reviewers, I felt the breakfast let the hotel down.

The food in Verve 29 was fantastic, and the staff were always happy and smiling.

We didn't mind the hard mattresses and wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Liz from Hull

Room Tip: We had a deluxe room in Block A and it was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

If you want to get away from it all then this is the place for you .If you can't relax here you will not relax anywhere. Set virtually on its own beach, there are ample sunbeds here as well as in the grounds & by both pools.
One of the nicest beaches we have ever been on & beautiful warm sea. A 15 min walk along beach in either direction will bring you to superb beach bars serving great food. We particularly liked Lays bar, very friendly.
Rooms in resort extremely comfortable & staff cannot do enough for you.
Spa brilliant & the ladies there give the best massages I have had on many trips to Thailand.
If you want a lively night atmosphere then this is not for you but the regular bus into Khao Lak is great.

Room Tip: Go for the highest priced room you can afford. They get better the more you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonhappytripper
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We have just returned from a 10 day holidays at the Khaolak Orchid Resort, Great time, great holiday, delicious food from the restaurant at reasonable prices. Absolutely no negative points to mention. Would I go back to Khaolak and the Khaolak Orchid Resort? Most definitely YES.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
1.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 60 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
5.7 mi away
Manathai Khao Lak
Manathai Khao Lak
#3 of 60 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.1 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Haven Khao Lak
The Haven Khao Lak
#30 of 60 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
1.5 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#18 of 60 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Address: 61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3+ Star resort is located on the long Khuk Khak Beach in Khao Lak, run by the local family from Takuapa. We are 10 mins by shuttle bus to Khao Lak Center. The shuttle bus run every hour in the evening (2 times a day free of charge, other time costs 50 Baht/Person/Way) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Orchid Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Orchid Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.