We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent massages, beautiful beach, clean, spacy and with charming staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Magnificent massages, beautiful beach, clean, spacy and with charming staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We spoiled ourselves with theraputic massages every day in the resort garden, before or after swimming and sunbathing on the long beach or by the children or adult pools. The rooms are spacy and clean with new towels and cold drinking water every day. The bedt are huge and the furniture modern, yet with nice local touch. They fix transport and tours. Dinner, lunch and breakfast where delicious, especially when we celebrated Christmas, 50 years marriage and the New Year, at the restaurant or at beach parties. We were 14 people and the straff served us very well for 11 days. Kap khun kap!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    94
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
99
169
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

After an extremely stressful year for my husband, me, and our high school age son, we really needed a total break, and planned this Khao Lak vacation in order to do absolutely nothing. Our stay at the Orchid was just what we needed.

The beach was perfect - the water was warm and you could just stroll in. Sometimes it was flat, sometimes wavy (there were people boogi-boarding). Notably NO things like jetskis or other stuff like that. Some people might miss that sort of thing, but we were SO grateful. It was a nice quiet place, nothing but the sea breeze and waves to make noise, and the beach just went on forever. There always seemed to be a recliner/chair when we needed it. The place was fully booked but didn't feel crowded at all.

Everyone was super nice, wonderful, even the guests! I think everyone was looking for the same thing we were - peace and quiet and relaxation. It is a family resort, but there were mostly couples (from northern Europe). Many of the families had teens like us. The handful of families with tiny little kids were well-behaved, really fun to watch at the pool (hilarious in fact), and not pesky at all - there is an adults only pool but we never even bothered going there cos the main pool was perfect. The great thing was, our 15-year-old son - we were worried he would be bored after a while, but he had the time of his life - at the beach, at the pool, touring with us, and he MADE FRIENDS with 4 other kids around the same age - so they ended up hanging out together. I saw other sets of kids making friends with each other. It was a real "family" resort in this sense.

Because our son was out of our hair most of the time, my husband and I were able to have a romantic vacation after all, and it's been a much-needed recharge for a couple of tired middle-aged worker bees.

I've stayed in resorts all over Asia, Europe, and the US (incl. Hawaii), and I've never experienced a resort with just the right balance that appeals to our sensibilities. There's nothing particularly Thai about it, but perhaps this level of mellow, laid back yet at the same time "deluxe" and extremely clean atmosphere can only be achieved by a Thai crew with a Thai aesthetic. It's a quietly elegant place that on the surface seems really just a simple affair, but you get to appreciate the level of care and beauty when you get up close and personal - in terms of the room, the grounds, the food, the service, the food, oh did I forget the food? The food was great.

So - the food. It's not cheap, but not overpriced either, and it was consistently good. Of course if you compare to what you'd pay in Khao Lak town or Takua Pa or elsewhere local for the same exact thing, it costs up to 2x as much in the resort. However, the quality of the food in the resort is also up to 2x better, tastier, everything. We did comparisons all week and towards the end we stopped eating "outside" altogether to avoid disappointment. In the end, there was the food bill, but really it was totally reasonable. The only thing missing was they didn't have Thai breakfast - but the buffet breakfast that comes with the room is GREAT, and they have the best french toast we've ever had. We were pleasantly surprised by the flavourfulness of the coffee - truly good coffee, probably the best brewed coffee I've ever had in Asia.

We had planned to stay 5 days, 4 nights. But I fell ill (bad cold) for a couple days and felt rather cheated out of my vacation. So we voted as a family to extend our stay and luckily the staff were able to accommodate us and we didn't even have to move rooms. We ended up 7 days, and still felt unable to bear leaving. The staff seemed genuinely sad to see us go - I think they do get a bit attached to the guests after seeing them all day for a week (since people apparently tend to stay long). We posed for pictures with them as we were waiting for our airport transfer. Next time we plan to stay 2 whole weeks instead of 1, and really explore the area.

On the language issue - not a big deal at all. The staff speak just enough English to deal with the technicalities of your stay. Even the cleaning lady and guy. But there's also a German translator on site (there were a couple locally-based German nationals offering tourist services). They (the Thai staff) understand more than they speak, so don't think you can talk about them behind their back haha. That said, I found their level of fluency a blessing in that it prevented them from being too chatty with you (I've had the experience of hotel staff in other places, like the Philippines, start to get overly chummy and then have the service mysteriously decline the chummier they get). They were also quite nice, sweet, friendly (and very Thai in this sense) but not to the level of being smarmy. It was superficial of course - it's their job, but they seemed to take the quality of their service seriously and personally, and they never lapsed in their professionalism. I never observed anyone (even the gardeners) looking bored on the job and acting like they wanted to be elsewhere instead of resentfully serving overprivileged tourists. This is perhaps the thing I most appreciate (comparing to other places/countries I've stayed). The service is not like this in Phuket itself - it might be a distinctly Khao Lak thing.

When we were leaving, we had to check out at noon but our flight out was not til the night, so they held our luggage while we enjoyed the resort til our flight transfer left at 6 pm, and right before we left they let us use their concierge room so we could shower and get dressed. We were willing to just use the lobby restrooms and maybe just rinse off at the pool shower. But the head receptionist would have none of it. She looked at us like she was insulted that we would think they'd stand for letting their beloved guests rough it.

All in all, I can't say enough good things about this place. It's our new favourite place in the world. My son was so taken with it that he declared this is where he will propose to his girlfriend - of course he is only 15 and doesn't even have a real girlfriend yet, but he believes that when he does, this is where he will take her to pop the question. It's not a "fancy" upscale resort (only 3-star, I think), but if it can inspire this kind of romanticism from a cynical 15 year old boy, you get a sense of what kind of place it is.

Room Tip: Note that all the beds seem to be hard - really hard. It might take a bit of getting used to (but my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

The hotel is great:
- located close to the beach,
- well maintained and quite new
- not too large so that you feel cosy
- has a great service
- serves great and multichoice breakfast
- has a private beach, isolated from others by its natural location
- has a c.a. 15 meter sporty swimming pool in addition to leasure pools
- rooms are large and have a great Thai design

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed here prior to Christmas in one of the larger 2 Bedroom Family Rooms, which is an excellent choice for those with Children, Mosquitoes however are in abundance o make ure you have plenty o Tropical grade repellant.
The hotel has two pools, a larger one for everyone (that has a swim up bar) and a smaller one close to the beach for adults only, thus everyone is catered for.
The hotel has a private beach, however stingers can be a problem from December onwards as I understand.
The Verve29 restaurant has a lovely view over the beach and the food Is very good and reasonably priced.
The Fitness centre has 2 Treadmills, a bike and a multi-weight machine, however I suspect they are rarely used and the weight machine was nearly seized in place.
The breakfast buffet is standard hotel fare
The staff are very attentive and could not be faulted.
The Hotel itself is around 15 mins from Khao Lak centre via car.
All in all a good Family Hotel, however Khao Lak itself is a fairly quite town favoured by German Retirees, thus if you fall outside the demographic it may not be for you.

Room Tip: 2 Bedroom family rooms are a great choice and have separate balconies coming off each room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skelleftea, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for a week in December .And we would love to come back again! Our kids age 4 & 6 loved the pool. We walked down to the beach and for our oldest the sea was great but for the youngest too big waves. Service at the hotel was fantastic and very helpful. Clean rooms and new pool towels every day:) "The Verve" the restaurant at the hotel served good food and good entertainment. Happy staff and v good service:) Easy to take shuttle in to Khao Lak with kids and cheap! We would like to recommend to stop at the local restaurant just next to where the taxi/shuttle stop in Khao Lak- they served a superb noodle soup!!! For à family of four you pay half the price. We bought plain soup with just noodles for the kids and they ate it all! So we would happily recommend you to book your stay at KhaoLak Orchid Resort. We had the family room next to pool- best room ever.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We are in our mid fifties and just married, booked a package direct with the hotel staying 11/11/13 to 21/11/13 we couldn,t have chose better. our airport transfer was waiting for us even though it was past midnight when we arrived in a a/c vehicle, all emails were answered promptly ,the package included discount on drinks which were cheap anyway for this standard of hotel and 3 meals which were top notch.
Swimming pools were clean and lovely with an adult only pool also,you also had a private beach , never once did we have any trouble getting a sun bed by the pool or on the beach whatever the time of day. Our room was a classic room on the top floor and was spacious with a view of the pool and beach and good a/c.
The staff were very friendly especially Noor who works at breakfast and in the Verve bar ,the town which is 10mins away might look a little rough round the edges but you never once felt threatened whilst walking about I would also recommend the moped hire at the hotel for £6 a day just hop on and explore, we found a waterfall, a lovely temple and an elephant attraction all in 3 hrs great fun.
To sum up quiet very relaxing , take the package for excellent value , food great can,t wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We (2 adults and a 5 y.o) spent one week at the Orchid's and had a very enjoyable stay.

Booking: directly with the hotel. We took the package as advertised on their website. My emails were promptly answered. I asked if we could leave our luggage for a few days with the hotel while we were going to Khao Sok. Although we would not return to the hotel, they agreed. Great first impression.

Transfer from the airport: it was included in the package. The driver was waiting for us and promptly took us to an mini van with AC. It took 1h30 min from Phuket airport.
We are now being picked up from a different hotel (impressive).


Check in: smooth and efficient

Room: we had a ground floor Deluxe room in the Orchid wing, close to the adult pool. The room was large with a large double and large single bed. The mattress was rock hard hard and the pillow so high they could have passed for a mattress. Upon request, we got a top mattress and different pillows. Not the best beds we've slept in, but mattresses are often very firm in Thailand.
There was a TV with some foreign channels and a DVD player (only playing DVDs from the Asian zone though).

The bathroom was pretty, large, and had a tub and a separate shower.

The room was well stocked up with bathrobes, slippers, umbrellas, safe, mini bar (at reasonable prices). The odour was however quite awful: it smelt of damp in the room and of sewage in the bathroom. I asked for incense a few nights in a row which helped a bit but didn't solve the problem. Maybe the rooms higher up are better?

Food: we had several lunches and dinners at Verve 29. The food is very good, the atmosphere romantic and staff incredibly nice. Our daughter enjoyed the kid's menu which has 5-6 different options. It came with drawings, always a popular activity with girls that age...I can only recommend the fish and chips - probably the best fish I've ever tasted in a kid's menu. There is live music every night - a man with a guitar. Not intrusive. No mosquitoes thanks to the spirals being burnt next to the tables. Prices are very reasonable, on par with what you'll find in town. The meals included in the package were of good quality. The BBQ consisted of fish and sea food - a huge portion, with some of the biggest tiger prawns you will ever find!
We had cocktails only once (mojitos - which tasted of Lemonade. Our daughter could have had one without any risk of getting tipsy...)..
Breakfast was all right. There is quite a selection but not very exciting in my view (I am picky though) with the exception of the fresh fruit (always good) and the dishes of the day (banana samosa, fish, noodles etc). You can get nice omelettes though. Staff was as usual very friendly and helpful.

Swimming pool: quiet, enough deck chairs, perfect temperature. The kids pool is big and the three hippos/fountains are cute. The pool could use a bit of clean up, a lot of sand and little rocks by the bar.

Grounds: beautiful. Mango and Frangipani trees, lights in the trees. Very well maintained and clean.

Massages by the pool: fantastic! Skilled and friendly masseurs - don't miss out on an hour of perfect relaxation to the sound of waves.

Beach: clean, very quiet. Enough deck chairs. Nothing around (except for another hotel, the Blue Lagoon to the right) - ideal for long strolls.

Guests: mostly Germans when we arrived. A few Scandinavians, Brits, Aussies and Canadians when we left. People were pleasant and those with kids (a minority) talked in the pool or in the shuttle bus.

Location: 15 min from Khao Lak centre, a bit less from Bang Niang where there is a market 3 times a week. Lots of restaurants to choose from (we went to Hill Tribes twice, excellent, to Enzo, good, to Premrudi, very good etc). You'll mostly find souvenir shops, opticians, mini supermarkets, pharmacies and bars. The hotel runs a free shuttle twice a day. A taxi from town costs 300Bhat. You will have to get it from Bang Niang (by the 7/11) or Khao Lak Centre (by the KT optician).

Overall: great value for money. For a 3 star hotel it's excellent and I don't think you can get a better deal. It's perfect for those who want a quiet, peaceful and relaxing holiday. We will remember the lovely staff, especially at Verve's who took such good care of us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Address: 61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#20 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3+ Star resort is located on the long Khuk Khak Beach in Khao Lak, run by the local family from Takuapa. We are 10 mins by shuttle bus to Khao Lak Center. The shuttle bus run every hour in the evening (2 times a day free of charge, other time costs 50 Baht/Person/Way) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Orchid Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Orchid Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.