We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hmmmm 4 star??” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort to your Saves list
Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hmmmm 4 star??”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

ok location a bit far out,

found one or two staff a little rude

gardens were a little unkempt

more expensive sea view rooms had no sea view!

DO NOT put anything of any value into the laundry..

over all though its a above average stay...

7/10

  • Liked — quiet beach
  • Disliked — rude staff
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    92
    25
    11
    4
See reviews for
99
167
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

My family and I stayed for 3 nights in Khaolak Orchird. The stay was pleasant. The room was huge and comfortable, with a great view. All the rooms face the sea. The bathroom was big although the tiled bathroom floor was rather slippery and I almost fell.

Buffet breakfast is great with a wide variety. Food at the hotel is not fantastic and travellers are better off eating in the restaurants in Khao Lak itself. They also got orders wrong and they do not apologise.

The pool is great and children have lots of fun with the many pool toys around. I ahd a difficult time getting my daughter out of the pool.

Transport is provided to Khao Lak at about 50 bahts per person per trip.

All in all a pleasant stay marred by the poor service at the restaurant.

  • Liked — The scenery and the big room
  • Disliked — The food, restaurant service and slippery bathroom floor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We were so disappointed with our 7 night stay due to the abysmal lack of management by the cold, disinterested general manager who either made excuses for problems, or promised solutions but did not fix them, or caused the problems himself. We were promised a non-smoking room, yet neighbors on BOTH sides of us smoked on their patios every afternoon, making it impossible for us to sit on our patio to enjoy the sunset.

We had 3 floods in two days (two from the A/C unit in the ceiling & one from underneath the sink--which flooded the bathroom)... water poured out of ceiling & it took 3 calls to get anyone to understand there was a flood. Repairs took 2 hours, they left their tools & flashlight in the ceiling & had to come back again, the next day it flooded again, as did the bathroom--- we missed our excursion to a lake. Manager made no adjustment to the bill.

Bed was very low & like cement, we requested an extra mattress, the manager delivered a cot that was mildewed on both sides & covered with reddish/brown stairs. We were horrified.. the mattress should have been burned. Even though the hotel was not full, he insisted it was the only mattress he had.

The manager arranged an excursion (after the first person he recommended did not show up for 2 appointments), the guide arrived an hour late, did not give us any directions (we were driving), the boat broke down & afterwards, the guide demanded 700 BHT more than we'd agreed. When we shared this with the manager, he just walked away.

Upon arrival we reconfirmed our 9 PM nightly massages with the manager, only to accidentally find out that the new spa manager had changed the hours to close at 7PM (no one else was ever at the spa at night). When we arrived 5 min. late on our 2nd night, the British spa manager YELLED at us, told us she'd cut short our massages, when I left, she charged us for it anyway. The hotel manager promised to take it off the bill, but upon checkout it was still there & then he said it was 'up to the spa manager'... Spas at other hotels closed at 11 PM... Repeated emails to him, have still not corrected this.

The pool is ICE cold, so is the jacuzzi. Guests use towels to 'reserve' loungers ALL DAY, regardless of whether they use the loungers or not. When we suggested to the manager that this practice be stopped (as it is forbidden via signs at the wonderful Peninsula in Bangkok), he said that he could not 'tell guests what to do'. So, unless you are willing to go out very early in the morning, there are no loungers.

Lot's of guests smoke in the pool area & in the restaurant. The grounds are very nice but they're putting in a 56 room wing that will destroy the view of the coast for all of the rooms & cause overcrowding for the loungers & in the small restaurants... it will also destroy the ambiance, cover most of the lawn... All the empty lots in the area are for sale, in a year or two this area will be destroyed by overbuilding... including this resort, there is not enough room for a 56 room wing.

Most nights the seaside, dinner restaurant was empty as the nearly all the guests (Scandinavians & Germans) went into town to eat for 1/4 the price. The food is good. Breakfast is very good. Even the assistant manager did not bother to tell us (upon check in) that dinner was not served in the main dining area where breakfast is served... so we sat in an empty dining room for 30 min. until someone finally came to tell us there was a beach side restaurant.

Location is nice, but this hotel needs an EXPERIENCED general manager, not the son who knows nothing about hotel management or how to treat guests.

It took so long to get our bill upon checkout that we were nearly late for our flight... when we expressed dismay at this, the manager told us that it was our fault (we should have asked for it the night before)!

When we departed, he did not even have the courtesy to say goodbye or wish us safe travels. This is NOT a 3 star resort.
Management style is akin to a backpacker, low priced place.

  • Liked — Breakfast buffet, shower, gardens/grounds
  • Disliked — hard bed, very low toilet, poor service/management, 3 floods in room, uncaring manager
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savo
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2008

We had high expections based on some eallier reviers, and have to say that we were somwhat disapointed. Overall quality and cleanless of hotel is medicore. Place appears quite worn out. Staff is friendly but gives quite unprrofessional impression - sometimes we felt that staff consistent of students trying to earn some pocket money. Pool is ok but it is smaller than it appears in photos. The place is very quiet, beach is great but there is no water sports equipments provided by hotel so that all you can do really is have walk on the beach. We ate a few times in hotel's restorant and it was ok and prices were reasonable. The best part of the week we stayed in Khao Lak was diving/snorling trip to similan island organized by Rya Divers - highly recommendable !

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful resort. Our room was very nice with a gorgeous view over the pool and the lawn to the ocean. Virtually all of the rooms have an equally great view. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We loved the fact that the guests were from many different countries -- Sweden, Germany, Australia, Korea, England, etc. We were particulary impressed with how the manager and staff handled some bad luck one evening. They had planned all week for a major dinner and cabaret. The day of the event, they worked so hard building a stage by the pool, cleaning, polishing, cooking, setting tables beautifully, etc. Fifteen minutes before the event, the skies opened and it rained hard for over an hour. The staff regrouped, moving everything indoors and starting over. They salvaged the evening, and we all had a good time. The end of the evening -- with all of the guests sending huge glowing balloons out over the ocean -- was magical.

  • Liked — secluded, quiet, and beautiful
  • Disliked — somewhat far from town
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norrkoping
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2008

Finally, 6 months after making our reservation we arrived to Khao Lak with high expectations for the next 2 weeks. It took us some time to find our hotel for this stay but after reviewing the hotels website we decided to fall for the peaceful setting of Khao Lak Orchid.

Now I know what people mean when they say paradise. I didn't think places like this existed anymore in our global world. Imagine you standing on a marvelous beach and all you can see is sand, palm trees and the endless horizon of the Andaman sea. No tourists, no sunbeds and it's all quiet. The Orchid has it's own beach, miles from the closest hotel and it's more than fantastic, it's paradise by definition!

Even though it's located a bit outside Khao Lak centre, it's easy to go by hotel taxi, costs 50 baht, for a meal or some shopping. We also walked on the beach to the village of Bang Niang, only takes about 30 minutes, perfect way to enjoy the sunset over the Andaman.

I travel a lot in my profession and I must say this is the best hotel I ever stayed in. Friendly, proffessional and most of all helpful staff when ever you need help arranging a trip to Similan Islands (go with Fantastic similan travel, they are amazing) or just general questions.

Great, clean and beautifully decorated rooms with excellent cleaning. Fantastic restaurant and a great swim up poolbar.
The travel agent told us that the pool area should be the best in the region and they were certainly right. Again, amazing.

Starting this review I wrote that we had really high expectations for this trip and I can only state that those expectations were exceeded, well exceeded!!

I would like to thank the crew of the hotel that was a great part in making this trip a memory for life.

The only problem is, how can any place outdo this??

  • Liked — The overall high quality and the fantastic location.
  • Disliked — After two weeks, you have basically tried all items on the lunch menu.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2008

"The best stay we had ever in a foreign country"

- excellent customer service
- fascinating evening shows
- beautiful pool area
- delicious food & drinks
- friendly and helpfull staff
- competent and friendly management
- perfect beach & silent area
- reliable shuttle bus service to the little town
- diligent surrounding like in a big family
- clean, big and really nice rooms
- great view to the sea side including the nice palms

---> a perfect stay :)

--> Don't miss to book this hotel at your next trip to thailand!

  • Liked — the friendly and helpfull staff made the whole holiday in this nice place perfect!
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort

Address: 61 Moo 3, T. Khuk Khak, | A. Takuapa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 3+ Star resort is located on the long Khuk Khak Beach in Khao Lak, run by the local family from Takuapa. We are 10 mins by shuttle bus to Khao Lak Center. The shuttle bus run every hour in the evening (2 times a day free of charge, other time costs 50 Baht/Person/Way) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khaolak Orchid Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel Khaolak Orchid Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaolak Orchid Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.