We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff ... but needs lots of maintenance” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Suwan Palm Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Suwan Palm Resort to your Saves list
Suwan Palm Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30/27 Moo 7, Nang-Thong Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #48 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful staff ... but needs lots of maintenance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We experienced similar themes to others. While this looks to be one of the more budget resorts close to the beach it could be much better with significant planned maintenance (e.g. sliding doors not working, rotting wood) and smart investment. It is okay - the pool is good, the location will suit those wanting to be close to the beach, good eateries close by and the staff are very helpful. However, if your wanting a bit of luxury (which the word 'resort' can conjur) then this is probably not the place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    41
    29
    4
    8
See reviews for
17
42
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed at Suwan Palm based on the recommendation of a friend. She stayed there a couple of years ago. Since then, clearly the place has gone down hill.

It's still clean, but the condition of the rooms seems to have deteriorated tremendously. Our first room had major electrical problems with the power going out 22 times in 45 minutes while we waited for the electrician. This was not a power failure but a circuit problem in our room. In the end the staff offered us a room of substantially lower quality. When we said no, they offered us a room like the one we had originally received (and paid for). Why they tried to give us a lower quality room after we got a 'malfunctioning' room I have no idea. That was probably the most upsetting thing about the situation.

Other than that, the hotel is just overpriced. For 3000 baht a night I stayed in a 5 star hotel in Bangkok. I know it's high season, but they are overcharging for a less than average quality hotel.

Oh, and staff was almost non-existent. Hardly ever saw them other than the mae baans (who did keep rooms quite clean).

Room Tip: The sea view has now been obscured by trees that have grown quite tall. Though that's a good th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My husband and I have spent two weeks in the Suwan Palm Resort and had a pleasant stay.
We had to refused the first room as it was on the ground floor with malfunction balcony doors which is a welcoming for uninvited guest to steal your belongings.
after I have raised our complain we have been immediately moved to another room at the second floor.
The cleaning ladies made a great job and the whole stuff was extremely friendly and helpful at all time .
If you are looking for an upper class Hotel do not go there but if you need just a clean place to sleep and be nicely located thats the place to go

Room Tip: request a room at the upper floors for security reasons
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed mid - end of october so end of low season - it appears the hotel maybe still getting ready for high season as not many people there & for example we were told as we checked in breakfast at the pool - at 7am we come out as we had somewhere to go - could not find it or ANYONE to see where it was - upon further investigation & looking around found someone whom told it was by the beach !! No signs at the pool are to say it had moved....bit disorganised. Water pressure fluctuated between nothing & not that much & hot & cold....and the bathroom really needed a touch up - all the grouting was coming off & just made it look dirty. Breaky was very basic - of you didn't like a cooked breakfasy you got some fruit, a piece of toast & had to ask for the cereal & milk on our first day - fine at low season prices, but I beleive it doubles in high season & would not have seen it has good value for money if that was the case. We stayed in deluxe room which was one up from basic - nice balcony etc but as explained a little tired. WIfi also was very very very slow. Location is good. HOwever we did not realise till the 2nd day that the resturant we thought was next door & had sunlounges on beach front was actually part of our resort for us to use !!

Room Tip: No lifts so if you do not like stairs - request a ground floor room - were we on top level 3 which h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandefjord, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed 4 nights In february.
Right on beach.
A few free sun beds at beach.
A 10 minutes walk to main road with all restaurants and good shopping.
The hotel need an upgrade, but it is a nice place to stay .
Breakfast is served outside,at sandy ground,close to beach.
It was served a typical thai hotel breakfast.
I would recomend room In upper floor, but there is not so much sea view, because of to many trees .
Rooms are big,beds are very hard,bathroom old fashioned.
I would absolutely return to suwan palm , but look for half price deals.
Taxi to phuket airport about 1200 bath, to patong about 1700 bath.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

The Suwan Palm Resort is a small charming hotel on the beach. Situated in a quiet road but within easy walking distance to the town with lots of restaurants and shops. The hotel staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is excellent and there is wi-fi free of charge in every room.
The sandy beach is beautiful and not at all crowded, the sea is clean and the swimming is good.
There is also an excellent hotel swimming pool. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. There are only three floors but no lifts. We were on the second floor looking ov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

we stayed here for christmas.2012 rooms large.good location with mini mart outside front door and couple of restaurants. short walk up the road to loads of shops and restaurants. i stay in top hotels all over the world with my job and i say this hotel is fine. we booked on agodo, good price. and we got what we paid for. if you want top luxury no, but a good room with with everything you need. breakfast also fine served at the restaurant infront of the beach outdoors.
Our room was cleaned to a high standard everyday.,
with the lovely beaches in thailand who needs an all fancy hotel. we saw hotels like that all crammed up together on sunbeds at the hotel.no thanks!! get out and explore!!

Room Tip: higher rooms are good. sea view i dont think so as tall palm trees in the way higher than hotel so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suwan Palm Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suwan Palm Resort

Address: 30/27 Moo 7, Nang-Thong Beach, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Suwan Palm Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Suwan Palm Resort is now under new management since its recent reaquisition from a rental company back to the owner in November of 2014. The Latest renovations include new premium mattresses for ultimate comfort, new air-conditioning systems, new flat screen TV's, an improved water system and thorough safety inspections. Enjoy a swim in our pool, or a dip in the ocean, a walk on the beach or perhaps a massage on the beach. International buffet style breakfast and live entertainment by Canadian musicians at our beach restaurant and bar. Suwan Palm Resort is moving forward by grand leaps in terms of quality, service, comfort, dining, entertainment and most importantly, customer satisfaction. Give Suwan Palm the opportunity to provide you with comfort, relaxation and great memories you deserve at a very reasonable price. Suwan Palm Resort is striving to become the most sought after boutique resort in Khao Lak, Phang Nga Thailand by 2018. See you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Suwan Palm Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suwan Palm Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suwan Palm Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.