We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tale of 2 halfs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wanaburee Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Wanaburee Resort to your Saves list
Wanaburee Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   26/11 Moo 7 Petchasem Rd. | Khuk Khak Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Tale of 2 halfs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Second leg of a relaxing break having stayed a week at the rest detail in hua hin. Upon arrival we were greeted with drinks and cold towel. We were then told we had been upgraded. Service was very good and always with a smile.

Upon arrival in the caurasina suite we were instantly disappointed. The room was ok but rather dark and dingy, especially the bathroom which also smelt musty. The back of the villa had an outside area with a outside jacuzzi. This sounded nice but when we saw it it was not! It looked dirty and with closer inspection we noticed the water had tadpoles in it! Given my wife was 3 months pregnant I went straight to reception to complain and seriously considered phoning our kuoni rep to demand a transfer. After speaking to Sally (who was excellent and got poached from a rival hotel) she immediately got the jacuzzi drained scabbed and cleaned. Despite this we were not keen to use as the area was very closed and dark, the complete opposite of our private jacuzzi at the rest detail in hua hin. Khoa lak is full of wildlife and the frogs came out every evening to use the jacuzzi so it was completely impractical.

We stayed in the caurasina for 3 nights and they eventually got us in a rendezvous villa, number 5. What a difference! More open, nice outside shower and more natural light.

The food and service at the wanaburee was excellent, with the team friendly and attentive. Nick was a great host and the team were always smiling. Prices were very reasonable and included service charge and tax. Khoa lak is a short taxi (100bht) from the hotel or a 15 min walk. There is wifi zone at reception which was free, it would have been nice if they had it on the beachfront, I think they are planning to do this.

The 2 pools were disappointing but the beach was beautiful so this isn't a problem. Massages were good value at 300 baht and it was beautiful having a cocktail watching the sunset. There is also a nice bar/cafe next to the hotel on the beach which has a massage area again for just 300 baht.

Whilst there I would recommend the sea kayak trip exploring the caves near James bond island, great day out.

In summary, hotel accomo was about 3 and a half star, food 4 star and service 5 star. Enjoyed our stay there but the first 3 days in the caurasina suite did tarnish it slightly.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    15
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011 via mobile

On arrival at the hotel we were given towels and a welcome drink
We were shown to our room by Sally who also gave us a tour of the resort.
We stayed at the manor room which included a balcony main bed room and a bath room area , this area only had a shower. The room was clean and tidy.
The resort is set in the rain forest and the resort reflect this with trees,plants bushes and wild live all around you. 
We were given  a free evening meal the first night as part of the deal with Kuoni  it was just great service with a smile and good thai food.
The town of khoa lak is some 15 min walk it nothing like the main resorts like Phuket  just a sleepy village with shops 7/11 ,yes the tailors pain! restaurants massage palors.
On that note the hotel massages are only 300 Bart the same as the town and are okay.
We upgraded our room from a manor to the rendezvous room which was on the beach at a cost of £400 (10days).
The main benefit was that you  had a toilet you could use while on the beach  as there are no toilets at the beach or at the beach restaurant.
If you do not mind a walk do not upgrade,I would not if I had the choice again.
The bed you had to climb up a wooden platform which would not suit an older couple with walking problems.

The last day . We asked if we could hold the room for an extra 3 hours as we were informed that nobody had booked the room.The management decided that they would allow us to stay in in the room at a cost of 1000bart per hour this is how they treat you after staying with them for 17days ,yes it is a business , but they! What about customer relations!!!!!!!

In conclusion the staff where happy helpful and always had a smile for their customers. Having said that we did not see one of the senior managers of this small complex of 38 rooms in our stay of 17nights.
Improvements should include toilets at the beach area, tables with the sun lounges at the beach and to add a small touch bring around cold water to the sun beds during the day.

The send off from the team was good and a number of them saw us the taxi.
Now the long journey home

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

We have just had 19 days of pure relaxation, the staff could not have been more helpful they would go that extra mile to make our holiday one to remember. We stayed in the beach front Rendevous villas very spacious, the fridge was empty so you have the choice to stock yourself or have the hotel stock it.
The hotel food was of a very good quality, reasonably priced, and many restaurants within walking distance in particular Sand and Sea 2

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

what a fantstic setting, right on the beach, to sit their with a glass f someing cold, whilst the sun goes down, is something that will live with me for a long time.
Stayed in a estate roon, which was very good, clean and tidy with loads of room for the single travelller.
Beach resturant very goos thou dearer then in town, however service was very good,
Hotel is very good, about 15 minite walk ionto town, nice walk to bould up that apetite for some great food that was availible in the restuants in towm, too meny to mention I want to a diferant one eack night, never had a bad meal.
Without doubt I would stay here again. small compact and just right for that relaxing getaway.

Room Tip: Estate Rooms good, however if I was with my wife, one of the bungerlows on the beach would be great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2011

Nice, small (only 34 units) and very charming resort in the Khaolak area, north of Phuket. Perfectly clean, very comfortable and well maintained bungalows. Can recommend the beach villas as well. Warm-hearted and motivated staff. Their English may not always be perfect, but who cares, they do an excellent job. Very nice beach, the resort is located some 10 minutes' walk from the village. Excellent beach restaurant within the resort, but also many nice places nearby.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2008

This was our second visit to the Khao Lak Sunset Beach and previously stayed at the Paradise resort immediately next door to the Wanaburee. Wanaburee had not been built at that time and this was pre-tsunami.

First impressions were that the resort was very similar to the Paradise with the reception area at road level and the actual villa's down at beach level. The stairway and path to the beach level was interupted by the spa and restaurant on an intermediatte level. We would suggest that all the resorts at this end of the beach are not suitable for the elderly or infirm as it is quite a lot of stairs to get from the reception area to the beach level.

Our Villa was one of the 6 Beach Front units and was lovely with a large veranda area outside where we could sit with a drink and watch the sunset. Inside was very clean, comfortable and spacious. King-size bed, plenty storage, tea/coffee making facilities, mini-bar, robes and slippers, umberellas (yes it can certainly rain), TV with some Astro Channels and a couple of the Thai style cushion beds. The main bed is on a raised wooden platform and although a nice ethnic touch was quite a step up and down especially in the dark if a call of nature was required. The bathroom was nice with an outside rain shower, a huge inside bath (totally impractable as there was never enough hot water to fill it) and some very nice toiletries.

The gardens at the resort were very well kept and there are 2 swimming pools although while we were there we never saw anyone using the pool at the rear of the resort. All the action was at the beach front where a new poolside bar opened the day we arrived. Tables and chairs were arranged round the pool and it was nice to sit for a snack and drink watching what was happening on the beach. Not that much ever happened as it was very quiet while we were there. The beach itself is very clean with lovely soft sand and a gently sloping water. The resort is near to the south end of the beach but you can walk for miles the opposite way passing all the other resorts along the front. At the front of the beach at the Wanaburee there is a pavillion where you can get a massage at very reasonable prices (THB300 for one hour) and I can certainly recommend the oil massage.

Breakfast was included in our stay and it was very enjoyable. Lots of choices of both local and western food served buffet style. We ate dinner there on our first night and again it was lovely however the food in the village is equally as good and a good bit cheaper.

For a nice quiet location I would recommend the resort however if we decide to return to Khao Lak for a third time we would choose a resort a little bit closer to the main village. Wanaburee to the village is a downhill walk of about 20 minutes but the journey back is uphill and quite a climb. Taxis are cheap and plentifull however we would prefer not to have the walk if going back. The village is nice with lots of shops and the patrons do not hassle you as much as in Phuket. It is lovely to be able to look around the shops and stalls uninterupted.

  • Liked — The peacefull location and sunsets
  • Disliked — The walk to and from the village
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2007

We (couple, 47/56, german) had an 11 days stay in January 07 at the Wanaburee Resort, Khao Lak.

The resort reopened in December 06 and was almost completed when we arrived. Some finishing work only was in progress with the walkways and the interior of some villas/rooms, which was overall not disturbing.
Positive: the buildings/villas are spreaded on the premises and are not so close packed as usual in that area. The design is very nice, close to elegant.
Negative: the well designed resort has been built up with an obviously low budget: cheap materials worked up really sloppy.
You can hear a little bit of traffic noise from the road just behind the resort but it didn't affect us. Exception: when the watertrucks are roaring up the hill in the early morning hours you have a nice wake up call.
Be careful if you have to use stairs, especially in the dark. There are unsafe stairways everywhere. E.g. the stairs up to our villa where every stairstep was different from each other: we discussed many times the question "Who designed this stair? Was it Dali or Picasso?"

We stayed in a beachfront villa (Rendezvous, No.1). There is the resort's beachfront swimming pool only between the villa and the sea. Which was nice for us as there were a few guests only in the resort and we had the feeling of our private pool. This will change for sure when the number of guests increase and will change dramatically when the first families with small children will check in. No.1 would not be longer recommendable, better: 3, 4, 5. They are really nice and just a step from the beach.
The villa's terrace and room is indeed spacious, the outdoor shower is ok but the indoor washbasin (with the poor lightened mirror) is really small and the storage corner for clothes is inacceptable small (these negatives do not apply for the 2 even larger (and more expensive) Casuarina Villas).

The staff was always very friendly and tried to give their very best any time – which was not so much at the end. The staff was definitifely still in training mode: very friendly, very shy, no selfconfidence, with mostly poor english, some with no english. But we think they are aware and working on this.

We felt the room rates too expensive for the start up situation. But the management was not flexible. (We bought 5 nights from Germany via travel agent and extended our stay for another 6 nights direct with the resort. The room rate for the extension had to be accepted with a plus of 13% !)

Summary: small and nice resort with some improvements necessary. Recommendable for couples and honeymooners. At the moment not so recommendable for families with small children.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wanaburee Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wanaburee Resort

Address: 26/11 Moo 7 Petchasem Rd. | Khuk Khak Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wanaburee Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Wanaburee Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wanaburee Hotel Khao Lak

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wanaburee Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.