We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money and ideal retreat for older couples and families with children” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7/10 Moo 2, Ramkean, Thai Muang | Thai Muang, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Volgograd, Russia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
327 helpful votes 327 helpful votes
“Value for money and ideal retreat for older couples and families with children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa is located in Khao Lak on the private beach of Khao Lak Phang-nga facing the Andaman Sea. The resort is built in a Thai style and offers rooms in four-storey houses (without lifts) and villas. It is around 50-60 minutes away from Phuket Int. Airport and 10 min taxi ride from the Khao Lak town centre. I made my booking for “Superior Garden View Room” through Agoda.com website (total USD155.07; upgraded to “Grand Family Room” in the hotel) and stayed there (Sun 16 Oct, 2011 – Wed 19 Oct, 2011) with my family for 3 nights during my business trip on Congress being held in same Resort. Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort is ideal retreat for older couples and families with children allowing for a tranquil vacation. Our room has been kept clean and staff has all been very friendly and considerate towards clients. The drawback was that we were accommodated on the 4th floor and it was quite difficult to climb with our 1.8-year-old baby on the top-floor room without lift facilities. Another problem was the electricity. It happened several times, once in the afternoon and lasted a few hours and again at the evening time. During the evening time generators were switched up for maintaining electricity in the hotel and it was too noisy in our room!
There are two swimming pools: one on the beach and the second with rotational tube water slide near the lagoon (“family lagoon pool”). There is also small sandy playground with slide and children's outdoor toys for small babies. My baby really loved to play there and it was quite difficult to pull her away afterwards. Baby sitting services for younger children can be also arranged. They also have small football ground for children and table tennis facilities.
The beach was not really suitable for bathing because of off-season that time.
There are two restaurants: “Beach Club Ocean Grill & Bar” on the beach front and “Lagoon Restaurant & Bar” serving Western-style and Asian breakfast buffet. Our breakfast was included in the booking but need to say without much variety. However lunch that was served in “Lagoon Restaurant” on behalf of organizing committee of Congress was really excellent. Especially I would like to mention amazing dinner on Monday (17 Oct, 2011) with Thai style seafood cuisine (crabs, shrimp, squid, and mussels) served on the beach area during sunset time and Thai cultural show organized by organizing committee of Congress.
Taxi from Phuket Int. Airport to Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa charges around 1600 Thai Baht and more; from Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa to Phuket Int. Airport is 1000 Thai Baht. Book transport in advance in “Khaolak Travel & Tours Center” that is just 2 min walking distance from hotel. Hotel transfer service is more expensive, although they have free shuttle-bus to Khao Lak town centre. We also used service of “Khaolak Travel & Tours Center” for our tour to Phang-Nga Bay (Sea kayaking in the limestone caves (“Hongs”), Panyi Island with Muslim floating fishing village, James Bond (Ko Tapu) Island, Wat Tham Suwan Khuha cave with reclining Buddha). They provide discount for group tour.

Room Tip: If you travel with small children, ask a room on a ground floor as four-storey houses are without li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    62
    30
    16
    12
See reviews for
41
49
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at The Emerald for the second time in two years in May, 2011. I'd recommend emailing the resort to get accommodation quotes. The staff are always quick to reply and you can organise airport transfers and pay online. The prices from the manager were better than any I could find on the internet and unlike other resorts, they will offer a genuine quote and a good rate. We stayed at a neighbouring resort in 2009, and The Emerald beat their prices hands down.

We stayed in Villa 16, the same room we had in 2010, which has a private pool, overlooks the beach and is a short walk to the beach bar and grill. We had a lounge room and outdoor shower, but spent most of the time in the pool, at the beach, at the bar or exploring the surrounding area.

The beach bar and grill has a huge menu with food from all over the world, though I'd stick to Thai for taste and value for money. Happy hour is 4pm-6pm and you'll be very happy after a stunning sunset and a few free-pour cocktails. The buffet breakfast is as good as any around the world and the international buffet dinner is designed with families in mind. Again, I'd stick to the beach bar and grill for dinner. The BBQ seafood platter is an experience in itself.

The staff are great fun and always happy to have a chat. You'll make friends in no time – hello to Nui! Yes, there is the occasional problem with the language barrier, but this has absolutely nothing to do with the staff being rude or incompetent. As one of the cheeky locals said to me, "you don't have very good English!" These things happen, and no one is at fault.

There’s heaps of little bars and restaurants within walking distance of The Emerald. Try Mr Tiger’s Tiger Bar – literally 10m from reception – and Mr Paub’s Elephant Bar. You’ll also find everything from Thai food to pasta. The more you walk the cheaper it gets, so check out some of the places along the main highway. Don’t be put off by what you see from the outside, these humble kitchens turn out the best Thai food you’ll ever have.

The Emerald has an ATM and Turtle Mart next to it and there’s a money exchange up the road. There’s the usual array of shirt, suit and massage salespeople trying to get a bit of business, but they’re all good natured and enjoy a joke. There’s probably five tailors in the street, compared to 500 in Phuket. Khao Lak is not your stereotypical Thai holiday. You won’t get The Hangover experience here, but that’s not to say you won’t wake up sore and sorry. Thai beer packs a punch and at AUS$1 each it’s kinda hard to say no.

You can rent a car and drive to the tsunami memorial, elephant treks, White Sand Beach, golf courses, waterfalls and national parks. Driving can be a little daunting at first, but after 20 minutes you’ll have the local road rules – or lack of – sorted and be on your way. Tours can take you to James Bond Island, Krabi and beyond. The Emerald has a free daily shuttle bus to the city centre, where you’ll find produce markets, restaurants, bars, convenience stores and souvenir shops.

All in all, The Emerald was the perfect place for a value-for-money holiday. Travelling in low season means even better rates and fewer guests – there were about 50 people in the entire resort when we stayed in 2011 – but low season coincides with wet season, so you’re rolling the dice on the weather. It's well worth it though.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife, two year old son and I stayed here for two nights earlier this month. We had a number of issues with the place and certainly wouldn't recommend staying here.

The first issue was that our key card stopped working a few times a day and we had to walk back to reception (in a different building) each time to get a new one reissued. The one time we phoned from the poolside phone and asked somebody to drop a replacement down, they said they would do so and then didn't bother turning up. Judging from previous reviews, this is an ongoing issue.

The other, and far more serious, issue is that upon check-out we were asked to wait while housekeeping checked our room. We were then accused by the reception staff of having stolen a number of items from the room, namely an umbrella, a torch and a glass. We assured them that these items were not in our room upon arrival, but they insisted that we had stolen them and were going to have to pay for them. The staff were rude and confrontational. After 10 minutes of arguing with them, our two year old son started getting upset, so we just had to walk away. The calm manner in which the staff accused us of stealing suggests that this isn't the first time they've done this to guests. Perhaps they try this trick every so often to try to wrangle a few extra Baht from guests, so be warned.

This was by far the worst and most offensive we've had in three months travelling through Malaysia and Thailand. Avoid this place.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaolakemerald, Manager at Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2011
Dear Lida and Phil,

Thank you for your comment and we are deeply sorry that you had to go through a bad experience at the Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort, the problem with the key card was one of our serious issue and we had solved the problem we sincerely apologized that you and few other guests was the last who experience this problem, the key card system is now working in top service.

Please do understand that we have a procedure of checking out, the procedure is to protect our guests and also to protect us we have to ask every room to wait upon checking out for our roommate to check the item in the room, the umbrella can be misplace at all time because the guest can forget it in different places such as restaurants, bars, lobby or sometime by the local restaurants, the first thing we do is to informed our guests of the missing item so they may have an idea of where they had left the item in the first place we do not accused our guest of having stolen these item, the receptionist when they run in to theses problem they are not to take any action by themselves but to informed their supervisor or manager, in your case the manager came and politely informed you that this problem may be misplace the item can be misplace as always we did not charge you or any of our guests in the past, to my understanding you did not take this situation as they should be and accused us of being rude and wanting to make a few penny from the guests I assure you that none of it are true we have hardly make any money upon checking out guests, and we never accused any guests of stolen any item from our resort before.

I am truly sorry to hear about your case and after the investigation I found that you was not ask to paid for anything apart from your own payment of your own account and after we check the CCTV we see that you won’t even talk to the manager but only to shout at him, please sir, do not accused us of being something we are not we are here to accommodate not to take advantage of other people on holidays, we wish you all the best when you are travelling and that you will find your journey home soonest.

Thank you and best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011 via mobile

We were a little nervous after reading bad reviews on trip advisor, but were pleasantly surprised. Set on a lovely beach, the resort pools are great for children, the grounds are well maintained and staff were helpful. The breakfast was good and for $50 per night per room we were very happy with our choice to stay. We were upgraded on arrival to family rooms which overlooked the pool. There is a good choice of restaurants outside the resort and there is a free shuttle bus into Khao Lak central each day, just make sure you book a place early.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaolakemerald, Manager at Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2011
Dear Beck and Jules,

First of all thank you for choosing Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort as your holiday destination.

We are more than thrilled to see your comment this morning as we have been targeting our improvement and now the comments are looking much better and for the price of our room night it is true that we provide mostly everything that you would get in any of the 5 star hotels.

Our location is very beautiful especially the beach and so true that the local restaurants is by many choice to choose from. But we are not there yet our target is still a long journey to achieved we still have room for improvement.

Once again thank you for your comments on the trip advisor your comment has lighten up our objective service improvement and your satisfaction are most appreciated.

Hopefully we can be in your service again if you are planning to return to Khoalak again.

Every precious time you spend with us is so much appreciated.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Had a two week stay at the Emerald over Songkran. Having read mixed reviews I was a little pessamistic however the price we paid vs the stay did not warrant it at all.

The Hotel is located on a sandy stretch of beach with a number of restaurants and bars in the near vicinity. This is a laid back resort area and attracts older couples and families. Not suited to those looking for nightlife. Check in was smooth and we were escorted to our rooms. These were lagoon view and overlooked beautiful gardens. The room was large, clean and well appointed with a nice balcony, ideal for evening drinks. It had a fridge which was unstocked but the hotel has a minimart attached so no problems. Rooms were well cleaned and aircon very efficent. Only downside for me was the bed was too firm.

The hotel has two restaurants,one near the beach and the second where breakfast is served up near the lobby. Breakfast was good with a variety of fruits, cold cuts and an omelet station however did lack Thai food as the hotel mainly caters for German and Scandinavian guests. Food at the beach restaurant from the A La Carte menu was good and tasty. There was a happy hour from 4-6 with drinks at a 50% discount.

The hotel has two pools. One on the beach and the second near the lagoon with slide. The later was quieter but did not benefit from the sea breeze which was welcomed mid day.

Staff in the hotel were very friendly and we had no issues in communication. The surrounding area has a number of restaurants and bars inc Italian, Seafood, Indian and Western. There were a few bars where one could drink to around 01:00.

All in all I would certainly return to the hotel and I would like to say the Khun A, who speaks excellent English was always pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaolakemerald, Manager at Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 7, 2011
Dear Somchai

We hope the weather in the UK are now warm and sunny, thank you for your kind comment to our resort, your comment will help us monitor our improvement, you had been so kind to visit us this year and with your mentions to return, it is very much appreciated.

Your comment on the food and beverage has been forward to the food and beverage manager, and also has been posted up on to the staff board as your compliment to the staff and our resort.

We wish you and your family all the best and that you will enjoy British Summer as you were here with us of course there won’t be any Elephant Tag of War over there.
Your memories will stay with us as our memories is with you.

Best Regards
The Management Team of
Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

Our family usually prefer smaller boutique hotels especially in Thailand where luxury accomodation is very accessible. However I was extremely satisfied with our stay at the Emerald.
The hotel is about 1 hour away from Phuket airport and five minutes taxi-drive from Khao Lak centre. It lies on a very quiet beach : no one to ever bother you at any time. Few people in the water even though the hotel was busy. The sea was also nice for kids because it goes down slowly.
The number one thing you should consider about this hotel is the great pool. So great for the kids that we barely went to the sea! It has deeper areas and shallow areas to play with kids or even babys. The bungalow (villa 3) was in very good standing and of large size, a terrace facing the Andaman sea with the feeling of your private beach and a beautiful hot tub and garden shower. The buildings were relatively new and well maintained. In fact the only busy area was the beachfront with most chairs busy at some point, but it did not bother us as we preferred to be in or around the pool.

One thing to criticize, as with many "international" hotels in Thailand, is that the restaurants are of very bad value (this time also the the service). Food was way below the average (except a very good breakfast buffet) and you pay 4-5 times local prices. But the good thing is that after the first day we found that the local restaurants, just 50 m from hotel entrance were just what we needed : great local flavor, cheap, family cooking and surprisingly an above average quality Indian restaurant. Same thing with the massages/spa :Here again, walk 10m to the opposite of the hotel entrance and you get local service for a fraction of the price.

Our daughter spent almost the entire week in the pool with the perfect sized water slide and enjoyed. A day trip to Similan Islands and a lovely (top quality) dinner at the J.W. Marriot teppanaki restaurant were the icing on the cake for yet another extremely pleasant holiday in Thailand.

We spent a very relaxing week there and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for the same, especially families with parents or children to take along. I would not recommend it to the younger crowd looking for bar or night action (there did not seem to be much around) . Overall a great resort if you plan to relax!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaolakemerald, Manager at Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 6, 2011
Thank you for your kind words, We are pleased that you found Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort a very relaxing resort for your holiday this time round. It is true that we are located in a wonderful location with beautiful sunset beach, however you had highlighted on few comments that indeed we need to improved and your comments has helped us in many ways, we will do our best to gain more satisfaction from our guests, after all you are our top priority.

Overall thank you once again for your precious time.
Best Regards
Khaolak Emerald Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2011

Travelled in early January with with family from Denmark, me and my wife are both from the UK.
Firstly the Hotel was dominated by people from Sweden and Finland and we did not meet anyone in the whole area from the UK in the two weeks we were there. Despite having the advantage of speaking English it did not work out that way as the standard of English was so bad the Scandinavians faired better as they spoke broken English!!
The buffet food was okay both for breakfast and evening meal but have to say we have had much better. The hotel exploits the drink prices in the restuarant and it is the one thing they are sharp at taking your orders for drinks as they are making money from it.
To be honest we gave up eating in the hotel as restuarants nearby were so cheap including the drinks. NOTE do not eat evening meals at the beach restaurant overpriced and poor service far better locally.
Location and beach are nice and plenty of massages available on the beachfront. We went to White Sand beach for a day well worth the trip and more like we imagined Thailand would be. Also went fishing for the day arranged by Joe at Joe's seafood and he cooked the fish for free in the evening and played golf at the Royal Navy Golf Course which was ok but better courses are in Phuket.
Hotel charges for wireless internet!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khaolakemerald, Manager at Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2011
Dear Norman,

Thank you for choosing Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort and Spa for your holiday destination between the period in Jan 2011 we hope that your holiday with us has been to your satisfactions and with the good memory of KhaoLak Thailand.

Your comments on the trip advisor has lighten up our objective service improvement as your advised and your satisfaction are most appreciated.
One of our objective is to gain more of the guests satisfaction and Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort and Spa has improved the guest service section by handling the issue and cooperating with our guest needs.

Overall thank you once again for your precious time and for choosing Khaolak Emerald Beach Resort as your holiday destination.
For any further details and information please do not hesitate to contact me.

Every precious time you spend with us is so much appreciated.
Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa

Address: 7/10 Moo 2, Ramkean, Thai Muang | Thai Muang, Khao Lak 82210, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 253
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Khao Lak Emerald Beach Hotel Khao Lak
Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort And Spa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khao Lak Emerald Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.