We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel on a gorgeous beach.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Flora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Flora Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel on a gorgeous beach.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We stayed at La Flora for 12 nights in April. We arrived in the evening after 2 six hour flights. As soon as we arrived I knew I had made the right decision in choosing La Flora. We were welcomed with drinks and cold towels and of course a beautiful Thai smile. The check in was quick and we were taken to our garden view room. The room was huge. The double bed was big enough for 4! There was also a futon which was perfect for our 2 kids, an 8 year old and a 6 year old. The breakfasts were lovely with a huge selection which changed daily. There was a good choice of both Asian and Western dishes. You could choose to eat breakfast outside in the sun of inside in the shade. Both had fantastic views of the beautiful beach. At lunchtime we usually walked along the beach to eat in a local beach hut restaurants. Our favourite was My Friend. The food was consistently excellent and cheap. La Flora location is superb. It is situated right on the beach which is beautiful, clean and quiet with the rainforest behind you. There are 2 pools. One infinity pool and also a pool for the pool access rooms. We used both, but preferred the infinity pool as it was full of atmosphere and looked directly to the sea. The staff a La Flora were brilliant! While we were there it was the Thai New Year (Songkran). First the monks came to perform a ceremony which was beautiful and serene. The rest of the day was filled with waterfights, Thai boxing over the pool, skipping and much much more. We had so much fun! The hotel is within walking distance to bars, restaurants and massage parlours. We found all the restaurants near the hotel to be very touristy and preferred to eat at the night market or in Khao Lak centre where there were food stalls. This was my 4th visit to Thailand and on this visit we noticed there was definitely a 'tourist price' and a ' local price' which we hadn't seen before, which was sad to see. Don't pay the first price you are quoted. The hotel is only an hour from Khao Sok, which is a must see. We went canoeing, elephant trekking, stayed overnight in a lodge and went trekking in the National Park and saw lots of monkeys and other wildlife. We booked all our tours with Mr Key who works next to Pinocchio's with his wife Lady Pancake. He was the nicest man you could meet and his trips were professional, fun and very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend this hotel. The worse thing about the hotel was leaving and going home. X

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear SamanthaS, Uk, What a wonderful review! Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction with our services. I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our Laflora members. It is wonderful to learn that Laflora was an integral part in your enjoyment of 4th visit to Thailand. I wish that it will not take too long until we can welcome you back to the land of smiles. Best regards, Be At Laflora Be at Home, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and Laflora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    400
    205
    53
    19
    3
See reviews for
121
431
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
torbay
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014

We stayed here 6/4/14 for 12 nights. This is a lovely hotel, small so not too far to get back to your room. The staff are very friendly, we met Sob and Pang who work in the beach bar on the first night and they were really helpful. The place is really clean has a lovely beach and is in a perfect position. The restaurant was the highlight, amazing food! The only thing where the mosquitoes around the tables in the evening. Most restaurants in the area had citronella burning, it definitely needs something to combat them. Also the restaurant area was very dark in the evening and could do with some extra lighting fairy lights around on the decking as it was very dark and uninviting. But don't let this put you off eating in there as the food was out of this world. Overall if you are thinking of booking it do it!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
Dear Signature, TorbayBeckybunny , thank you for your review and feedback during your visit. It is nice to hear that you were enjoyed our resort and services. Thanks for your kind suggestion of the restaurant light. I will share with the team for our improvement. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Best Regards, Be at Laflora Be at Home. Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and Laflora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was our second visit to La Flora and it really felt like coming home. We don't usually return to the same place twice but we were so glad we did as it was just as relaxing and lovely as last year. Although the room we had requested wasn't available we were given an equivalent room that was just as good and the receptionist went to great lengths to ensure we were happy with it. As was the case last year, we found our first floor deluxe room very comfortable.
During our stay it was my husband's birthday. I had informed the hotel in advance and on the day he was surprised at breakfast with a cake, a bouquet, a card with a personal handwritten message, and the staff singing happy birthday led by Tiger who also took loads of photos! We really appreciated the effort and personal touch of the staff who seemed to really enjoy marking the occasion. Thank you to you all!
As return guests we were given a complimentary 60 min Thai massage each in the hotel spa. It was fantastic and we enjoyed it so much that we booked another one each during our stay. I actually think the spa service and experience has improved since last year.
As mentioned in my review last year, the food at the hotel is excellent at all times and although more expensive than local restaurants it is still good value. This year we attended the Thai Night gala dinner which was excellent - far more food than we could eat and lots of different things to try as well as various Thai dancing. My only suggestion would be some explanation for guests of what the different dances symbolise / mean (maybe a short print out on the table?).
We also ate frequently at beach restaurants, our favourite still being Tonson for excellent food although surprisingly surly service this year. Our favourite town (Bang Niang) restaurant is Rabeang just up the road from the hotel - fantastic Royal Thai food presentation and great seafood - highly recommended.
The hotel mini market is a great new addition with very reasonable prices although actual opening times do not seem to follow the official times listed on the shop door - maybe more shop staff are needed to cover staff breaks?
Many of the previous reviews refer to problems with sunbeds. We were there for 10 days at the end of March and never had a problem. I think they might seem closer together on the grassy area as there are none at all on the beach itself this year. That is a bit of a shame as we prefer the sand to the grass but I think it might be because the hotel is not allowed to use the beach for sunbeds? We usually got a pair of front row sunbeds at about 9-9:30am and if not there was plenty of space in the second or third rows. We usually moved to the pool area late afternoon and sunbeds were always available there by this time.
Although the service generally is very good a few staff really stood out. Special thanks to Ricky (trainee in restaurant) for his wonderful happy smiling approach to his job, to Sob in the bar for being so friendly and remembering our favourite cocktails (some of the other bar staff were not as friendly or efficient and this could be improved), and to King who was a wonderful tour guide on the elephant trekking and bathing trip - we had a fantastic time on this personal tour and King looked after us so well, gave us loads of information and even took us 'backstage' at the hotel to show us what the gardeners were growing for the hotel kitchen!
This year we booked a return airport transfer with the hotel which is well worth it for a comfortable safe journey with excellent door to door service. The breakfast bags were great too.
Overall we had another lovely relaxing holiday and did not want to leave - we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Dear Signature, UK York, UK , thank you both ever so much for writing such a wonderfully detailed review of your vacation returning at La Flora. It’s so pleased to read so many positive comments and that you enjoyed our room and resort facilities. We have shared your review with our team and have raised the consistence comments you mentioned to which we will strive to eradicate in our continual efforts to improve on all aspects of our guest’s stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back for third returning in the very near future. “Be at La Flora Be At home”. Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and our La Flora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woking, surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights at end of March 2014.
The hotel location was perfect; right on the beach and close enough to walk into the main town area.
The hotel was fairly quiet perhaps due to high season drawing to an end; Unlike other reviews we did not have a problem with the sun beds though we did see a fair few that were reserved when we came down for breakfast so I guess could be an issue if the hotel was busy.
The staff on the whole were very friendly and helpful.
We tended to go into the town area in the evening for food and along the beach for lunch. The hotel restaurant has a good selection of food at a premium price to the surrounding area but not that expensive.
The hotel room was fairly clean though some cutlery that had been placed in the room was fairly dirty and took a few days to be replaced and probably was done after mentioning to the maid.
A quirkiness of the hotel room we had was you could slide open a large window between the bathroom and bedroom. The window itself was frosted so during the middle of the night if you visited the bathroom, the bedroom would be fully lit up when you turned the bathroom light on. Perhaps a blind would help.
The bang niang area was very quiet and pretty much deserted in the day; The market is worth visiting and so is the tsunami museum.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Dear Signature C1999865, Surrey, Thank you very much for taking time sharing your review feedback during visit us. We are delighted to hear that you were able to enjoy your overall stay. We constantly strive to improve ourselves and are very grateful for any suggestions. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of my team. We are thrilled that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future and enabling us the chance to take care of you once again. Be at Laflora Be at Home. Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed here twice for a few nights in March 2014 - the first time in a standard garden room and the second time we were upgraded to a pool access room which was really good value for the normal supplement.
The swimming pool has a few sunbeds, and there are some right in front of the beach but the rest are crowded onto the grassed area so we preferred to stay by our room on our 2nd visit.

The food was very good - breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice and we also had one dinner which was very nice. The bonus for this hotel is that there are plenty of restaurants and bars just a short walk along the beach. We tried several and they were all very good so I don't think it really matters which one you try.

Service was also very good and we couldn't fault it. We had to unexpectedly book an additional night and they were very helpful and managed to keep us in our existing room with a bit of juggling around.

The only thing missing is the complimentary water and snacks that many hotels in Thailand offer!

If we return to Khao Lak (very likely!) we will probably stay here again in a pool access room.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are very good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Signature, Katie HSurrey, Surrey, Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write and express your experiences with our services and resort facilities. Nice to hear that you enjoyed our stay in the pool access room and our restaurant. I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our staff of La Flora. I wish that it will not take tool long until we can welcome you back to the land of smiles. Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We had chosen to stay at the La Flora resort as we were looking for a smallish boutique hotel compared to the big resorts we normally stay in and on the whole we were not dissapointed.

Hotel Room
We had booked the pool access rooms, which were really lovely - highly reccomended. The pool was generally really quiet and very relaxing with great jet / jacuzzi by every room. The only down side of the pool was that the pool bar was a bit lifeless and would have been so much nicer if they played some music.

Main Pool
This was amazing! We never had a problem getting a sunbed even after strolling out at 10.30am after breakfast. Great double sunbeds and an amazing infinity pool. Only thing lacking was bar service around the pool.

Hotel
The hotel was great and very well located. It was a 5 min walk to the main strip of bars and restaurants and centrally located on the beach with easy access to many beach restaurants and beach massages (300 bht for 1 hour).
The waiters, housekeeping and bar staff were lovely and very polite and would always stop to say hello when passing you.
The Reception staff varied. Some days they were very helpful, other days not so much. I was quite taken aback when I was charged for them to call and make reservations for me at a restaurant. In all hotels I have stayed in it has been perfectly normal for the hotel to arrange reservations for you. Check in was also a faff, it took at least 30 / 40 mins and about 4 different people (with no explanantion as to why we were being passed from person to person) before we were finally checked in.
There is a mini mart on site which is really handy and lovey spa.
All areas of the hotel were kept immaculatley clean at all times.

Food & Drinks
The food at the hotel was very good and very reasonably priced - lunch for 2 would normally cost £10 and dinner approx £15. Prices are very similar to restaurants outside the hotel, but costs a little more due to service and tax added to the bill. The cocktails were fab and happy hour 3 times a day means that you more or less always get 2 for the price of 1.

Summary
A great hotel, perfect location, lovely pool area, fab food and amazing spa. Would reccomend this. Only downside was, as others have mentioned, some aspects of the hotel need to be updated - bathrooms, bedding and towels - however nothing negative enough to not reccomend this hotel to others!

Room Tip: Pool access rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Signature, n33shp, London, Thank you for choosing La Flora Resort and Spa for your holiday. we truly appreciate your time and effort in sharing your thoughts about your experience at our resort. We are glad you enjoyed the resort, cuisine and guest facilities. Thank you for your kind comments that you had mentioned about the check in time we will share with our front office team in order to enable us to improve on guest service experience in the immediate future! We wish to have a chance to perfectly taking care you for the next visit. Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Excellent stay for week. Room 902, second storey overlooking a quiet swimming pool. Huge bed, good shower and bath. Cleaned daily. Nice veranda seating area. Swimming pools nice and clean although not large. Right on the beach with lots of sun beds available. Easy walk to streets full of restaurants and Thai massage parlours. Short walk up the beach to good eateries. Food is cheap and very nice. Beer is quite reasonable.
Everyone Is super nice. Took trip to Temples with King as our guide. It made our day with all the information he gave us. Lunch was huge and in the price. The elephant trip is a must, especially with the washing in the clean river.
Overall a lovely area. Quiet but with lots of places to visit.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Signature , Strobingred, Oxford, Thank you very much for your review sharing experience during you holiday with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our room and resort facilities especially our excursion trip. We will pass your kind compliments to our team and look forward to welcoming you back to our land of smile again in the very near future. Be at La Flora Be at Home. Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Flora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort & Spa

Address: 59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#16 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Flora Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your La Flora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Resort And Spa
La Flora Hotel Khao Lak
Hotel La Flora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.