We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would we come here again?” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Flora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Flora Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
1 review
“Would we come here again?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We stayed here for two weeks in February of this year.
The Hotel is in a lovely setting on the beach and within walking distance of many bars and restaurants.
We stayed in a deluxe room, on the top floor of one of the 3 blocks and found the room to be adequate for what we needed. All the staff are very friendly and courteous and go out of their way to make sure you have everything you need. The buffet breakfasts are excellent with plenty of choice. We didn't eat in the hotel of an evening, but preferred to eat at the local restaurants in the town or along the beach, although I have to say the food did look really appetising in the hotel restaurant.
As other reviewers have said this hotel could be excellent but for a couple of points. The sunbed situation is a farce! We came down to breakfast most mornings at about 8 am and by then 95% of the sunbeds were occupied by towels, even though there is a sign saying that the reserving of sunbeds is not allowed!! When I complained to one of the managers, his reply was that if they did remove the towels it would upset the people who had reserved them!!!
It would be so good to find a hotel that had the guts to remove the towels in line with their notice. people would stop reserving them if they knew this would happen.
My only other bad point was the towels in the rooms, they were clean but by the looks of them very old.
So would we stay here again................yes, we booked for next year as we left, but for 3 weeks this time!
Hopefully the sunbed situation will be sorted, but I doubt it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Signature 322 John - UK, Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write review feedback for your during visit us. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed Deluxe room and others resort facilities and staff services. Thank you once again for your kind comments, we had been taken action about the sunbed reserved and wish our new procedure will work well. In addition for your pointing out the old towels - we have been ordered the new towels and will be replaced.

Thank you once again for placing your trust into our service; we are indeed looking forward to welcoming your back again in the near future Should there be anything we can do for you on your next visit to Khao Lak, I would be more than happy to personally assist you with any particular arrangements you may require. Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana resident manager and La Flora team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    335
    164
    46
    17
    3
See reviews for
102
361
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dudley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Wow what a place to stay, everything about this resort is excellent you've got the beach, the swimming pools, even grass if you don't like sand.
The staff are so friendly and can,t do enough for you, just to make your holiday special.
We were a little disappointed when we pulled up out side, especially after the journey from the airport but it was late and we were very tired, but when we awoke the following day how fabulous it all seemed.
Buffet style Breakfast was excellent every morning, and the food in the restaurant at night was superb, with plenty to chose from wether it be spices or (in my case not,) they cater for everyone's palette.
The biggest disappointment for us we didn't stay long enough ( 9 nights in Mar / Apr, also it went far too fast.
We will most definitely return

Room Tip: All rooms are good, if you like water book a pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Signature, Ken H -UK, Thank you very much for your review detailed feedback. We truly appreciate your time and effort in sharing your thoughts about your experience at our resort.We are glad you enjoyed the resort, cuisine and guest facilities and services. We constantly strive to improve ourselves and are very grateful for any suggestions. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of my team. We are thrilled that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future and enabling us the chance to take care of you once again "Be at La Flora Be at Home" Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We stayed here for 9 nights in March 2014 ... loved it!! As many have already stated it's location is perfect, smack bang on the beach and a five minute stroll from the main drag, on which can be found several fantastic Thai restaurants.
The trips booked through the hotel are private bookings so you do pay a tad extra than if you were to book through one of the many excursion shops in town, but I do strongly recommend using the hotel. For one, the trips are run by resort staff and numbers are strictly limited and only residents will attend so you start your excursion immediately without having to visit every other hotel to pick people up! You also get the Tiger! I'll leave you to discover who the Tiger is, but trust me once you've met him you will never forget him! And I doubt there is a better land based. tour guide in Khao Lak! La Flora's big, big selling point is that it is the only hotel in Khao Lak to have it's own private jetty, you'll board your speed boat at the hotel whereas all other hotels/trips involve an hours drive to Phuket before boarding your speed or long boat. You also get the King! King is famous in Khao Lak and if you are lucky to get him you're trip will be first class. He looked after our trip to the Similian Islands, he knows those waters like the back of his hands and took us to areas that no other boat visited. We were privileged to see hundreds of different types of marine life - barracuda, sea turtles. It really was like swimming in an aquarium, an experience I will never forget.
Staying with the plus side of La Flora - the reception staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble, the waiting staff at both breakfast and dinner could not be faulted. If you see an 'older' gentleman running round fussing after you, his name is Micky - you'll love him!!
The quality of the food was superb,
No-one ever mentions the housekeepers, they did a brilliant job and were always smiling.
So far everything mentioned would rate as excellent ..........
I have to agree with most but not all of the previous comments, especially regarding the pool and sun bed issues. We saw guests reserving 2-3 beds for themselves all in strategic positions to maximize their time in the sun, we also saw beds being reserved as early as 4am!! I agree the hotel staff need to get stronger with the 'hoarders', but we made it down to the pool/beach area by 8am and always got a decent bed!
Our biggest disappointment with the La Flora were with the bar staff, they were rubbish!!
All in all our stay was very enjoyable and we will definitely return.

Room Tip: If you can afford the Pool Access Rooms do so, these are the rooms we will book should we return.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Signature Wolbrown, UK I would like to extend my personal thanks to you for taking the time to comment on our services during your recent stay with us.

Whilst I am pleased to see that your impressions were satisfactory in the main, I will pass your kind words to our team, especially K. Tiger!. I have made a special note of the point mentioned which did not meet your approval and will seriously discuss with our Beverage team. As many comments about the sunbed has been reserved , Our solution of this matter as we issued the card to exchange the beach towel daily and we will start to issue the beach towel at 7.00 am and our guests have to return in the afternoon to get the card back for the next day. We hope this way will reduce the sunbed reserved. Moreover we increase the sunbed to the Regina Swimming pool (second pool).

Your comment is of highest importance to guarantee smooth running of our operation and to provide the highest standards possible. With the assistance of our valued guests we can further improve our services!

Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

We arrived at the hotel having decided to go for a smaller hotel on this trip. We visit South East Asia, in particular Thailand, regularly and usually choose a 5 star hotel but this time we wanted something smaller and more intimate. Therefore our initial impression was of disappointment when we pulled up to the hotel which is situated on the roadside with a small open air lobby, we are used to long driveways with a huge open air lobby. However there was a warm welcome awaiting us with a cool drink and towel. We were very fortunate in having a room overlooking the second pool which was very quiet with a nice view. The room was very big with plenty of storage, a nice large bed and a powerful shower. However the bathroom was a little tired looking and the actual shower could do with updating as it is old looking. Also the hotel could invest in some new bathroom towels as, although clean and fresh smelling, they were very grey and unappealing. Some of the bedding had small holes. As mentioned by others, the mattresses are very hard but we did ask for a topper which was a help. The rooms were spotlessly clean and the evening turndown service with chocolates or biscuits was a nice touch. I suppose for us the biggest issue was the sunbed area, because the hotel is on a small site, the beds are all bunched together and yes you really do have to be up early to get a sunbed as they go very quickly. It was lovely to be right on the beach and sit and have your breakfast feet away from the waves and your evening cocktail with your toes in the sand. It may be an idea if they had a couple of staff members making the drinks as sometimes the wait was quite long for a cocktail so maybe invest in a second cocktail shaker and blender. The beach is kept very clean, much better than many we have been to. Our initial impression of the beach was a little disappointing as to the left all you can see is beach umbrellas and people and to the right, although there is an amazing walk to be had for miles on a more or less deserted beach but you cannot do this if the tide is high as unfortunately some of the hotels have been allowed to build too far down on the beach and you cannot get through, this is such a shame and could be rectified but this is down to the individual hotels. It would be an idea for the hotel to list high/low tide times daily in order to not get caught out. La Flora has built sensibly and the hotels should all be like this. After a couple of days we came to appreciate the area and having so many excellent beach restaurants close by together with a small town area. One other thing we found rather bizarre, we unfortunately broke a glass in our room and on our return in the afternoon, found a bill had been left on our bed for the cost. The following morning the room maid would not let us leave the room until we had signed for the cost, very odd we thought for a 4 star hotel. On our last day, we did find a list in our room allowing you to buy any item from the room (including the tv) so I guess we bought a broken glass ! I would say that all the staff without exception were friendly, smiley and hard workers. Following our stay, we would have absolutely no hesitation in going back, they just need to sort out the small glitches that we and numerous other people on tripadvisor have mentioned, this would then be an absolutely charming hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Signature, Trvavelfan202, Jersey, Thank you for your review and helpful feedback regarding your recent stay with us. we truly appreciate your time and effort in sharing your thoughts about your experience at our resort. We are glad you enjoyed the resort, cuisine and guest facilities. However, we take noted and shared your kind comments with our Housekeeping Manager in order to enable us to improve on guest service experience in the immediate future! We are thrilled that we will be able to welcome you back in the near future and enabling us the chance to take care of you once again. Best regards, Be at La Flora Be at Home. Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and our Laflora team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

Great hotel in a lovely setting. Staff very friendly and polite. Breakfasts were of a high quality. However, a few issues prevent my giving it an "excellent" rating:-
1. Several loose decking slats around main pool as reported by previous visitors on Trip Advisor.
2. Broken slats and protruding screws on pool sunbed had to be reported 3 times before action was taken. Even then it was not replaced but just the broken slats and screws removed.
3. Water features around Regina pool were never operating.
4. Insufficient number of beach beds on busy days - as ever despite notices prohibiting reservation of beds, this was the only way to ensure obtaining one.
5. Toilets by main pool were not cleaned as often as others in the hotel (which were spotless) and constantly ran out of hand towels.
6. The hotel prides itself on being smoke free (notices in reception and by the main pool) but guests were allowed to smoke in the outdoor section of the restaurant and around the pool.

It's a great shame that these small issues take the gloss off what is otherwise a really good hotel.

Room Tip: Room 624 on the first floor has a good view of the Regina pool which is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 30, 2014
Dear Signature, David D, Redditch Uk, Thank you for your feedback and that you have taken the time to review your recently stay. Our team is taking your suggestions very seriously and engineer team has been fixed all the decking slats around the swimming pool. The main toilet has been checked every hour by our housekeeping team. We put the highest priority on ensuring that all hotel areas are kept spotlessly clean. We would like to apologize to you for this error and the inconvenience caused. ! We wish to have an opportunity to welcoming you back and looking forward to perfectly talking care of you again. “Be at La Flora Be At home”. Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and our La Flora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

We were here for 8 nights in February and had a wonderfully relaxing time. The resort is right on the beach, with a floating jetty from which their boat trips leave. There are plenty of recliners, both by the pool and on a high grassy area on the beach.
Breakfast is a delight, with plenty to choose from, and there is a snack lunch service which is good value. We tended to eat at one of the several beach restaurants, although we did enjoy the Thai evening at La Flora, with some pretty good live entertainment.
There is a bar by the pool and happy hour a couple of times during the day, again good value.
The room we had was a little disappointing but we got used to it. The 'terrace' was tiny, and the 'garden view' limited, but inside the room was spacious and had everything you could wish for.
There is a luxury spa here which looks great, but when you can get a massage on the beach for around a fiver, why would you!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Signature, Val E, oxford, UK I would like to extend my personal thanks to you for taking the time to comments on our services during your recent stay with us. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our cuisine at View 59 and others resort facilities and staff services. We apologize for not having met your expectations of deluxe room location and balcony. Please feel free to contact us if your would like to return to Khaolak for your next visit. Pool access room or our villa would be recommended for your next holiday. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future. " Be at La Flora Be at Home" Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and our Laflora team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

the hotel is right on a lovely sandy beach with lots of beach bars close by. It is also only a short walk to lots of restaurants , bars and market. The breakfasts were very good we also used restaurant for an evening meal as it was a birthday which was very good,(they made us a nice birthday cake for free). The staff were very polite and we had no problem communicating with them. The hotel was always clean and tidy ,and the wifi was handy.
We felt lucky that we were in room 912 as it was above a pool room and was only 2 stories high (as are all rooms starting 9) the rest of rooms apart from villas were in 3 story blocks that looked like barrack blocks. The rooms were ok more functional than posh. I must agree with others that unless you were up early the sun loungers would be gone, this I believe is because the pool/grass area is to small and you could not get anymore beds in, although around the 2 pools where the pool access rooms were located there was loads of space but no sun loungers.It was also noted that the main swimming pool only had steps to get in and out and older people and some people with disabilites had difficulty using them. Without doubt in todays world there should be steps and hand rail provided.

Room Tip: If booking a normal room go for one in block starting with 900
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Signature, Thothmosis, gosport Thank you for taking time provide feedback. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed the resort location, the resort services and facilities in the main. Our resort have 8 categories of the room type which located in the big pot of land including of beach front villa and garden villa, 2 stories and 3 stories building. We pay great attention to all rooms to ensure that are value for the money. However, thank you for your point out about the sun loungers around the swimming pool we will buy more sun loungers to place around the both swimming pool. I hope that our resort can fully convince you and your family during your next stay of our close attention to maintaining the highest quality standards. Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and our La flora team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Flora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort & Spa

Address: 59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Flora Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Flora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Hotel Khao Lak
La Flora Resort And Spa
Hotel La Flora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.