We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb beach hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added La Flora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Flora Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
East Anglia,England
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Superb beach hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Enjoyed our stay here for five days,to relax after touring around the country. Had a luxury pool side room near the water /pool bar.very quiet and comfortable.
The buffet breakfast choice was amazing.with good service.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms in the 800's numbers
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Dear Signature Wood 57, England, Thank you very much for taking you time to review and feedback during your visit. We are glad you enjoyed the resort, Pool Access room, cuisine and guest facilities and services. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of my team. Please feel free to contact us when you wish to return to Khaolak. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future. “Be at La Flora Be at Home” Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    167
    47
    17
    3
See reviews for
104
366
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

We booked to stay at the La Flora for our honeymoon, and we weren't disappointed.
We arrived at 8pm after a long journey, and we given a cold drink and ice cold towel while the reception staff sorted our check in. It was very smooth and in no time we were in our pool access room where the staff had decorated the bed with our names and origami style swans, and a fabulous cake iced with our names , beautiful. The room was very comfortable, and clean, with everything you need including toiletries. Maid service twice a day, with a little packet of handmade sweets in the evening. Breakfast is served in the view 59 restaurant, where you can sit in or outside, again we weren't disappointed. The fabulous staff served tea and coffee always with a smile, and you then could help yourself to fruit juices, fresh fruit, cereal, meat, cheese, eggs cooked to order, and much more and it was delicious. The hotel sits on Bang Niang beach, where you special away the hours on a sunbed looking at the beautiful Andanan sea, or go for a dip and the lovely warm water.
La Flora has 2 pools, the infinity pool on the beach front and the freeform pool where our room was, both lovely and clean and towels are provided every day. The breeze bar serves fabulous cocktails and there are 3 happy hours every day. We ate in the restaurant quite alot, good value for money and the food was amazing, so tasty and served beautifully. Theme nights were also good along with Thai cooking classes. We booked a romantic meal on the beach, which was fantastic. I wish I could name all the staff to sing their praises from reception staff, waiters, maids to the gardeners, they work so hard and nothing is too much trouble. The only downside to our holiday. .....we had to come home and leave this paradise. Try and visit the tsunami museum, a very moving place and the video footage had me in tears, yet everyone in Khao Lak still keeps smiling, amazing people. Thank you, for making our honeymoon so special.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Dear Signature Marg3917-Derby, UK. Thank you for choosing La Flora, Khaolak as your honeymoon destination and your details feedback. It was delighted that both of you enjoyed the Pool Access room and other resort facilities. Moreover it was motivated to hear that our food and services at the View 59 Restaurant were met your expectation. I will also share your kind compliments to our team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the very near future. " Be at La Flora Be at Home" Best regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana, Resident Manager and Laflora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melton Mowbray Leics
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of the few hotels we have ever returned to and it was not a disappointment . Its location is superb being right on a wonderful stretch of beach, the staff could not be more helpful and the food at the hotel is great if you want either thai or western. There is a lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel with all the guest's mixing well with one another. It would be easy to go on and on, I'll let the other reviews do that. Suffice to say we had a great time.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Dear Signature, Momelt- Melton Mowbray, Many thanks indeed for taking the time to write review feedback for your second visiting us on your holiday. It is a great pleasure to have a second chance to welcoming your back to La Flora Resort and Spa, Khaolak. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed our room, cuisine and others resort facilities and staff services. I will share your kind compliments to our team. Thank you once again for placing your trust into our service; we are indeed looking forward to welcoming your back again and again every year! Should there be anything we can do for you on your next visit to Khao Lak, I would be more than happy to personally assist you with any particular arrangements you may require. “Be at La Flora Be at Home” Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

We're on our last glorious day here. La Flora is a fabulous resort, perfectly situated on the beach. All the staff are really friendly and helpful. The food is great - an extensive buffet breakfast with everything you could wish for. Various 'theme' nights are good value, and they have 3 one hour 'happy hours' every day, which helps!
We stayed in a ground floor deluxe studio - ok, but don't be fooled by the 'terrace and garden view' - the terrace is tiny and the garden view limited. Having said that, the room itself was spacious, excellent bathrooms and 2 wardrobes.
The excursions are typically quite expensive from the hotel - better to walk down the street and book at one of the many tour organisers.
All in all an excellent stay and fully recommended

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Signature 204VaE, Oxford, UK, thank you very much for your review feedback during stay with us. Your great feedback about our food and our staff had met your expectation made our team very happy. What a pity that you did not try on our excursion trip, we pay great attention to best values for money to endure that you will have a special treatment compare to others. Laflora excursion team always gets great compliments from our guests and we are constantly working on the highest quality of service. We strive to improve ourselves and are very grateful for any suggestions. We look forward to perfectly taking care of you again in the very near future. Be at La Flora Be at Home, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and our La flora team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Truly amazing hotel and destination, the staff team are exceptional in wanting to make sure you feel welcome, relaxed and thoroughly enjoy your holiday. The managers of each area (too many to mention) were all very attentive towards us and could not do enough to ensure we had all we needed. If there was a item on the breakfast buffet that was there one day but not the next to vary the choice, then I only had to ask and they would oblige every time and rush and serve me a portion. The breakfasts were excellent in quality, choice and temperature (hot items were hot, not luke warm and cold items were chilled). Eggs and omelettes were all served to your own personal choice and always served with a smile and a good morning. The waiters/waitresses were all very friendly and professional and we quick to get you your choice of coffee or tea. There was always 2 types of sausages, lovely bacon, grilled tomatoes, eggs, toast and alternative choices were traditional Thai dishes, even a roast (duck, chicken) for breakfast and soup. There was always around 8 different types of pastries both sweet and savoury. There was a whole chilled room for a fountain table of prepared fruits around 6 types of juices (not sharp or concentrated), milk fresh water and then an array of cereals, yoghurts, salads, cold meats and cheeses. Fit for a king! This really did set us up for the day and we could eat inside or in the gardens both over looking the beach and sea.
The beach bar was a great place to make new friends and catch up with the bartenders who were all fantastic and were so attentive whether we were on our sun loungers or sat at the bar. They were very friendly and made you feel important with quick and efficient service. The prices were on average double of that outside, however the great thing was the happy hours which meant it was the same price and they were on from 13:00 - 14:00, 17:00 - 18:30 and 21:00 - 22:00 so plenty of opportunity and included a large amount of cocktails both non and alcoholic. The bar team really made our holiday and we are planning to go back to see everyone again soon.

The beach is lovely golden soft sand and the see is blue and warm, with a few waves depending on what time of ear you go. The hotel is right on the beach and is 150 meters from local beach bars/restaurants which add a lovely addition to you holiday for choice of eating by the sea edge by candle light (recommend the restaurant named 'My Friend') excellent food and very nice family. Or a drink and chat in the reggae type bamboo bar next door.

The hotel has a lovely infinity type pool and we could always get a sun lounger if we wanted, but the beach was too tempting. The evening meals in the restaurant were lovely especially the speciality nights and they do a manager welcome party which is well worth going to at the beginning of your stay as you have a good opportunity to meet others that you tend to see daily if you are there for a 2 week holiday as we were. The daily lunch option was very good value for money and the skewers were my personal favourite.

It was the Kings birthday whilst we were there and we were very honoured to be welcomed in taking part in the ceremonies with the visiting buddhas and in giving the donations to them and the fish to the sea. We also attending the evening beach front candlelit celebrations with the Thai boxing and Thai dancing shows. Compered by the lovely Mickey, of whom everyone gets to know! (thats a mention just for you Mickey).

The second pool with the pool villas was very secluded and totally peaceful and relaxing, all you could hear was the turning of the page of your book...very tranquil and a lovely option for honeymooners.
There is also a Spa which looked luxurious however I had an injury before travelling which meant I couldn't take advantage which was very annoying for me. This lead out to the front of the hotel and from there within a 30 second walk you are in the local village which has a feel of a small greek village with tavernas and restaurants offering Indian, Thai, and 2 very luxurious italian restaurants, but I'm afraid I love the Thai options and the restaurant at the crossroads on the right opposite the italian was my favourite in the village. Most courses were around £2.00 GBP as was the beer, the wine was quite a bit more expensive but a carafe was a good option. The wines were very nice in the hotel and a bottle was around £11.00 a bottle.

We didn't book any trips but friends that we met booked all of theirs with the hotel and they thoroughly enjoyed the Similan Islands tour with around 12 people. They had a great day.

The hotel rooms are exactly as they are in the brochure or on the La Flora's website, very very spacious and I would recommend a high floor, although you can't really see much of the sea, you do get less views of trees and more sky and the feeling of open space.

I would recommend this for couples, honeymoons, families with children of all ages and I would go here with a friend and it is easy to get around and a huge night market within 10 minutes walk which is on 2 or 3 times a week.

Thank you to EVERYONE at La Flora Resort & Spa for an amazing and wonderful holiday. You have an excellent team and I am so looking forward to returning next March 2015.

Room Tip: high floor standard room, or for honeymooners or something a little special then the pool rooms if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Signature, JennyDwolverha, Wolverhampton, UK. Thank you very much for taking the time to write us and sharing with us your pleasant experience during your stay at La Flora Resort. We are most delighted to learn that you were impressed with our services and resort facilities. Our team pride themselves on ensuring that every guest feels completely at home whilst they are with us. We are thrilled that we will be able to welcome you back in March 2015 and enabling us the chance to take care of you once again. “Be at La Flora Be at Home” Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We like to explore new places and new hotels, but this is the first time we are returning, to a hotel. because we're just loving La Flora. It's a special atmosphere that makes you feel like you're coming home. We arrived to our garden bungalow (no 511), the same one that we've got on our first stay. We e-mailed the hotel in advance to request the same one again, and that was what we got. Thank you so much for that La Flora. We got a flower and a letter with a free thaimassage at La Flora Spa as a welcome back greeting, to a returning guest. We loved the massage and spa so much, and Went back several times for more treatment. Of course the treatment is a bit more expensive if you compare with the small massage-shops or a massage on the beach, but you get what you pay for , it is well worth the extra cost. The Environment is so Lovely, having breakfast every day sitting right next to the beach and overlooking the Andaman sea. The bar next the beach is also great, love the sofa against the sea, where we spent some time in the afternoon, in the sunset, drinking a Singa or a Strawberry Daiquiri. The pool, the garden, the bar, the events, the spa, the staff, the new mini-market (very handy for an Ice Cream)....I can go on and on. Can't wait to go back for a third time, maybe we will try the low season later this year. Stayed at La Flora 140126-140206.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Signature, CAE 1972, Osla, Norway. Many thanks indeed for being a returning guest to La Flora and thank you very much for details review feedback during you visit us. We are glad you thoroughly enjoyed your returning to R. 511 for garden villa and happy with our spa treatment. I will share your kind compliments to our team. We constantly strive to improve ourselves and are very grateful for any suggestions. “Be at La Flora Be at Home” Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Thank you for making our return visit so memorable . From the moment we arrived they could not do enough to show how pleased they were that it was our second time staying at their hotel.
The hotel is a perfect location to walk out of an evening into the local bars, restaurants and shops. Also there are bars and restaurants along the beach all very good quality food and drinks.
Hotel food and drinks not too expensive either .
We had a pool access room 616 which was exquisite .

We shall definitely be back again . We would like to thank the management and staff for their excellent service. They should all be very proud of themselves.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Signature, Holidayholic54_12, Unite Kingdom. Many thanks indeed for being a returning guest to La Flora and for taking the time to write and express your satisfaction with our services. Your great feedback made us very happy. I shall take the greatest pleasure in passing on your kind words to our La Flora team. We promise to provide its guests a memorable stay and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. “Be at La Flora Be at Home” Best Regards, Jirapa Lertkulthana Resident Manager and La Flora Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to La Flora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort & Spa

Address: 59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#14 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Flora Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Flora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Hotel Khao Lak
La Flora Resort And Spa
Hotel La Flora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.