We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Flora Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Flora Resort & Spa to your Saves list
La Flora Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

Have just come back from two weeks at La Flora. The location was fantastic, the resort was set on a lovely quiet beach. Lots of restaurants within a five minute walk and plenty of day trips to do if you are so inclined. The staff were warm and welcoming and I look forward to going back there some time soon. The pool access rooms are just fantastic. Only down side is the beds are incredibly hard.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, General Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Alison B,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your nice and recommending comment here on Trip Adviser.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you again at La Flora Resort & Spa when you are returning to Khao Lak. Sorry for the hard beds as almost all Hotel beds are similar hard, however to solve this issue, an additional blanket can be requested at any time.

Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    168
    47
    17
    3
See reviews for
104
368
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mont Choisy, Pamplemousses, Mauritius
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

we stayed on a honeymoon holiday at khao lak la flora and we are not disappointed at all. the hotel has a GREAt service, all the staff members are smiling and friendly. we got flowers on the bed, a small and delicious cake on arrival, a candle light dinner with a lantern release, it was beautifull. the rooms are nice, we had the pool access room which is perfect when you do not want to go to the main pool ( busy with families and kids) the transfer from the airport is worth it! do not take a normal taxi ! the hotel has a luxury mini van very comfortable: nice driver, fresh towers, drinks, ...
the hotel is just a few meters from restaurant bars and shops. the laundry service of the hotel is cheap and very nice.
the room service was great and the food was ready in the room in less than 20 min.
the food at the hotel is very good and not expensive at all. you pay the same price than going to eat out at the restaurant.
the spa is great ! the masseuse are very qualified. we did two massages one thai massage and one aroma therrapy, both were really nice. we experienced the massage in the local massage salon and it is worth the price to go at the spa of the hotel. ( it is true that it is more expensive but if you want to relax just go for a treatment at the dhotel)
internet in the rooms is working perfectly.
we had a wonderful time at la flora and we will probably come back to this hotel if we travel to khao lak again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, General Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Steffi M,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your very nice and recommending comment here on Trip Adviser.

We appreciate that you were so satisfied during your stay in honeymoon with us in La Flora Resort & Spa and actually almost working in the same branch, Tourism. I remember your highlighting and recommending comments during our Farewell meeting the evening before you checked out. It would be a great honor for us to welcome you again when you return to Khao Lak and offer another great stay at La Flora Resort & Spa.

Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We stayed at La Flora Resort & Spa from 9 May until 17 May this year and had a fab time. The location is stunnning and the hotel is situated on a fab beach. The rooms were more than adequate and the staff were so helpful and can't do enough to make your stay special. However I would like to give a special mention to Lay and Nut who worked in View 59 Restaurant and also to Waev who worked at the pool bar. They were continually smiling, helpful and professional at all times, even first thing in the morning. There were obviously others but I can't recall their names for which I apologize. Hopefully in the future we will get a chance to return to Khao Lak.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the ground floor swim up rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Donna G,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your nice and recommending comment here on Trip Adviser.

We will inform Khun Lay, Nut and Khun Waev immediately and they then will be very happy  We would appreciate it to welcome you again in La Flora Resort & Spa when you return to Khao Lak.

Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

I stayed in the resort for five nights and cannot say there was anything wrong with the place. It definitely is not a 5 star resort as it calls itself, however a solid, good 3 stars could be awarded. Rooms are nice - not too big not too small, amazing feature is a large mattress/chill-out area where you can lie down and read a book, very comfortable. The AC is very good and makes the room a nice and cool place to rest in the evening after a long day on a really nice and long beach. you can have a walk or run admiring great views;-). Food was good and staff are very friendly too. I did not use the SPA but it's about 4 times as expensive as getting a massage in the town or along the beach. The pool is nice, in fact there are two pools; one main one and a second between the buildings, but both were a bit dirty and more attention to the cleaning process should be paid. I went for two excursions, the white water river rafting with the elephant trekking; was nice but nothing amazing. The snorkelling at tachi island was good and the island itself was amazing, however second part of it was a bit dangerous in very strong currents and was cut short. Overall good but way overpriced and for 4500 baht you should be getting more.

As mentioned above it is a solid 3 star resort heading for 4 stars, with very friendly staff and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend a stay there. Needs improvement for the price you pay but it's heading in a good direction.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, General Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear jwojc,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your comment here on Trip Adviser.

La Flora Resort & Spa, Khao Lak call itself a 4 star hotel. Of course the massages at the beach are cheap due to get a massage on the beach or in a not air-conditioned massage parlor. Our Spa facility is fully air-conditioned and all our therapists are well educated, licensed and checked by the governments skill department. We apologize for the pools and we forwarded your suggestion to our pool maintenance department already. Thank you for your compliment about our very friendly staff, we will forward your comment to all our staff immediately. Also we want to say thank you that you wouldn’t hesitate to recommend us.

Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was so looking forward to staying here and was dissapointed to say the least by the overall ambiance and look of the resort. I am sure in its day it would have been gorgeous but I found it to be tired and in need of a facelift !!!
My room - bathroom floor and tiles in shower - very grubby and dirty looking, bathroom sink badly fitted with gaping hole in the back. Bed Linen clean but very grey with age, windows filthy needing washed.
wooden tiles around the pool broken and displaced - stubbed my toe on numerous occassions, outside loo's at pool - broken cistern and grubby floors, taps loose also. parasols above beds were old and dirty and big hole in one of the canopies over the resturarant. Front of the grounds (at the beach) are propped up by sand bags and some kind of green netting - not very attractive and had a building site look about it, also an old broken boat lying around which did not help the view from parts of the resuarant either. There were also some days when rubbish was left on the beach and this was not removed.
In restuarant food was lovely but very limited choice of white wine and the quality was poor. On a positive note staff were nice and housekeeping were lovely and friendly, however I would not stay at the hotel if you are looking to be impressed with standards or asthetics.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, General Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Dear Togo50-13

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your comment here on Trip Adviser.

We feel really sorry when you got disappointed during your stay with us in La Flora Resort & Spa and apologize about bathroom facilities and the wooden tiles around the pool. After the high season we already started to “facelift” our Resort, as you saw and got informed by our management that we renovate our rooms, one by one now in low season.

The current beach situation is, that the water level in the sea is rising and during high tide the waves already reaches the Resort property, which also is a reason why rubbish got spoilt on the beach. However we make a beach clean up every morning. To protect our property against the waves, we fixed it with sand bags and the green netting as the first step. Now when we finished the beach “repair”, after laying pure sand, soil and new grass on it, our beach looks nice again. Pictures are available about this action. The speedboat, we must agree, which burned down a few weeks ago cannot be removed from the beach as long as the insurance doesn’t agree to. We feel sorry again, when our rich selection of wines didn’t match your taste or preferred sort of wine.

Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Our 3rd consecutive time for Easter at this hotel. And once again, we were not disappointed. We always visit more than one place on our holidays and over the last three years we have been to a few destinations. This is the only hotel we keep going back to. This hotel really is in a fantastic location, on a beautiful beach with really friendly staff who can't do enough for you. It's easy to get out and about with restaurants and the local market a few minutes walk away. Khao Lak centre is a short taxi ride away for those who like a bit more shopping with a wider choice of restaurants. The hotel staff go out of their way to help you and always have a smile on their faces. If you have young children, they can't get enough of them, particularly Tiger and Mickey, whom both of our boys, aged 6 and 4, love and talk about non stop. Thank you La Flora for another great trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, General Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Hewett25,

Thank you very much for using our services and your nice comment here on Trip Adviser.

It is really nice to read that you will return to La Flora Resort & Spa for your fourth time and that La Flora Resort & Spa is the only hotel, you are going back to ! This gives a very good feeling to all of us and we appreciate to give a warm welcome to you again, also in the name of all our staff –especially from K. Tiger and K. Mickey you mentioned them by their names-, again when you arrive in our resort. Thank you for your compliments about our friendly staff, we definitely will forward it to all of our staff !

Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here in March for a much needed holiday to get away from the stresses at home and La Flora absolutely delivered. It had been a long journey during which I wasn't well but as soon as we arrived that was all forgotten and I started to relax straight away. La Flora offered everything we were looking for: fantastic Thai service & hospitality, beautiful surroundings, fantastic beach, great food options, hotel spa and beach massage available, local village of Bang Niang with interesting market, supermarkets, restaurants.
We stayed in a standard 'Deluxe' room and it was perfect for us and our specific requests had been met. Like many others have said, the Pool Villas actually didn't appeal to us as they looked like they lacked privacy and were tucked away at the back of the hotel. We had no problem with the decor - this is a comfortable beach hotel.
We never had a problem finding sun loungers - the pool area does fill up first but we preferred to be on the beach and even though there are only a few loungers here there was always a pair available after breakfast.
Food in the hotel is excellent, especially breakfast where there is a huge spread of different types of food and service is exceptionally good. We also had the lunch special which is good value and tried the seafood evening in the hotel restaurant - wonderful fresh fish & seafood beautifully cooked and presented. Most of the time we ate in the local beach restaurants nearby - there are several to choose from offering delicious simple Thai food while you look out to sea with your feet in the sand - idyllic. We preferred these restaurants to the many choices in the village, although I do recommend the Thai pancake stall on the main street.
One word of caution: don't tell your local beach restaurant waiter that it's your last night of your holiday. We made the mistake of letting our guard down and doing so and found to our surprise that he had assumed that he could keep the change when we paid (which would have amounted to a 100% tip if we hadn't acted!) - that said, this is the first time it has happened in the 7 years we've been going to Thailand.
If you are looking for good value beach massages, we found 'Lovely Massage' (halfway down the beach to the left) to be the best.
Bang Niang market is worth a visit, especially the Thai food section. I also recommend a visit to the Police Boat Tsunami Memorial - fascinating and sobering.
The local taxi companies offer cheap prices to the airport but it was a very hairy ride and at times we really didn't think we would make it (double the speed limit, repeated over-taking in the face of on-coming trucks on hair-pin bends etc). I'm all for supporting local businesses but not when it comes to safety issues - next time we will pay more and use the the hotel car.
One of the things that really impressed us about La Flora is their very obvious commitment to genuinely listening to guest feedback to make improvements - this included a welcome cocktail party, a phone call to check all was ok half way through our stay, a survey, and on our last night an invitation for drinks and chat with the training manager - very impressive.
We were only able to stay a week at La Flora but we left feeling like we had had a much longer holiday and we can't wait to return. Thank you and please don't change too much La Flora, we loved you just as you are.

Room Tip: Corner Deluxe rooms don't have interconnecting doors (therefore quieter)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Resident_Manager_LFR, General Manager at La Flora Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear UKYork,

Thank you very much for using our services and your nice comment here on Trip Adviser.

It makes us proud to read that we could be a part to take your stress away from you and were satisfied with us in your expectations. Thank you to confirm that private Taxis are dangerous and that you would use our Hotel-Limousine Services in the future. The private Taxis are, like the word private says it already, private cars with private white colored number plates and are illegal. Our cars have the green Taxi number plate or the Mini Busses the yellow ones for commercial person transportations and are insured and legal. Thank you again for another compliment, of course we try to keep a close contact to our guests to ensure that everything is convenient for the guests. That’s why we have the farewell party with complementary drinks with our managers before you leave, the evening before and not just filling out a comment form. On all your verbal or written comments, we act immediately to improve and ensure our quality of our services. We will be happy to give a warm welcome to you and see you again in your next vacation when you return to Khao Lak, thank you very much in using our services again 


Kind regards from Khao Lak,
The Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Flora Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Flora Resort & Spa

Address: 59/1 Moo 5 Tambon Khuk-Khak, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Khao Lak
#11 Romantic Hotel in Khao Lak
#12 Luxury Hotel in Khao Lak
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Khao Lak
#15 Family Hotel in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — La Flora Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your La Flora Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Flora Hotel Khao Lak
La Flora Resort And Spa
Hotel La Flora

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Flora Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.