We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great tour bookings - go with Gecko Man” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Famai Restaurant

Famai Restaurant
Khuk Khak Beach, Khao Lak, Thailand
089 4743870
Improve this listing
Ranked #142 of 217 Restaurants in Khao Lak
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food, great tour bookings - go with Gecko Man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Famai has good Thai food. That said, they like to play their music louder than some of the other beach restaurants but the music choices are good. This may be a plus or minus depending on how you like your ambiance. It's definitely a change of pace from the other choices on the beach. The best part of this place, however, is the tour booking service from Gecko Man. He's a great guy and I found his tours were cheaper and better than his competitors. He also rented me a scooter at the same price they charge in town and without any hassles at all. They have a cheap laundry service too. While they may not be the best restaurant in Khao Lak, I like them a lot and recommend them for food, tours and whatever you like. Good vibes.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    9
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Brilliant beach restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This beach restaurant does not get the attention it deserves, maybe because of the other three restaurants at the other side of the J W Marriott hotel.

We have been for dinner and lunch several times now and the staff are always welcoming. The food is excellent and you get service with a smile. We are also receiving our daily Thai lessons from the waiters who take a great delight in asking us the next day if we have remembered what they have taught us.

It also does not shut at 10 pm unlike Blue Mist, Phen & Andaman, more of that in another review!

Great place and we will be going back often before the holiday is over.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Just near the JW Marriott, on the beach, the food & staff are beautiful! Friends we travelled with exchanged money here & got a good rate, too.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great prawns”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Ate here on the first night at JW Marriott - ordered the tiger prawns on the owners recommendation - amongst the best i have had - excellent food & value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Location, location...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

This little beach restaurant is a good find if you are living in the jw marriott and if you are tired of the hotel food. It's inexpensive and the location alongside this marvelous beach leave nothing to wish for. The serve local thai dishes and a few select burgers and sandwiches. The service is attentive and friendly and if the food would have been less sweet and bigger portions would have been served it would be a hidden gem.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Famai Restaurant also viewed

Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
Khao Lak, Phang Nga Province
 

Been to Famai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Famai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.