We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If your not into big resorts, this is for you” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gerd and Noi Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gerd and Noi Resort to your Saves list
Gerd and Noi Resort
57 Moo 5 Khukkak, Takaupa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Newcastle, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“If your not into big resorts, this is for you”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Nice clean simple accommodation close to beach and shops, walking distance to bars and restaurants. Massages close by as well as shopping. Small pool, bar and restaurant, with helpful staff. Gardens surrounding bungalows well maintained

Room Tip: Around pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
9
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Novi Sad, Serbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

It is a very pleasant place to spend nice and quiet vacation. It is surprising in how little space it is possible to put big number of bungalows, and yet it is enough space to feel comfortable and in piece. Great pool, very near to the beach, and also minutes from the main attraction street with all shops and restaurants. For visiting more distant locations you can rent a bike for very little money. Resort only serve breakfast, but you can choose excellent meal for various nearby restaurant, and also market is 10 minutes walk away.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A pleasent environment with friendly staff that helped us with all sorts of information and things.

The beach is very close, which is always a big plus especially if the pool area is not that nice.

Some criticism goes towards the breakfast which is not a buffet, but instead (at least in March 2014) a system where you choose one item off of a list. They are not for the hungry, so you might want to pay a little bit and choose two items.

Still, I would recommend Gerd and Noi to anyone looking for a well priced bungalow near the beach. Overall a positive experience.

Room Tip: The entire premises are quiet and relaxed, so you can just choose a room according to your budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014 via mobile

The Gerd & Noi resort was a great place to enjoy the wonderful beaches Khao lak has to offer. As stated in previous reviews, only about a 1 minute walk to the beach and close to a lot of restaurants and bars.

The breakfast was more comprehensive than other resorts we have stayed at and was something we looked forward to every morning.

The room was very spacious but could do with some updating (same with bathroom). We loved the porch area and all the flowers surrounding the room, they really took care of this.

Finally, my only real negative comment is the lack of enthusiasm to help whenever we asked for advice or recommendations.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

We had six nights here and, after a short while, grew to really like it. This really should be a four star review but the young guy who appeared to be in charge was not very helpful at all when checking in or with other basic requests. He brought things down a notch as, otherwise, we had a very nice stay.

We were shown to our bungalow which was fairly basic and lacks the touches of more expensive hotel e.g. tea and coffee in the room (as it was, we just nipped to the restau-rant and got it as they have a boiler on the go there).

Right, that’s the couple of negative things out of the way – Gerd and Noi has lots of great things going for it. First off, the location is superb; two minutes to the beach one way and two minutes to the town the other, it really couldn’t be better. The pool area is lovely with plenty of beds and, to say it’s so close to everything, it’s remarkable how peaceful the whole place is.

Breakfast is by order rather than buffet and has a good range of hot and cold dishes. The wifi is very good too, free and available in all areas including the room. As I said, the rooms are basic (and the bed hard!!) but I guess that’s why the cost is so reasonable. Being basic really didn’t matter as it happened because we weren’t around much and, when we were, we sat out on our lovely garden terrace. We were pleasantly surprised that, despite being set in beautiful tropical gardens, our bungalow attracted very few bugs. This may have been helped by us investing in some 20 baht for 10 mosquito coils from the shop around the corner.

Gerd and Noi made a great place to explore Khao Lak from and we enjoyed our stay there a lot; a friendlier, more pro-active outlook towards guests (by some staff, not all) would improve it further.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and 1 night post our liveaboard snorkel tour. Firstly the resort was very quick in replying to our reservation request and the transport offered from the airport was very reasonably priced. On check in one of the usual front desk staff was not there so I think they were struggling a bit.
Our bungalow was a garden room, clean and spacious inside. Bed linen was clean and smelt freshly laundered.Good air con and with a secluded patio. It has been nicely done outside the bungalows with lots of tropical plants giving a feeling of privacy. Only thing was there wasn't a room safe, they had safety deposit boxes at reception though.
The pool area was nicely done with enough sunloungers for the amount of guests, there were also pool towels available.
Breakfast was included and although slightly limited choice it was more than adequate and freshly cooked.
We had laundry done which again was very reasonably priced.
It's in a great area, a short stroll to the main 'strip' of restaurants and bars and a few minutes to beach area, where we found some of the best restaurants- very reasonably priced too!!
As we were off to a 4 day liveaboard tour the staff were more than happy to store our suitcases for the duration.
It is a very well priced resort for the Khao Lak area especially it's proximity to the beach and all the attractions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

G&N was such a pleasant experience. The grounds are fairly new, so everything still has a very clean and fresh appearance and feeling. The staff is superbly friendly. The resort has a lovely pool. The room was so clean and beautifully decorated in the midst of a garden paradise. Not too far from the beach (about a 7 minute walk). The food was also excellent. And they let me store my luggage on the premises for 3 days while I went away on a liveaboard for scuba diving.

My bed was so comfortable. The bathroom was large, but very basic with the typical toilet and shower configuration, both being in the same general area

My only complaint was that there were ants in the bathroom. I asked Mai about them, and his reply is that ants are the price you pay for living amongst of the lavish plant life surrounding you. He says that even this room has ants. I suggested borax. He didn't like that idea. Oh well. The ants don't bite and didn't get in my bed (most important consideration in my opinion).

The "safes" are in the lobby area. They're lockers. But everything seemed to be safe enough here.

The resort is a bit of a walk from "town", but you can easily rent a scooter for appx $200 baht/day. not bad.

Note-Prepare to be among mostly German, Danish and Swiss tourists in the town of Khao Sok. I'm not sure why, but they seem to dominate the region. I only mention this in terms of a language issue. English is not the second language here, more like the 3rd or 4th. And I sometimes sensed a slight undertone of resentment from the Deutsch-speakers for making them stretch their English speaking muscles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gerd and Noi Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerd and Noi Resort

Address: 57 Moo 5 Khukkak, Takaupa, Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Gerd and Noi Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gerd and Noi Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.