We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Technicolor service and a cool place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monochrome Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Monochrome Resort to your Saves list
Monochrome Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   67/238 Moo 5, Bang Niang Beach | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
London UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Technicolor service and a cool place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I came across this in one of the hotel booking sites but there were no reviews on trip advisor. However we took a chance and it far exceeded expectations. It has a cool, stylish vibe, and even though only open for a few weeks, the staff were amazingly friendly and helpful and the service spot on.
We had the enormous (2 bedroomed) pool suite but we poked into the other rooms and they are all very generously sized and all are tremendously good value.
This is not your typical Khao Lak resort with ersatz traditional villas. It is urban chic - think Metropolitan Hotel, Bangkok or the Chedi, Chiang Mai. The room designs are amazing, very open in the modern style, with sofas on the balconies, big beds that are the most comfortable I have ever had in a hotel, with lovely linen, pillows and towels. Real attention to detail everywhere.
I expect great things of this hotel: get in quick while you can!
There are two restaurants, a Thai one and an Italian (Amici) and you could do no better than eat in these all the time. However there are other reasonable restaurants close by.
The only downside is that it is not right on the beach - if that is important to you. The staff will run you down there in a buggy, but anyway it's only a 5 min walk.
A lovely swimming pool and some of the rooms have vast jacuzzis attached to them.
Very good free wifi.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at Monochrome Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Keith,
Sawasdee Krab, Greeting from Monochrome Resort,
Thank you very much for your comment and feedback. We are very happy with your enjoy with our exclusive in-room amenities and pleasure with our design, technicolor & the Monochrome Suite Pool Access. Also Mr. Davide -Amici Chef- would appreciated that his food make you happy. We will keep going on to our commitment to provide friendly, courteous service and make you comfortable for your next visit.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
3
70
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Heythuysen
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

What à fantastic hotel! It's totally new.. This modern design hotel is definitly the best place to stay in Khoa Lak! The staff were zo friendly, such a good service..
The rooms are beautiful.. We had the 'Lovers' room, perfect! The breakfast is good.. There's a very nice pool.. The Thai food is delicious en de Italian restaurant 'Amici' is the best Italian restaurant in Thailand. What a wonderfull food!
The hotel is also very close to the beach.

The hotel had all the good facilities to make our holliday a perfect one!!
Thank you all!

Annemieke

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at Monochrome Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Annemieke,
Sawasdee Krab, Greeting from Monochrome Resort.
First of all we thank you very much for your feedback and comments. We are very happy that you have had a wonderful stay with us. For your feedback I will shared with our management team and all staffs.
We appreciated that you like the food at our Amici Ristorante Italiano, for next visit would like you to enjoy with our Thai dish in our Mono Pool Bar & Restaurant - Phad Thai Goong is the most recommended.
Management and all staffs are hopefully to welcome you back you for next trip to Monochrome Resort again.
PS: your photos shooting here are beautiful.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This hotel is really really amazing!! We were very lucky that we found this hotel by walking by, because it's completely new. First the Staff is amazing the best we had in Thailand!! The service we give a 10+! The rooms are great, beatiful!

We didn't find the hotel before we booked our trip , but we are so happy that we found It. Thanks to Mr. Puran who invited us to show the rooms. When he Show us the room, we inmmidiatly booked the lover room. We loved it! We had a great time!

Kind regards Glenn
Netherlands

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at Monochrome Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Glenn Van Der Kop,
Sawasdee Krab, Greeting from Monochrome Resort,
I thank you very much for your comments and feedback. I will share all of your feedback to our management team and all staff.
Management and all staff are pleased to welcome back for your next visit.
PS:I hope your backs and shoulders will getting better and better soon.

Respectfully yours,
Pisu (NuN) Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were so lucky to have found Monochrome Resort in Khao Lak! It was the best experience in Thailand. From the minute we walked in to when we left 5 days later, everything was perfect.
The hotel manager Nun made sure we felt very welcome and his team of employees were always incredibly amazing and thoughtful. The rooms are beautiful and very modern, the pool has spa bubbles in it and there is a great pool bar. The food in the restaurant was delicious and the waitresses and restaurant manager are so attentive.
We couldn't have asked for more. There was nothing we would have changed. We'd definitely recommend staying at this place, we'll be back!
Thanks,
Franziska

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monochrome_Resort, Manager at Monochrome Resort, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Franziska,
Sawasdee Krab, Greeting from Monochrome Resort,
It is our pleasure to welcome you to Monochrome Resort, we know that you have many variety of hotels to choose from and we honoured that you have selected our Monochrome Resort.

I thank you for your comments and feedback. I will assure you that your feedback will receive our management team and staff attention and follow-up.

Management and all staff hopefully to welcome you back again for your next trip to Khao Lak, Thailand,

Respectfully yours,
Pisu Kamsap
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khao Lak
0.3 mi away
Khao Lak Riverside Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Mukdara Beach Villa and Spa Resort
0.2 mi away
La Flora Resort & Spa
La Flora Resort & Spa
#17 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 61 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.5 mi away
Casa de La Flora
Casa de La Flora
#7 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hongte Khaolak Resort
Hongte Khaolak Resort
#1 of 7 in Takua Pa
5.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monochrome Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monochrome Resort

Address: 67/238 Moo 5, Bang Niang Beach | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Monochrome Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Monochrome is a small, chic resort in a modern tropical setting. This adult-only resort offers contemporary accommodation in a center location, 300 meters from Bang Niang Beach. Its edgy design of strong color tones, sensational lighting and stylish theme makes Monochrome a unique hideaway destination in Khao Lak. Be Well, be Confident, be Different. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Monochrome Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monochrome Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.