We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Currently staying” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort to your Saves list
Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   26/15 Moo 7 Petchkasem Road, Khuk Khak, Takuapa, | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 231 Reviews
Huddersfield
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Currently staying”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, and I'd like to compliment the staff and service; only problem being the karaoke bar behind being so loud our room vibrates...I haven't had much sleep the last 3 nights and not looking any more promising tonight either :(ast 3 nights and not looking any more promising tonight either :( Shame that this is spoiling an otherwise perfect stay. I'd advise you to request a room away from block 1 (we're currently in 1133 and it's the worst place you could be for noise!).

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Pesto2005,

Many thanks for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I believe you contacted reception about the incident after you posted on this site. The first we knew about this was from your post on TripAdvisor.

The music that you heard was coming from a local bar on the main street unrelated to the resort. Unfortunately we have no control over this. I do believe that the music ceased the next day and their was no more noise from there as they were celebrating a special occasion.

I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    62
    20
    4
    1
See reviews for
12
177
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

After a couple of days in Bangkok my wife and I moved on to Khaolak and the Sensimar Beachfront Resort. The hotel is very new, so one can't fault the standard of the place - everything was in good condition. We stayed in a Deluxe Bungalow Beachfront and we'd definitely recommend this choice, despite it being more expensive. You have great views, easy access to the bar(!) and beach and not least it feels a lot more private. Food at the Sensimar was great, and cheap! The bathroom was really nice, cleaning services very efficient (do tip!) and all the staff were genuinely friendly. Khaolak itself is very quiet - as others have noted it's not the place for partying, but that was not the reason we were there. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Get a bungalow with a sea view - you won't regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear daddyOW,

Thank you much for your recent review.

I am delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Your thoughts and comments are very important to us.

We hope that you will return at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here for 6 nights at the end of a 8 night tour of Thailand. What is there not to like about this hotel, it is beautiful. Great beach location, lovely room, huge bed, walk in shower and a big bath as well. Breakfast was great, staff very helpful and always smiling. Lots and lots of restaurants nearby to try.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Carol_A_N,

Many thanks for taking the time for reviewing us on TripAdvisor. We are very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Your pictures are great and thanks for posting them.

We hope you will return at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We stayed for 9 nights in March and loved every minute. The rooms are modern and well equipped and in a departure from the usual 'concrete' Thai mattresses, had the most comfortable beds we've ever had in Thailand.
The child free policy was a big winner for us, this is the first resort we've stayed at with the policy and normally it doesn't really bother us but don't underestimate just how peaceful things are at a pool (and generally) without kids!!
The towel policy was a great idea to stop people reserving chairs early in the morning and not occupying them until much later, people either sat in the chairs they wanted until 9:30 or the beach boys would gather up left towels and others could access the chairs.
The activities program was comprehensive and the gym was the best we've seen ( Note we only looked we were on holiday after all).
All of the staff were great, special mention to Plew in reception who competently helped us with some document printing and scanning.
Location is good, only a 10 minute walk into the main town.
Overall a really beautiful, comfortable and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Shoozofff,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us here on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to here you enjoyed your holiday and our resort.

I have passed your comments on to Khun Plew at reception and she is very appreciative.

We hope we will get the opportunity to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014 via mobile

Having read some of the recent reviews, before, during and after our trip, the only advice i can give to the management of the sensimar is that " you can't please all of the people all of the time". Everybody will always expect something different from their holiday and after reading some reviews, i see that expectations vary wildly.
On that note, my wife and I, ( age 45, have been fortunate to have travelled well and stayed in some great hotels around the globe) had an absolutely fabulous time. We have no complaints about this hotel whatsoever.
I will however point out some observations that might help travellers make the right decision in choosing this hotel!

1. The sensimar is a German franchise and most guests are German and Scandinavian, with very few english couples, however everything is in english and all the guests converse with the thai staff in english and the staff show great effort in understanding the different nationalities.

2. The location is just perfect for the area, at the end of the "strip" so a short walk into the village for the local restaurants and shops. ( highly recommend The Gold Elephant opposite the entrance).

3. The bed and breakfast option was great for us as we really did enjoy going out and trying different restaurants. As an example, the average cost of two main meals, with rice and a bacardi & coke and a singha or chang beer was around 500 baht (£10), so very good value and the oportunity to try the local cuisine cost effectivley. However to my dislike, there is a McDonalds in the centre of town!

4. The buffet restaurant and the al a carte restaurant are great and the food selection is really good, also tastes great. However there were very few guests dining in the evening because there is very little entertainment and the the place does lack a bit of atmosphere. This I know the manager, Mr Cieran McNeil is trying hard to rectify. If you are looking for somewhere with a lively and buzzing atmosphere then you will be dissapointed.

5. The pool bar appears empty most of the day until 4pm, "Happy Hour",
100 baht (£2) for a cocktail or beer. There is no music around the pool area until this time, however i notice from past reveiws that they used to play music all the time and some guests complained about the genre of the music so Cieran was proactive and changed the format to apease some guests.

To summerise:
Even when full, this hotel is very quiet, peaceful and perfect for relaxation.
The staff make every effort to make your stay a pleasant one. Nothing is too much trouble. Very helpful and friendly staff and a lovley and clean hotel with great facilities.

Room tip: we stayed in the 3rd block on the 3rd floor, room 3331 (26th Feb - 5th March). If i had a choice of room, i would have picked this one. Central to everything and a great view from the balcony.

This was our 1st visit to Thailand and we are very glad we chose Khao Lak to experience this country and its very friendly and accomodating people.

( a marathon review i know but this hotel deserves it)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Darren R,

Greetings from Khao Lak.

I am very happy to here you enjoyed your stay with us and your first trip to Thailand. Hopefully you will have many more.

Your thoughts, comments and observations are very important to us as a new resort.

Once again thank you for your review.

Hopefully we will get to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

As regular Trip advisor readers know, all reviews are subjective and anyone looking to assess a holiday must look at several reviews both good and bad. There is no such thing as a 'perfect' holiday that suits everybody. People come from different walks of life, different social backgrounds and different cultures. It's not surprising that what pleases one person will not necessarily please another.
Trip advisor is also a prime target for people who are professional moaners. The sort of people who would find something to complain about if you gave them a first class ticket to the paradise island of their dreams. So before condemning a place because of a poor review, remember those words!
This hotel is adults only, so if you have an aversion to children, it's the place for you! Personally, I like to see kids having fun, but I understand others don't like the noise.
A very nice hotel with all the facilities you could want.
The outstanding feature is the staff. They are amongst the best trained I have experienced.
They all smile all the time. They all say hello if they pass you. They are willing, courteous and in my view set an example for all hotels to follow.
There are so many other plus points, but I will just list a few:
FOOD: delicious and well priced
Non- smoking area in the beach restaurant.
Breakfast better than some five star hotels I have stayed in.
Try dinner in the a la carte Kuilinarium - it's great! (and not expensive either)
GARDENS: unsung hard workers who keep the place clear of leaves- sweeping up all day long in 34*c !
CLEANLINESS: hotel, grounds, room, spotless.
ROOMS: tempting as they sound, the 'swim-up' rooms do not enjoy as much privacy as you may like. My wife and I stayed in a De-Luxe sea view room - I recommend them.
MASSAGES: Overlooking the beach - good skill and good price.
There are so many more plus points too numerous to list here.
Suffice to say, this is a very nice hotel, on the beach with good staff, good food at a good price so not a lot to complain about.

A word about previous reviewers who complained about not having enough sun beds on the beach front.
All beaches in Thailand are public. The hotel can only have sun beds up to the line of trees on their property and not on the sand. There are signs everywhere telling guests, but I am amazed at how arrogant some people are. There are some who think that any 'rules' don't apply to them.
I saw one couple read the sign (which is in several languages) and then drag their sun beds onto the beach.
Hotel staff then have to get them to move back!
Most travellers have fallen victim to the well known German national pastime of 'Sun Bed Bagging' and they are here in force. It is the most unfriendly pastime - getting up in the early hours long before breakfast and spreading your towel on the 'best' sun beds, and going back to bed.
The young hotel manager, an Irishman named Ciaran has introduced an innovative idea to try to combat this eternal problem. Notes are left on the beds telling people they cannot reserve them and any towels or personal possessions left before 9.30 am will be removed. I still saw people ignoring the signs and chucking their things on the beds at 7.30 in the morning as if the polite request did not apply to them! They had their towels etc. removed by staff but it's still a problem.
Be warned though, it seems that it is so important to some people that they get up long before the breakfast restaurant opens at 7.30 am, they sit on their sun beds until 9.30 and then go for breakfast. Not my idea of a holiday!

A word about the manager Ciaran. He is always open to constructive ideas to improve things. He deals with complaints/requests effectively and swiftly and is very approachable. He is justifiably proud of his staff and ensures they are well looked after.
There is a voluntary option on all bills when you sign after a drink at the bar or after a meal.
Do remember that wages are not high in this part of the world, and whilst never asked for or expected, leaving a tip is always welcome. 50 or 100 Baht (£1 or £2) is not a lot of money to us but it goes a very long way and always gratefully received. Don't forget to leave something for the girl who cleans your room. We never saw her during our two week holiday, but our room was spotless, clean towels every day, bed made beautifully etc.etc. we left 500 baht (£10.00) on the bed when we left, it was well deserved and I'm sure well received.
If you want to get away from the English winter ( it was 6*c when we left UK) and you want to enjoy 34*c to 36*c without a cloud in the sky, sinking a cocktail or two by the pool followed by a delicious Thai meal and all of this not breaking the bank, then this is the place to go!

Room Tip: De-Luxe sea view rooms are much quieter and very good value. However there are 20 or 30 steps to neg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Oxacademic,

Thank you very much for your recent review. I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. Your comments are greatly appreciated.

It was a pleasure having you and your wife stay with us.

We hope you will come back to visit us here at Sensimar at some point in the future.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greve, Denmark
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Nice and quiet place in wonderfull surroundings, excellent service, very nice staff doing a good
job.
Very beautiful rooms and a great balcony.
There are towel boys at the hotel, that make sure people do not occupie the sunbeds before 9.30 in the morning and not use them - very good!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciaran M, General Manager at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear I and Q,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. The two beach boys, Tony and Ian, do a very good job down on the beach. Their hard work is very much appreciated.

We hope you will return in the future to visit us here at Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort.

Kind Regards,

Ciaran McNeill
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort

Address: 26/15 Moo 7 Petchkasem Road, Khuk Khak, Takuapa, | Khuek Khak, Takuapa, Khao Lak 82110, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on one of the finest beach front locations in Khaolak, Khao lak beach. Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort is an extraordinary exclusive retreat, perfect for the discerning travelers who like to spend a tropical vacation in a relaxed and child-free environment. Its natural elegance, classic tropical beach charm and Malays-inspired Thai style set this resort apart from the rest.It is not just in vogue with couples or people on their honeymoon but also is a great option for parents looking for a romantic getaway and adult singles who seek to make new friends.Enjoy a well-earned, kid-free retreat amid the tropical beach landscape of Khaolak, or spice things up a little for shopping and nightlife of Khaolak Center (Bang La On). Everything you could possibly want in a tropical getaway is just a stone's throw away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sensimar Khaolak Beachfront Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.