We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very relaxing stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9/17 Moo 1, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Mmatheson
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A very relaxing stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We arrived on the 5th July for a 8 night stay and were impressed immediately with the layout of the resort.Our room was on the 3rd floor which gave us a nice view of the pool and ocean glimpses.Our room was huge,55 square metres and very new and clean.The best part of our stay were the breakfasts which included Thai food,but also a very good variety of freshly squeezed juices and fresh tropical fruit and chefs cooking eggs to order.We enjoyed happy hours at the main pool from 4pm to 6 pm and the other main pool had happy hour from 1pm to 6pm.The food at all the restaurants was very good and included Thai and international and the wine list wasn,t too expensive as can be in Asia and included selection from Australi,South Africa,France and Chile.Khao Lak is relatively laid back compared to Phuket but we enjoyed that compared to the hustle and bustle of Patong and surrounds.The resort in on the beach but being monsoon time the red flags were out and beach very messy.We did however enjoy eating at 3 local restaurants on the beach and all were good.If you are looking for a relaxing holiday that represents good value for money then I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms in adults area for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear mmatheson,

Greeting from Mai Khao Lak Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us on this site.

I am really glad to read that you have a great holiday with us.

Me and my team are looking forward to welcome you back again for your next holiday.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    85
    29
    14
    5
See reviews for
107
121
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

The staff were wonderful friendly and helpful and the resort has a great range of pools and bars and situated right on the beach. The little towns are in easy reach via the shuttles. Easy to recommend for a highly relaxing stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear goldsmith4149,

Greeting from Mai Khao Lak Beach Resort and Spa

We are please to thank you for choosing our resort for your value holiday. I would be appreciate for your compliment and recommend Mai Khao Lak to other guest.

However, We would be honoured if you chose to return to our resort and allowed our team to delight you once again.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

loved this hotel, a great place to stay in particular for families, stay if possible in a pool access room as it is fabulous, hotel grounds are inviting and the beach is just endless for walks, in particular we enjoys sipping a cocktail at sunset, many beach restaurants that offer genuine Thai food at a very affordable price, overall it was a great holiday

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear shaka369,

Thank you very much for your comment and I do really glad that our overall service and facilities make you have a great time and enjoyable along with a good memory with us.

Looking forward to welcome you back again soon at Mai Khao Lak Beach Resort & Spa.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed on a luxury escape voucher,but did a 4 night stopover in Singapore first,so our flight and travel time into Khao Lak was not as long as some people experienced.The resort was just what we needed,some relaxing down time.The room was great,the staff very helpful,and the resort itself was everything we were hoping for.We travelled with a teenager who absolutely enjoyed the free Wi- Fi, and the shopping and bartering in Khao- Lak,.We ate at the resort and the beach restaurants,and found the food very enjoyable,.We used some of our spa vouchers,and just had a great time.On returning home have book another Mai resort in khoi samui,for next year,hoping it will be just as relaxing and enjoyable

Room Tip: We had a pool access room,it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Deirdre G,

Greeting from Mai Khao Lak Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you very much for your comment and I do really glad that our overall service and facilities make you have a great time with us.

We would be delighted to welcome you back for another enjoyable stay at our resort.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I bought a Cudo voucher for this resort and then built a Thailand holiday around it. I got the voucher and booked in our dates at least 6 months in advance. I asked for a pool room in the adults only section and we got a great one......no kids in our section......quiet and peaceful. Paid extra for the pool room but it was very well worth it. When we arrived I booked in our spa treatments (as we got lots of vouchers). The were starting to fill up so im glad I booked right away. A few of the girls in the spa were abrupt but the others were very nice.
The resort it lovely and everyone is very nice and accommodating. Its approx. 15 mins from the town but there is a free shuttle bus there and back (doesn't operate at night, though).
There are many restaurants along the beach at the back of the resort which are great (Mamas is yummy).
My partner didn't like the fact that it was far from the town and a bit boring but I loved the relaxation and was able to read 2 books by the pool in our 8 night stay.
Lots of Aussies stay at the resort and they are quite friendly.
It poured when we got there but then the days were good. It rained a bit at night but it didn't really bother us.
The food was nice but don't expect cheap thai food (it is a resort after all), but the alacarte food was nice...the buffet weren't that nice (didn't like the Italian one) but the thai and the meat buffet was good. We didn't try the seafood buffet voucher bc a lot of people said it wasn't nice.
Quite a lot of reivews say they didn't like it

Room Tip: if your an couple, ask for a room in the adults only section......no kids in the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Tania C,

Greeting from Mai Khaolak Beach Resort & Spa.

Thank you for your stay at Mai Khaolak Beach Resort & Spa and taking your time to extend your review based on your experience.

I do really delighted to learnt that you have a great time here.

Looking forward to serve you and wish you all the best in your business and personal endeavors.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Booked 2 pool access rooms in January for July. Arrived to be informed that they didn't have any available so we had been upgraded to a garden view villa, nowhere near a pool and that there wouldn't be a pool access available for 2 days of 5 days because we wanted them near each other. Villas exhaust fan didnt work. Reported it twice before anyone came to look at it and took reporting again for it to be fixed 5 days later. Town shuttles only seat 10 so had to book days in advance to fit our family of 5. Same with the massages to find a time that we could all go at once and this was low season. We wanted to put my daughter in kids club whilst we were at cooking class only to be told that she could be in there for 1hr because they need to send staff from reception. Cooking class went for 1 1/2hrs. No daily activities like advertised. Booked for 10 nights, gave them vouchers on arrival confirmed 10 nights and they still kept saying 8 nights. Even gave us a thanks for staying with us letter on the 8th night. After expressing our disappointment, their compensation for the inconvenience was 2 apples, a banana & a bunch of grapes. Majority of staff dont speak english but all know "sorry madam". Not recommeded for a relaxing family holiday especially in low season.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Cindy D,

Greeting from Mai Khao Lak Beach Resort and Spa

Thank you for your recent stay with us and also your constructive comments. We will improve the service.

We all here are looking forward to welcoming you back here again for your next trip to Thailand.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I bought this 8 night deal from Luxury Escapes, we booked the Pool Access Room which was $1200. Included in this price was. Thai, either set dinner or a Thai Buffet dinner, we chose the buffet, which we enjoyed and would have enjoyed better if it had of been hotter.
Also included was a seafood dinner, not being seafood lovers we were able to change for an Italian buffet, which once again was nice but not hot enough, in fact the pizza and garlic bread were cold.
Included was a cooking class, not really what I was expecting, all the ingredients were already prepared, all you had to do was put them on the stove and cook them, we were given a recipe book to keep with the recipes in. The cocktail class included, you made two cocktails, both rum based.
The massage and spa treatments were good and the staff lovely.
The room was just as I had seen in the brochure, the biggest room I have ever had at any hotel, cleaned well every day, supplied with 4 bottles of water every day. Home made cookies were left each day as was fruit on the first day. I loved the pool access room, well worth the $200 extra, it was a very social room. There were a lot of kids at the hotel, but didn't bother us at all, I am used to kids and like the sound of them enjoying themselves.
The included breakfast was excellent. Everything you could think of, problem again, not hot enough....I don't think they get it, we want our food hot not warm.
The staff did a great job, always pleasant and tried to please.
There was a shuttle bus into the town, 20 minutes away. It went in 3 times a day but only returned to the hotel twice. As there was nothing close by to the hotel, the shuttle was a good way of getting drinks, snacks etc. for the room.
When we arrived there were 3 restaurants open along the beach, it was nice to eat dinner on the beach instead of having to eat at the hotel. After a few nights we were told all the beach cafés, massage places, tour places, taxis stands, all had to relocate to a place further up the beach and
higher ground. Some said the rent was too going to be too expensive and didn't know if they would remain open. The night before we left one had already closed and the others had only a matter of days before they would be forced to close.
We were unlucky in the respect we had a lot of rain, I know it is the rainy season, but was only expecting quick showers but for 2 full days it rained non stop.
Luckily there is free wifi, and quite quick wifi, free through the entire hotel which is a bonus.
It is a nice hotel, could be improved with a bit of colour and a few repairs, but it is far too isolated for me. It is not close to anything, a good half hours walk to the closest hotel. It could be improved with a bar, not pool bar, maybe in the foyer somewhere, where people meet for a drink and mix with other guests.
8 nights was definately long enough, although we enjoyed it, I would not go back to Khao Lak again. We have travelled extensively through Thailand, some place we go back again and again, but will not go back to Khao Lak...if it hadn't been for the vouchers from Cudo, Scoopon and Luxury Escapes, the hotel would have been empty.
At least we got to see Khao Lak which we probably have never gone to.
The airport is approx. one and a half hours away and the cost about $40 - $59 Au.

Room Tip: I would definately pay the extra for a pool access room, one thing that did surprise me, even famili...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yalyong O, General Manager at Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear JennyC3,

Greeting from Mai Khao Lak Beach Resort and Spa

Thank you for your recent stay with us and also your constructive comments. We will improve the service.

We all here are looking forward to welcoming you back here again for your next trip to Thailand.

With best regards,

Yalyong Ongsanam
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa

Address: 9/17 Moo 1, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sister resort of Mai Samui Resort & Spa (Opening Q4 2012). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.