We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   9/17 Moo 1, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Family fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a great family resort with something for everyone. We noticed families pitching up in groups or some taking Granny along to help with the babysitting. The poolside rooms are fun and if your little darlings are old enough to sleep without you, then why not get them a separate room in the main part of the hotel and treat yourselves to a beachside villa, which we thought looked divine. If you have older children, suggest you maim to have a later more leisurely breakfast once the younger families have done their dash. We also really enjoyed an evening swim once all the children had vacated. There is an activities board and we were impressed that the hotel has since vouched to purchase some wind surfers once it learnt that Philip had to go and hire one down the beach!

The hotel was competetive providing a restaurant and taking its spa out on to the beach as well as in the resort.

Room Tip: If you can afford a beachside villa with its own private pool, you won't regret your decision.
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    128
    44
    18
    7
See reviews for
184
274
5
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We stayed over Christmas and New Years. The hotel is fabulous, large pools, rooms are huge - stocked with everything you need. amazing beach front 20 local restaurants right on the sand we loved nothing more than sitting with our toes in the sand changs and spring rolls - thai currys in hand watching the sunset over the ocean.

It is so hard to fault the place, the only thing that lacked was the small amount of sun beds by the pool you had to get up at dawn to put a towel down to get one.. Which we didn't feel was the right thing to do but it seemed everyone was doing it!

The buffet brekky is incredible, everything you could imagine - including a juice bar! The waffle aka maintenance man was amazing to watch and his waffles were second to none!

We had cocktails by the beach from the 'cocktail van' ask "see" to shake you up a delicious "khao lak breeze" it will make your holiday complete!

The cleanliness and overall friendly staff made this place our top holiday resort, we will be back! Thank you!






Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Have just spent 10 nights at this amazing resort. The service is beyond outstanding and the facility is awesome. Had a deluxe pool room with a swim out bar and met lots of lovely people from all around the world at happy hour each day. The room was fantastic with one if the largest king size beds I have ever seen. The rooms had robes,slippers,thongs,straw hats,beach bags, they had thought of everything. This place would be hard to beat anywhere in the world. Can't thank Miss Kik and her team enough, they are so warm and kind, nothing was ever too much trouble for them. Had a ball Learning Thai Cooking, Towel And Napkin Folding & Fruit Carving and the instructors were so patient and friendly. The food was delicious with 3 restaurants and the service beyond belief. I will definitely be back, was sad to leave. I felt like I was leaving my family behind. I couldn't recommend this venue high enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the location which is amazing. The beach is beautiful and there are an abundance of gorgeous little restaurants on the beach serving fresh lobster, prawns fish, curries etc etc. I was holidaying with my husband and 2 children 6 & 9. We had a pool access suite which was great for the kids there was plenty of room and the bed for the kids was great. Unfortunately the air con is directly over where the kids sleep and was very noisy so we had to turn it off at night which meant waking 3am ish every night sweltering. So the sleep quality was not good. Food in the hotel was average, breakfast was a bit chaotic, always waiting for plates, glasses etc and the selection never varied so we were bored after several mornings. The service generally is also very slow, locals are clearly employed which is as it should be they just need better training to bring the standards up eg plates being removed as you ate etc. The front desk also have very limited English so checking in and out was painful. We arrived at 1.30am and they were clearly unprepared for us arriving, no lights were on and 1.5 hour wait to get the kids bed made up ensued.
Prices both in and out of the hotel were very cheap for drinks and food although the food overall and service was infinitely better outside the hotel. We went to khao lak one night, very easy to get in and okay for a change of scene but we much preferred the atmosphere on the beach outside the hotel.
Top tips
We booked trips from vendors outside the hotel for a good price including our airport transfer home which was 1/3 of the price of the hotel.
Use the massage places on the beach they are cheaper than the hotel and excellent, we tried both.
Sharky's bar for food and drinks is excellent
I would recommend this for a kiddy friendly break. It isn't the right hotel for a couple looking for slick service and romance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

stayed for 8 nights from 21st dec to 29 dec 2013. We appreciated the warm welcome from airport transfer to hotel. we arrived around 11am first day and we were allowed to check in early. our ocean view room wasnt as fantastic as it could have been because there was trees and ugly mangrove project underway. the deluxe suite was very spacious and had many extra toiletries. they also were spare hats, beach towels and a big beach bag which was useful for shopping and the beach.the hotel didnt mind us airing our clothes on the balcony. the pool is very nice and can get busy with families, but there is a separate adult zone which has a spa. the beach coastline looks long and the clear blue is very pretty but be careful about jellyfish. i was unfortunate to have gotten stung so that ended my time in the beach water. also keep in mind thatif you wish to sunbake or use the chairs atthe beach or pool, you may need to adapt to reserving them early on the day, because they get occupied very quickly.

the hotel does like to squeeze extra revenue from their guests. keep in mind that drinks are not included in their included dinners. the costs of drinks were as much or if not more, the cost of dinner and drinks at the local restuarant. the hotel also charges additional housekeeping and take a deposit upfront without notice.

if youre on a budget, then you might want to consider visiting the local bars and restuarants just along the beach. they are much cheaper and the food tastes delicious. we didnt try all but we kept going back to the Cat Restuarant for watermelon shakes and delicious pad tai and club sandwiches.

if youre looking for fun, you can hire a driver for the day and go to phuket for the weekend markets, tiger kingdom, flying hanuman and more. it takes about 1.5hrs to get there, but you get to escape the hustle and bustle of phuket later.there is also the bang niang markets about 10mins away, which are the local markets held sat,mon and wed from 4-7pm. the hotel also does transfers three times a day, to the local khao lak town which has a signifant amount of restuarants and shops.

Room Tip: go pool access room if you like the pool. go villa if you want to be near the beach. room 443 had oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

Beautiful location on the edge of the ocean and a beautifully designed resort, clean with excellent, friendly and obliging staff.
We relaxed on the sun beds under the palms along the beach, enjoyed sunset cocktails, swimming and walking along the beach. Enjoyed the resort pools and drink/snack pool bars, especially as most of the day at least part of them were in the shade. Our massages and gym workouts were most beneficial.
Enjoyed the wide choice of food at the breakfast buffet and for dinner at the Thai "Meals" restaurant at the resort - wonderful service and cheap. Not so impressed with food at the "Sunset" restaurant. Excellent meals and massages also available along the beach.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon,uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for just four nights in mid november before venturing on to Krabi.
Beautiful hotel set on a wonderful beach that you can walk for miles on
Had a top floor room with a great view out over the main pool & immaculate grounds.
Only stayed on b&b basis as we wanted to enjoy the local beach restaurants,of which there are plenty, Sharkys was probably are favourite, visited Boom Boom bar every evening after eating for a relaxing drink right on the sand,beautiful !
Hotel is very family orientated and there are plenty of kids about,however dont let this put you off if you are a couple looking for relaxation (as we were) as there are plenty of quiet spots to be found,
In fact we would not hesitate to come back here again,as we love the tranquility of the area, go and enjoy.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
0.6 mi away
Manathai Khao Lak
Manathai Khao Lak
#3 of 60 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 103 reviews
6.4 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 60 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
0.7 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#6 of 60 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.1 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
2.0 mi away
Kantary Beach
Kantary Beach
#10 of 60 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa

Address: 9/17 Moo 1, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sister resort of Mai Samui Resort & Spa (Opening Q4 2012). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mai Khaolak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.