We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot to relax and unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani to your Saves list
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Min.5 nights & Save
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The perfect spot to relax and unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2014

We also visited The Sands after purchasing a "too good to be true" package voucher. What we found was that The Sands provided everything promised and so much more. Every member of the staff were friendly and welcoming, always with a smile and a greeting. Rooms were spotlessly clean and the food plentiful and delicious. Happy hour (AU$3.50) cocktails were a winner as were the two for one (due to 'low' season) spa treatments. Our daily massage (included in our package) was always amazing, whether under the beach pavilion listening to the waves crashing or in the spa (during the few but inevitable wet monsoon days). We took the option of the 'health walk' with Dom which is 3km down to and through Lamru National Park - well worth the hot, sweaty walk but we were even happier to score a one way lift back to the Resort! There are many other resort activities too - something for everyone, including plenty of options for if the weather is not ideal. Everything promised on the package deal was delivered willingly and happily by the team at The Sands. In the end we did very little sightseeing as we just enjoyed the atmosphere of The Sands so much and it was a wonderful place to rejuvenate and relax. We unwound so much that it felt we were away far longer than 8 days. We travelled as a couple and found The Sands to be very suitable for a romantic getaway. However, the resort is also very family friendly and seems to have plenty of space for everyone to 'do their thing' without any interference to others. Rooms were very quiet too, so we could easily sleep-in, even though there were kids playing in the pool just downstairs from us. We couldn't hear them at all until we opened our balcony door. I also thought it was a really nice touch that the 'Peace Pool' (kids free zone) is child friendly during Happy Hour at the Coconut Bar - best of both worlds! I have to mention the sunsets too - WOW! The Sands is a large resort, so not your thing if you are looking for a grassroots, authentic Thai experience. But for everyone else - you will love it!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with our services and hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    228
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
211
341
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
tweed heads
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

4 of us have just returned from 8 nights at the Sands Khao Lak. This is a beautiful resort right on the beach. Everything was so very clean. The staff were amazing. We had an issue with a leaking shower in one of the rooms so the very next morning we were all upgraded to 2 beautiful rooms right near the beach. The food was great. 2 of the guests had stayed at other hotels in Khao Lak but said The Sands was by far the best.

Room Tip: Rooms closest to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay and enjoyable with our services.

With regards to your remarks, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see all of you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2014

We have just returned from a 13 night summer holiday. When we arrived this was a prefect setting hotel directly on the beach and just what we had imagined and more. The facilities are beautiful and the staff are so helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Our two daughter 8 & 6 made use of the swimming pools, beach, leisure activities & the kids club with Miss Alicia who was brilliant with them. My husband visited the gym on several occasions which was well equipped. There was plenty of choice at breakfast. We ate in both restaurants Talay & Floating Market again the food was very nice. The floating market has BBQ night on Thursday with entertainment which we all enjoyed. Although there is plenty of choice at local restaurants too, our favourite outside the hotel was Smile. We used coconut bar at happy hour, which allowed our daughter to use the adult pool from 4.30 onwards watching the sun set with a cocktail was perfect.

The hotel was in an excellent location for shopping, restaurants and short taxi ride to the local market which is a must see.

Fantastic, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with our services and hope to see all of you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We recently spent a week with our daughter, son in law and 2 beautiful grandchildren. We were thoroughly spoilt. Luxury Deals voucher enabled daily massages, Happy Hour ( half priced cocktails) kids Club, beautiful Gym, Yoga classes, cooking Classes and very helpful staff. The restaurants catered for all tastes, and breakfast was amazing, with choices galore. A fantastic place to go to wind down.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with our services and hope to see all of you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 8 nights at the Sands following stays at Krabi and Phi Phi. The hotel is very modern, probably as a result of the Tsunami but disappointingly doesn't seem to fit too well as a traditional Thai hotel. That said the hotel is very clean, we'll maintained with good quality staff and attention to detail. The hotel's design is peculiar as each room faces away from the sun/ocean. We has adjoining rooms 5115/16 which were Superior with Pool and we're okay but not as salubrious as you would hope for considering the price paid.
Breakfast each day is good although I think the hotel could do more to control flies in the Floating Market. Quite off-putting to see flies landing on the food such as fruit, bread, etc.
We ate in the Talay restaurant as were attracted by the Seafood 'special' but overall food was very average and overly expensive compared to other quality restaurants nearby. The restaurants at the hotel seemed to 'get by' by the vouch urges offered by tour companies rather than their superior quality or affordability so my advice would be to skip the hotel restaurants in favour of some of the very good quality local restaurants within a 5 to 10 min walk of the a Sands. Would definitely recommend The Orchid just outside the hotel for very good quality, affordable Thai food; also Smiles for something a little different from what you expect to find in this part of Thailand.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay and enjoyable time with our services.

With regards to your remarks, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Sands with a luxury escape voucher excellent value.upgraded to a sea view junior suite,well worth it.hotel and staff lovely. Grounds beautifully kept. Our room was always spotless. There were plenty of restaurants to chose from in the Main Street and Pete's bar along the beach was great.They walk you back with a torch if it is dark.
Smiles is worth a visit the food is good and Frank the French guy who runs it is a real character. We were sorry our stay wasn't longer it was so relaxing and pleasant.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with our services and hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

Just returned from the Sands. Had a family room which was smaller than expected but big enough for the 4 of us. Family rooms 6117 - 6121 are good as they are on the ground floor and a few steps to Joy pool. Kids club staff were fantastic and catered for all age ranges - both my children 7 & 11 years enjoyed. Would be even better if they opened at midday on a couple of days and maybe had a movie night or disco in the evening - parents could then enjoy a less hectic meal in the hotel restaurant.

Joy pool was good, but it was low season. I can imagine that it would be extremely busy in the Australian school holidays. The Peace pool was bigger, but despite being told by reception on arrival that the children could use it if they were quiet, you were subjected to abuse from other holiday makers as the hotel had a sign up saying adults only until 4:30. The hotel needs to decide what the policy is and stick to it. I would just say that not all children are noisy and not all of them like swimming where there are water guns / sprays constantly on. The water volleyball should also not be in the Joy pool as this left children nowhere to swim.

The hotel is extremely clean and the restaurant food was good with lots of choice for breakfast. We did find families tended to be seated in the back area unless we requested otherwise (families like to enjoy a nice view too!).

We booked a trip to Khao Sok through Mr Moo (turn right on the beach and walk for 5-10 mins) which was highly recommended and included an overnight stay at the River Lodge.

Overall it was thanks to the wonderful staff that our holiday was so good. All were extremely friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Sachanda, Jom and the lovely lady in the kids club.

We will return!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay and enjoyable with our services.

With regards to your remarks, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see all of you again in the near future.

Once again, thank you very much for your compliment to our service statff as mentioned.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.