We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning, beautiful and such a relaxing stay. We recommend it to all wanting a memorable stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani to your Saves list
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hurry for Best Deal
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, beautiful and such a relaxing stay. We recommend it to all wanting a memorable stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We bought a voucher off Scoopon.com for a five night stay at the Sands, Khao Lak. We didn't know what we were in for at all but by the look of the website we were hopeful and excited. This was our first time in Thailand. Our stay was very comfortable and our room was amazing. Very clean and spacious. We had a ground floor room with access to the swimming pools and recreational areas. We also had daily breakfasts as part of our deal. The restaurant was lovely and open planned so we had a good view of the resort. Unfortunetly being the low season we weren't able to go swimming in the ocean which didn't bother us as the pool was nice and cooling. Shopping was easily accessible. It was only a 5 minute walk into town where there were plenty of shops and different t restaurants. We did book several tours which were based in Phuket. We didn't expect such a trek there but were happy to experience it. We would recommend this resort to anyone wanting more of a relaxed holiday. We would go back there in a heart beat. Everyone was lovely and accommodating and helped us during our stay. Can't wait for our next stay there!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with our services and hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    359
    207
    39
    11
    8
See reviews for
195
296
13
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

Stayed at The Sands in mid July. Very happy with our choice as it was very wet during this time and not much to do in Khoa Lak when raining. The resort offers classes and activities to keep guests occupied and happy while hoping for sunshine. Beautiful resort - pool is really nice and has a very picturesque view of the beach right in front. Close to the main street with restaurants and shops. Food was great everywhere in resort and our favourite are the spring rolls and the crepes at breakfast. Although everything at breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: Pool room is beautiful -worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay and enjoyable time with our services.

With regards to your remarks, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Western, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We stayed here for 10 nights in July. We upgraded to a Junior Suite which was very nice, however the hotel itself i felt lacked that warm feeling and was kind of dull. Perhaps I have been spoiled with other hotels we have stayed at. We had a great time though, Phi Phi Islands and swimming with elephants. The picture you see above here, that is not a pool, it has shrubery in it and fish. We met some people on our travels and 'Indigo Pearl Resort' and 'Beyond Resort, Khao Lak' apparently are amazing. We will be staying at one of those 2 next time we visit. We went as a couple, if you are a family then I am sure you would love it, has Kiddies pools with slides and fun things, icecream section and kiddies corner for play.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite for couples, as they are at the end near the ocean with views. I wouldn't book...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay and enjoyable time with our services.

With regards to your remarks, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

this resort has got a very handy location as you can walk to the village for shops or along the beach for bars and restaurants, the resort is not your normal thai style and the rooms are not overly large but big enough for 2 although all the rooms seemed to smell a bit damp, the breakfast was very extensive and lovely the other restaurant was not as good for meals, staff friendly but did not go out of their way to help

Room Tip: closer to the beach the rooms had a bigger balcony and may have been newer perhaps this would give l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay and enjoyable time with our services.

With regards to your remarks, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

I stayed here after staying at the sister resort in Phuket
It was so far away from Everything and the hotel very modern looking compared to Phuket
Lots of concrete rooms to look at when having breakfast which I didn't like at all
The rooms were lovely the resort itself it great if you want to do nothing but relax ...the area has nothing much to do outside of the resort
The beach I dosnt like and it was rocky , but still had nice sand but no where as beautiful at the sister resort in Phuket .
The breakfast was awesome and faultless it was just the view of the concert rooms I didn't like much especially when they have a restaurant overlooking the beach that would
More suited for breakfast !
Looking a the concrete buildings was like being in Europe somewhere and just didn't fit in for Thailand !
The staff were nice but I did find the reception staff a little rude and not helpful at all, which was disappointing compared to Phuket
It's still a beautiful resort but in the middle if no where ....
To far from Phuket but good if you want peace and quiet ...

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay and enjoyable time with our services.

With regards to your remarks,please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is the second time we have stayed at The Sands and this is still one of the great places to stay in Asia. The location is superb, rooms well equipped, facilities first class and the staff wonderful and anxious to please. From the time you arrive to the time you depart you are made feel special. They appreciate you being there and nothing is too much trouble for all the staff whether it be in the restaurants, massage centre or any of the bars within the resort. The local town provides for eating and shopping outside of the resort so you don't feel compelled to spend all your time simply at The Sands. The local market a couple of kilometres away lets you experience all that Asia has to offer both in cuisine and shopping. Hopefully we can return some time in the future.

Room Tip: Suggest the Junior Seaside rooms a good option which is both close to the ocean and the adult pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with our services and kept coming to visit us for second times.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience and hope to see all of you again in the near future. .

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We took advantage of an internet offer and we were not disappointed. What a beautiful place with wonderful staff, we can not recommend this resort highly enough.
The way the resort is set out with a children's pool separate from the adult pool is a brilliant idea, not that we don't like children but when on holidays it's nice to be able to sit quietly at a swim up bar without being splashed.
The food there is delightful not somewhere to go if your on a weight loss campaign, and the service is genuinely friendly.
Well done to all, we are hoping they make the same offer next year or we may just have to pay full price (which would still be worth every cent).

Keith and Karen,
Adelaide SA

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with our services and hope to see all of you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.