We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solid 4 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani to your Saves list
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
maidstone
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Solid 4 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Stayed at The Sands from 21st April to 5th May. Overall an enjoyable stay. Sadly what would have been an excellent review, was sadly marred by some parents unable to follow clear hotels, do's & don'ts ( ie no children under 12 in peace Pool ),other than that a positive experience. A very clean resort, with manicured gardens. In every area, all the staff i encountered, were cheerful,helpful and friendly.The food was of a good standard and the facilities were more than adequate. Free 24hr internet was a nice touch. A big thank you to Camlong Panyamang, for enabling my request for a ground floor room.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with our services and hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    240
    52
    15
    11
See reviews for
231
370
14
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
central coast australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We are currently staying at the sands khao lak. This is our first trip to Thailand as a family and we picked a winner with this resort. We have been many times to Thailand but this being our first trip with our little one. This resort is perfect for family's with a list of daily activities and plenty of places for the kids to play. It's close to some great restaurants on the main road also. Staff are very friendly which makes for a even better atmosphere highly recommended. We will be back.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 6, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to review on TripAdvisor.com. We are happy that you and family had a relaxing stay with our services and hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellenbrook, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

The Room
We stayed in a Family Room (with two boys 7 and 9) for 10 nights in April this year on a voucher purchased from Deals.com.au. Upon check in we were told that we did not have an upper floor room even though we had purchased the upgrade for this. It turned out no problem as we had one less flight of stairs to climb each day and our position was very close to restaurants and pool. The Family room itself was a fantastic layout with the kids on the sofa/trundle bed separated with a wooden screen when required. The bathroom was beautiful despite some hot/cold water issues and the balcony was large and comfortable with a fan, coffee table and lounge. A second TV in the parents area is needed for evenings when the kids have gone to bed.

The Hotel Pros
-Great Family Room Layout (though the finish is definitely not 5 star but still a solid 4-4.5)
-Air con in rooms very effective
-5 star grounds - beautiful gardens and pools - we loved the large chess board and Petanque game
-Talay Restaurant Delicious food and great kids menu. The Waitress we had there was fantastic with good english.
-Large grassed areas for kicking a ball etc
-Open to the beach (though slightly rocky and debris filled at times)
-Kids Club - playstations, lego etc for our slightly older boys
-Clean rooms - our housekeeper "Nankini?" was very good.
-Breakfast was a fantastic array of choice
-Italian Buffet at the Floating Market - great!

Hotel Con's
-Pool temperature was roasting! Difficult to cool off!
-Pools did not seem to be cleaned regularly which was very evident in the Peace Pool which was full of dirt and sand around the steps (this didnt change in 10 days). The water however felt clean enough.
-No atmosphere around Kid's pool - could reallly benefit from some planned activities/games, and music playing and "Flag Service" for drinks and food poolside - think this will generate more income too.
-Only a handful of staff spoke "good" English. It was difficult to communicate with the staff at thegames room (when internet wasn't working), or with Floating Market Restaurant Staff. One member at the front office and one member at the Talay Restaurant spoke good English. This made it difficult.
-The Games Room was a fantastic facility with table tennis and pool table but for over 12's only! Our 9 year old is a great pool player and was very disappointed when he saw the sign. I understand this for kids who might ruin the playing surface but we felt confident he wouldn't so told him to go ahead and play anyway. He wasn't asked not to play until our last day so we were happy we let him.
Khao Lak Itself
A little isolated but beautiful. Great array of shopping along the main area of "Khao Lak Centre" in Bang La On, but we found it difficult to feed our very Western Children at the restaurants we chose. They ate a lot of Ham and Cheese Toasties!

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at this resort. It has very good "bones" but just needs a few changes here and there to make it really great.

Tip for Massages At The Beach Sala - I had 16 vouchers to use and was advised to book early and ahead or it could be difficult to get in. I booked for each day I was staying and just cancelled or changed where necessary. The ladies were very accomodating.

Room Tip: If staying in a Family Room ask for the ones above the Games Room/Kids Club as you can sit on the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your visit experiences and feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are most welcome and happy to hear that which could be used for guideline to improve our quality of services standard in the future.

With concern to your remarks as the following : -

1 ) Unfortunately, we could not provided you a room on the top floor as required, due to our room situation at that time almost fully booked. However we apologized on this matter and we are happy to hear that you & family were happy with our room provided and had a wonderful time for entire of stay.

2 ) The TV positioning in rooms, we had noted that and taking consideration on this matter for future plan, especially in Family Rooms.

3 ) Hot water in pool, due to our pool concept is out door at the garden area and also now it's hot season, could be effect sometime when getting high temperature, especially during April - May for a few months.

4 ) Pool cleanliness, we apologized on this matter and actually we have regularly cleaning schedule in the morning and evening time. However during pool operation hours, our pool attendants have to pay attention and supervise as well.

5 ) Kids pool atmosphere, we had noted that and taking consideration on this matter for future plan.

6 ) English conversation skill, the hotel has planned to train and refreshment during low season months for our staff.

7 ) Massage at SALA corner, we apologized on this matter, due to that period the hotel almost fully booked and that caused to very difficult to make a reservation. But the hotel has provided the alternative at another corner, just only contact at the hotel front desk.

8 ) Moreover in case you may need to get further information and the resort ideas & concept, we invite to visit the hotel website, It could be found the hotel photos gallery and other necessary information etc.

Hereby, we extremely apologized for any inconvenience caused and unpleasant services which had occurred to you and very appreciate for your compliment our staff who made you enjoyable during stay at our resort.

Anyhow, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see all of you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week and enjoyed the breakfasts and the 3 dinners we ate at the hotel. The evening entertainment was good 2 nights out of 3. The swimming pools, swim up bar and lovely beach were highlights. This is a big hotel but we always found sun loungers and space to sit by the pool or garden.
A wide variety of restaurants, bars and shops are easily accessed on foot along the road at the back of the hotel or the beach at the front. Nevertheless, the hotel itself maintained a sense of seclusion and security. As a holiday experience this must be a 5 stars review although perhaps the hotel is not sufficiently stylish or special to be a 5 star hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for your recent staying at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad that you had an overall relaxing and enjoyable stay with our services and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

However, our hotel is located next to Khao Lak Center where the customers could be walked out only 5 minutes to find the minimarts, convenience store ( Seven / Eleven shop ), banks, local restaurants & bars, drug store and shopping areas etc.

Moreover in case you may need to get further information and the resort idea & concept, we invite to visit the hotel website via www.thesandskhaolak.com which could be found the hotel photos gallery and other necessary information.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or future visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We recently stayed at The SKL for 11 nights with the family with a 17, 15 & 12 yr old and overall we had a great time. The resort accommodated us with two rooms next to each other which made things much easier. All staff were friendly and very polite even the gardeners, the cleaner was exceptional as she was always smiling and working hard all day. We had two standard rooms which were fine and had all the necessities but some maintenance was required. The resort is large and long with nice pools, we were fortunate that our youngest was of the right age to use the peace pool even though there were plenty of kids under 12 in the pool. The peace pool became a peace pool towards the end of our stay as signs were placed around the pool about U12's not allowed. The sea was magnificent and was used to cool down due to the pool heating up to a warm bath on those hot sunny days. The location is fantastic as you can easily walk to the main street and access supermarkets and restaurants or alternatively a 10-15 walk to the town centre. The resort is more suited to families with young children but with the location and facilities it was still a great place stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for your recent staying with your family at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad that you had an enjoyable & relaxing stay with our services and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or future visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

We have recently returned from an eleven night stay at the Sands. Our first impression was that it was a massive resort that has no Thai influence whatsoever, it could have been a resort placed aywhere in the world. Our first room on the ground floor in a junior seaside suite was fine however we had requested a room with a balcony. We were moved to a higher room the next day which had not been cleaned properly, had dirty floors and papers under the bed as well as generally being in bad condition, furniture chipped, marks on walls. We were moved to our final room on the final day on the top floor and finally had a nice room with lovely view near the beach. The reception staff member we dealt with was extremely rude and untruthful during this process and it wasn't until we requested to speak to the manger that this matter was sorted out. I acknowledge that we were in a foreign country but I found the english proficiency terrible, staff members at previous Thai resorts had much better comprehension of engish. It was frustrating commnicating even the simpliest request at times. The main issue with this resort is the other guest staying there it was predominatly families who let their chidren run riot and be disruptive to other guests. This was especially the case at the Peace Pool where dispite there being clear signs indicating that it was a "quite pool" and children under 12 were not permitted selfish parents let their loud children into this pool ruining it for others who wanted a relaxing time.The same occured at breakfast children just ran everywhere and their parents just look the other way taking no responsibility for them. Another negative was despite signs in the room prohibiting beach towels being hung over balconies guest constantly hung them over balconies which gave the resort a cheap holiday camp feel. We never had trouble securing a sun lounge although some people do leave their towels there early in the morning. It can be crowded for sun lounges during the day but generally people are coming and going. The pool is like a big hot bath which was a suprise, the pool tempeture certainly could have been alot cooler given the hot weather. Breakfast at the Floating Market was sufficient and the man (who I have forgotten) his name who greets you and takes you to your table each moring was absolutely lovely and a credit to the Sands. Dinner at Talay was lovely and we ate there on a number of occassions, it is a great place right by the beach to dine for dinner except when parents bring their noisy uncontrollable children to dinner.We also attended the dinner outside the Floating Market for Easter Day which was a fantastic night. The housemaids were wonderful and always so cheerful. Massages at the beach hut were a hit and miss, it really depended who you got and was annoying when you tried to relax and staff members kept talking amongst themselves loudly. The beach directly outside the resort is really not that nice and has rocky parts, it was a bit of a disappointment. The resort itself is relatively new but is already showing signs of wear and tear after a very short period. There were a number of activities you could partake in if you chose to such as morning each run, tennis, water aerobics, thai language class and thai cooking classes which is great if you like those things. This resort is good value for families with kids club facilities and a dedicated children's pool. I personally would not return as I prefer the Kata beach area of Thailand and the other Katathani resorts being The Shore and Katathani Beach Resort (certainly more expensive than The Sands but a better experience). The Kata beach area has more to offer than Khao Lak which I found isolating.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 3, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your visit experiences and feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are most welcome and happy to hear that which could be used for guideline to improve our quality of services standard in the future.

With concern to your remarks as the following : -

1 ) Disturbance noise during breakfast, dinner and peace pool areas. They were children nature and behaviors, sometime beyond our control. However we have not ignore your feedback and experience to try our best to minimize the number of them.

2 ) Hot water in swimming pool, our pool concept is out door at the garden area and also now it's hot season, could be effect sometime when getting high temperature, especially during April - May for a few months.

3 ) The Swimming Pools, the hotel is provided 2 out door swimming pools at the garden as below :-
3.1 ) Joy Pool : The idea & concept is created for families who travelling with kids under 12 years old and they could be relaxing & enjoyable together, around pool area is setting up sun beds as well as this pool is also provided one small slider for kids to get fun.

3.2 ) Peace Pool : It's reserved for adults only or kids above 12 years old as this area needs to be clamed, less noise and provided one swimming up bar for light meals, fast foods and drinks etc.

4 ) The hotel is located next to Khao Lak Center where the customers could be walked out only 5 minutes to find the minimarts, convenience store ( Seven / Eleven shop ), banks, local restaurants & bars, drug store and shopping areas etc.

5 ) Massage Experience as you mentioned that we have already talke to their manager to pay more attention and take immediately action for improvements.

6 ) Moreover in case you may need to get further information and the resort idea & concept, we invite to visit the hotel website via www.thesandskhaolak.com which could be found the hotel photos gallery and other necessary information etc.

Hereby, we're extremely apologized for any inconvenience caused and unpleasant services during stay.

Anyhow, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

We originally booked 8 nights here for two rooms, we arrived at 2pm check in and were told only one of rooms were ready and the other wouldn't be ready until 5.30pm. We decided to go down to the pool area while we waited. Although the reception area was nice, when we explored the resort our hearts sank. Yes we knew it was a new resort but the photos on our travel agents website didn't show it looks like a concrete holiday camp or worse still a prison. Hated the fact kids were segregated in one pool, we have a 17,16 and 9 year old and the youngest is extremely well behaved and quiet, but we were left with no choice but to sit by the kids pool with screaming younger kids. The room that we could get in was very clean but the whole resort lacked anything thai about it. To be honest you could've been in Spain . We walked to the beach and thought we could spend our down time each day here but sadly the beach was pretty non description. Red/black sand, rocky and uninviting.
We checked out before our other room was ready and moved to the marriot which was perfect.
Maybe we have been spoilt in the past we stayed at the meridien 18 months prior and the beach was palm fringed and white sand, just like the marriot.
Although of course these are much more expensive.
This hotel is ideal for families with young children and the staff were fantastic.
It sounds like people have a great time there but it just wasn't for us.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your visit experiences and feedback on TripAdvisor.com. We are most welcome and happy to hear that which could be used for guideline to improve our quality of services standard in the future.

With concern to your remarks as the following : -

1 ) The Swimming Pools , the hotel is provided 2 out door swimming pools at the garden as below :-

1.1 ) Joy Pool : The idea & concept is created for families who travelling with kids under 12 years old and they could be relaxing & enjoyable together, around pool area is setting up sun beds as well as this pool is also provided one small slider for kids to get more fun.

1.2 ) Peace Pool : It's reserved for adults only or kids above 12 years old as this area needs to be clamed, less noise and provided one swimming up bar to serve light meals, fast foods and drinks etc. However we have not ignore your feedback and experience to try our best to maximize our customers satisfaction.

2 ) The hotel is located next to Khao Lak Center where the customers could be walked out only 5 minutes to find the minimarts, convenience store ( Seven / Eleven shop ), banks, local restaurants & bars, drug store and shopping areas etc.

3 ) Moreover in case you may need to get further information and the resort idea & concept, we invite to visit the hotel website which could be found the hotel photos gallery and other necessary information etc.

Anyhow, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.