We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani to your Saves list
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 704 Reviews
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

A beautiful and relaxing place to stay in Khao Lak. We stayed 4 nights; Everything down to the little details was perfect . The staff were lovely and so polite and smiley. Breakfast each morning was delicious with a variety to suit everybody. Bed was so comforfable . Some entertainment at night to watch outside the resturants. My sister got married here and they got so much more than they could hope for from the wonderful staff. Hope to come back here in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or future visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    231
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
213
343
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from 12 days at The Sands and had a great stay again, the first being April last year. The Sands is located on the beach, just a 10 minute walk from the restaurants and shops of Khao Lak. The hotel and grounds are immaculate and the rooms are a good size and comfortable.
Once again we booked a pool access room and it was well worth the extra that we paid. There are plenty of great facilities for children, including indoor and outdoor play areas and 2 pools, one being a covered shallow pool for the younger children. The main infinity pool with the swim up bar is supposed to be a quiet area for adults but sadly parents ignore this, 2 children's pools are clearly not enough for some.
The Floating Market Restaurant is a good size and although the hotel was 80% full, there were always plenty of tables at breakfast. The food was varied and plentiful and nicely cooked, however, we did have an issue with the seafood in the evening buffet being cold. This problem was addressed and improved during our stay. We also ate at the beach front restaurant; the Talay. It serves a variety of seafood and meat dishes that are cooked to order. The food was always very good here and the price reasonable for hotel food, although considerably more than most local restaurants but usually of higher quality.
Although some reviews suggest a lack of sun loungers, we weren't aware of this at all. We never had any
problems finding a lounger and we didn't rush down in the mornings. If you wanted the front beach side row then you would need to take your towels down between 6.30 and 7.00 am but, really? I'm on holiday and can't do the stress! The hotel do say that they move towels when the beds are reserved but I didn't see this happen ever. Incidentally, the only reason I know about this is that we breakfasted early when on day trips.
The beach is a golden sandy beach that goes on forever. We enjoy walking on the beach and we could have gone on for miles. The local beach restaurants that we tried were cheap and the food was enjoyable. Fresh seafood is readily available at some and local Thai dishes are easy to come by.
All in all we had a great holiday and would go back. Just make sure you take an alarm. We asked for a call on the day of departure and our bags collected but we got neither.




Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay with us.

With regards to your remarks which concerning to our services quality, resort facilites and prices, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

While the room was modern and comfortable for the most part, we likely wouldn't stay here again. The hotel was totally lacking in charm and character and with the concrete block design, you could have been at any beach destination in the world. There are vast open spaces on the property that just aren't visually appealling. We had a pool access room, and while we did like the look and design there was a big problem. The room had an extremely strong smell of mould and there was a lot of visible black mould in the shower area. Rather surprising for such a new resort. Odd that one of the hanging lights beside the bed was right in the walking path. Drinks at the pool bar were generally poor and expensive. Breakfast was quite good, staff generally just average. Nice that they have a separate kids pool.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay with us.

With regards to your remarks which concerning to our services quality and hotel products provided, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the near future.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or next visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

We returned to the sands for the second year running and found it a great hotel/resort for our family holiday. As soon as we checked in we began to relax from a hectic year and recharge the batteries.
We stayed in a family room again and the accommodation was great. We enjoyed the position as we could watch the entertainment from our balcony. The staff throughout the resort are friendly and I noticed an improvement in communication with guests from last year. We had a problem with our air con one night and they came immediately and fixed the problem and even though the kids where in bed asleep they worked quickly, quietly and apologetically. I didn't get his name but the man in glasses who had numerous roles including the kids club and speaking at the petanque tournament is a credit to the hotel.
Location great, breakfast good with more than enough choice.
Only issue as mentioned is the sunbed situation but what can be done if inconsiderate guests insist on reserving them and then disappearing for 3 hours at a time. There are sunbeds further away on the grass by the kids pool if needed. Would love to return here again in the future with my family.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay with your family in a family room and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or future visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights at the beginning of our two week holiday and I have to say I wish we had gone back. After staying here it definitely set the standard high, which left us feeling disappointed when we reached
our 2nd hotel in Phuket. The staff were very friendly and helpful and there was always someone on reception to help. The restaurants were good, although a lot more expensive than the restaurants outside of the hotel, but that was too be expected. There was a good selection at the breakfast buffet. The pools were clean and always at a perfect temperature. There was always sunbeds avaliable for the late risers. We didn't travel with children, but the separate kids pool looked nice and the kids there looked happy. The spa was lovely and not very expensive and there was a good selection of restaurants outside of the hotel. The rooms were spacious and clean and for 150 baht the hotel would get a cab for you too take you to khao lak market etc. Would definitely stay again! Thanks for a great stay xxx

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or future visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I concur with many of the other reviews of this resort in that it is very modern, large, visually stunning, not very 'Thai' and not very personal. When we stayed, there was predominantly non-English speaking European guests. It is however in a great location and reasonably priced.

We stayed in a family room and this was perfect for our two boys of 11 and 9. The boys enjoyed playing in the 'Joy' pool with the water jets and water slide.

The location of the hotel is great with a 5 minute walk up the driveway to the main street with the edge of Khao Lak Centre.

We ate breakfast in the resort and enjoyed the buffet selection. While we were there, there was only one night that a band played until about 10 o'clock, but otherwise the resort was extremely quiet at night. We ate most nights at the beach restaurants, 10 minutes walk to the right of the resort watching the sun go down.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 15, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

If I could be of your assistance for further inquiries or future visit, please feel free to contact myself at your convenience.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E-mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I thought this hotel was wonderful. This was our last stop in Thailand for our honeymoon and we stayed there for 5 nights.
The room was nice and quiet (we were in the 3000 rooms) but it was a bit of a walk to the beach and pool. One negative about the room is you could hear the music at night from the scheduled entertainment but it was over by 10pm.

Food:
The breakfast in the morning at The Floating Market had a large variety to choose from and we were pleased with the selections.
We ate dinner one night at The Floating Market when they had a pasta themed night and I was very satisfied. I am sad to say that we didn't enjoy the other restaurant as much and just ended up ordering room service or going to get a pizza up the road. The walk to other restaurants outside of the hotel was manageable but we didn't stray far from the hotel. I suggested getting water and soda from the Melon Mart rather than pay for them at the restaurants.

The pool:
I thought the pool was nice and refreshing. People reserved chairs early in the morning (which you are not supposed to do) but we could always find a place to lay whenever we needed. The poolside cocktails were also a nice touch. I also enjoyed the shallow part of the pool where you could lay but still be in the water.

Other:
The prices for excursions are over priced at the hotel, but that is what you get at a resort. If you walk up from the hotel and across the street, you can get the same excursions for half the price. This is a very kid friendly resort which is a turn off to a couple on their honeymoon but I cannot fault the hotel trying to provide for a wide range of clientele.

Overall I thought this was a great hotel and would consider staying at other hotels by Katathani.

Room Tip: The closer to the pool, the noisier it will be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear sir / madam,

Sawasdee & Greeting from The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Thank you very much for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, with regards to your remarks about noisy from in-house music, please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the future.


We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.


With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Chamlong Panyamang
Resident Manager
E - mail : residentmanager@thesandskhaolak.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.