We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but average room finishings” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani to your Saves list
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice but average room finishings”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. First impression - NICE! The lobby is nice and the resort is huge! Alot of space and area. I stayed close to the new year period so i believe it must be quite full. However, due to the amount of space - I don't feel that it is very crowded at all.

Check in was a breeze. Easy. We booked the 2 bedroom suite. Hmm a little let down as the living area ia tiny! Bedroom is rather decent. Toilet is HUGE! We have a BIG jacuzzi. Balcony is large as well. 1 bathroom for each room. Living area has a dinning table and 4 chairs. No tv area in the living room. Not even a phone! There are 2 tv but they are in the rooms. Can't watch since my baby is napping in the room.

One problem is that there are loads of insects. Hence, please do not leave the door wide open. There are many mosquito and huge insects.

Finishings in the rooms ain't good. The drawers in the cupboards are quite hard to open. Bed is ok but not soft enough for my liking. Cot is a decent size.

Seaview in the 2 bedrooms suites - BEAUTIFUL.

Khaolak sea is quite nice. Rather Quiet and clean.

There are only 2 public pools. 1 for kids - with water slides. The other is a "quiet pool" Not suppose to have screaming kids. The other pools are for the pool-access rooms. Not for the rest of the rooms.

Mini bar is empty. You can stock it up at the mini mart - which is good as you can decide what you want and the price is not too expensive.

Food at the resort is rather reasonable. Though you can still walk out to restaurants. Walk out is about 5-10mins walk out from the lobby.

Resort is very child friendly. There is a nice kid's room with loads of toys and dvds for kids. They have activities for kids as well. Face-painting, colouring, etc.

Overall a nice resort. I probably will come back again. Nice surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

887 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    284
    61
    18
    12
See reviews for
267
441
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This resort is calm peaceful and just the place to chill out away from the hustle bustle. Went with family group and the children had a ball in the pool and the hotel put on a great Christmas show.
The staff were very pleasant and helpful. The accommodation was exceptional and we were offered an upgrade during out stay. There were some nice restaurants just outside hotel, although not as many as the area where the Marriot Khao Lak is located.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms had a pool running past the back door. Jump straight in. The sea view rooms are gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We are in 5209 and are told the whole entire resort only has single beds which they push together to make a "king". We find it very hard to believe and are most unimpressed considering the amount of money we are paying to stay here. There is an obvious divide in the two beds when you are in bed because each single sinks in a bit. disappointed. If you are staying for a romantic holiday we would highly recommend another hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

After reading previous mixed reviews on TA, was a little apprehensive about our Christmas visit.
However, have to say..... a very nice, modern, comfortable hotel! Yes, there are a few areas where it looks as though the hotel was finished in hurry, but nothing too drastic to impact, purely cosmetics!! They are still adding finishing touches, so I am sure the final result will be great.

Perfect location on a fabulous beach, with lots of restaurants to eat at, whether beachside or a short walk up into the town area.Long main road which has lots of shops, supermarkets, bars and restaurants...you certainly would not go hungry!
Room was very nice, spacious, comfortable and clean. Gardens are immaculate, and well tended. Lots of sunbeds and parasols around the pool areas, and guys ready to help you get settled for the day!

Staff we encountered were very friendly, polite and helpful. We were B&B basis, breakfast was the usual choices ranging from cereals, fruit,pastries, curries.... etc etc.etc... and very nice.We did not eat at the hotel other than breakfast, so cannot comment on the other restaurants.

All in all, a very nice new hotel. Only one gripe......yes the "Quiet, Adult area" was taken over at times by children, even though they have a huge pool with slide, fountains, inflatables etc to play with...shame!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

The hotel is refreshing modern which is a take away from other Phuket 4/5 star hotels. The grounds were lovely, but the buildings and rooms suffered from poor workmanship despite being quite new. The staff is kind and courteous which is standard for Thailand.

The seafood restaurant on the beach was not very inviting for dinner --- poor lighting (too strong) and plastic covered menus. The breakfast was fine, but the dining area was very loud as there were swarms of hotel guests.

The pools were lovely, but the concept of a peace pool does not work as there were loads of very small children in the peace pool despite having a lovely 'joy' pool just a few meters away.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay but concurred that it is very difficult to maintain a 5 star rating while catering to the masses.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a two week stay which took in both Christmas and New Year. The hotel is in a great location with several restaurants and shops at the end of the drive to the right, and nearby beach shacks for lunch. You could easily stay in the resort and not go exploring as there are onsite restaurants and several activities organised daily. The New Year Gala dinner was very well organised with an amazing selection of food all beautifully displayed. The shows, elephants and kids attractions truly made it a night to remember.
We stayed in a seaview junior suite and were very impressed with the in room amenities and the standard of housekeeping. The free water was much appreciated. The buffet breakfast has a massive range of food and the chef soon knew our regular order! All the staff were very polite, and couldn't do enough for you, including the beach/ garden guys who seemed to magic up beach chairs whenever they were needed due to some inconsiderate guests reserving them before the crack of dawn, then not turning up till lunch time to use them. We booked three excursions through the hotel our desk with Green Andaman travel ( see separate review) and charged them to our bill. We hired a scooter locally at Lees for 250 baht for one day so went up to takua pa town. Overall we were very happy with our stay and would definitely recommend The Sands as a place to stay whether you want relaxation, activities and mostly because of its location.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My partner and I stayed for a week in late November. Overall the hotel was great and we loved it. Our room (6101) was on the ground floor adjacent to the restaurant. We had a few problems with our shower overflowing each time we showered. This meant we used every single towel we had to mop it up and then had to ring each and every time for more towels. Also our power went out at least 4 times which meant that we had to wait for maintenance crews to come and fix it which took ages because it first had to be checked by room staff who then rang for maintenance staff. In saying all this, whilst annoying, we were offered another room on the 1st floor but we much preferred the position of the room we were in so just put up with the inconvenience. We certainly weren't looking to pack up all our stuff to move.The grounds were kept immaculate, the staff were gorgeous and the breakfast was scrumptious.I would think that instead of the huge pond/lake filled with fish that it would have been better to have at least one other swimming pool. The 2 pools that they have, are probably not enough for such a big resort, especially in peak times.
So, would I come agin???…. maybe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.