We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to see you all again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani to your Saves list
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Min.5 nights & Save
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great to see you all again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

After a wonderful time spent in May with my sister, I was looking forward to going back to the Sands and share the experience with my family in September. They all enjoyed a wonderful and relaxing stay. Being my second time at the resort, we were greeted with personal message and most of the staff whom I had contact with the first time, recognised me and cordially welcomed my family and made us feel very special. Thank you again to you all for an excellent stay at your beautiful and very well managed resort! We'll be missing your smile, your kindness, your culture and your delicious food until next time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    228
    45
    14
    10
See reviews for
211
341
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Our family of 4 stayed in a family room for 7 nights. It was rainy season but we got lucky as it only rained once for a few minutes .

After having previously stayed in phuket this was indeed a pleasant surprise . The sands and khao lak itself were everything we were after. From the moment we arrived the laid back and friendly vibe sucked us in. The kids loved the pool, the kids club ( thank you armelio) , the fish feeding. The breakfast was superb and drinks and food at the resort were very reasonably priced.

We ate out every night - there are so many great restaurants within walking distance either in town or to the right on the beachfront.

It is set up well so the families are in one section and the non kids have the quiet zone near the beach which keeps everyone happy. We made sure we respected this and kept our kids in the kids pool.

To finish up we went on a two day jungle adventure to khao sok which was amazing . We used Lora from Dior travel in bang Niang ( near the markets ) and would highly recommend her. We also got our laundry done in town near McDonald's for 150 baht For a large bag.

We would definitely recommend the sands

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your recent staying with us at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani. We are very glad you had an enjoyable stay and will gladly welcome you back on another occasion.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

A big thank you to all the resort staff, everyone friendly and always with a smile. Loved every second of my 8 night stay. It was my third visit to Thailand and first to Khao Lak. I don't know why I haven't been to this part of Thailand before! I stayed with my boyfriend in a seaside junior suite. We found the resort big enough to cater for all different types of traveling groups so as a couple we didn't feel like children were all around. Unfortunately, and no fault to the resort staff, some parents let little children play in the peace pool and let their children muck around with the outdoor chess. We were often heartbroken at unsupervised children destroying the chess pieces. The resort's location is fantastic, you are in walking distance to the Main Street and we walked down the beach to local bungalow restaurants like Jim Restaurant. The Main Street caters for tourists without encroaching the local way of life. No busy busy feeling and a local supermarket near by. Although there is a minimart within the resort grounds. There is a local market about 3km away, not all nights of the week so check days, but take a taxi as that stretch of road has no footpaths. We loved the Talay restaurant at the resort, the gym was inviting and clean, we loved the fish feeding and daily activities. Daily breakfast had a huge variety and we always ate too much. They have daily rotations for some dishes so always something new. The room was spacious and comfortable. Our bed was huge! The aircon was a little noisy at night but it didn't bother my boyfriend. And included with our package were 16 massage vouchers by the ocean view massage beds. Great!!!! So all in all I highly recommended this resort, I'll let all my family and friends know about it and I can't wait to return on my next visit to Thailand. Khao lak is an area of natural beauty and we found the khao sok national park near by good for walking trails.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013 via mobile

To start with, I want everyone to know that this review will be critical but with a happy ending.

Firstly when you arrive at The Sands you will be greeted with a very sterile environment. This would be due to the age of the Resort only being not even 12 months old. It still has a way to go to build its own character. The infant trees and grounds give the resort a slight bare appearance coupled with the extremely bland colour of the buildings, the site does not warm to the heart straight away.

I liked the idea of a children's pool (Joy Pool) and the Adult Pool(Peace Pool) with swim up bar but as we found on several occasions a lot of parents broke this rule and allowed their kids to not only play in the pool but also sit up at the bar. This was quite annoying as it meant adults missed out during happy hour at sitting at the swim up bar. I think a lot of adults would have appreciated if the bar staff were to ensure especially at happy hour that the pool was child free. Something for management to think about as I know of several people after that first encounter, like us went to one of the local bars in the afternoon instead. Out of 8 days we only went to the pool bar for happy hour once. That first time with all the kids there was enough!

Now for the happy ending. The location of the resort is perfect being only 500 metres from the main road and centre of Khao Lak. The restaurants provide a good selection of foods for all appetites at extremely good prices.

Coffee machines at breakfast provide fresh coffee at no extra charge and the variety of food for breaky it great.

The rooms are great no matter what type you booked however after our disappointing episode at the Peace Pool I think next year we will go for a room with its own pool.

We have stayed at the sister resort, the Katathani four times now and thought the change to this resort would be a good change which it has been.

Although I rate this resort as a 3/5 don't take this as a mediocre result as we will defiantly come back next year. For a new resort I see nothing but potential to improve. Just enforce the no kids in the adult pool especially at Happy Hour and you might have some more very appreciative adults.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had an overall relaxing stay with us.

About your remarks concerning The Joy Pool and The Peace Pool please be assured that it has been noted by management and will be taken into consideration for future improvements. Thank you very much for bringing up this points to our attention and we very much hope to see you again in the future.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This was our 8th time to Thailand and this was our second time in Khao Lak. I can honestly say that The Sands made our holiday. The hotel was modern and very comfortable and the staff were wonderful and so helpful. We had upgraded to a seaside junior suite and had asked for a high floor (which we got). The room was amazing and the view of the sea excellent. After a day either out or on the beach, we sat on the balcony enjoying the sea view. We ate at the Talay restaurant on our last night and the food was excellent and again not expensive by English standards. We appreciated the fact that there was a pool for children and a quiet pool as they could be quite noisy.

Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. Beach towels were provided in the room and replaced on a regular basis. The room was always clean and always replenished with towels and toiletries.

The security guard was always looking out for people swimming in the sea as it was quite rough with big waves. He also was always on hand to open our parasols etc.

Check in and out went very smoothly and someone came out to have a chat with us whilst we were waiting to be picked up to go to the airport. Some of the staff waved us goodbye and wished us a safe trip asking us to come back.

I certainly would recommend The Sands. Well done to the management and the staff.

Room Tip: Try a higher floor for a better view - if you want a quiet room ask for one away from the kids pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Sands is a lovely resort in Khao Lak. Although, the town itself doesn't have much going on, if you want a relaxing quiet holiday The Sands is the place to do it. On our arrival I had gastro and spent the day in bed. I called reception to organise a doctor. The resort drove me to the doctors and the next day gave me a flower basket, which was a very nice gesture. The restaurants are very nice with a wide range of cuisines to meet everyone's needs. If we return to Thailand we would definitely come back to this resort.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milton keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Don't hesitate to stay here, the hotel/resort is amazing!

We arrived after an hours drive from Phuket airport and greeted with smiles and a drink by the reception team. We checked in with full details about the resort being given including maps and a resort timetable of events.
We were taken to our room which was a Sea View Junior Suite. We were shown the functions of the room and left to savour it. We loved it! Great size, wonderful bathroom with large tub and rainfall shower. Only very minor downside was the TV, not a great view from the bed. The bed...MASSIVE! Very comfy and not one bad night sleep. There is a sofa in the lounge area and another sofa on the balconny so lots of places to sit and relax. The balcony railing is glass so no obstructions with the view. Flip flops, room slippers and bath robes are in the room as is a safe, umbrella, iron and iron board and bathroom minatures (shampoo etc.) A very happy and enjoyable 8 night stay.

There are two pools, a peace pool and joy pool. The peace pool is large and has a pool bar and offers great views from the pool out to the ocean. Lots of space to sunbath and relax with pool towles provided daily in your room. On one occassion there was kids being loud in the peace pool but the parents were kindly asked by a caretaker to enjoy the joy pool are lower the noise in the peace pool.

The grounds are very well kept and home trees and plants. The lake is home to fish which are feed twice daily which is fun to watch.
We dined in the Floating Market and Talay and found the food to be excellent both at lunch and dinner with cost being very good (starters and main in Floating Market with drinks being around £25 for two!!). Lunch in Talay being around £5 each! Amazing value for a 5 star resort.
Breakfast daily was plentiful and varied. No problem getting your own coffee and given a wide choice.
We had spa treatments which was needed and not regreted! Great techniques and very relaxing in a nice environment. Prices again very good for a 5 star. We also had a beach side massage for an hour each at only £9!! Very relaxing being massaged and listening to the waves.
There is a little mini mart for essential purchases as well as snacks and drinks which is ideal for filling your own in room fidge with.
There are a number of daily activites and most free. My partner loved the Tahi boxing classes. The gym is well equipped and the activty room great on a rainy day.

The beach is well maintained and clean (would see the staff each morning going along the beach picking up any washed up debris) and very long each way so great for a stroll.
The resort is only a 5 minute walk from the hotel, once there you will find plenty of local restaurants (dare I say it a McDonalds!) and a number of shops and a few bars.
Laid back resort with enough to do.

Really could go on as is a fantastic resort but want to end with how fantastic the hotel staff are. Did not fault one member, exceptional and outstanding. Nothing was to much or little and always without fail and done with a smile. Where ever you go you are always greeted Thai style (hand togther and bow of the head) and it is always geniune. English is good, no struggles at all.The staff at the Sands make the Sands!
(thank you for the animals made of towles, we loved it!)

Would go back without hesitation. Very relaxing and enjoyable...no faults here.

Room Tip: Room close to the beach (we were 1203 second floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Secretary to Hotel Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Dear valued guests,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are happy that you had a relaxing stay with us and hope to see you again in the future.

With warm regards from Khao Lak,

Gammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.