We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Sands” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Save Saved
You added The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
THB2,750 (THB)
Ranked #16 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“The Sands”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Just come back from an 11 night stay here. If you are after a peaceful, quiet and relaxing holiday then this is the place. Khao Lak is a small town with plenty of restaurants ranging from little shacks to big eateries.
The hotel is stunning, still very new but never the less stunning. We had a pool access junior suite. Very modern with a great pool. There are plenty of sun beds to choose from and the pools are great!!
The hotel restaurants are very good a little samey but I think the staff more than make up for this, they just can't seem to do enough for you. We were half board so were able to spend our money outside of the hotel and put a little back into the community.
Can't comment on the hotel spa as we chose to go in to town for our massages, although the hotel massage girls were always busy!
You will need a good mozi spray but this is to be expected in a tropical country.
We loved The Sands it was a totally relaxing easy holiday. The only negative we had was that the drinks are a little pricey.
This is a stunning location and despite what other people have said about The Sands, it is well presented, modern, clean, friendly and a perfect place to relax.

I would like to say once more how great the staff are. For a very young, new staff they have all achieved an excellent work ethic!

Room Tip: Junior suite with pool access are great!! Very spacious and modern
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear ishaw,

It’s great to hear you enjoyed your stay! We are always happy to receive such a great feedback and always striving to improve. Please be assured that we will also consider your comments about our Food and Beverage and we do look forward on welcoming you back to the Sands Khao Lak in the future.

Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

591 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    332
    202
    38
    11
    8
See reviews for
182
280
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was my first disappointing experience in Thailand and first experience in Khao Lak, whatever you read negative in the other reviews is all true, to tell that staff is unfriendly would be incorrect the staff is indifferent to the guests, there is no one to greet you in the morning for breakfast and it’s literally self-service even coffee you have to get it yourself, there is no food in the pool bar after 4.30pm, so please help yourself in the restaurant or room service. Even the kids club closes at 5PM, so kids loose access to the playground slides cause access is through the kids club. The dinner sometimes takes hours to be served and no excuses are given, staff makes you feel like you created a problem for them with your orders.
At the checking in staff insisted to swap the room that we have booked, many reviews suggest it’s standard for this hotel, we refused to change the room anyway. As we checked in the room was totally not ready and was dirty.
There are lots of European people in the hotel from well-established countries - I guess, but I rarely seen kids wearing swimming diapers in the pool, as a result you have poo swimming alongside. GENERA L HEALTH WARNING PEOPLE PUT DIAPERS ON YOUR BABIES AT ALL TIMES WHILE THEY ARE IN THE POOL!
It seemed like the hotel was seriously understaffed even it was a peak season and peak season prices but even beach towels you have to carry around all the time , there is no usual towel booth, and to get a new towel in the morning you have to look for a room service car and get it from them.
I don’t really care what managers got to say on this review, but it seems like there are lots of happy guests, and my negative experience is not really negative for them. As for me I ended up in the wrong place where I had to spend my long awaited vacation with a big regret.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear temoha,

Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. Please be assured that your comments have been passed on to the management and will be considered for future trainings and regulations. Let me clarify some of the points you mentioned in the review to other readers. Firstly, there are two types of coffees in the restaurant, the normal black coffee is served at the table by our staff and there is a coffee machine which offers espresso and cappuccino for our guests who wish to have more variety. In addition, the operation hours of the kid’s club were set according to our historical records of use. Please note that for safety reason we are unable to open the playground to children without our staff supervision. Upon arrival the family room that you booked was not yet ready; thus to avoid any waiting time we offered you to stay in a different room. We are sorry if our offer has discomforted you. Thank you for your comment regarding the baby diaper. We will attempt our best to encourage the guests to adhere to this regulation. Please note however that our pool team cleans the pool on a daily basis and we never had any comments from other guests regarding the hygienic issue as you mentioned. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and my apologies for not having met your expectations.

Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Spent 12 nights here in a pool access junior suite in April/May on a bed & breakfast deal, and we did enjoy it. I do agree with most of the previous reviews regarding the rooms - nicely designed but a bit poorly finished. Breakfast was what you would expect. Great pools, with plenty of sun beds. Wonderful staff. The one evening meal we had in the restaurant was a BBQ night dinner, advertised as " the finest meat cuts, served along side traditional sauces and salads fron across the kingdom", well this was without doubt the worst meal we had on this trip to Thailand, in fact it was probably the worst meal we have ever had in 10 Thailand trips ! -( and we were not alone in thinking this way). The good news is there are plenty of good restaurants up in the town where we never had a bad meal, despite several of the places we tried having quite poor reviews on TA.
During a heavy thunderstorm one day we had water pouring through a light fitting and down the inside of our room walls( we were at the end of the block), but staff were soon there and had us in another room, along the row, in minutes. Methinks the snagging list will get considerably longer as the monsoon season kicks in.
To summarise, - we did have a great time here. It is not very Thai in style, but is well designed. I do think that the whole build was finished in a rush, and there are problems to come as a consequence. There are plenty of eating options outside the hotel, including beach bars off to the
right as you go onto the beach. Loved the pools ! Take the breakfast, but then eat out.
Another point is that Katathani are currently developing the old Andaburi resort, which is between the Sands and the road, and this is to be a "luxury, budget resort" ,whatever that is, and this is to open Nov '13. A lot of the Andaburi staff are currently working/training at the Sands.
Would return to Khao Lak, but would probably give The Sands a few seasons to sort itself out.

Room Tip: Pool access junior suites are great, but have a good quality mozzie spray handy when you go out to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Girston,

It’s good to hear you’ve enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and we appreciate your feedback on TripAdvisor. Our apologies that the BBQ night did not meet your expectations and we have already passed on your review to our kitchen. Concerning the problems you have been facing in your room, we have already renovated and are convinced this incident will not occur again.
As you mentioned, the formerly Andaburi Resort is currently undergoing a complete renovation and expansion and will become our Budget Resort “The Leaf”. You may find more information on our website.
We hope to welcome you back soon at the Sands Khao Lak.

With warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We stayed at The Sands Resort 25 April 2013 on a My Deal $999 8 night special offer including a Junior Suite plus other incentives breakfasts dinners vouchers for spa ect. This was an excellent price which was far less than what the Deal was saying it was worbth over $3000. It was not worth that price although maybe worth a little more than we paid.

The Resort is new the suites are really lovely all modern plenty of wardrobe and drawer space the balcony was large and had glass around it and there was a lounger on the balcony very comfortable. The view was to the Ocean and over the pool just lovely. At night it was lots of lights on the trees ect which was very pretty. The pools were shallow approx 4ft 6inc deep no deep end. Pool bar in one which was for adults only having said that there were a few children there at Happy hour which was ok as the parents kept them under control so not too much noise.
The childrens pool was well equipped and although not far from the other pool we didn't seem to hear any noise from there and there were quite a few kids there. The Kids club looked good and from what I am told it worked well. Children under 4 were not allowed to stay in there unaccompanied. Games room and Gym well equipped.

The Spa was good for treatments full three hours approx BHT4500 but you could put some of your vouchers off it therefore it came down to $125 which is the price of one hour facial in Australia. Well worth it.

Breakfast was ok could have done with a few changes maybe added baked beans mushrooms to the menu just a little more variety would be good but otherwise it was good especiall having the coffee making machine with really good tasting coffee. All meals we had in the two restaurants were very nice. Alcohol was reasonable happy hour Bht all drinks including cocktails Bht 90 Normal prices Bht95 beer Bht 180 cocktail.

The beach was nice turn right and the first set of loungers and bar you come to has a masseus Bht400 oil massage and they were very good. If only one lady there and there are two of you dont be put off go along and she will be on her mobile and quick as a flash the other lady will be there.

Khoa Lak was not a holiday place only a few shops with same same in lots of restaurants but the town (if you can call it that) had no atmosphere. If you turn right (not left that was from the old entrance a new one now opened) out of the hotel entrance right and 50mts along a little cafe callled the Orchid fresh food cooked in the wok in front of you and at Thai prices eg Bht40 main dish and the lady does a lovely Pad THai and Penang Curry in fact every thing we ate there was good. You can buy your beer ect from the super Market Bht35 or buy them in the hotel shop bht50 Wine Jacobs Creek in the Super Market Bht595 cheapest you will find of Aussie Wine but there are some cheaper of other wine.

Good place to chill out we will definately go there again if we want to wind down. All the staff were lovely a smile and nothing was too much trouble.

Room Tip: We prefer second floor or highest 3rd floor more privacy also junior suites nearer the ocean rooms 1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear candy1Perth,

We are delighted to read your excellent review on TripAdvisor. Please be assured that we will inform the kitchen about your feedback and maybe during your next trip to Khao Lak we can surprise you with some more variety at breakfast. Khao Lak is off the hustle and bustle of a city life, which is the perfect place for a relaxing holiday. You may also check for our packages staying in both Katathani Phuket Beach Resort and The Sands by Katathani, to experience both adventure and relaxation. We look forward to welcome you back on your next trip to Thailand.

Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Sands was one of the most comfortable hotels we've stayed at. We stayed over the Easter period and feared that the hotel would be crowded but we were very pleasantly surprised, there was never a queue in the dining room and there were plenty of sun beds available. The standard Sands rooms were spacious and very clean but we upgraded to the pool access room, which was very similar but a little larger and had access to a 100m infinity pool shared between 16 rooms. Travelling as a couple it was very nice to have this as a mainly adult facility, as we were told that they try to keep the families separate. The Talay Restaurant served excellent food at a reasonable price and right next to the beach. We also went to the Floating Market for their Thai night buffet, which was also delicious and reasonably priced. In fact, we found the hotel reasonably priced for everything, including the excursions. The staff were very friendly and welcoming and the service that we received was excellent. The local town is a 5 minute walk up the drive to the hotel and has a great variety of good restaurants and shops.
We make it a point not to return to a resort or hotel but we're making an exception with the Sands because we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Customer Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Sue D,

We are happy to read your great feedback on TripAdvisor and delighted that you are willing to break your rules for us. We surely look forward to welcoming you back again to Khao Lak on your next visit.

Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed 8 nights in this new Resort, we stayed in a pool access room, and it was a very relaxing stay. Khao Lak is a quite area and the Resort is close to Khao Lak town centre, about 10 mins walk.

Part of our holiday package was 16 half hour massage at the Resort, I used them twice a day and was lucky to have the same lady every time and she was very good. Also we had 2 free dinners which we used at the Talay restaurant and the meals very great.

We only ate at Talay restaurant, close to the beach, for lunch and dinner and must say that all the staff there very good and an asset to The Sands.

This Resort is great for families with kids, great value for money and also there is a lot of activities for them. There is also a kids pool and a kids club. If you want a relaxing time, great place for that.

Only thing that we were disappointed with was the management, or the lack of senior management. I saw the second in charge quite a few times either at breakfast or lunch and I even spoke to her on one occasion. She was not interested in talking to any of the guests, which I find very unusual as in most Resorts that we stay even the General Manager makes an effort to speak to some of the guests.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Customer Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear suekunda,

Thank you for your great feedback about our hotel and services on TripAdvisor. We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry if you experienced any inconvenience and will surely strive on improving all our services to make your next visit even more memorable.

Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

My 5 days stay at The Sands Kaolak was unforgettable. They gave me and friends a lot of activities such as Yoga class, walking exercise by the sea, cocktail class. Every staffs at hotel are always very helpful, polite, and friendly. The room (JR. pool access) is clean, functional, and relax. I definitely recommended this hotel for your choice of accommodation at Kaolak ;)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Customer Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 10, 2013
Dear Jean_denim,

It’s great to hear that you and your friends enjoyed your stay here at the Sands and we appreciate your great feedback on TripAdvisor. We look forward to hosting you and your friends again on your next journey to Khao Lak and will surely be ready to entertain you with our activities.

Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.