We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful break” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani to your Saves list
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful break”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I stayed at The Sands last week for a couple of nights with a group of friends and it was a lovely break. I was instantly impressed with the accommodation, facilitles and the very friendly staff. I stayed in a junior suite room which had pool access. The views were amazing and my friends and I had rooms next door to each other so it was a real luxury to just step out of bed and meet in the pool.

The beach there is also perfect and never seemed over crowded. I ate in both the Floating Market and the Talay restaurant. The food was beautiful and service faultless. I don't have kids of my own but noticed a very fun looking kids room which means mums and dads can have a bit of time on their own. I actually wanted to go in myself. Clay model painting anyone?!

Would definitley recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The junior suites have pool access which is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Mel H, we are happy to read your great review on TripAvdisor. Thank you for the great feedback about our Pool Access Suite and it’s really good to hear you and your friends could enjoy our facilities. In any case, we look forward to welcoming you and your friends back to the Sands Khao Lak whenever your travels bring you back to Thailand. Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    278
    62
    16
    12
See reviews for
264
431
15
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sthlm
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I spent 7 nights at the hotel with my son.
It did not begin well: since we knew there are ongoing building works, we booked a room at "seaside" - through those rooms were already done. But the hotel gave us a room with a view over a dirty "lagoon" on one side and a tip on the other, third building from the sea. Did not pack up, just went to the reception, there the hotel claimed that we booked a "family room", not a "seaside". When we showed the voucher, then the hotel immediately changed foot and claimed that our room was "seaside". The agent (Fritidsresor) first agreed that it is "seaside", but after coming up to the room admitted that it is not. But also claimed that there are no "seaside" rooms to give us, although the hotel was less than 50% busy. Then we had to chase the agent the day after, going to an other hotel, waiting auntil he finished his doings there - because he did not want to come to our hotel. After a lots of discussions he promised to pay back the additional money we paid for "seaside". No compensation for the hassle offered.
So I told our story here on Tripadvisors forum.
The day after, the manager lady of the hotel asked us for a meeting, there she offered to move us to "seaside" room (which according to the agent did not exist), also offered 2 dinners as compensation for the hassle. She also claimed that the agent booked us for the wrong room, the hotel only gave us what the agent booked. She did not provide any evidence for this claim, but of course it is very possible that the mistake was on the agent - but we as guest have nothing to do with that. The hotel and the agent should have cleared it up on their own, without ANY hassle for us! It would have been so much cheaper and easier to give us the room we booked instead of this pointing to each other!

Other negative points: the workmanship of the building is very poor. I.e. the chalk was already looted out from the grouting of the tiles in the bathroom, broken tiles in corners, poor choice of material. A little IKEA feeling - not classy at all.

The breakfast buffet is not very well organised, there will be problems when the hotel will be filled with guests.

Communication with the stuff was sometime difficult, there is a clear lack of language skills.

The beach in front of the hotel is full with building debris on a band of 5 - 6 meters in the water. Not that nice to get trough that. Better to go a little bit aside from the hotel, the beach is loooong...
Those 50-60 sun chairs will not be enough for all guests when the hotel will be fully covered. And the German tourists do as they use to everywhere: they go out in the morning to put their towels on the best placed chairs - and sometimes they don't even turn up all they, just reserve the places for them self.

The tennis court is not ready yet.

END OF NEGATIVES.

The positive side:
Spatiouse rooms.
The hotel is clean, and well kept. Less bugs then you'd expect, almost no flies, hardly any mosquitoes.
The pool is GREAT !!!
The gym is very good.
Security guards are visible - but not interfering with the guest, just politely saying "hello".
The breakfast buffet is sufficient foodwise.

But the most important positive point that actually balances the startup-problems and even turns the whole picture to positive:
The staff is extremely friendly, polite, helpful and welcoming! Everywhere, everytime! We also found them very reliable.

This marvelous staff makes me to RECOMMEND this hotel in spite of the shortcomings I mentioned above. Some of those shortcomings will surely be worked out soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, General Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your review and your kind recommendation on our resort. We kindly seek your understanding that we assigned you to the room according to the booking received. We did our best to contact the travel agency’s representative to rectify the problem; however it took us longer than expected to get their reply. Now the tour company has corrected their system to avoid any similar problem in the future. Regarding the beach, we have done a big beach cleaning and set up a normal cleaning schedule twice a week. Nevertheless, we are thankful for your kind words regarding our facilities and staff. We hope to welcome you and your son back to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viborg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

After some trouble with another hotel in the area which wasn't finished yet, we were so lucky to be rebooked to this hotel. Of course we had our doubts as this hotel wasn't finished either, but to our luck this was no trouble for us at all. We had an excellent junior suite with a nice view to the pool area and a bit of the sea. Our stay was absolutely excellent - the staff was extremely helpful in just about all matters. Even though I came to the reception with a power cable for my laptop, which didn't fit the normal adaptors, they took the cable with them to try in some of the local shops to check if they could find something. It wasn't possible though, I should have brought another one with instead of one with a special ground on it - but the point is, it was all done with a smile - very pleasant and very professional.

This is a brand new hotel, and of course it has some "child disease" but that's how it is with all new things. If the hotel had been 100% up and running, I would give it a 5 star rating - but I absolutely recommend it.

We spend 2 weeks in room 1219 - and we can look back on a honeymoon which was absolutely delightful and we wished we could have stayed here even more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Havsgaard, thank you for your great review on TripAdvisor, it’s great to hear that we had chance to improve your holiday. We’d be delighted to see you again at your anniversary should you plan another trip to Khao Lak. With warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A massive thank you to all the team for such a specail stay. Everything from the stunning room, to the beautiful setting, to the impeccable service was faultless. We certainly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet retreat.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear JBrowny, we are delighted to see your great review on TripAdvisor. Should your travels ever bring you back to Khao Lak, we are more than happy to host you again at the Sands. Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

My family and I stayed here for two weeks. The dedicated family rooms are really roomy and cleverly designed allowing us to have enough privacy. Add to this the kids facilities - we used the Kids club a few times and the children loved the pool with the slide - hours of fun! Its one of the best holidays we have ever had. The location is great, walking distance to the local shops, restaurants, staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear pat J, Thank you very much for your excellent rating on Tripadvisor. We are more than happy to read that you and your family enjoyed your holiday at our hotel and we do hope to have chance to welcoming you back at the Sands Khao Lak in the near future. With warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had a fantastic two night stay at The Sands. We stayed in a Junior Suite with pool access. The room was immaculate - particularly loved the towels arranged as elephants on the bed - and the decking over the pool was the perfect place to unwind. I had one of the best massages I have ever had at The Spa followed by delicious ginger tea and a wonderful feeling of wellbeing. The beach is beautiful and quiet, the family and calm pools a genius idea. Food was delicious and the waiting staff couldn't have been more attentive. Yes, there was some finishing work going on to the hotel - planting of planters, installing lights - but this in no way impacted on our rest and relaxation. And judging by their speed, the work will be finished very quickly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Tamsin K, we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and also thank you for your understanding. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

In short 2 weeks after the official opening it still isn't finished. Over 80 or so workmen still insure, drilling, paving and sawing. Etc. Outside our room which we only stayed for 1 hour was constant drilling and banging, the hotel shops were still under construction. We were moved to a finished hotel, but quite simply guests should not have to compromise their holiday because of the sands owners greed of getting proletariat toholiday on a building site.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katathani1, Guest Relations Manager at The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Stickleback1, thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. Our apologies for not having met your expectations during the soft opening period in November. To show our concern, we arranged an alternative accommodation for you in a higher category hotel and hope that you had enjoyed your stay there. The hotel was fully functional shortly after that as you can see from our more recent comments. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you in the future, should your travels bring you back to Khao Lak. Warm regards,

Customer Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani

Address: 10/18 Moo 7, Petchkasem Road | Khuek Khak, Takua Pa, Khao Lak 82190, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani 4.5*
Number of rooms: 316
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.