We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a break in paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   30/7 Moon 7 | Takua-Pa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect for a break in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed at the hotel for 8 nights at the end June/beginning of July and I must say it was a vrey enjoyable stay. We did however feel it was a bit rough around the edges considering it only opened 12 months or so ago.

We arrived after an hour and half drive from Patong and noticed that it's one of the furthers hotels from Khao Lak center which was a bit concerning at first, We were greeted by the concierge who took our bags and showed us the way to check in. Check in was quite slow but to be fair there were a number of other guests arriving at the same time. We were given cold towels and a welcome drink and shown to a comfy seating area to wait. We did have to fork out for a refundable deposit against the room, I think it was 2000bhat per day on the card.Once the formalities were done, we were taken to our room on a golf buggy as our suite was in the last block, nearest to the beach.

Having booked with Thomas Cook and managed to get a fantastic rate on a pool view Morgan suite, I was thrilled when we entered the room, 2626 in the last block (far from reception). A separate kitchen/dining area and living space with tv, en suite wc, through to the bedroom with 2 queen beds, tv, walk in wardrobe with space to keep our luggage plus a bathroom with wc and shower. Beautifully decorated throughout and better than the pictures!

On the balcony we had a bathtub and 2 sun loungers and a great view over the pool below. The aircon in the living area was rather noisy and smelt quite damp. We did report this one night, but never followed it up and was unfortunately not rectified during our stay.The room was serviced everyday and water bottles being replenished was a great bonus. Fresh fruit was also provided upon arrival. The kitchen was oddly missing any cutlery or dishes but did provide glasses.The drainage in the shower could be improved too as it took forever to empty.

The main pool area had plenty of sun loungers available, however I would think it gets quite packed in high season. Pool/Beach towels are also available free of charge which was very useful. The decking around the pool could do with being painted and we noticed a cable around the pool which was unsightly and could have been hidden better. We were disappointed to be unable to swim in the sea but the red flag was up throughout or stay. Bangsak beach is gorgeous though. The hotel gardens are very well maintained with staff working everyday to keep the plants and countless palm trees in good condition.

We ate at the breakfast buffet every morning and the selection on offer was good but there wasn't much variety from day to day. The staff could have been a bit more attentive to be honest considering how quiet the hotel was, a disappointing contrast to our hotel in Patong. We also ate at the evening buffet most nights which had a better variety of local and international dishes. For 300 bhat you could have as many drinks (soft/beer/wine) as you wanted but we found this pricey if you only wanted one glass. We ate at the Italian restaurant one night, and being half board were given a set menu. However, they did kindly let my fiance swap his main for a steak off the other menu at no extra charge. The food was delicious but drinks were expensive. The pool bar was also great, with a good selection of drinks and snacks, but everything has 10% service added so be careful. We didn't sample the Thai restaurant but the menu looked good.

We used the free shuttle bus a few times to the center of Khao Lak and to Bang Niang market and found it very well organised. A tuk tuk ride back one night cost 400bhat which we thought was very reasonable as it's around a 20 minute drive and basically in the middle of nowhere-very quiet but blissful. We also used the leisure facilities every night, trying out the pool table, bowling and ping pong table. They also offer a free dvd played hire with a selection of dvds for 100 bhat a night (great if you fancy a good chill out). The staff here were by far the friendliest in the hotel.

There's a min mart at the hotel entrance selling essentials and a small taverna across the road service lovely food and a friendly service. There appeared to be a few more places down the road but we didn't venture any further. We spotted the hotel nightclub too but being low season, it was deserted (great in high season I'm sure). There are some great little places on the beach but again low season meant most of these were quiet or closed.

This is a very big resort. During our stay it was very quiet, I'd say less than 40% occupied so would be interesting to stay in high season. Overall we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel to friends but if we return to Khao Lak may choose a hotel a little closer to town.

Room Tip: Suite 2626 was a beautiful, 1st floor corner in the last block on the left, one of the nearest to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    58
    18
    2
    3
See reviews for
50
89
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

Stayed here valentines week, beautiful weather, staff, hotel would definitely love a return visit. Stunning beach and coconut restaurant on the beach was excellent. The pools. & spa were first class in the hotel and throughout our stay all the staff were polite & courteous.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

checked in on june 28th 2014, for 2 weeks. This hotel, was just wonderful 2 weeks of sheer bliss, staff wonderful, hotel pool and gardens amazing, beach so quite, perfect, only issue hotel restarts expensive, buffet good value, esp free flow wine, he he. There have been negative reviews on this hotel, which I think is truly ridiculous, its beautiful, remote, yes, but shuttle bus to Khao lak x2 /day which is free, and amazing trips near by, thank you for amazing holiday! oh one neg our banana in our room (fresh fruit) mouldy for 2 weeks, vile! but room size incredible, if you like pure relaxation this hotels a must, one last thing, beach restaurants cheap and lovely host smithy in one and ice in another 1st and 3rd restaurant ae wonderful, best wishes Dave and Darry, room 5023 xxxx

Room Tip: pool view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We are just back from our family holiday, which included two weeks at this hotel.
From the véry start we knew it was going to be good, we were picked up at the airport by the hotel bus and then greeted at the hotel by the very courteous staff and complementary drinks.
Our rooms were very spacious and well fitted, and cleaned everyday.

We tried three of the restaurants on site, the main one wasn't so great, but the others were good. All staff were lovely and friendly and would do anything you requésted.
There is an onsite bowling alley, which we used a few times, beware of the fee for socks if you don't go wearing a pair!!
I would like to highlight three members of staff particularly, Annie from reception, she is brilliant!! always smiling and ensures always that you get what you are looking for, she speaks fluent english and is very keen to help always.
Linh and Lilly from the main restaurant, they managed to keep it running during breakfast, very efficient and friendly, on their days off, it was very obvious that they were not there!!! we were not offered tea or coffee and our plates were left lying for too long. Thank you to Annie, Linh and Lilly!!!!

If you intend to go excursions whilst you are there, do not book it ahead, wait till you are there and go to the beach, on the left hand side there are a few bars, ask for Mr Pick, he owns the second one, he will organise anything you want and for a fraction on the price. We did - Tiger Kingdom, Water Park, ATV's, Elephant trekking / bathing, James Bond island, Phi Phi etc etc etc.
These bars are also good for eating.

The weather at this time of year is a bit of hit and miss - when it is sunny it is, and when it rains you get drowned!! it can switch from one to the other within 5 mins

The hotel itself is in the middle of nowhere and the surrounding area is still recovering from the tsunami and is taking time to turn itself around. Khoa Lak itself is a 25 min taxi ride and Phuket nearly two hours.

Room Tip: We were in Block 23 - but to be honest it really doesn't matter, they are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

First I saw the hotel I said WOW!! I and my husband stay here for 3 nights along our vacation. Our room by the pool it's very lovely, easy to access the pool thru our room. First day we visit the beach along the hotel we try to play beach board with trained by hotel staff it's so good! We try to drink mojito that's great! but a little bit pricey. Breakfast is not bad. Hotel staff are helpful. Unfortunately, I've got an accident on last day from Tachai island anywhere when we back hotel hotel staff were helpful. We try spa also it's standard.

Room Tip: Choose room with the pool is worth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Beautiful hotel but takes 10% service charge on very thing . Rooms are awesome with bathroom to die for.. Restaurant in hotel and room service and bars in hotel expensive with made the hotel dead or lifeless . You can head just on the beach to friendly or sharky they do everything better and half the price. Or there is a shop in the hotel selling everything much cheaper. Hotel is outside khao lak and hotel wants 600 for a taxi that's over a tenner . You can't walk we tried but beach ends and road not safe . Bowling costs infact most things cost so all hardly used. I don't know who does the thinking for this hotel but it's all wrong

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northfleet UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

This Hotel is is a bit worn round the edges for a hotel that is less than 2 yrs old,
But these are my good and bad points.

Stayed in a morgan suite 2626 First Floor.
GOOD POINTS.
Rooms
1, Rooms are cleaned every day.
2, Lots of space in living area plus 40'' TV with movie channel & CNN.
3 Bedroom two Queen bed very comfortable
4,Iron & Iron board
5,Hair dryer

Grounds
Looked after very well by the very hard working ground staff.

Restaurants
used main Restaurant for Breakfast (breakfast very Good plenty of choice. )
And once for dinner (buffet-- Choice of food very good, A/I for 1,900 baht for two about £38 )

BAD POINTS
1 Wifi is almost none existent any streaming did not work even though the conection was 20 feet from my room.
2,There was a conference on for 3 days and as my many experience throughout the worlds hotels, They are treated better than the people that are staying there for more than a week.

examples,
A, Waiting 40 mins for a taxi because thay had tied up all transport for the conference.
B, Setting for dinner for the conference, whilst guest are eating their breakfast.
The next day still had the lay out from night before with chair covers and tablecloths not very professional for a hotel.THAT MAKES ME MAD

Taxi cost from the Hotel 600 baht to Khoalak coming back 400baht from town TAXI.
but all in all a good hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa

Address: 30/7 Moon 7 | Takua-Pa Phang Nga, Khao Lak 82000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 60 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Graceland Khao Lak, a destination that offers luxurious experience and 5-star service, a destination enables you to witness the beauty of Andaman Sea and Thai hospitality. Opening in September 2012, the sprawling resort will offer spacious villas, suites and pool-view rooms equipped with luxurious facilities and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.