We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the luxury!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa to your Saves list
SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   30/7 Moon 7 | Bang Muang District, Amphur Takua-Pa, Khao Lak 82000, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Loved the luxury!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This is a beautiful resort and will be even nicer when completed. The rooms were large and clean. Beautiful bathroom soft towels and linen. Very comfy pillows. Hard bed but softer than most Thai beds. Rooms were cleaned daily fresh water and linen. Staff very friendly. We had no problems with English. Breakfast buffet good variety and quality. Hard to get a decent cup if coffee anywhere in Thailand. Pool was beautiful. Beach lovely. Lots of deck chairs. Clean beach only populated with resort patrons only on the beach Resturants just outside the resort on the beach. We ate at most and found "friendly" to be the best and also booked our taxi out through them. Washing at local laundry for 7.5kg for 320 baht. Scooter hire at front gate for 300 baht per day. I was impressed with their gym. We ten pinned bowled and I did a kick boxing class that was well worth 500 baht. Free shuttle bus to khao lak. If you don't want to stay in a busy beach this is the place. Much nicer than our next 4 days in Phuket amongst the hustle bustle and hagglers. Many French staying here and staff looking after them happily included us in fruit platters and were very friendly. It did take a good hour to get from Phuket airport and is about 15km north of khao lak

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    174
    54
    10
    5
See reviews for
134
268
14
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Like some posts here said it already: the hotel, rooms and grounds are really nice BUT the service is really terrible. Unfortunatley the staff is not trained and does
not speak English,,,therefore simple things like ordering tea for breakfast, wake-up calls or asking about food information at the restaurants are really difficult and frustrating!

room: really good and efficient, very strong aircondition, modern bathroom and comfy, big beds. we have experienced no bugs at all in the room and it was kept very clean all the time.
we stayed in building 12 and found it good for us. It was a bit of a walk to the beach (5 minutes), but close to the lobby and the breakfast and far away from all the generater noises.

hotel grounds: beautiful and very clean, nice to walk through, the beach is really nice and beach beds very comfy. we have also had no troubles finding empty beds and to move them in the shade, pools are open until 8 pm and are a real joy to swim in

breakfast: efficient but could be better: only limited selection of fruits (no bananas!) and no fresh juices. and service is on a low level.

restaurants: we tried the Thai and the Italian. in both we experienced the same friendly staff with lack of English skills, food was better in the Italian but pretty expensive compared to local food prices, especially when you add another 17 % taxes and service charge.
there are a couple of restaurants at the beach where you only pay a third for the same Thai food quality and service. -however I can imagine, if you stay for a couple of weeks, the culinary choice is really limited and gets quite boring.

yes there are a lot of French tourist in the Kappa Club but it did not interfere at any stage with our stay.
I also think if the management was better, the whole experience would be more enjoyable and could probably come up to a good level but it is far away from the oustanding and luxury service they advertise.

If you plan to stay 2-3nights to visit kao sok or surroundings, or count on relaxing fey days this can be a good choice. If you plan to spend 14 nights and count on entertainment and good Thai food you will be dissappointed.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This resort is no way a 5 stars, not yet. But like all establishments, it does deserve more time and chances from travellers. I accidentally book my dates wrong through Agoda, but knowing it's a special rate which cannot be changed, I wrote to Sentido for help. There is no reply, not even a single acknowledgement from them.

Knowing it is a new establishment, I thought I might just have to work my way around them when I checked in. After all, it is a 5-stars, newly opened resort and they should be keen to cater to their guests? Wrong again. The front desk manager (her name Fo/Po, a slim Thai lady with long hair) refused to abid to any of my requests (a room upgrade/food credits/room perks), and simply said she is sorry but she can't do any of that). We are no cheapskates, but paying an additional night which we are not staying in (approx US$200 down the drain), it is a first major turn-off right from the beginning.

Pros:
Nice, clean big room with balcony
Polite housekeeping & maintainence staffs
Nice, reasonably priced Italian restaurant near to the pool with good service staffs
Friendly gym instructor (a tanned friendly Thai dude who taught Muay Thai and other sports)
Nice pool area
Clean and exclusive beach with good lounge chairs
Friendly and efficient staff who arrange tours for us( do ask for Annie, a Thai-Filipino lady who speaks flawless English)
Good breakfast spread - but slow in refilling.

Cons:
Horrible main restaurant that served breakfast - bad food, terrible service. The service staffs are friendly at first, and then ignore all your requests. Slow in serving and knows nothing about F & B services. We tried lunch at the main restaurant one day, and they initally told us the buffet spread is at THB500 per pax which we are fine with it. Once we started eating, they told us it is for the Kappa Club members only but we are still welcome to eat there. Fine. After a good 10 minutes, they come to us again and said we cannot get anything from the drinks station and can only order ala-carte. The food spread is medicore and taste nothing like the real delicious Thai food you get in Bangkok, Patong, Chiang Mai. We left with a bad taste in our mouth, both the food and the bad services.

Inflexible front desk staffs who knows zlich about turning a guest into a returning guest. Most front desk staffs at Sentido do not greet guests and upon checking out, they simply request for you to make any outstanding payment and promptly shoo you off.

Confused tour staffs. Annie tried her best to book for us snorkelling tours at Similan Islands but it was fully booked. Hence we did the Phang Nga island tour instead, and had fun with Land Discovery Tour. Next morning at 7am (our check-out date), the front desk called us in our room to say we have a booking for Similan Islands and the shuttle bus is here. I had to tell them the whole story at 7am during my vacation stay and they simply reply with a 'I'm sorry, thank you'. No other apology notes or gesture after that.

Barely available transport to Khao Lak downtown(only available 2 timeslots) and expensive taxi services. The cost from Khao Lak to Patong using their taxi service is 3000THB, and luckily, I managed to get Boss KhaoLak Taxi service at 2000THB with a fabulous Toyota Camry and friendly driver. (google Cheaper than Hotel Boss Taxi for their great services. You are most welcome).

Lastly, not a entire fault of Sentido but there are many big exotic bugs and mosquitos flying into our room. While I'm a nature lover who does not mind the bugs, I can imagine female guests getting paranoid and freak out. More precautions should be made (mosquito coils, bug zap lights etc).

Tips from a been-there-and-wiser guest:
- If the rates are amazing and unbeatable, stay here nonetheless. Otherwise, stay in Beyond, Le Meridien, La Flora, Centara (great location)

-Try the Coconut restaurant on the beach run by a Thai family (good seafood,service and price). If you can walk a little furthur, try Khun Tong Su restaurant (about 20 minutes walk from the beach, highly recommended by the staffs)

- If travelling with young kids, book the room with pool access. It is quiet and private, great for exclusivity.

- If you have to stay in the hotel, have your meals in the Italian restaurant.

- As Khao Lak is known for its peaceful and quiet location, filled your days with tour activities. Once again, look for Annie to arrange your tours.

- Get your drinks and snacks from their mini-mart located behind the tennis court.

Will I return? When the hotel services undergoes a major, major overhaul, particularly the front desk.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

This hotel is managed by people who don't understand English (they say "yes" all the time and then do "no").

The food/drinks in the all inclusive formula is good but it is every day the same. The place where food is served looks like a kids canteen. Place near by should be preferred, it is way cheaper, nicer and more diverse.

The rooms (deluxe) are way to expensive for what they are. They have 2 beds (we have been told by the management that there was only one room with king size available) and are noisy (near the bar) and/or smelly (near the canteen). Worst of all we had a wet bedding from previous tenants!

The bar is badly located in the middle of the resort.

Nothing in the evening, no shows, no music. The so-called disco is always empty.
Shopping area does not exist (it is empty only shows with carton boxes on the floor).

At leat 30 min by cab to go near the first village.

Room Tip: Prefer the suite with outside bath, they are better located (near the sea) and nice. But still way t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

First of all I need to say that we are experienced travelers, visiting different countries 5-7 times per year, sometimes staying in very luxury hotels. Sentido is a real "affordable luxury" hotel. But let's see what are the real pluses and minuses.
Positive:
- rooms are new, big and well-furnished. All with balconies (terraces with pool access if on the 1st floor).
- Breakfast are awesome. You can find asian and european food.
- Beach is almost perfect, though they could clean it better (too many stones and corals). You may walk for 3-4 minutes and stay absolutely alone on the beach. On the "hotel" beach there are also not crowdy at all. a lot of sunbeds and some shadow from the big trees.
- Animation is only french. Though they speak english, so if you want to participate, it's not a problem.
- Thai restaurant is very nice, though quite expensive (be ready to pay 50-60 Euro for Dinner for 2 persons, comparing 10-15 EUR in the street restaurants).
Negative:
- poor service (you should expect much better room service from such a hotel). When the bath gel finished, they didn't recharge it for 3 days, even when we opened the bottle and placed it on the visible place. So I had to look for the maid myself and ask her to recharge it. fantastic!
- poor main restaurant for dinner.
- some personnel speaks english quite poor.
- very strange timetable of the shuttle to the city center (11.30 and 14.00 from the Hotel).

This is absolutely relaxing hotel with a very nice territory (though not very big - from the reception to the beach it will take about 5-6 min. of walking). The pool is also very nice, though not very dip and has no stairs (strange but quite convenient).
Also if you prefer to eat outside the hotel, there are some beach restaurants. First three of them are located just 10 meters away from the towel center, but they are not very good in my opinion. If you walk 100 meters more, you will find another restaurant (almost always empty) - 'Tom Seafood'. You can recognize it by the green net, which provides some shadow over the tables. The prices there are more reasonable and the food is much better. We found it only after a week of staying and kept going there until our departure. There is also a massage saloon calling "Tom Massage". They do the best massage ever and the prices for Thai Massage is 350 bahts, not 400 as in many other salons. There is 1 man and 2 ladies (about 50 years old) but they really do the Thai massage, not the "touristic" one like many young girls do.
By the way, if you wish to leave the hotel, it will take about 30-35 mins to reach the city center, but there is absolutely nothing to do, we did it mainly for Fruits. I don't know why, but you can't buy fruits near the hotel. Nobody sells. But you may try to ask in the nearby restaurants, they can sell you pineapples and watermelons (maybe you can order something else though).
Some price for example (found in khao-lak city center):
Mango 70-120 per kg (depending on the sort);
Pomelo 50 per pc
Mangostine 120 per kg
Durian 100 per kg (take only whole fruit! has no smell and very tasty. Not easy to find)
Pineapple - 30 per pc
Coconut - 30 per pc

Taxi from Hotel to City Center - 400 Bht (no bargain is available:(
Taxi from Hotel to Phuket airport - 1300 Bht (found in Friendly Restaurant, hotel taxi - 2500, street taxi - 1800).
rent a bike - 250 Bht per day (no deposit requested) - found in Friendly Restaurant.
rent a bicycle in hotel - 150 Bht per hour (!). Nobody uses bicycles here lol.
rent a car in smiley restaurant - 1200 per day (was busy for NY).
Fresh juices - 50-60 Bht
Main dishes - 80-150 Bht.
Lobster - 3000 Bht per kilo (too much!).

If you want to have Maldivian view with great Thai food - Sentido is right place for that. But if you prefer dancing, dicso and bangla-road, you'd better choose Phuket, not Khao-lak or at least another hotel.

Room Tip: Better take pool access rooms if possible. We could pay only $300 for 10 days when booked, but forgo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

As a family with 2 teens, we stayed here for 9 nights over the Christmas break in 2 connecting rooms on the 4th floor. The hotel is new with tropical landscaped grounds. The location is isolated which suits those that like to be away from the hustle and bustle. However, the hotel has transport to Khao Lak or taxis are waiting outside for 400 baht.

The pool area is fantastic with several pools scattered around the grounds. The beach has white sand, plenty of deck chairs and umbrellas. The hotel has beach and pool activities like aqua aerobics, pool Zumba, volleyball and kayaks. There are several nearby beach shacks for meals, drinks and massages. We went to several, all were good and were half the cost of the hotel.

We ate at all 3 of the hotel's restaurants. The breakfast buffet is quite large with a mixed variety of dishes. The waitstaff seemed inexperienced but seemed to learn their duties better as the days passed. The hotel's Thai restaurant had a great 5 course set menu or you can choose off the menu.

The bowling was a fun experience for an afternoon activity as well as a 1hr sunset bike ride with a hotel staff as a guide which takes you to areas and beaches outside the hotel.

Overall, the Sentido was a great place to stay, was located in a beautiful area, was relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

A brand new resort in a terrific location on the idyllic Khao Lak beach. Staying shortly after the soft opening, the sprawling resort was empty with just a handful of guests. It seemed a little surreal being solo in this empty expanse of leisure facilities and restaurants. A letter was left with the platter of fruit extending a warm welcome to myself and non-existent wife.

I wondered what the place would be like with the retirees, honeymooners and bussed in package tourists that would come later.

It was perfect though for a reset. The room was excellent; gleaming and brand new with possibly me as the first ever guest. Proper firm bed, decent bathroom and nice balcony/terrace in which to contemplate life at the resort. All good but if I was staying longer I might like a home theatre set-up or at least the chance to play my own media.

No doubt Sentido Graceland is on a very nice stretch of beach which during my stay was completely empty. Unfortunately in September the sea was a little too brown and turbulent to tempt me. It must be beautiful though in the right season. The resort's huge main pool looks out onto the sea and must be one of the features of the place. Next time I would definitely pay the bit extra for pool access directly from the room.

On the beach there's some local Thai restaurants that offer some well-priced tasty alternatives to the three restaurants at the resort.

The resort was a little out of the way, but that's part of the appeal. A very quiet, relaxing sojourn at Sentido Graceland. Certainly I'd like to return again - outside of the busy season but when the weather is still good enough to enjoy the excellent beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khao Lak hotels
2.3 mi away
Manathai Khao Lak
Manathai Khao Lak
#3 of 61 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 131 reviews
9.2 mi away
Chongfah Beach Resort
Chongfah Beach Resort
#1 of 61 in Khao Lak
5.0 of 5 stars 339 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Sands Khao Lak by Katathani
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
JW Marriott Khao Lak Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
Beyond Resort Khaolak
Beyond Resort Khaolak
#6 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 924 reviews
4.6 mi away
Kantary Beach
Kantary Beach
#12 of 61 in Khao Lak
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa

Address: 30/7 Moon 7 | Bang Muang District, Amphur Takua-Pa, Khao Lak 82000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phang Nga Province > Khao Lak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 61 Hotels in Khao Lak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SENTIDO Graceland Khao Lak, a destination that offers luxurious experience and 5-star service, a destination enables you to witness the beauty of Andaman Sea and Thai hospitality. Opening in September 2012, the sprawling resort will offer spacious villas, suites and pool-view rooms equipped with luxurious facilities and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Graceland Khaolak Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.